Concept Cascade 1 Worklog, By lolhalol and extremeocer

TSlolhalol
post Oct 5 2007, 04:50 PM, updated 19y ago

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

Ok guys as what the title says, Cascade building worklog.

extremeocer and I will be building a concept cascade,

Reason why i call it Concept Cascade is because it still in a conceptual stage. Its unique in a way , I'm going to fit a normal SS into the same case as a Dual cascade. And fit it into the smallest case possible. AFAIK i have not seen any dual cascades and SS in the same case.

The case measures W34 x H44 x L54 .

I know the case need some work but what i really wanted was the base, as its made out of 2mm steel so its really solid and sturdy. Itll be using three rotary compressors and a 120mm condenser for the SS and 30cm condenser for the cascade.

Anyway this is gonna be one heck of a long project, as i wont be starting work on the real unit until February 2008, now its just the design and planning stages. Like all the pipe work, placement, gases to use, and collecting components.
TSlolhalol
post Oct 5 2007, 05:11 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

ok some conceptual drawings of placements and pipe work,

any questions can be posted directly here in this thread pls.. pls dun pm to me or extremeocer,
ianho
post Oct 5 2007, 08:59 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Wooooo. Good stuff. Which case u gonna put on top of it? Blackfire?
extremeocer
post Oct 5 2007, 09:02 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 5 2007, 08:59 PM)
its gonna be a open concept bench rig.
TSlolhalol
post Oct 5 2007, 09:30 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 5 2007, 09:59 PM)
ure answer below...

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Oct 5 2007, 10:02 PM)
its gonna be a open concept bench rig.
well the daily side of the system will be connected to my clack fire.. which will sit beside it... adn my open bench table which is still under design , will be easily removable, so most probably my blackfire will go on top smile.gif

ianho
post Oct 5 2007, 11:35 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 5 2007, 09:30 PM)
ure answer below...
well the daily side of the system will be connected to my clack fire.. which will sit beside it... adn my open bench table which is still under design , will be easily removable, so most probably my blackfire will go on top smile.gif
Naisssssssss. Make sure u put the log of this monster in ur Blackfire worklog too. thumbup.gif
TSlolhalol
post Oct 5 2007, 11:54 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 6 2007, 12:35 AM)
Naisssssssss.  Make sure u put the log of this monster in ur Blackfire worklog too.  thumbup.gif
already boss.. tongue.gif u can see i put a preview pic there tongue.gif
ianho
post Oct 5 2007, 11:58 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 5 2007, 11:54 PM)
already boss.. tongue.gif u can see i put a preview pic there tongue.gif
Cool! Er........................ I meant COLD! laugh.gif
almostthere
post Oct 6 2007, 12:12 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

question is...are you going to place the fans on such a way?

Sure looks like a potential dead spot creator
TSlolhalol
post Oct 6 2007, 12:28 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Oct 6 2007, 01:12 AM)
question is...are you going to place the fans on such a way?

Sure looks like a potential dead spot creator
wat u mean? which part? teh fans positions are not final. will be moved in the end depending on space.. but there will definitely be one fan on each compressor.
extremeocer
post Oct 6 2007, 12:38 AM

302 posts

There is no dead spot.......what you don't see is the large exhaust fan. it's big enough to pull any air out.
TSlolhalol
post Oct 6 2007, 12:43 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Oct 6 2007, 01:38 AM)
There is no dead spot.......what you don't see is the large exhaust fan. it's big enough to pull any air out.
no lah dun blame him , not his fault... the exhasut fan tehre is not obviosu in teh pics.. u knw coz i discussed it with u..
extremeocer
post Oct 6 2007, 01:35 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 6 2007, 12:43 AM)
no lah dun blame him , not his fault... the exhasut fan tehre is not obviosu in teh pics.. u knw coz i discussed it with u..
Don't get me wrong, i am not blaming him....i'm just explaining. Well, from the pics, there is condenser mah....Condenser sure got fan to cool. Moreover we intend to use a 30CM condenser, so basically a large fan is needed to cool it. For a condenser of the size, the most ideal fan to use is exhaust fan. very very strong CFM. So the concern here is definitely not dead spot.

I was wondering if there is enough intake air into the casing since the exhaust fan is pulling a wholesome of air out...but since the casing is not entirely covered up...so airflow wouldn't be an issue.
LExus65
post Oct 6 2007, 08:07 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

wah nice ........finally some really technical stuff......

hehe bro mind to share some technical details ? like what compressor, refrigerant and what kind of valve......
TSlolhalol
post Oct 6 2007, 09:18 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Oct 6 2007, 02:35 AM)
Don't get me wrong, i am not blaming him....i'm just explaining. Well, from the pics, there is condenser mah....Condenser sure got fan to cool. Moreover we intend to use a 30CM condenser, so basically a large fan is needed to cool it. For a condenser of the size, the most ideal fan to use is exhaust fan. very very strong CFM. So the concern here is definitely not dead spot.

I was wondering if there is enough intake air into the casing since the exhaust fan is pulling a wholesome of air out...but since the casing is not entirely covered up...so airflow wouldn't be an issue.
haha yeah.. dun worry the sides are all open

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Oct 6 2007, 09:07 AM)
wah nice ........finally some really technical stuff......

hehe bro mind to share some technical details ? like what compressor, refrigerant and what kind of valve......
haha so far refrigerant not finalised yet.. but compressors will be 1hp Rotary, smile.gif
andre X_X
post Oct 6 2007, 01:33 PM

28 posts

ok, i see you're planned to using the single stage rotary with 12cm condensor??? rotary consume more refrigerant than hermetic, so i think its hard to condense with such a small condensor especially the ambient inside the case would be verrryyy hot due to the 3 rotarys. just imagine, 1 rotary can produce heat 60c - 100c while operating...
where do you planned to put the oil separator i didnt see it on the drawing. what refrigerant you're gonna use for low stage?
its a verryy hard and tricky job to put 3 rotarys inside that box.

TSlolhalol
post Oct 6 2007, 02:20 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(andre X_X @ Oct 6 2007, 02:33 PM)
ok, i see you're planned to using the single stage rotary with 12cm condensor??? rotary consume more refrigerant than hermetic, so i think its hard to condense with such a small condensor especially the ambient inside the case would be verrryyy hot due to the 3 rotarys. just imagine, 1 rotary can produce heat 60c - 100c while operating...
where do you planned to put the oil separator i didnt see it on the drawing. what refrigerant you're gonna use for low stage?
ah... well most of the placements and parts are yet to be finalized. as were still planning , the 3d images are just rough sketches for now .

low stage probably r22. oil seperator will be in between the hx and the big condenser.. theres just enough space..

i agree it will be tricky.. but its a nice challenge ain't it ? and thats y we are taking teh slow way.. planing again and again.. with prototypes to be built out of cardboards.... ( of course not brazed lah...) lolz

almostthere
post Oct 6 2007, 02:32 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

So the basis of the housing is flow through based I gather? But the thing is the flow equalized or are you following the adage of as much air in as possible? Just asking

BTW rendered using what? 3D Max? Not familiar since I use CATIA

This post has been edited by almostthere: Oct 6 2007, 02:33 PM
TSlolhalol
post Oct 6 2007, 02:44 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

im using sketch up, its not teh point of as much airflow as possible, and there wont be sidepanels. so mostly wat im doing is jsut having a fan piointed at any heat generating part, and the fan on top are for cooling the pipework...
almostthere
post Oct 6 2007, 03:38 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 6 2007, 02:44 PM)
im using sketch up, its not teh point of as much airflow as possible, and  there wont be sidepanels.  so mostly wat im doing is jsut having a fan piointed at any heat generating part, and the fan on top are for cooling the pipework...
in other words active cooling of components then. But why would you need to cool some of the pipework as those that carry the compressed gas forward to exchanger/evap head would be highly compressed to the point it be less affected by temperature.
TSlolhalol
post Oct 6 2007, 03:46 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

well there is teh desuper heater coil , on both set ups.. that l go just above the compressor... and to mover the hot air out thru the back.. as teh compressors get hot.. teh hot air will be rising.. so the piepwork will sweat... the cold ones at least.. the fan prevents that also...
extremeocer
post Oct 6 2007, 04:15 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(andre X_X @ Oct 6 2007, 01:33 PM)
yo andre bro....good to see you here. anyway the 12cm condenser will do for now as that is for daily usage....so basically the compressor will not be running all together at any one time. its either cascade or SS.

As for the cascade....r22 will gonna be used for low stages. I'll try to get a better refrigerant for the 2nd stage. Anything better then r410a requires an oil separator. There's still some spacing left...so adding an oil sep shouldn't pose any issues.
almostthere
post Oct 6 2007, 04:23 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

Hmmmmm....looks like I'm gonna be making friends with MOX soon if I wanna outmatch you guys. RM80/= a tank of LN2 sounds tempting. Now for a rod of copper to mill
TSlolhalol
post Oct 6 2007, 04:32 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

haha bro u forgot ur dewwar.. or u already haave a dewar?
extremeocer
post Oct 6 2007, 05:49 PM

302 posts

though ln2 is much cooler than cascade....but just calculate the cost. RM80 per tank oni last for a while. Cascade last forever!!!....yeh!!!
almostthere
post Oct 6 2007, 07:39 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Oct 6 2007, 05:49 PM)
though ln2 is much cooler than cascade....but just calculate the cost. RM80 per tank oni last for a while. Cascade last forever!!!....yeh!!!
it's not a matter of last long or doesn't last long. After all, show me one OC'ed system on cascade that lasted very long. Hardly a few do due to the electrical stresses you put on it. In fact a few stopped using phase change (bulkhy used to make em') since the maintenance was an arse anyway
extremeocer
post Oct 6 2007, 07:43 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Oct 6 2007, 07:39 PM)
it's not a matter of last long or doesn't last long. After all, show me one OC'ed system on cascade that lasted very long. Hardly a few do due to the electrical stresses you put on it. In fact a few stopped using phase change (bulkhy used to make em') since the maintenance was an arse anyway
well...for one, i game on my cascade. 3 - 4 hrs daily. Maintanence???.....no worries dude. I dun see any maintanence needed. Its not like home A/C unit which needs servicing and refrigerant top-up. Anyway, FYI bulkhy will be back. We had some discussion on building his cascade.
TSlolhalol
post Oct 6 2007, 09:45 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Oct 6 2007, 08:39 PM)
well imo a well made and organized cascade wont need much maintainence . i dont get wat u mean by electrical stress.. u mean electric bills?
almostthere
post Oct 6 2007, 09:51 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 6 2007, 09:45 PM)
well imo a well made and organized cascade wont need much maintainence . i dont get wat u mean by electrical stress.. u mean electric bills?
the stress on the proc , mobo, RAM bla bla bla. Heck even fugger doesn't run his triple cascade often (Not to mention the fact it'll kill his AC outlet)

Maybe it's time I got serious again with OC'ing. Maybe....see how 1st. I can barely fund my PC's maintenance now

This post has been edited by almostthere: Oct 6 2007, 09:53 PM
TSlolhalol
post Oct 6 2007, 10:37 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Oct 6 2007, 10:51 PM)
the stress on the proc , mobo, RAM bla bla bla. Heck even fugger doesn't run his triple cascade often (Not to mention the fact it'll kill his AC outlet)

Maybe it's time I got serious again with OC'ing. Maybe....see how 1st. I can barely fund my PC's maintenance now
ahh those issues.. of course u dont run ur cascade rig t4.7 lah... u under ln2 also u run 24.7 meh ? lolz.. but the stess is a known thing.. when oc u knw the risks involved... no offense though

neway thats y i have a daily use Single Stage on this setup .. so its esay to move an swithc..

almostthere
post Oct 6 2007, 10:40 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 6 2007, 10:37 PM)
ahh those issues.. of course u dont run ur cascade rig t4.7 lah... u under ln2 also u run 24.7 meh ? lolz.. but the stess is a known thing.. when oc u knw the risks involved... no offense though

neway thats y i have a daily use Single Stage on this setup .. so its esay to move an swithc..
precisely the point. LN2 when u kira ur costing just as low to use. Just that you have to be more careful unless u want extreme frostbite on ur body laaaa. LOL
TSlolhalol
post Oct 6 2007, 10:47 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Oct 6 2007, 11:40 PM)
precisely the point. LN2 when u kira ur costing just as low to use. Just that you have to be more careful unless u want extreme frostbite on ur body laaaa. LOL
well depends lah.. im a heavy bencher.. almost everyday .. and with the cascade easily will hit 10hrs aday...im, already clocking in about 9 to 8 hrs aday of testing with air ( waiting for uni is so boring) so using ln2 is too exp hence this project.. if ur a once a month bencher then its fine....

haha about ln2 giving u frostbite its actually not true...

did u kwn the safest way to handle ln2 is without gloves?

yeah its shocking but if u ask any chemist hell tell u that its true.. adn that if u stick ur hand for a second into a small pudle of ln2 , say in a small bowl , ur safe.. and it wont freeze, heck u can pour it on ur hand and it wont freeze..
this phenomenon is due to the fact that ln2 evaporate teh second it touches anything hotter taht it self.. which is almost everything lolz ,
when it evaporates, it formes a layer of gas , and it floats on it.. unless its too heavy and gravity does it job and the gas can tsupport it, this is only for large amounts..

about the gloves, the reason being is that if u splash in on u, some of ln2 might spill into the glovess and into thefingers area. teh ln2 wil not be able to form the cuhion or gas be casue of the enclose space and it will freze ur hand. also wearing anything canvas shoes or shirts, it will soak up the ln2 and freze u smile.gif so happy benching, hey bro if u have a DEWAR container , pls do gime a pm. might want to borrow it..
almostthere
post Oct 7 2007, 12:25 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 6 2007, 10:47 PM)
well depends lah.. im a heavy bencher.. almost everyday .. and with the cascade easily will hit 10hrs aday...im, already clocking in about 9 to 8 hrs aday of testing with air ( waiting for uni is so boring) so using ln2 is too exp hence this project.. if ur a once a month bencher then its fine.... 

haha about ln2 giving u frostbite its actually not true...

did u kwn the safest way to handle ln2 is without gloves?

yeah its shocking but if u ask any chemist hell tell u that its true..  adn that if u stick ur hand for a second into a small pudle of ln2  , say in a small bowl , ur safe.. and it wont freeze, heck u can pour it on ur hand and it wont freeze..
this phenomenon is due to the fact that ln2 evaporate teh second it touches anything hotter taht it self.. which is almost everything lolz  , 
when it evaporates, it formes a layer of gas , and it floats on it.. unless its too heavy and gravity does it job and the gas can tsupport it, this is only for large amounts..

about the gloves, the reason being is that if u splash in on u, some of ln2 might spill into the glovess and into thefingers area. teh ln2 wil not be able to form the cuhion or gas be casue of the enclose space and it will freze ur hand. also wearing anything canvas shoes or shirts, it will soak up the ln2 and freze u smile.gif so happy benching, hey bro if u have a DEWAR container , pls do gime a pm. might want  to borrow it..
yeah I know that due to it's instant absorption of energy causing it to disperse into gas. It's when accidentally spill 3 litres of it then you might consider it something else. The container still doing the drawings since need to finalise few details then do a CNC coding because the tube will be counter sunk into the base plate so precision is a must for me. I haven't decided to do the brazing on my own or not

What's more budget and materials sourcing an issue. LN2 by itself is cheap. It's getting the tank for it an issue. I haven't asked MOX for prices yet. What's more, need someone to point to me a copper rod supplier.

This post has been edited by almostthere: Oct 7 2007, 12:27 AM
sup3rfly
post Oct 7 2007, 12:57 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

hey dude if u found a source of copper rod do let me know...been looking for it crazily @_@
extremeocer
post Oct 7 2007, 01:01 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Oct 7 2007, 12:57 AM)
hey dude if u found a source of copper rod do let me know...been looking for it crazily @_@
i have plenty of that here....thanks anyway.
almostthere
post Oct 7 2007, 01:04 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Oct 7 2007, 01:01 AM)
i have plenty of that here....thanks anyway.
what are the dimensions and in what lengths?
TSlolhalol
post Oct 13 2007, 12:37 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

the evap head that will go into this cascade and SS..

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Oct 17 2007, 11:48 PM
TSlolhalol
post Oct 17 2007, 11:46 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

finalised the compressors that i will be using with extremeocer. will be three 1 hp matsushita electronics compressors.. adn some home made condensors...

neway extremeocer did some tests...
to test the evaps, bench rig.

done with r22 low side and r410a on the high side... this should be the gases i wil be using in my cascade when its done...

teh cascade

, got -75 C unloaded. and -63 C loaded. Using a e6600 , clocked at 4.3 @1.65 v.
temps were measured from the suction line. didn't get to measure from teh evap , ,,
extremeocer
post Oct 18 2007, 01:22 AM

302 posts

Here's a little update on my Cascade

Before - Captube running thru the middle of suction line

After - captube connected from the Y-joint to the evap - neater eh

Thats the DIY condenser

Evap starting to freeze

After 1 minute....Ice Kacang anyone? tongue.gif

Now that's extreme gaming at 4.3Ghz

This post has been edited by extremeocer: Oct 18 2007, 03:32 PM
bloodvampire
post Oct 18 2007, 03:59 PM

108 posts

Man...this is awesome... doesnt the ice damage the board or chip?
DaRkSyThE
post Oct 18 2007, 07:16 PM

4,809 posts

hhhm. nice job.
very neat too.

ps, is that a mushkin PSU i spot? tongue.gif
StratOS
post Oct 18 2007, 07:23 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

Wow.. but then suddenly no electricity how ler..? got back up power to prevent ice from melting..?
almostthere
post Oct 18 2007, 07:29 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

We need benches ere' son. Come on son, get some
extremeocer
post Oct 18 2007, 09:21 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(bloodvampire @ Oct 18 2007, 03:59 PM)
Man...this is awesome... doesnt the ice damage the board or chip?
nope....the CPU area is totally 100% air tight. So there will be no ice there...just coldness of around -70c. Don't worry, it won't kill your mobo or chip.....in fact, your proc will love the coldness.

Added on October 18, 2007, 9:23 pm
QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Oct 18 2007, 07:16 PM)
hhhm. nice job.
very neat too.

ps, is that a mushkin PSU i spot? tongue.gif
Nope...not mushkin PSU...hehe

Added on October 18, 2007, 9:27 pm
QUOTE(StratOS @ Oct 18 2007, 07:23 PM)
Wow.. but then suddenly no electricity how ler..? got back up power to prevent ice from melting..?
I have a UPS to power up a secondary PSU which connects 3 80mm Delta FFBs. The fans will blow around the cpu area the prevent any condensation.

Added on October 18, 2007, 9:29 pm
QUOTE(almostthere @ Oct 18 2007, 07:29 PM)
We need benches ere' son. Come on son, get some
only some old benchies.....no new hardware to play with.

This post has been edited by extremeocer: Oct 18 2007, 09:29 PM
TSlolhalol
post Oct 18 2007, 09:41 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

siapa want to spncer us hardware to bench? lolz

also i made a ram cooler in preparation to the cascade for benching..

well as they say pic say a thousand words..

but crappy pics a hundred words

sorry for really shit quality photos. using hand phone cam.. will take nice pics when i can

fans are 2 x 92mm Delta FFB0912HHE, they are slower than screamers but provide preety good flow with out the gila noise..
Quazacolt
post Oct 19 2007, 12:03 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

woah nice ram fans, does give a sense of "extreme" feeling lol

although if i may suggest, maybe shorten the stands a weee bit to have airflow concentrated on the rams rather than having it scattered throughout the area, possible to get better cooling. OR! maybe do some modding to get some heatpipes/alu fins attached to the rams, and sticking to the same fan setup. im thinking something along the lines of having a proc heatsink attached to rams and having 2x 120mm fans blowing ROFL!

what ye think bout that? brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
TSlolhalol
post Oct 19 2007, 12:55 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

haha good idea , but the rams would get too hot mate... lolz.. teh stands are really tall because my hr-05 is really tall... lolz
Quazacolt
post Oct 19 2007, 02:07 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 19 2007, 12:55 PM)
haha good idea , but the rams would get too hot mate... lolz.. teh stands are really tall because my hr-05 is really tall... lolz
i wonder if you can "branch" out ur cascade to work like watercooling, like 1 block for cpu 1 for gpu etc... if can you can cascade up ur rams tongue.gif

would be DAMN interesting to see those MAD oc'ings especially on DDR3's
extremeocer
post Oct 19 2007, 02:34 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 19 2007, 02:07 PM)
i wonder if you can "branch" out ur cascade to work like watercooling, like 1 block for cpu 1 for gpu etc... if can you can cascade up ur rams tongue.gif

would be DAMN interesting to see those MAD oc'ings especially on DDR3's
It wouldn't be worth the effort to cascade the rams....phase change would be better but also considered overkill. A nice cfm fan would be more than sufficient to cool the rams.

And yes...i can make multiple evaps. Perhaps dual or triple evaps.
LExus65
post Oct 19 2007, 02:56 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

cascade cool the rams too may be ?? hehe
extremeocer
post Oct 19 2007, 05:53 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Oct 19 2007, 02:56 PM)
cascade cool the rams too may be ?? hehe
ain't worth the effort....my rams are very cool even at 2.4v. With my cascade on my CPU....the area around it is also cold. My NB temps is only 33c with the NB volts to the max. flex.gif
almostthere
post Oct 21 2007, 07:40 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Oct 19 2007, 05:53 PM)
ain't worth the effort....my rams are very cool even at 2.4v. With my cascade on my CPU....the area around it is also cold. My NB temps is only 33c with the NB volts to the max.  flex.gif
dude, you got repair phase changers too or not? Seems amok needs his fixed, which was made by Bulky. Some brazing mostly

This post has been edited by almostthere: Oct 21 2007, 07:40 PM
extremeocer
post Oct 21 2007, 08:49 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Oct 21 2007, 07:40 PM)
dude, you got repair phase changers too or not? Seems amok needs his fixed, which was made by Bulky. Some brazing mostly
oh yes...i do....building and also servicing or repairs....no probs
TSlolhalol
post Oct 21 2007, 10:21 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

wah seems like amok and bulkhy are coming back.. the old hands versus the new guys. ... were still noobs compare to u guys man...
extremeocer
post Oct 21 2007, 11:13 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 21 2007, 10:21 PM)
wah seems like amok and bulkhy are coming back.. the old hands versus the new guys. ... were still noobs compare to u guys man...
Sure or not....i was using a phase rig 4 years back....before bulkhy. haha...just joking here...but i its true about the phase. Was using it long ago. Everyday is a learning process.
TSlolhalol
post Oct 22 2007, 05:21 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

ya lah.. that time i dunno u mah..lol... that time still noob like hell.. see oc was like WOAH>>> drool.gif

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Oct 22 2007, 05:22 PM
extremeocer
post Oct 23 2007, 10:32 PM

302 posts

For those who are still new to extreme cooling....here's some insulation guide.

We'll start off by insulating the back of the mainboard....using a can of clear spray.
just spray around the cpu area...i did 3 layers of lacquer just to be safe.

Insulated with neoprene and foam tape

Now to insulate the front as well....using foam tape.

even the under-side of the CPU needs to be protected. Dielectric grease or silicon grease is used.

Apply evenly on the socket with slight pressure as you don't want to damage the pins with too much force. You can either use your fingers or a paint brush to do the job.

Dielectric grease spread out nice and even.

Next, just intall your processor and apply a thin layer of thermal compound. For me, I use Anabond thermal compound as i find it suitable for phase change. Artic Silver 5 or AS5 solidify under extreme temps...definitely not ideal.

Nice and even spread

Final layer of foam is added to the insulation and you are good to go.

kerryking
post Oct 23 2007, 10:59 PM

553 posts

Nice guide..looks like a commando to me..hehe
emilz
post Oct 24 2007, 01:34 AM

1,377 posts

miss my commando already.... bro wait for my dfi plak later kay laugh.gif
extremeocer
post Oct 24 2007, 01:55 AM

302 posts

its now commando on steroids.....so far working good

emilz
post Oct 24 2007, 06:38 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Oct 24 2007, 01:55 AM)
its now commando on steroids.....so far working good
bro fast2 finish it n see the ocing result notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
TSlolhalol
post Oct 24 2007, 03:11 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

haha wth... got mobo.. then so fast show off...lol...
extremeocer
post Oct 24 2007, 06:36 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 24 2007, 03:11 PM)
haha wth... got mobo.. then so fast show off...lol...
Aiyo, bro lolhalol, spam your own thread ar?...no la..no show off....just thats its about extreme cooling, so might as well do a simple insulation guide and what result phase change or cascade can do. rclxms.gif
TSlolhalol
post Oct 24 2007, 09:40 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

haha ... nice.. but the top layer u got spray clear coat?
extremeocer
post Oct 24 2007, 11:09 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 24 2007, 09:40 PM)
haha ... nice.. but the top layer u got spray clear coat?
of course got la......i use nail varnish instead of spray coz i don't wanna spray over the components.

This post has been edited by extremeocer: Oct 24 2007, 11:10 PM
TSlolhalol
post Oct 25 2007, 12:20 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

haha.. nice ... ill wont be using anything ..lol...just good old insulation adn glue..lol.. pva glue works also.. lol
ThinWai
post Oct 27 2007, 03:34 PM

474 posts

bro..u do the casing for?so many fan,,and beautiul..nice work rclxms.gif
TSlolhalol
post Oct 28 2007, 10:49 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

haha, i do the casing to keep them all in one portable unit loh.. smile.gif thx mate
wodenus
post Nov 20 2007, 12:37 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 25 2007, 12:20 AM)
haha.. nice ... ill wont be using anything ..lol...just good old insulation adn glue..lol.. pva glue works also.. lol
Blah.. why don't we see any pics of your setup ? smile.gif

TSlolhalol
post Nov 21 2007, 09:53 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

hehe.. not yet build yet lah... and finish build already i give u all a super load of pics... so can satisfy u untill u full
TSlolhalol
post Nov 27 2007, 04:26 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

Some updates on the mounitng for the evap... thx DUNIEK .. very nice stuffs u sent me.. smile.gif

and heres the whole package.. smile.gif

i call them yao ming, allen iverson and iversons younger brother. :tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Nov 27 2007, 04:26 PM
coolice
post Nov 27 2007, 04:32 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

bugger,the middle unit is mine?XD

wodenus
post Nov 27 2007, 04:48 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

It's very... engineered smile.gif lots of custom-built parts smile.gif

TSlolhalol
post Nov 27 2007, 05:27 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Nov 27 2007, 05:32 PM)
bugger,the middle unit is mine?XD
haha u ah.. kacau lah..lol.. j.kj.k.. ya ya lah urz lah.. lol

@wodenus

for cascade only quality parts or fitting parts will do or else its dangerous.. so best is always custom made... smile.gif
cstkl1
post Nov 27 2007, 05:49 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Nov 27 2007, 04:48 PM)
It's very... engineered smile.gif lots of custom-built parts smile.gif
eta and on ure setup??
wodenus
post Nov 27 2007, 06:05 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

-- oops ---

This post has been edited by wodenus: Nov 27 2007, 06:35 PM
TSlolhalol
post Nov 27 2007, 07:33 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 27 2007, 06:49 PM)
eta and on ure setup??
dunno who this question is directed to but. my baby is scheduled for completion by late febuary../ early aprril
wodenus
post Nov 27 2007, 08:36 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Nov 27 2007, 07:33 PM)
dunno who this question is directed to but. my baby is scheduled for completion by late febuary../ early aprril
Wow... long time for yours. Wonder if he needs any help.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Nov 27 2007, 08:43 PM
cstkl1
post Nov 27 2007, 09:08 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Nov 27 2007, 07:33 PM)
waiting for the first setup that extreme ocer sold..

want to see how it look like..

sorry for the misunderstanding..

TSlolhalol
post Nov 27 2007, 09:23 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Nov 27 2007, 09:36 PM)
Wow... long time for yours. Wonder if he needs any help.
lol... u mean if i need help? nah not at the moment. smile.gif neways i always welcome anyone who wants to have a nice chat on hardware .. at yamcha or online.. smile.gif
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 27 2007, 10:08 PM)
waiting for the first setup that extreme ocer sold..

want to see how it look like..

sorry for the misunderstanding..
ahh np np.. no need to apologise.. my misunderstanding. smile.gif

Added on November 27, 2007, 9:24 pmbtw
@ ctskl

my cascade/SS will be quite diff from exocers units.. build by me and him but completely diff layout and performance numbers.. sorry smile.gif

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Nov 27 2007, 09:24 PM
wodenus
post Nov 27 2007, 09:44 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Nov 27 2007, 09:23 PM)
lol... u mean if i need help? nah not at the moment. smile.gif neways i always welcome anyone who wants to have a nice chat on hardware .. at yamcha or online..  smile.gif
ahh np np.. no need to apologise.. my misunderstanding. smile.gif

Added on November 27, 2007, 9:24 pmbtw
@ ctskl

my cascade/SS will be quite diff from exocers units.. build by me and him but completely diff layout and performance numbers.. sorry smile.gif
No I mean does ex need any help smile.gif is your unit built already or are you both teaming up to build it later ?

TSlolhalol
post Nov 27 2007, 10:41 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

nah ex dun need help .. besides building cascasde and phase units is dangerous... usually a single person job.. and my baby will be team job.. he will come to my hse and we build it together.. now researching and collecting parts.. smile.gif
kerryking
post Nov 28 2007, 11:57 AM

553 posts

Dun forget to call me lol
i come see see....
wodenus
post Nov 28 2007, 06:06 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Nov 27 2007, 10:41 PM)
nah ex dun need help .. besides building cascasde and phase units is dangerous... usually a single person job.. and my baby will be team job.. he will come to my hse and we build it together.. now researching and collecting parts.. smile.gif
So you can build one as well ? smile.gif
TSlolhalol
post Nov 29 2007, 03:32 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(kerryking @ Nov 28 2007, 12:57 PM)
Dun forget to call me lol
i come see see....
smile.gif of course man.. definately will call u smile.gif

QUOTE(wodenus @ Nov 28 2007, 07:06 PM)
So you can build one as well ? smile.gif
yes... i have some experience with brazing ... still beginner but can get by lah.. just need to go buy tools.
wodenus
post Nov 29 2007, 05:05 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Nov 29 2007, 03:32 AM)
smile.gif of course man.. definately will call u smile.gif
yes... i have some experience with brazing ... still beginner but can get by lah.. just need to go buy tools.
How much do they cost ?
TSlolhalol
post Nov 29 2007, 06:43 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

alot... vacumm pump is int he range of 2krm for a normal one... not to mention the costs of the brazing kit, flaring , swaging tool , brazing rods, refrigeratn gas, pipe vutters, insulation, condensor, purging gas, filter dryier.. will cost alot..
sHawTY
post Nov 29 2007, 06:58 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

lolhalol, i don't mean to barge your thread and make it dirty, but since this project were made by you & extremeocer, would you mind going to the thread below:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/580897
TSlolhalol
post Nov 29 2007, 09:50 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 29 2007, 07:58 PM)
lolhalol, i don't mean to barge your thread and make it dirty, but since this project were made by you & extremeocer, would you mind going to the thread below:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/580897
noted.. and posted... thx for bringing it up .. though i knew of the thread quite a while.. but i saw my name borught up so i needed to clear up some issues.. thx neway

0.0459sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:57 PM