5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Concept Cascade 1 Worklog, By lolhalol and extremeocer

TSlolhalol
post Oct 5 2007, 04:50 PM, updated 19y ago

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

Ok guys as what the title says, Cascade building worklog.

extremeocer and I will be building a concept cascade,

Reason why i call it Concept Cascade is because it still in a conceptual stage. Its unique in a way , I'm going to fit a normal SS into the same case as a Dual cascade. And fit it into the smallest case possible. AFAIK i have not seen any dual cascades and SS in the same case.

The case measures W34 x H44 x L54 .

I know the case need some work but what i really wanted was the base, as its made out of 2mm steel so its really solid and sturdy. Itll be using three rotary compressors and a 120mm condenser for the SS and 30cm condenser for the cascade.

Anyway this is gonna be one heck of a long project, as i wont be starting work on the real unit until February 2008, now its just the design and planning stages. Like all the pipe work, placement, gases to use, and collecting components.
TSlolhalol
post Oct 5 2007, 05:11 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

ok some conceptual drawings of placements and pipe work,

any questions can be posted directly here in this thread pls.. pls dun pm to me or extremeocer,
ianho
post Oct 5 2007, 08:59 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Wooooo. Good stuff. Which case u gonna put on top of it? Blackfire?
extremeocer
post Oct 5 2007, 09:02 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 5 2007, 08:59 PM)
its gonna be a open concept bench rig.
TSlolhalol
post Oct 5 2007, 09:30 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 5 2007, 09:59 PM)
ure answer below...

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Oct 5 2007, 10:02 PM)
its gonna be a open concept bench rig.
well the daily side of the system will be connected to my clack fire.. which will sit beside it... adn my open bench table which is still under design , will be easily removable, so most probably my blackfire will go on top smile.gif

ianho
post Oct 5 2007, 11:35 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 5 2007, 09:30 PM)
ure answer below...
well the daily side of the system will be connected to my clack fire.. which will sit beside it... adn my open bench table which is still under design , will be easily removable, so most probably my blackfire will go on top smile.gif
Naisssssssss. Make sure u put the log of this monster in ur Blackfire worklog too. thumbup.gif
TSlolhalol
post Oct 5 2007, 11:54 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 6 2007, 12:35 AM)
Naisssssssss.  Make sure u put the log of this monster in ur Blackfire worklog too.  thumbup.gif
already boss.. tongue.gif u can see i put a preview pic there tongue.gif
ianho
post Oct 5 2007, 11:58 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 5 2007, 11:54 PM)
already boss.. tongue.gif u can see i put a preview pic there tongue.gif
Cool! Er........................ I meant COLD! laugh.gif
almostthere
post Oct 6 2007, 12:12 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

question is...are you going to place the fans on such a way?

Sure looks like a potential dead spot creator
TSlolhalol
post Oct 6 2007, 12:28 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Oct 6 2007, 01:12 AM)
question is...are you going to place the fans on such a way?

Sure looks like a potential dead spot creator
wat u mean? which part? teh fans positions are not final. will be moved in the end depending on space.. but there will definitely be one fan on each compressor.
extremeocer
post Oct 6 2007, 12:38 AM

302 posts

There is no dead spot.......what you don't see is the large exhaust fan. it's big enough to pull any air out.
TSlolhalol
post Oct 6 2007, 12:43 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Oct 6 2007, 01:38 AM)
There is no dead spot.......what you don't see is the large exhaust fan. it's big enough to pull any air out.
no lah dun blame him , not his fault... the exhasut fan tehre is not obviosu in teh pics.. u knw coz i discussed it with u..
extremeocer
post Oct 6 2007, 01:35 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 6 2007, 12:43 AM)
no lah dun blame him , not his fault... the exhasut fan tehre is not obviosu in teh pics.. u knw coz i discussed it with u..
Don't get me wrong, i am not blaming him....i'm just explaining. Well, from the pics, there is condenser mah....Condenser sure got fan to cool. Moreover we intend to use a 30CM condenser, so basically a large fan is needed to cool it. For a condenser of the size, the most ideal fan to use is exhaust fan. very very strong CFM. So the concern here is definitely not dead spot.

I was wondering if there is enough intake air into the casing since the exhaust fan is pulling a wholesome of air out...but since the casing is not entirely covered up...so airflow wouldn't be an issue.
LExus65
post Oct 6 2007, 08:07 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

wah nice ........finally some really technical stuff......

hehe bro mind to share some technical details ? like what compressor, refrigerant and what kind of valve......
TSlolhalol
post Oct 6 2007, 09:18 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Oct 6 2007, 02:35 AM)
Don't get me wrong, i am not blaming him....i'm just explaining. Well, from the pics, there is condenser mah....Condenser sure got fan to cool. Moreover we intend to use a 30CM condenser, so basically a large fan is needed to cool it. For a condenser of the size, the most ideal fan to use is exhaust fan. very very strong CFM. So the concern here is definitely not dead spot.

I was wondering if there is enough intake air into the casing since the exhaust fan is pulling a wholesome of air out...but since the casing is not entirely covered up...so airflow wouldn't be an issue.
haha yeah.. dun worry the sides are all open

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Oct 6 2007, 09:07 AM)
wah nice ........finally some really technical stuff......

hehe bro mind to share some technical details ? like what compressor, refrigerant and what kind of valve......
haha so far refrigerant not finalised yet.. but compressors will be 1hp Rotary, smile.gif
andre X_X
post Oct 6 2007, 01:33 PM

28 posts

ok, i see you're planned to using the single stage rotary with 12cm condensor??? rotary consume more refrigerant than hermetic, so i think its hard to condense with such a small condensor especially the ambient inside the case would be verrryyy hot due to the 3 rotarys. just imagine, 1 rotary can produce heat 60c - 100c while operating...
where do you planned to put the oil separator i didnt see it on the drawing. what refrigerant you're gonna use for low stage?
its a verryy hard and tricky job to put 3 rotarys inside that box.

TSlolhalol
post Oct 6 2007, 02:20 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(andre X_X @ Oct 6 2007, 02:33 PM)
ok, i see you're planned to using the single stage rotary with 12cm condensor??? rotary consume more refrigerant than hermetic, so i think its hard to condense with such a small condensor especially the ambient inside the case would be verrryyy hot due to the 3 rotarys. just imagine, 1 rotary can produce heat 60c - 100c while operating...
where do you planned to put the oil separator i didnt see it on the drawing. what refrigerant you're gonna use for low stage?
its a verryy hard and tricky job to put 3 rotarys inside that box.
ah... well most of the placements and parts are yet to be finalized. as were still planning , the 3d images are just rough sketches for now .

low stage probably r22. oil seperator will be in between the hx and the big condenser.. theres just enough space..

i agree it will be tricky.. but its a nice challenge ain't it ? and thats y we are taking teh slow way.. planing again and again.. with prototypes to be built out of cardboards.... ( of course not brazed lah...) lolz

almostthere
post Oct 6 2007, 02:32 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

So the basis of the housing is flow through based I gather? But the thing is the flow equalized or are you following the adage of as much air in as possible? Just asking

BTW rendered using what? 3D Max? Not familiar since I use CATIA

This post has been edited by almostthere: Oct 6 2007, 02:33 PM
TSlolhalol
post Oct 6 2007, 02:44 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

im using sketch up, its not teh point of as much airflow as possible, and there wont be sidepanels. so mostly wat im doing is jsut having a fan piointed at any heat generating part, and the fan on top are for cooling the pipework...
almostthere
post Oct 6 2007, 03:38 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 6 2007, 02:44 PM)
im using sketch up, its not teh point of as much airflow as possible, and  there wont be sidepanels.  so mostly wat im doing is jsut having a fan piointed at any heat generating part, and the fan on top are for cooling the pipework...
in other words active cooling of components then. But why would you need to cool some of the pipework as those that carry the compressed gas forward to exchanger/evap head would be highly compressed to the point it be less affected by temperature.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:49 PM