Other ISP [Please Help] Digi Fibre Slow Down Speed Everyday, Digi Fibre Throttle Everyday

TSjaydenjau P
post Oct 31 2022, 11:57 AM, updated 4y ago

Probation

Hi guys, I’m currently using Digi 300mbps plan(TM Infra) for around 3-4 weeks now and ever since the first day, I experienced speed slowdown at usually at night to 200mbps(beside router) and 160mbps on my PC with wifi card(10 steps away from router) both on 5ghz wifi. The speed is good usually at day time and slow down at night. If I reboot the router, the speed will become fast again which my PC also get 300mbps full speed. But then if I don’t reboot the router, the slow speed continue to next day and following the day after. Also, sometimes this problem occur on afternoon as well and will slow down 1-2 hours after i reboot the router.

I’ve contacted Digi support and this is what they did.
1)Changed from WPA3 to WPA2.
2)Turn off IPV6 security.
3)Change a new router.
4)Switch from AX mode(wifi 6) to AC mode(wifi5).
4)Do setting this and that with the router.

And the problem still there. Despite all the slow speed im getting using WiFi, I got full speed even exceed (310mbps) using LAN cable on my PC even when the wifi speed is slow down.

I have no idea why and how… asked friend and people from facebook group, they say switching to a better router will fix the problem but I don’t want to spend another rm300-400 just to risk this.

Is anyone facing the same issue as mine? Or do anyone know how to fix this? Please help.

Router is ZYXEL EX3300-T0

https://pictr.com/images/2022/10/31/EHwQ7Y.md.jpg
Ebony & Ivory
post Oct 31 2022, 03:51 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(jaydenjau @ Oct 31 2022, 11:57 AM)
Despite all the slow speed im getting using WiFi, I got full speed even exceed (310mbps) using LAN cable on my PC even when the wifi speed is slow down.

If you can get full speed on wired connection, then it the router problem.

Need upgrade the wireless router and WIFI card if you want to have a better Wi-Fi stability and performance.

Can refer this thread for recommendation https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4658096/

This post has been edited by Ebony & Ivory: Oct 31 2022, 03:52 PM
Sam Leong
post Oct 31 2022, 05:01 PM

685 posts

Hi guys, I’m currently using Digi 300mbps plan(TM Infra) for around 3-4 weeks now and ever since the first day, I experienced speed slowdown at usually at night to 200mbps(beside router) and 160mbps on my PC with wifi card(10 steps away from router) both on 5ghz wifi. The speed is good usually at day time and slow down at night. If I reboot the router, the speed will become fast again which my PC also get 300mbps full speed. But then if I don’t reboot the router, the slow speed continue to next day and following the day after. Also, sometimes this problem occur on afternoon as well and will slow down 1-2 hours after i reboot the router.

3)Change a new router.

And the problem still there. Despite all the slow speed im getting using WiFi, I got full speed even exceed (310mbps) using LAN cable on my PC even when the wifi speed is slow down.

I have no idea why and how… asked friend and people from facebook group, they say switching to a better router will fix the problem but I don’t want to spend another rm300-400 just to risk this.

Is anyone facing the same issue as mine? Or do anyone know how to fix this? Please help.

apparently its router problem and not Digi problem cuz u mentioned LAN cable can get >300Mbps

Change a router
TSjaydenjau P
post Nov 1 2022, 12:39 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Oct 31 2022, 03:51 PM)
If you can get full speed on wired connection, then it the router problem.

Need upgrade the wireless router and WIFI card if you want to have a better Wi-Fi stability and performance.

Can refer this thread for recommendation https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4658096/
Ahh i see. So LAN also will be affected by internet congestion or speed throttle?

By the way the another Digi Technician came yesterday and he set the wifi channel to the best channel instead of auto according to Wifi Analyser and turn of ipv6 security. The wifi speed got way faster (around 310mbps this time on wifi) and so far no problem now.

If there’s still slow down, then i will consider change a new router. Thank you
machai_world
post Nov 1 2022, 10:36 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(jaydenjau @ Nov 1 2022, 12:39 PM)
Ahh i see. So LAN also will be affected by internet congestion or speed throttle?

By the way the another Digi Technician came yesterday and he set the wifi channel to the best channel instead of auto  according to Wifi Analyser and turn of ipv6 security. The wifi speed got way faster (around 310mbps this time on wifi) and so far no problem now.

If there’s still slow down, then i will consider change a new router. Thank you
I recommend u to get TP-link for ur alternative router. since its user friendly setup and quite stable and it'll last 3-4years (as tech. goes by brows.gif )

just make sure u do have d PPPoE username and password for 1st time setup...stock router just kept (n dun sell out)
watabakiu
post Nov 29 2022, 12:46 PM

1,573 posts

Out of curiosity, is DiGi strict with its Fair Usage Policy (FUP)? I am still wfh, and with so many video calls and files transfer, not sure if will kena throttle..
tng55
post Dec 1 2022, 12:36 AM

1,454 posts

3)Change a new router.

ZYXEL EX3300-T0 router is crappy you always like free router get crappy

not digi problem

i using tm unifi 100mbps tm give tplink router that crappy they left then i remove unplug tplink router
plug connect ASUS AX-68U Router wow alot stable no more slow down wifi always speed fully

i hate free router that 100% crappy
mayhammer
post Aug 3 2023, 06:54 PM

124 posts

in case you are wondering to update the firmware, you can do so via link below

https://www.zyxel.com/global/en/support/dow...model=ex3301-t0

Although it says it is EX3301-T0, download & read the firmware release notes, it says this firmware is for the following:-

Date: Nov. 23, 2022
Supported Platforms:
Zyxel DX3301-T0
Zyxel EX3301-T0 (DX3301-T0 remove VD WAN)
Zyxel DX3300-T0(DX3301-T0 remove VoIP)
Zyxel EX3300-T0(DX3301-T0 remove VD WAN and VoIP)

Not to mention, there is a lot of enhancement & bugfixes. FYI, I did flash mine to the lastest version, V5.50(ABVY.3.4)C0.
So far no problems.
SUSifourtos
post Aug 3 2023, 06:57 PM

2,256 posts

1 word

condo

i guess

0.0209sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:53 AM