Is it a good time to buy a house in 2022 or wait?, Looking for advice in 2022
Cavatzu
Nov 7 2022, 05:45 AM
QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Nov 6 2022, 09:49 PM) Indeed. i earn 18k nett a month but still feel this was a mistake. Its not a decision i regret but its more like a decision that i succumb due to parental and in law pressure to get a house before my wedding Had i choose to wait i would have had a better deal and a house of better value during covid era when people were desperate to sell Well you’re starting a family so there’s that reason. If you weren’t ready to have kids yet, a centrally located couples retreat perhaps would have been an ideal first move. The biggest mistake is usually buying some family home as your first purchase. To be fair, from the time one has kids, the need for extra space is not really necessary until they’re 3 or 4 so that’s like buying you 5 years of time. But the one constant is that landed always remains in demand so perhaps your decision wasn’t too bad. This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Nov 7 2022, 05:46 AM
Cavatzu
Nov 7 2022, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 7 2022, 12:27 PM) As if loan repayment is immaterial. during a 30 years loan tenure, borrower will endure 2 or 3 economic recession. Most of those who bought in the last few years would think otherwise. 700-800 psf even 1,000 psf was common a few years ago. People who bought in 2013-2017 period really paid top dollar. Can’t be helped. Many did fall and those in ulu areas like Cyberjaya really got screwed. There are success stories too in the truly well connected and desired areas and buildings. It’s still a good time to buy now if you know what you want and where to look for it simply because there’s so much choice. If you can buy a unit today that is 30% cheaper than what someone paid for it 5 years ago it’s a bit of a win la. This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Nov 7 2022, 12:58 PM
Cavatzu
Nov 7 2022, 04:09 PM
It’s true. Most young people nowadays will find it difficult just to survive so don’t think too far ahead and focus on improving yourself and your earning ability if you truly want to provide for all.
Affordable housing is a good bone thrown at young Malaysians so don’t discount it too much.
Cavatzu
Nov 7 2022, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(DragonReine @ Nov 7 2022, 06:01 PM) Freehold is actually not free from government takeover you know. If die² want that plot of land, government can figure out ways to take it back. And honestly by that point at the end of 99 years you're already close to the end or shuffled off your mortal coil unless your family is full of centinarians, and that's assuming you and/or your family will stay in that house or on that plot of land forever. Landed houses rarely tahan more than 40+ years without becoming severely expensive to maintain, at that point you might even decide to sell it and upgrade/downgrade. If is high-rise/strata by 20 years will be very run down. The main downside of leasehold is actually the resale value, since banks usually hesitant to give loan to property with not much lease years left on title. Buy for yourself first and foremost. Future generations can always find a solution with future generation's circumstances. Because so many think like this young chap, freehold still has a lot of value in the subsale space if the market tide ever turns that way and supply dwindles.
Cavatzu
Nov 8 2022, 08:00 AM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 7 2022, 10:02 PM) Yet many promote 'buy for children'  It’s a smart sales strategy to build on historical cultural norms and create FOMO by exaggerating claims on land supply and inflation of construction materials. In reality average units today are cheaper than they were 5 years ago with developers having to take less profit. This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Nov 8 2022, 08:01 AM
Cavatzu
Nov 8 2022, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(lewissac @ Nov 8 2022, 08:29 AM) Agreed on the part especially when SA kept selling that land not alot already and material raise price, so cost will increase slowly. But actually one thing interest me, if based on psf wise, landed would have the best deal compared to condo. It's just that the absolute price is not favorable. Of course many people in the Western world have completely ignored high rise for landed so there’s like at least a 50-100% premium for landed. People are realising how important it is for privacy and a shelter away from others when the need arises. The gap is still relatively small in Malaysia.