Claiming insurance from the party who kena saman, Accident insurance claim

TSBlofeld
post Sep 27 2022, 01:10 PM, updated 4y ago

4,703 posts

Recently I've met with an accident, the police keputusan mentioned the other party is wrong and he has been given summon of RM300.

So, now I can claim insurance from the other party.

During the accident, some runners appeared out of nowhere saying he can help to settle by towing to a workshop making insurance claims for me as well.

So, after lodging police report and receiving the police keputusan, I passed all the documents required to the runner. I have visited the workshop and the car is there together with the runner. They said they will know what to do. They will call the insurance company of the other party to take pictures of the car damage first.

But what I have read from internet is that we are supposed we send the car to the panel workshop of the other party insurance company.

So I wonder if those runners can really settle the insurance claim without sending to the panel workshop.

Anyone has experience this?
acbc
post Sep 27 2022, 01:13 PM

9,048 posts

Yes. I usually will ask the IO for advice. He will then call his kaki to swing by.

In my case, I got whacked by a Spanco truck so cannot claim their insurance because there was none anyway. Ok the end, I claimed my own insurance. The IO's kaki recommended a place at Kampung Ara. I only need to sign some docs and wait 2 weeks.

So conclusion, avoid Spanco vehicles at all costs. These were mostly gomen vehicles used by PDRM, JPJ, JKR and etc. These cars will have a 5 year road tax but zero insurance.
TSBlofeld
post Sep 27 2022, 01:25 PM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 27 2022, 01:13 PM)
Yes. I usually will ask the IO for advice. He will then call his kaki to swing by.

In my case, I got whacked by a Spanco truck so cannot claim their insurance because there was none anyway. Ok the end, I claimed my own insurance. The IO's kaki recommended a place at Kampung Ara. I only need to sign some docs and wait 2 weeks.

So conclusion, avoid Spanco vehicles at all costs. These were mostly gomen vehicles used by PDRM, JPJ, JKR and etc. These cars will have a 5 year road tax but zero insurance.
So for your case, you claimed from your insurance.

But is it a panel workshop? Can it still be claimed from a non-panel workshop?

What is Spanco anyway?
kidmad
post Sep 27 2022, 01:36 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 27 2022, 01:25 PM)

What is Spanco anyway?
hope your car isn't a new one. for me i'll always send it back to official service center. since claiming insurance already why not just get all original.
COOLPINK
post Sep 27 2022, 01:40 PM

3,665 posts

avoid the runners and their towing service at all cost.

better you do not have to deal with samsengs later on.
you call towing and send to SC /recommended approved workshop yourself.
acbc
post Sep 27 2022, 01:45 PM

9,048 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 27 2022, 01:25 PM)

What is Spanco anyway?
Yes, it is a panel workshop. The IO knows them well too.

acbc
post Sep 27 2022, 01:46 PM

9,048 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Sep 27 2022, 01:36 PM)
hope your car isn't a new one. for me i'll always send it back to official service center. since claiming insurance already why not just get all original.
Got limit. If not mistaken, max 5 years only. After that, the adjuster will recommend used or compatible parts only.
kidmad
post Sep 27 2022, 01:49 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 27 2022, 01:46 PM)
Got limit. If not mistaken, max 5 years only. After that, the adjuster will recommend used or compatible parts only.
oh! wasn't aware of it.. no wonder this honda everyday also promote their HIP say up to 10 years can get your car fix with original parts. didn't know not buying from them it's up to 5.
acbc
post Sep 27 2022, 01:51 PM

9,048 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Sep 27 2022, 01:49 PM)
oh! wasn't aware of it.. no wonder this honda everyday also promote their HIP say up to 10 years can get your car fix with original parts. didn't know not buying from them it's up to 5.
If u buy the insurance from Honda maybe they will give original parts because the premiums will be slightly higher too.
kidmad
post Sep 27 2022, 01:52 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 27 2022, 01:51 PM)
If u buy the insurance from Honda maybe they will give original parts because the premiums will be slightly higher too.
yeah true.. that's why i always bought directly myself from etiqa there's a couple hundred difference but i always thought it's the same.. cause HIP will be getting the insurance coverage from etiqa and few others anyway.
dares
post Sep 27 2022, 02:47 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Sep 27 2022, 01:49 PM)
Yes it called the betterment clause. Can read about it here.

https://piam.org.my/blog/2019/09/20/piam-ex...terment-factor/

Some insurers offer exemption from this clause if you are willing to pay the additional premium.
tinkerfy
post Sep 27 2022, 02:56 PM

Look left, look right, shoot shoot shoot
1,317 posts

Call your insurance agent and ask for the nearest panel workshop. Pass the polis report, IC, driving license to the workshop and they will handle the rest.
Don't trust runners from non-panel workshops. Worst case, your insurance will denied the full claim and you need to pay the balance yourself.

Chrix
post Sep 27 2022, 03:02 PM

1,187 posts

Remember, your paying your insurer. Do perform any thing insurance related, go back to your insurer. Not any runner/third part/police friend/ex-classmate's cousin who is now a insurance adjuster.

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 27 2022, 01:13 PM)

kena game... i can tell u from first hand experience, those are covered by insurance.

just your insurer lazy to do work

This post has been edited by Chrix: Sep 27 2022, 03:04 PM
isr25
post Sep 27 2022, 03:02 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 27 2022, 01:10 PM)
Recently I've met with an accident, the police keputusan mentioned the other party is wrong and he has been given summon of RM300.

So, now I can claim insurance from the other party.

During the accident, some runners appeared out of nowhere saying he can help to settle by towing to a workshop making insurance claims for me as well.

So, after lodging police report and receiving the police keputusan, I passed all the documents required to the runner. I have visited the workshop and the car is there together with the runner. They said they will know what to do. They will call the insurance company of the other party to take pictures of the car damage first.

But what I have read from internet is that we are supposed we send the car to the panel workshop of the other party insurance company.

So I wonder if those runners can really settle the insurance claim without sending to the panel workshop.

Anyone has experience this?
If you're under comprehensive insurance, not 3rd party insurance, you can opt for OD-KFK - claim under your insurance without affecting your NCD

Faster & simpler, and not under the mercy of the 3rd party insurance which would usually mean that they don't want to pay that much to you anyway...

https://www.msig.com.my/claims/motor.html#:...20third%20party.
https://www.kurnia.com/blog/odkfk-knock-for-knock

Just go to your preferred panel workshop & give them the appropriate documents as per the link above.

This post has been edited by isr25: Sep 27 2022, 03:03 PM
TSBlofeld
post Sep 27 2022, 03:14 PM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Sep 27 2022, 01:36 PM)
it's a very old car not even worth more than RM2,000
JasonTheGreat
post Sep 27 2022, 03:18 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 27 2022, 01:40 PM)
avoid the runners and their towing service at all cost.

better you do not have to deal with samsengs later on.
you call towing and send to SC /recommended approved workshop yourself.
HABIS LA.
should have waited for tow truck from your own insurance company.
Now samseng wont return your car unless pay few k for the towing. if youw stick with samseng repair, you cant claim insurance if they are not panel
kidmad
post Sep 27 2022, 03:46 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 27 2022, 03:14 PM)
ah i see then really can send to anyone. send back SC prepare to wait 4-8 weeks.
dares
post Sep 27 2022, 03:52 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 27 2022, 03:14 PM)
If the car market value not worth even RM2k, it's a miracle the insurer is willing to repair it instead of total loss it straight away.

TSBlofeld
post Sep 27 2022, 05:05 PM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ Sep 27 2022, 03:18 PM)
HABIS LA.
should have waited for tow truck from your own insurance company.
Now samseng wont return your car unless pay few k for the towing. if youw stick with samseng repair, you cant claim insurance if they are not panel
i have just called my insurance company and a very helpful guy explained the procedures.

they said the procedure is correct.

Those whatever ahbeng towtruck operators can help to settle the claim as long as im not claiming from my own insurance.

There's no need to go to the other party panel workshop if i'm claiming from a third party insurance.

Only if i want to claim from my own insurance, then i have to contact my own insurance company to tow the truck and put into the panel workshop of my own insurance.

The only thing is that probably i have to pay to the workshop first before the workshop can claim from the third party insurance (unless the third party insurance is fast enough to pay up).

TSBlofeld
post Sep 27 2022, 05:10 PM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Sep 27 2022, 03:52 PM)
If the car market value not worth even RM2k, it's a miracle the insurer is willing to repair it instead of total loss it straight away.
ok la maybe not more than 5k sweat.gif instead of 2k. It's a very old car, not sure what is the value also.

anyway it still can be used, it's a waste if call it a total loss.

0.3070sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:37 PM