What's the profit margin of cafe in KL?

viktorherald
post Nov 4 2022, 09:59 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Nov 4 2022, 09:28 AM)
The profit margin of a cafe in the US is between 80-100% according to some of the Google search results.

What's the figure in KL?

As I only drink kopi-o made at home, my  price is 25 sen for coffee powder and boiled water.

What's your costs?
Where can possible 80% margin

If possible I'm sure other restaurants will happy to steal customer from you with so called 60% margin

And let the margin wars begin
viktorherald
post Nov 4 2022, 10:07 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 4 2022, 09:57 AM)
A lot of /k seem to think profit margin is:-

Selling Price/Ingredients cost.

I've been seeing a lot of post such as , I make myself big breakfast only cost rm10, outside selling rm30.
Roti canai cost is only rm0.30 worth of flour, but selling rm1.20
They don't seem to understand the cost structure and don't really understand overhead such as rental, labour makes up a big chunk of the cost.
They say macam so easy. Ask them try to sell RM18 on a semi fancy restaurant setting lor... So many overhead cost that can bamboozled you in so many ways

But some also legit. I pay RM30 for baked beans, scrambled egg, hashbrowns, processed ham and bread, Vege, mushroom? Come on... I rather chose other things to eat
viktorherald
post Nov 4 2022, 10:21 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(J1g54w @ Nov 4 2022, 10:13 AM)
thing is people go to fancy cafe not purely for the food.

people want to see and be seen in their fancy outfit. also instagram.

people spend who spend above what is necessary (base cost) is because they spend for emotional satisfaction
Things is the fancy photo, sometime I look at the food so many processed ingredients also turn off for me.
viktorherald
post Nov 4 2022, 10:23 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(cycheah @ Nov 4 2022, 10:12 AM)
these are the stuffs i pantang eat for english breakfast. hashbrown homemade ok la, if buy from frozen store, no la... felt being chop. i buy 9pcs @ RM1x, air fry it, makan till syok
Yup... If I'm gonna pay big money like RM30, at least give some passion and not use too much canned or frozen items...

If not I just eat RM22 sourdough avocado...

Tommy le baker selling nice sandwiches for RM18++... That gooding place to go for me

0.0126sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:38 AM