Shopee is covering seller selling counterfeit good

TStheberry
post Oct 4 2022, 08:07 AM, updated 4y ago

OK!
3,514 posts

A woman took to social media after posting side-by-side photos of branded skincare products from a certified seller on Shopee and with the same items she had bought at an actual store, pointing out the differences.

Although she reported her findings to Shopee right away, she has been unsatisfied with the online platform’s response.

“Shopee is covering for sellers of counterfeit goods,” wrote Ms Mary Ang on the Complaint Singapore Facebook page on Sept 29.

I bought 1 set of Kielh’s skin care products on a Shopee Authentic certified shop, placing the most sales of the month. And when I received the product on August 25th, I immediately reported it to Shopee.”

Ms Ang posted a screenshot of her order of three Kiehl’s products, whose prices are very similar to those listed on the site’s online shop.

However, she pointed out that the products she bought from Shopee had no guide arrows on their bottle tops and, different seals, colours and labels.

She went on to write “Until today, I still have not been completely solved, they just recalled the product, removed the comment rate on the platform, to cover the seller to continue to sell more fake products to buyers.”

Ms Ang added that for someone who enjoys online shopping, “this is really a bad experience.”

TISG has reached out to Shopee for comments.

Other netizens quickly chimed in about similar experiences with Shopee.

poweredbydiscuz
post Oct 4 2022, 08:10 AM

3,839 posts

Did she bring it to Kiehl’s store to verify or she just comparing it with her old bottles?
miyakochan89
post Oct 4 2022, 08:11 AM

Wut?
6,725 posts

Is this certified or real kielh shop from the Shopee mall? Face wash and stuffs I won’t buy from any certified sellers unless from the shop itself in the Shopee Mall lo.
sonypshomer
post Oct 4 2022, 08:21 AM

1,595 posts

Shopee pretty much care less, we have premium section so people have choice. Authenticity is not guaranteed for item listed in other section - Sau Peh Peh
andrekua2
post Oct 4 2022, 08:26 AM

13,489 posts

Moffie official store... If kielh official store still can understand...

Do ppl really understand the difference between mall and preferred?
billy3336
post Oct 4 2022, 08:29 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Oct 4 2022, 08:26 AM)
Moffie official store... If kielh official store still can understand...

Do ppl really understand the difference between mall and preferred?
this

she can always go for kiehl official store at shoppe which is more secure
Ayer
post Oct 4 2022, 08:30 AM

206 posts

All my skincare I bought from reseller on shopee. Did my homework and no fakes so far. This brand kiehl a lot of copy one though so I always just avoid
Stirmling
post Oct 4 2022, 08:33 AM

291 posts

shupee dan scampee
berpisah tiada
h@ksam
post Oct 4 2022, 08:36 AM

@ is a
3,460 posts

the only tell tale sign is the price
mayhammer
post Oct 4 2022, 08:37 AM

124 posts

All products listed by Shopee Mall Sellers must be 100% authentic. Counterfeit products, such as fake or replicated products, are prohibited from being listed in Shopee Mall.

this is what i found in shopee site. i think she is well within her rights if she got it from a seller that is marked shopee mall.
empstar2
post Oct 4 2022, 08:54 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(Stirmling @ Oct 4 2022, 08:33 AM)
shupee dan scampee
berpisah tiada
guysmiley
post Oct 4 2022, 09:14 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(theberry @ Oct 4 2022, 08:07 AM)

all of you idiots and crybabies.

refund in 1 month is bad? what? you expect millions of issues to be resolved in a day? getting refunded will take 15-90 days.

what happen when you report counterfeit?

1st shopee remove the product. this is the only action they can do. what else you expect?

2nd if persist, they ban the seller. once seller ban, of course la seller cannot respond to you.
idiots! and what? you expect the sellers to apologize? and you want apology from shopee or if not you will cry and complain in social media? boo hoo hoo.

shopee cant check what shops selling. dats why customer complains are important. you gotta understand they have a lot of shops and millions of customers. and that is why follow up with cases is a must. dont go follow up every seconds every day. if you spend less than 1k follow up once every 2-3 days enuff lah weh.

customer are mostly idiots too. see cheap price straight go blind and click buy.
my experience of more than 20 years of experience in ecommerce, never go for cheap prices.
if original price selling rm100, floor price should be rm90. below that is too good to be true. unless from OFFICIAL SHOP.

online shop ratings. trusted shops. popular shops.
yo idiots! these are all customer's ratings. not from shopee lah.

you might know which 1 ori. but most ppl dont. they nver could afford to buy at shops. so they see cheap prices they buy in shopee. they only know item received and delivery fast. give full ratings. a lot of ratings earned shopee's trusted label and so on.

what? you think shopee go to their house and check is it? doh.gif

This post has been edited by guysmiley: Oct 4 2022, 09:16 AM
mushigen
post Oct 4 2022, 09:23 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(Ayer @ Oct 4 2022, 08:30 AM)
All my skincare I bought from reseller on shopee. Did my homework and no fakes so far. This brand kiehl a lot of copy one though so I always just avoid
What kind of homework did you do?

How do you confirm they're not fakes?
Ayer
post Oct 4 2022, 09:28 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Oct 4 2022, 09:23 AM)
What kind of homework did you do?

How do you confirm they're not fakes?
As in they do work and I haven't found anything suspicious, like cheap bottle label etc

Before buy it's just standard lah. If too cheap is also a flag. Some resellers also sell trial packs (which aren't meant for sale) and others do rebottling, I don't buy these but if really want cheap² should check these than messing with suspicious listing
WinkyJr
post Oct 4 2022, 09:29 AM

433 posts

rules of thumb is just buy from official store
pandah
post Oct 4 2022, 09:29 AM

719 posts

When they introduced preferred, people tot it was genuine but in reality is just like paid ads. Then they introduced preferred plus and guaranteed authentic, but actually who can verify it is authentic?

Even the shopee mall, and also lazada mall, lots of overseas weird names company can enter as mall, and then you realize many are selling same thing just rebadge with different name, then use the name as shopee mall and lazada mall. It is like a loophole as long as i slap a sticker on whatever shit products then register the shop name to become mall. Due to overseas you can't do no shit to them anyway...
Ayer
post Oct 4 2022, 09:31 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(guysmiley @ Oct 4 2022, 09:14 AM)
QUOTE(theberry @ Oct 4 2022, 08:07 AM)

all of you idiots and crybabies.

refund in 1 month is bad? what? you expect millions of issues to be resolved in a day? getting refunded will take 15-90 days.

what happen when you report counterfeit?

1st shopee remove the product. this is the only action they can do. what else you expect?

2nd if persist, they ban the seller. once seller ban, of course la seller cannot respond to you.
idiots! and what? you expect the sellers to apologize? and you want apology from shopee or if not you will cry and complain in social media? boo hoo hoo.

shopee cant check what shops selling. dats why customer complains are important. you gotta understand they have a lot of shops and millions of customers. and that is why follow up with cases is a must. dont go follow up every seconds every day. if you spend less than 1k follow up once every 2-3 days enuff lah weh.

customer are mostly idiots too. see cheap price straight go blind and click buy.
my experience of more than 20 years of experience in ecommerce, never go for cheap prices.
if original price selling rm100, floor price should be rm90. below that is too good to be true. unless from OFFICIAL SHOP.

online shop ratings. trusted shops. popular shops.
yo idiots! these are all customer's ratings. not from shopee lah.

you might know which 1 ori. but most ppl dont. they nver could afford to buy at shops. so they see cheap prices they buy in shopee. they only know item received and delivery fast. give full ratings. a lot of ratings earned shopee's trusted label and so on.

what? you think shopee go to their house and check is it? doh.gif
Those skincare products marked up a lot when sold by retail. It's not uncommon to find them rm50 cheaper than usual

mushigen
post Oct 4 2022, 09:33 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(Ayer @ Oct 4 2022, 09:28 AM)
As in they do work and I haven't found anything suspicious, like cheap bottle label etc

Before buy it's just standard lah. If too cheap is also a flag. Some resellers also sell trial packs (which aren't meant for sale) and others do rebottling, I don't buy these but if really want cheap² should check these than messing with suspicious listing
Rebottling is the one that's hard to detect. Some bottles like SK2 only have a little sticker on the bottle cap as proof of unopened bottles.
Ayer
post Oct 4 2022, 09:39 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Oct 4 2022, 09:33 AM)
Rebottling is the one that's hard to detect. Some bottles like SK2 only have a little sticker on the bottle cap as proof of unopened bottles.
True, rebottles typically about seller bulk buying and sell in small quantity. Great for people who want test product and not yet convinced to buy the full pack

They are sold in really really tiny volume though, if that also want cheat then seller just pure evil lol
guysmiley
post Oct 4 2022, 09:41 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(Ayer @ Oct 4 2022, 09:31 AM)
Those skincare products marked up a lot when sold by retail. It's not uncommon to find them rm50 cheaper than usual
common, yes. trustable? not at all. to me, anything more than 20% lesser than retail price is suspicious. unless there is clear discounts from official shops like guardian or watsons. if from 'ayer beauty shoope' then forget it lah.

This post has been edited by guysmiley: Oct 4 2022, 09:42 AM

0.0213sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:35 AM