As a renter/tenant

TSolman
post Nov 8 2022, 09:51 PM, updated 4y ago

1,998 posts

Anyone knows if landlords/agents would accept an unemployed renter/tenant as im currently in the midst of looking for work?

I can afford the rent but are they willing?

edriem
post Nov 8 2022, 09:55 PM

257 posts

Just say you're currently working somewhere no need to tell details
TSolman
post Nov 8 2022, 10:00 PM

1,998 posts

QUOTE(edriem @ Nov 8 2022, 09:55 PM)
Just say you're currently working somewhere no need to tell details
I posted this question because i see property rental portals eg: speedhome

have these checklist:
i) IC copy (front and back)
ii) Employment offer letter (worker) / University offer letter and Student ID (student)
iii) 1 month pay slip
iv) 3 months bank statement
v) Company SSM Cert (For Business)
vi) Psychometric Test

I assume other websites would be similar....mmm i dont know.

This post has been edited by olman: Nov 8 2022, 10:01 PM
elimi8z
post Nov 8 2022, 10:20 PM

940 posts

Go thru direct owner
edriem
post Nov 8 2022, 10:20 PM

257 posts

Not all. speedhome is like rental agency they need all of that. the rest no need all that documents. just say you just started working at someplace they wont ask much. just beware of scammers tho
mini orchard
post Nov 8 2022, 10:36 PM

14,511 posts

Generally, all landlords would want to know where prospective tenants are working.

Some may even call the company to verify info.

But if tenant is able to pay few months advance rental to show commitment while looking for a job, some may not mind.

Or new tenant may ask the parents or working sibling to rent the place. Is common esp those college students from outstation.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 8 2022, 10:37 PM
se800i
post Nov 8 2022, 10:45 PM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(edriem @ Nov 8 2022, 11:20 PM)
Not all. speedhome is like rental agency they need all of that. the rest no need all that documents. just say you just started working at someplace they wont ask much. just beware of scammers tho
Is Speedhome a good platform for renting?
SUSNajibaik
post Nov 8 2022, 11:11 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(olman @ Nov 8 2022, 09:51 PM)
Anyone knows if landlords/agents would accept an unemployed renter/tenant as im currently in the midst of looking for work?

as an owner when I am filtering my tenant, I will briefly ask what do they do
well if they wanna lie I wont be able to find out

as long as pay rent on time it is fine for me sweat.gif
TSolman
post Nov 8 2022, 11:14 PM

1,998 posts

QUOTE(Najibaik @ Nov 8 2022, 11:11 PM)

as long as pay rent on time it is fine for me  sweat.gif
bolded part - that's the owners im hoping for.

anyway - the checklist from speedhome Psychometric Test feels like discriminatory against renters.
teslaman
post Nov 8 2022, 11:16 PM

1,154 posts

Dont care if unemployed as long you pay deposits and rents on time.
mini orchard
post Nov 9 2022, 05:42 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Najibaik @ Nov 8 2022, 11:11 PM)

as long as pay rent on time it is fine for me  sweat.gif
QUOTE(teslaman @ Nov 8 2022, 11:16 PM)
Dont care if unemployed as long you pay deposits and rents on time.
A landlord wouldnt know until the commencement of the tenancy, which by then is too late.

Many landlords can testify that the TA is just a piece of 'waste' paper and they have to go through great length to evict a defaulting tenant legally or otherwise. Not foregetting unpaid utilities bills and property damages.
butthead76
post Nov 9 2022, 06:34 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 9 2022, 05:42 AM)
A landlord wouldnt know until the commencement of the tenancy, which by then is too late.

Many landlords can testify that the TA is just a piece of 'waste' paper and they have to go through great length to evict a defaulting tenant legally or otherwise. Not foregetting unpaid utilities bills and property damages.
Correct, our current TA is useless, no protection for landlords. That MP housing lah sitting on the issue so long, suppose to enact the new ruling on TA. Giving all parties headache now.

That is why I prefer speedhome. The conventional way just too high risk. Agent after taking fees, just ignore any assist. Just happen to me. Not using the agent anymore. Rather stick with speedhome. thumbup.gif
edriem
post Nov 9 2022, 08:55 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(se800i @ Nov 8 2022, 11:45 PM)
Is Speedhome a good platform for renting?
As tenant, I don’t like speedhome. No flexibility in terms of depo, contract etc.

But it’s good for home owner lol

This post has been edited by edriem: Nov 9 2022, 08:56 AM
elimi8z
post Nov 9 2022, 09:05 AM

940 posts

Under Speedhome, tenant also benefit with zero deposit
TSolman
post Nov 9 2022, 11:28 AM

1,998 posts

QUOTE(elimi8z @ Nov 9 2022, 09:05 AM)
Under Speedhome, tenant also benefit with zero deposit
Forget it.

I checked with speedhome and jobless n while looking for work need not apply with them.

They said it is not possible.
elimi8z
post Nov 9 2022, 11:30 AM

940 posts

QUOTE(olman @ Nov 9 2022, 11:28 AM)
Forget it.

I checked with speedhome and jobless n while looking for work need not apply with them.

They said it is not possible.
Hehehe, u tak cukup kreatif jer, member2 aku enjoy jer, siap ada yg dah 5 bulan x bayar, budak Speedhome pun xleh nak buat apa 😂
TSolman
post Nov 9 2022, 11:35 AM

1,998 posts

QUOTE(elimi8z @ Nov 9 2022, 11:30 AM)
Hehehe, u tak cukup kreatif jer, member2 aku enjoy jer, siap ada yg dah 5 bulan x bayar, budak Speedhome pun xleh nak buat apa 😂
Dei nak tengok senarai dokumen etc...proses dia kata.
elimi8z
post Nov 9 2022, 11:36 AM

940 posts

Sorry, kenot teach you so much, sendiri pandai2 la
TSolman
post Nov 9 2022, 11:59 AM

1,998 posts

QUOTE(elimi8z @ Nov 9 2022, 11:36 AM)
Sorry, kenot teach you so much, sendiri pandai2 la
LoL im not tenant from hell
PAChamp
post Nov 9 2022, 01:43 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(olman @ Nov 9 2022, 11:59 AM)
LoL im not tenant from hell
speedhome need the docs because speedhome is taking the risk. if tenant doesn't pay then speedhome has to pay. Therefore reasonable for speedhome to ask for docs.
SUSNajibaik
post Nov 10 2022, 10:47 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(olman @ Nov 8 2022, 11:14 PM)
bolded part - that's the owners im hoping for.

anyway - the checklist from speedhome Psychometric Test feels like discriminatory against renters.
I skip agencies or third party, I deal with tenants myself.

but of course as owner I hope my tenant have a stable job, tho you can choose not to disclose or lie about it, thats going too far to ask you prove it
DragonReine
post Nov 10 2022, 11:18 AM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(olman @ Nov 8 2022, 11:14 PM)
Speedhome is concepted to target fairly niche market:

1) Landlords who want to be insured for tenant damages/not paying rent instead of relying on deposits (which cannot always cover costs of property damage/eviction)
2) Landlords who want to self manage but very little time/not enough knowledge to actually conduct viewing and screening of tenants
3) Young professionals/students who do have the financial capability to pay rent but don't trust owners/agents to refund deposits, or don't trust having to deal with wishy-washy landlords
4) Tenants that face discrimination from owners/agents because of their gender/race/religion/nationality despite being financially capable

Speedhome model is basically them taking on the risks of covering those costs of bad tenants/landlords to facilitate the above, which is why their screening is a bit stringent.

Obviously if you don't meet their criteria no choice lor, that's their biz model.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Nov 10 2022, 11:19 AM
wsoon82
post Nov 10 2022, 07:41 PM

434 posts

Actually why you need to rent a house while looking for job? Can just rent a room first or just travel for interviews when scheduled. Should find a job first then commit where you want to stay. As a owner, I will feel suspicious to rent to you.

0.0198sec    1.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:19 PM