Car Value - Registration or Manufacture Date?

TSSitting Duck
post Oct 17 2022, 01:18 PM, updated 4y ago

473 posts

Hi Sifu,

Is the car value based on the registration or manufacture date?

I noticed that car insurance is based on manufacture date, and not registration date.

Car delivered in January 2022 would most probably have manufacturing date in 2021. So is the value based on 2022 or 2021?

As a seller, the seller would argue that it's a 2022 car

On the other side, a buyer would want to buy at a lower price by pointing out that it's a year 2021 manufactured car.

SUSifourtos
post Oct 17 2022, 01:22 PM

2,256 posts

Let said, A C200 (Manu 2016) Sit in showroom.

sold on 2022.

tell me your answer.

still selling the price like 2016?

Boy96
post Oct 17 2022, 01:22 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Its always been the manufactured date all these while
Chrix
post Oct 17 2022, 01:41 PM

1,187 posts

legit is manufactured date

but those who want to perform daily robbery/scam/mislead buyer: date registered
dares
post Oct 17 2022, 01:44 PM

834 posts

Manufactured date.
sunami
post Oct 17 2022, 02:05 PM

A CAT that can Bark. LMAO
1,534 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Oct 17 2022, 02:22 PM)
Let said, A C200 (Manu 2016) Sit in showroom.

sold on 2022.
tell me your answer.

still selling the price like 2016?
yes

edit:misunderstood you answer..haha

This post has been edited by sunami: Oct 17 2022, 02:06 PM
Hades76
post Oct 17 2022, 02:08 PM

680 posts

Its always been manufactured date.

Thats why there is heavy discounts on new cars towards year end because new year the car immediately one year old. Strange but that how the industry works. Follow aje...
SUSMookKai
post Oct 17 2022, 02:45 PM

20 posts

You can sell at whatever price you want, just know this. Banks will process loans based on year manufactured
TSSitting Duck
post Oct 17 2022, 04:00 PM

473 posts

Thanks for answer guys.

Recently all the local cars are selling like hot cakes, that the local brand cars are not even offering any sort of rebate even for year end car.

So I'm contemplating whether to accept the car in Nov or wait till early next year.
dares
post Oct 17 2022, 04:07 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Oct 17 2022, 04:00 PM)
Thanks for answer guys.

Recently all the local cars are selling like hot cakes, that the local brand cars are not even offering any sort of rebate even for year end car.

So I'm contemplating whether to accept the car in Nov or wait till early next year.
It's not so much they are selling like hotcakes, more like the entire industry is still suffering severe stock shortage. Every single unit is being sought after by multiple buyers, dealers don't even need to offer any discounts to move sales.

If you plan to reject year end stock, make sure the dealer has next year's stock already lined up for you.

The only exception I think are cold brands like peugeot and luxury marques eg.Beemer Merc etc.
kirakun
post Oct 17 2022, 06:19 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Oct 17 2022, 04:00 PM)
Thanks for answer guys.

Depend on how urgent u need the car. If u can wait then better to get the car with the same year on manufacture and registration date. Either way, banks will process the loan on car value based on manufacture date.

0.0152sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:53 AM