49 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Bike Gear Talk, ATGATT? gloves, boots, pants etc.

paskal
post Feb 17 2024, 03:53 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Feb 15 2024, 03:53 PM)
Buggered my bike going downhill from Genting once before learning my lesson:

You can only go 70%-80% max on public roads because these are not controlled environments. Something is just bound to surprise you when you least expect it. Konar cun-cun ala Valentino Rossi, textbook knee-down... sekali tiba2 monyet melintas pulak... dusyummmm.... eNtah siAPa yANg saLaHhh ku tAK taHUuuuu....

Anything above 70%-80% should be done on the racetrack.

Sekarang dah tua, dah takde lagi dah asah-asah konar ni.... I ride to live, coz already got way too many other ways to die once past 50...
ya mang.
now getting old really avoid taking any unnecessary risk.
even getting on a bike is dangerous as it is.
SUSKaya Butter Toast
post Feb 17 2024, 04:08 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Feb 17 2024, 03:50 PM)
maybe the shop didn't carry them.
most shops only carry one or two or three brands only in their inventory.

even then a lot of shops don't have all color for any particular model. hodaka have lots of komine model and color since they are the main distro for malaysia.
I went Serdang motor too for the jacket purchase. The Chinese auntie didn't recommend komine, just show benkia.

I'll go again to see the komines.
paskal
post Feb 17 2024, 04:21 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(Kaya Butter Toast @ Feb 17 2024, 04:08 PM)
I went Serdang motor too for the jacket purchase. The Chinese auntie didn't recommend komine, just show benkia.

I'll go again to see the komines.
serdang don't carry komine.

the only place that i've seen that has both komine and benkia is el chong sungai jawi up in penang biggrin.gif
mADmAN
post Feb 17 2024, 05:42 PM

10,530 posts

X dapat pegi serdang today sad.gif

Gf had last minute work...when can go next tatau...
ajaibman
post Feb 17 2024, 06:37 PM

233 posts

Most of Serdang Motor gear are copies of Taichi and Komine, called benkia, starfields, and others. It's Asian Sizing so ngam2 for us.

Ok for daily usage, but for long distances or more serious riders (pushing hard) better to stick with well well-known brand.
Kaellis
post Feb 17 2024, 10:32 PM

Certified Perodua Alza hater
1,231 posts

Finally getting proper Komine glove at Hadoka motoworld

replacing Lazada copy komine
viosturbo500hp
post Feb 18 2024, 04:39 PM

81 posts

Had a low slide 2 weeks after i bought my Shima Jacket, landed on my right arm and slided across the tarmac. Walked out with zero abbraision on my arms or palms. I was wearing my Shima mesh pro & Benkia GK333 gloves.

Condition of my jacket after the crash cry.gif

Benkia GK333 took it like a champ, no holes, if you notice, there is slight sign of abraision on the palm area.

Went to Pertama complex to fix up my jacket as reccomended by @jaycee1, however there were so many tailor/repair & alteration shop there. At first i went to a regular jeans alteration shop but they reccomended me to come to this shop instead.

The tailor took one look at my jacket and he said it could fix it up in 1-2 hour.
End result:

For those who want to know how i had my lowslide? Well, it just rained & the road was wet, i was filtering inbetween cars and i didn't look far enough to notice that there was a car changing lane. A bike infront of me braked and i reacted too abruptly and jammed up my front brakes. Bike had no ABS, so there was nothing much i can do after the wheel locked up laugh.gif

Damaged some stuff on my bike. (brake lever, flairing, handle balancer, side mirrors & rear passenger foot pegs)

Got it fixed up with new flairings laugh.gif

Patent
post Feb 18 2024, 07:56 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(viosturbo500hp @ Feb 18 2024, 04:39 PM)
Had a low slide 2 weeks after i bought my Shima Jacket, landed on my right arm and slided across the tarmac. Walked out with zero abbraision on my arms or palms. I was wearing my Shima mesh pro & Benkia GK333 gloves.

Condition of my jacket after the crash cry.gif

Benkia GK333 took it like a champ, no holes, if you notice, there is slight sign of abraision on the palm area.

Went to Pertama complex to fix up my jacket as reccomended by @jaycee1, however there were so many tailor/repair & alteration shop there. At first i went to a regular jeans alteration shop but they reccomended me to come to this shop instead.

The tailor took one look at my jacket and he said it could fix it up in 1-2 hour.
End result:

For those who want to know how i had my lowslide? Well, it just rained & the road was wet, i was filtering inbetween cars and i didn't look far enough to notice that there was a car changing lane. A bike infront of me braked and i reacted too abruptly and jammed up my front brakes. Bike had no ABS, so there was nothing much i can do after the wheel locked up  laugh.gif

Damaged some stuff on my bike. (brake lever, flairing, handle balancer, side mirrors & rear passenger foot pegs)

Got it fixed up with new flairings  laugh.gif

Glad you came out with no injuries thumbup.gif
alexei
post Feb 18 2024, 10:36 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Got it fixed up with new flairings  laugh.gif

thanks for the detailed post
glad you're ok

This post has been edited by alexei: Feb 20 2024, 09:44 PM
jaycee1
post Feb 18 2024, 11:02 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

I'd say it's money well spent for the gloves and jacket. Lucky you finally bought 1 a few weeks ago.

ATGATT
viosturbo500hp
post Feb 19 2024, 11:20 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 18 2024, 10:36 PM)
thanks for the detailed post
glad you're ok

noticed you're using Michelin Pilot Street 2
back in the days, the previous model of this tyre is short for Melicin and was famous for horrible wet grip

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1622667/+621
What tires do you reccomend for a daily commuter LC 4s with standard size rims ?
mADmAN
post Feb 19 2024, 01:01 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(viosturbo500hp @ Feb 19 2024, 11:20 AM)
What tires do you reccomend for a daily commuter LC 4s with standard size rims  ?
Corsa S123... used them on my old Z250 n thought they were amazing

i see alot of kapchais using it on the rear pairing it with the Corsa S123 sport rain on the front coz the sport rain doesnt last as long.
alexei
post Feb 19 2024, 01:51 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

What tires do you reccomend for a daily commuter LC 4s with standard size rims  ?
Corsa (Platinum R26, Cross S etc)
Pirelli Rosso Sport
Metzeler Sportec Street
IRC IZ-S99

also make sure fork and absorber are in good condition - good brake, good tyre, poor suspension also a recipe for disaster during emergency braking
jaycee1
post Feb 19 2024, 02:01 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

You might want to add your LC has a big brake kit and upgraded brake master. Paired with subpar tyres on wet roads, it's easy to lock up.

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 19 2024, 01:01 PM)
Corsa S123... used them on my old Z250 n thought they were amazing

i see alot of kapchais using it on the rear pairing it with the Corsa S123 sport rain on the front coz the sport rain doesnt last as long.
The S123 lasts quite a bit but I won't really say they are that good in the rain. I also don't like the zig zag centre groove on the S123.

Maybe the Corsa Sport Rain would be better.

Best wet tyres I've had was those old school Dunlop TT100 on my old EX5.

alexei
post Feb 19 2024, 02:34 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 19 2024, 02:01 PM)
The S123 lasts quite a bit but I won't really say they are that good in the rain. I also don't like the zig zag centre groove on the S123.
guess I'm not the only person with this issue
mADmAN
post Feb 19 2024, 06:19 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 19 2024, 02:01 PM)

Maybe the Corsa Sport Rain would be better.

Best wet tyres I've had was those old school Dunlop TT100 on my old EX5.
QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 19 2024, 02:34 PM)
guess I'm not the only person with this issue
LOL... so did i actually... the zig zag makes it look weird. but i close one eye je... the s123 was a godsend to me after the nonsense zeneos dunno wat model before that.... those tires like wanna kill me wan.

TT100 only if the original dunlop....not the other brands that copy that design
Cyclone1
post Feb 20 2024, 12:57 PM

408 posts

Finally got my big bike! I am still not confident riding on public road yet as I am still new to big bike. Now just practicing slow ride and U-turn in taman area.

Anyway, I already got my helmet and now currently hunting for a glove and jacket. I have about RM1k to spend and been looking for jacket that looks more casual looking. Any suggestion? I've been looking at RS Taichi RSJ335 kinda look, but it doesn't seem like its mesh.
basilisk
post Feb 20 2024, 01:15 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Feb 20 2024, 12:57 PM)
Finally got my big bike! I am still not confident riding on public road yet as I am still new to big bike. Now just practicing slow ride and U-turn in taman area.

Anyway, I already got my helmet and now currently hunting for a glove and jacket. I have about RM1k to spend and been looking for jacket that looks more casual looking. Any suggestion? I've been looking at RS Taichi RSJ335 kinda look, but it doesn't seem like its mesh.
which bike? new?

This post has been edited by basilisk: Feb 20 2024, 01:15 PM
Cyclone1
post Feb 20 2024, 02:06 PM

408 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 20 2024, 01:15 PM)
which bike? new?
Got a Triumph Trident 660 biggrin.gif
mADmAN
post Feb 20 2024, 02:21 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Feb 20 2024, 12:57 PM)

i suggest going to hodaka or motorgear to check out the jacket up front. at the same time u can browse for other jackets n gloves as well.

product page says "high breathability" which i usually translate as non mesh, can be hot lol.

also dont understand why riding jackets got hoodies wan... especially when were already wearing helmet.

49 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:40 PM