This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Oct 5 2007, 03:30 AM
Who here plays shadowbane or used to ?, Shadowbane Discussion
Oct 5 2007, 03:10 AM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
35,468 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Who plays shadowbane? Lets discuss for old time sake
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Oct 5 2007, 03:30 AM |
Oct 5 2007, 09:55 AM
760 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: coming back through stratosphere |
doesnt look interesting to me =.=
Oct 5 2007, 12:39 PM
675 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Selangor |
QUOTE(yamato @ Oct 5 2007, 09:55 AM) Someone who cant appreciate the classic. No offense but its true. Thread is about discussion the past in Asia Shadowbane but not to criticize the game's visual.IMO, the old days in SB before it goes down is the raid to some Chinese Bane. I cant remember which guild i am in but it was a blast to play as a templar Also another thing is going to the shopping centers and you have Chinese players ask you are you from china? no means KOS yes means they protect you |
Oct 5 2007, 01:11 PM
appreciation is 1 thing. how the game is visually presented is another thing.
i never state that bad graphic = lousy game, i did enjoyed Bulders Gate, Diablo & Diablo2 LoD until my chars were max cap. although they arent mmorpg but they are the granddaddy of all rpgs. hands down for these ultra classics my max cap char in D2X, bad graphic but sweet gameplay: ![]() mmorpg that i played for >a year & still playing: silkroad. all graphic option set to minimum to reduce lag, but the screenie still rox, imo, lol. the white hair chick on the right is my lvl64 char. ![]() freankly i didnt even have the interest to try shadowbane bacause there are too many classics out there, why not i choose a classic with nice graphic btw, i did not criticized SB, i was just sharing my thought This post has been edited by yamato: Oct 5 2007, 01:25 PM |
Oct 5 2007, 04:32 PM
The reason its not interesting to you its because you never played a real Teamwork game before .
You can run your town ,maintain town , declare war on a city/town . Random player killer . And there's as many char as WOW that u can do it randomly and how powerful your character is how you make it. Now all korean game damn sien its either everyone look like you or they limit this limit that. Sb is different you can get additional skills or combo by eating something call runes . So many korean game i played none beats this game overall. Korean game only looks nice thats all. Haha hit only no need use brain. No offense. This game more about teamwork ive seen 5 people beat 10ppl. Korean game le which side more people usually wins. Maybe appearance cant beat la but gameplay only beats any of this korean game . Even the Races and classes shadowbane beats it edi If anyone used to play Asia server or US server alot they will explain to you the feeling 3 people counter attack 10 people . Imagine when you win a real WAR . Wars are set by players and if u lose the war you lose your town. Thats how challenging it is! The best times are when we go against china . They come like 300 people the most we had was like 100 !! And believe it we won because of planning and teamwork Yea its classic but until today beside EVE online no game beats shadowbane gameplay man. Miss those times This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Oct 5 2007, 04:39 PM |
Oct 5 2007, 07:00 PM
675 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Selangor |
@yamato : ok forgive me. Misunderstood your reply
@aspire2oo6 : QFT.. modern MMO players prefers to solo than playing as a team. Theres good and bad to play as team and solo. Overall, solo gameplay solves many issues. |
Oct 5 2007, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(onscreen @ Oct 5 2007, 07:00 PM) @yamato : ok forgive me. Misunderstood your reply wah taiko, dont say like that la.@aspire2oo6 : QFT.. modern MMO players prefers to solo than playing as a team. Theres good and bad to play as team and solo. Overall, solo gameplay solves many issues. just discussion only, everyone give thier opinion about a game. theres no right & wrong cheers |
Oct 5 2007, 07:06 PM
Forgive me too if anyone was offended. Just discussing by comparing.
True there's pros and cons in everything no right or wrong. I prefer teamwork games. This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Oct 5 2007, 07:20 PM |
Oct 5 2007, 07:09 PM
wasai!!!! why every1 being so humble all in a sudden???
LOL |
Oct 5 2007, 07:22 PM
Sorry la i quite fed up with korean games edi u go everywhere all the high level looks like you. Most of this game u relied on your item le. No item sure useless but Shadowbane u can have all the lousy item but with teamwork u still can own ppl.
Most item can be craft from the shop but the % very low but at least there's a chance to get it This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Oct 5 2007, 07:22 PM |
Oct 7 2007, 09:42 PM
351 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Ampang | Selangor | The Valley |
The day I got into SB was the day I got into a new job so it was a hard compromise to keep up between banes and rl commitments.My only wish for SB was that it'd include solo friendly contents along with the open ended PvP and GvG features.Ultimately (some may disagree) that had made SB a bit too niche for the rest of the MMO world citizens. Back in the day, the graphics factor was a bit understandable..we're talking totally massive fights and I don't think anyone can handle the sheer extravaganzas w/o resorting to a completely pimped out rig versus Screamyx's *ahem* QoS balancing circus.
These days I'd only nudge here and there in the Test server and even so, it's admirable to see that SB's still doing OK with all 6 servers running and with NO real revenue streams other than the in-game ads. SBG (Stray Bullet Games) got their teeth cut when Ubi dissolved the original Wolfpack team, then having contracted the job out to them to run things nowadays in SB and no one can say that it's an easy thing.By the way you guys can check the right-most link in my siggy for SBG's upcoming MMO project.That should rock a lot of marbles hopefully. |
Oct 25 2007, 02:22 PM
20 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
OMG ASPIRE you still alive?
Hahahha SB ftw. HP Lovecraft here. We fought those chinese B@s****s until we could fight no more. And when we attacked them on chinese new year.... =p Memories man memories. Wtf* you put up so many photo's none of me? Even Fionne's character is there. Cheers |
Oct 25 2007, 06:52 PM
3,421 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 2 30 N, 112 30 E |
sigh... Shadowbane... still one of my favourites.
If they redid the graphics but maintained the game mechanics, it'll be one of the best MMORPGs out there. Levelling is easy. No need to grind like nobody's business. You'd get into the meat of the game which is PvP in no time. Open PvP system that's great (IMHO). A range of classes, really enjoyed playing my R6 scout which could be invisible when it came to battles and wars as well as my Confessor and Mage Assassin. Playing 'SimCity' in my towns was kinda fun as well. Waking up at wee hours in the morning to help defend against a horde of enemies sieging allied towns. I believe the Chinese outnumbered us 5-1 those days. It's not a game for the weak and cry babies though. You can practically kill anyone (vice versa) on sight. If you die, your equipment damages and you basically drop everything in your inventory... imagine dropping all your gold and phat lewt after farming for 4 hours. |
Oct 26 2007, 12:14 AM
438 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I miss hunting for commander runes
I miss crafting elven amour I miss maintaining my own wall-never had my own city though I miss attacking with my bow warrior and healing with my dwarf priest I miss being power leveled by the druids which chatting with other leechers underneath the ruins. I miss driving to Virtual Arena in the middle of the night to fight wars and defend our tree. I miss the gang who owned CN until the very end... There is really NOTHING quite as good. This post has been edited by elise_MOL: Oct 26 2007, 12:15 AM |
Oct 26 2007, 10:53 AM
I also miss the only MMORPG that has flying spells.
In the early days, have 2 channeler fly and float on some buggy spot and powerlevel ourselves using macro while my scout sits in a safe place invisible for the whole night. Till the BIG HEAD GM (Literally) comes and kicks my channeler friends out. hehe... think the didn't see me hidden nearby. |
Oct 26 2007, 11:01 AM
HAHAHAAHAHA
Omg all the good memories =) I remember someone calling me at 3 am, "Eh we under attack wei." I remember changing into Avatar in the middle of a major CN town in one of our(KAOS) 'surprise' attacks on them andflying up. Straight away 10 guys fireball me. Then Pop's said, "Good lar u fly. They aiming at you means not shooting us. I remember fighting until my boots broke. =((( no more +20% running speed dragon plate. I remember 40 man defending against 70, 100 and even 150 CN people at times. I remember shouting oppai and tetek alot =) I remember doing psychological warfare on the Hongkies who betrayed us in the middle of our fight with CN. I remember when KAOS main fell. =(( I remember a lot of good people at VA who taught me how to make really big dwarfs =p. I remember mamak sessions after wars and the roti bombay =p Shadowbane forever. |
Oct 26 2007, 02:12 PM
is it still FREE to play in the NA servers?
Oct 28 2007, 03:24 PM
Yes....!!!
Oct 29 2007, 10:30 AM
Oct 29 2007, 10:37 AM
I just downloaded it last night. It took less than 8 hours for 891mb. The game is now Free To Play on all servers and is supported through in-game advertising. So gamers are not required to pay subscription or purchase in-game items to keep the game going. They have also be patching the game quite frequently so I've been told that the feel is very different. If you use Vista then you'd be happy to know that it seems to work fine as i am using vista as well.
The blokes from Kaos are still playing so we could probably join them. What was your previous nick? Or were you previously from Kaos? If you have facebook, there is actually a Shadowbane group on it. So if you decide that Kaos is not for you then that's probably a good place to start. And btw, i would avoid the Redemption as i heard it's been over run by CNs. This post has been edited by elise_MOL: Oct 29 2007, 10:40 AM |
Oct 29 2007, 06:13 PM
Kaos? which server were they on?
I dun recall any groups called Kaos back when I was playing it. I'm not on the NA servers. |
Oct 29 2007, 06:17 PM
They were in the all the servers during the Entrance days but mostly M server.
Oct 30 2007, 09:39 AM
I was there for Beta and a few months after that... Can't recall which server though.. gosh... come to think of it... that was so long ago. Funny how no one else really improved on Shadowbane's game style... would have made one hell of a kick as MMORPG!
Oct 30 2007, 10:28 AM
I logged in last night....
It was so nostalgic.... "Entering world" It looks pretty much the same. |
Dec 18 2007, 09:08 PM
0 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Miss Shadowbane, am lookin for new games to replace my void, still nothing come close to the total satisfaction given by SB, both solo and teamwork, both farming and warring. Any mmorpg games at present time worth trying?
Jan 5 2008, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(elise_MOL @ Oct 30 2007, 10:28 AM) Elise MOL ? why your nick sound so familiar lolAdded on January 5, 2008, 10:07 pm QUOTE(Stonewaller @ Dec 18 2007, 09:08 PM) Miss Shadowbane, am lookin for new games to replace my void, still nothing come close to the total satisfaction given by SB, both solo and teamwork, both farming and warring. Any mmorpg games at present time worth trying? Totally agree with you eh.. Still no game can replace the gameplay not even WOWThis post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jan 5 2008, 10:07 PM |
Jan 20 2008, 07:27 PM
5 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Land of The Headhunters |
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jan 5 2008, 10:06 PM) Elise MOL ? why your nick sound so familiar lol Yah , aspire the ancent elf or someting like that ah ? elf druid lol , and elsie is milia ? venomous here dont think u ppl remamber been playing sb since beta 99 on entranz till now on NA server lol , play on Morloch and turin on Entranz , Mourning , Redemption and test on NA server , The thing i most remember was the Golden skull event during the last days of En-tranz , how i miss having 20 all stats + 25 all resist on 1 ring lol. Playing with VD ,KAOS, GoTD ( Axis of Darkness) was a blast. All those late hours i spend on seiges , raids was to remember , and the loss of a friend Coors to sickness who always provide me with good template and commander runes and the only person who actualy stole FC item from a gm with his thief during an event , LOL tenspot or johnatan . Some of the players still do play in M and R on NA server though.Added on January 5, 2008, 10:07 pm Totally agree with you eh.. Still no game can replace the gameplay not even WOW ps : milia wei amoi tot u wanted me to do ur questonaire ? Added on February 12, 2008, 5:43 pmShadowbane server reset soon. all 4 server will be reset into 2 main server . Hope to see some old players there. This post has been edited by v3nom0us: Feb 12 2008, 05:43 PM |
Feb 27 2008, 12:54 PM
Elise is not milia =) two seperate people.
Mar 16 2018, 11:29 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
4 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Damansara, Malaysia |
come back, Shadowbane Emulator.
calling KAOS Pops, Fearless, Milia and those i forgot names lol |
| Change to: | 0.0275sec
5 queries