Grab rider work 12hr daily, net income only RM5, no longer attractive

jaycee1
post Oct 15 2022, 06:36 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Oct 14 2022, 08:41 PM)
Yup. Don't need degree can purse vocational or trade craft. Cannot do formal can try apprenticeship
It's hard but there is a light at the end of the tunnel. When ppl say this the argument is do grab can get 5K with freedom to boot

Ppl don't know that the 5K has a very thin margin of error. Sick or motor rosak that's it for the week or worst case the month. There is no progression. In fact no progression is a best case scenario assuming gig riders serving food delivery can operate in the same economic climate in perpetuity. Now if this report is correct, music has stopped

Still I hope it's not the case and ppl still can make a decent living. For those that earn money hopefully they saved up to do other stuff that can kick start their careers in other areas
But the problem is, many these young folks don't want to take up apprenticeship anymore. Want to work on Thier own timing and terms. Mana boleh. Most of them don't survive more than a month.

There is definately money in vocational. I'm in the construction industry where we are having massive shortages in manpower. Even supervisor and team leader level foreigners get 3k per month with OT or more....what more locals with accreditation and professional training or apprenticeship. It's not like we are not willing to pay more, it's that local people are choosy on what jobs they are willing to do.

Yes, apprentiship means you will be low payed and worked hard. But it will be an acquired skillset that you can bank in for the rest of your life. You rempit grab food can be MotoGP racer?

QUOTE(Mirage Sky @ Oct 15 2022, 05:37 PM)
The problem with the gig economy is that the companies which run the gig economy does not have an upfront fixed salary cost. All participants are not employees. They are merely agents who choose to volunteer to provide the services. And as agents, your income is based on how much work you do. The company does not have an upper limit on how many agents they are going to sign up, it is as many as possible based on volunteer basis. The more people doing the same services, the less income they are going to have. And the market demand can change over time as well. During MCO the demand is great, and now the demand is a lot less. Any people who become agent and work full time, is going to see their income goes from nice to bad, as long as there are still too many agents in the pool.

Those who work in gig economy should recognize the nature of their jobs. It is a nice job if you treat it as a part time job to supplement your income, but if you think you can work in such field full time for life, you will be disappointed.

It will get worse if recession happens, then most of the demand will go away and the company is not obliged to pay you anything if no work get done. If already feel there is not enough income, then it is time to go back to look for a regular job with fixed salary.
That's right. Same with the goreng Pisang cheese analogy someone made earlier. Demand and supply. But these people Kais pagi makan pagi...where got think long term.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Oct 15 2022, 06:38 PM

0.0125sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:29 PM