[2023] iPhone 15 Pro/Pro Max Discussion, The ultimate iPhone.

blacktubi
post Sep 13 2023, 09:07 AM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 13 2023, 08:55 AM)
bolehland iphones are cheaper than lion city in fact.

lion city iphone 15 pro starting at S$1,649 which is about RM 5,656.07
bolehland starting at From RM 5,499.

that is rm157.07 cheaper. that's for the cheapest iphone 15 pro. if go up to iphone 15 pro max higher storage option even save more...
You can get GST refund if buy in SG as a non PR foreigner

Once you factor in the GST refund, it will be cheaper than buying in MYS
blacktubi
post Sep 13 2023, 09:10 AM

-
8,413 posts

Any material specialist here?

Wonder if the PVD coating is robust enough to go naked and whether the color can be scratched off easily laugh.gif
blacktubi
post Sep 13 2023, 09:23 AM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Sep 13 2023, 03:55 AM)
14 pro and 15 pro camera stay the same right? still using imx 803?
the only problem is apple need to fix their stupid over sharpening post processing, looks god damn fugly
Yea the camera system looks exactly the same sad.gif

Only difference is probably the new coating to eliminate lens flare
blacktubi
post Sep 13 2023, 09:27 AM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(ASoulNamedLeo @ Sep 13 2023, 06:14 AM)
iPhone 15 Pro Supports USB 3 Speeds, But Only If You Buy an Extra Cable

Point number 5, the fact they don't explicitly state that USB 3 cable need to be purchased separately, but instead state that USB 3 cable required. Really cekik darah to get money.
Even a RM10K MacBook Pro's charging cable is not display / USB3 compatible.

Apple being Apple laugh.gif
blacktubi
post Sep 13 2023, 09:29 AM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Sep 13 2023, 09:26 AM)
just comparing our prices against our neighbors. Japan still the cheapest. Even China is cheaper than us nowadays.
Price is for the iPhone 15 Pro 128GB model
One thing great with the HK model is the dual nano SIM feature. biggrin.gif
blacktubi
post Sep 13 2023, 09:52 AM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 13 2023, 09:37 AM)
but u travel via land, no such thing i guess. it does not make sense just to take flight to buy it at 7% GST off though.
8% now tongue.gif

Yup, this trick is only applicable for those that fly in to SG frequently for work purpose. And you can buy AppleCare+ in SG as well.
blacktubi
post Sep 13 2023, 10:15 AM

-
8,413 posts

Hmm now I wonder if the USB-C cable will cause any compatibility issues with older cars for Apple Carplay or USB audio
blacktubi
post Sep 13 2023, 12:49 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 13 2023, 11:46 AM)
Yes. But only through airside that you could get GST refunded. So unless you are leaving SG on flight. How much difference would it make btw?
Saving is less than RM300, not really substantial laugh.gif

The biggest appeal is the ability of getting AppleCare+ if buying SG set.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 13 2023, 10:31 AM)
Actually after having used eSIM, I find it convenient.
Hello!

eSIM is great, I'm using it as well. I wonder if Maxis fixed their eSIM transfer these days else it will require a visit to their store for a new QR code.

QUOTE(yarusaru @ Sep 13 2023, 11:21 AM)
In the meanwhile lets see what has changed on the official case

https://www.apple.com/my/shop/product/MT4J3...89ed54e6ecd4a6e

finewoven? hmm.gif  hmm.gif  no more leather, but is the finewoven an alcantara alike?
It's looking more like a fabric material based on those hands on review, probably something similar to Cordura fabric

Click to zoom in and see the details

Edit: I just had a look at my Cordura fabric mouse pad, the texture looks exactly the same. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Sep 13 2023, 12:56 PM
blacktubi
post Sep 13 2023, 01:28 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Sep 13 2023, 01:16 PM)
https://support.apple.com/en-gb/HT209096 Maxis is listed in the Wireless network providers that support eSIM Quick Transfer section, other telco not yet

https://www.maxis.com.my/en/faq/products-se...d/esimtransfer/

but unsure is it workable for maxis or not, my maxis sim still physical sim  sweat.gif
QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ Sep 13 2023, 01:18 PM)
i just done activated my e sim, I will need to drop by maxis center again huh?
According to the last update from Lowyat.NET, the eSIM transfer feature is disabled. Not sure what's the current status.

https://www.lowyat.net/2022/291192/maxis-de...ransfer-iphone/

I guess SKMM is not happy about the KYC/identity verification process.

And, if eSIM transfer feature is not working, you need to walk-in to the center for a new QR code. wink.gif
blacktubi
post Sep 13 2023, 01:35 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 13 2023, 01:25 PM)
thailand is also first batch? wow...  tongue.gif
Maybe I can chip in on this.

By law, all devices with wireless transmission require MCMC approval before they can secure an import permit.

Apple probably wouldn't trust MCMC enough to send them a unit for certification before their announcement. tongue.gif

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 13 2023, 01:30 PM)
Yes, they are in the first batch. My partner asked me to get it from Thailand, an excuse for me to fly to BKK this month since I’m not going this month. laugh.gif
I will prefer MY set for warranty purpose.
Any concerns with the warranty? I believe all Apple products come with global warranty.

I actually claimed warranty of my Airpods Pro purchased here at BKK. Done within an hour.

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Sep 13 2023, 01:36 PM
blacktubi
post Sep 13 2023, 01:59 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Sep 13 2023, 01:11 PM)
any tempered glass recommend for 15 pro? lol:

bought few cases from taobao already biggrin.gif
Just get any cheap one for now

My tempered glass vendor in China told me to wait until October for their improved version with better fit on the curved edge

If you need it now, you can get Belkin but it doesn't cover the edge.
blacktubi
post Sep 14 2023, 01:37 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(doppatroll @ Sep 14 2023, 11:49 AM)
Term and condition....those who using old line ... need to upgrade to their new package of 5G in order for zerolution to work
im not going to order from maxis due to their annoying message reminder each time restart phone
What's the annoying message?
blacktubi
post Sep 16 2023, 10:04 PM

-
8,413 posts

I thought I can finally eliminate the lighting cable when travelling until I remember that I still need it for my AirPods Pro :x

blacktubi
post Sep 16 2023, 10:28 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 16 2023, 10:11 PM)
Luckily my Galaxy Buds 2 Pro edi USB C, thinking of getting the new Airpod Pro USB C variant too
I've tried many earbuds and compared them among my colleagues, so far the AirPods Pro is best for calls even when used with ThinkPad. laugh.gif

QUOTE(hvaly87 @ Sep 16 2023, 10:12 PM)
The McDodo type c to lightning converter which is shared in this forum is a good solution which I plan to get one.
Yup, would probably get a few of those and try not to lose them.

Don't think it's MFi certified but as long as it charges the AirPods.
blacktubi
post Sep 16 2023, 11:33 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 16 2023, 11:01 PM)
Buy new AirPods Pro. icon_idea.gif
I just recalled that I have the Energea MagPac Mini powerbank with wireless charging.

I can charge the power bank and my AirPods Pro or iPhone at the same time.

Great product.
blacktubi
post Sep 16 2023, 11:46 PM

-
8,413 posts

The Titanium on the iPhone 15 Pro Natural Titanium is definitely coated with a semi-glossy finish unlike the raw Titanium on the Apple Watch.

Other colors

blacktubi
post Sep 17 2023, 12:03 AM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Sep 16 2023, 11:52 PM)
So which colour is more resistant to paint chipping in ur opinion?
Not a coating specialist but based on my minimal knowledge on metal product manufacturing, the hardness of the PVD coating should be similar.

However, I believe the natural titanium / white model will be better at hiding scratches.

That's because if they are scratched, the actual color of underlying Titanium is pretty close. It would be really glaring on a black or blue model.
blacktubi
post Sep 17 2023, 12:16 AM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Sep 17 2023, 12:04 AM)
yeah I thought so .... shit this is giving me a decision swing ...

giving me flashback like the good ol iphone 5 black
I am 99% set on black until you reminded me of this.

Alright, natural Titanium then. biggrin.gif
blacktubi
post Sep 17 2023, 12:33 AM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Sep 17 2023, 12:19 AM)
looks like I'm changing to Natural Titanium as well ...  cool2.gif

shall see if the early review videos will address on the coating or not
Hmm, the iPhone 5 is prone to dings due to the sharp chamfered edges

The iPhone 15 being rounded would highly reduce the likelihood of that happening.
blacktubi
post Sep 17 2023, 08:01 PM

-
8,413 posts

Based on what I see on some CN forums with some leaked data.

iPhone 15 Pro Max stock is very limited especially for 512GB and 1TB models.

Plenty of stock for iPhone 15 Pro 256GB models.

As for color choice, Natural Titanium is the most popular there while Blue is the least popular. Black and White is a close Tie.

0.4902sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:55 AM