How to lock band?

TSshuyina
post Sep 27 2022, 12:38 AM, updated 4y ago

890 posts

Hi all

Want ask..how to lock band? If 4g only..speed was good 70mbps-90mbps..if change to 4g+ not stable 5mbps-15mbps...so how to lock band to 4g only? Lock band 3 only?

Phone: oppo find x3 pro

5g is suck in putrajaya..

Thx

p4n6
post Sep 28 2022, 07:25 AM

5,968 posts

When you on 4G+, what bands are you on?
a2zextra
post Sep 28 2022, 08:41 AM

462 posts

Lock band is officially sound illegal to telco.
Zot
post Sep 28 2022, 08:51 AM

7,934 posts

Here is the method
https://techpointmag.com/set-4g-only-on-android/
iZuDeeN
post Sep 28 2022, 08:56 AM

3,466 posts

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...lte&hl=en&gl=US

iZuDeeN
post Sep 28 2022, 08:56 AM

3,466 posts

you cant lock specific band but can lock band technology
andrekua2
post Sep 28 2022, 02:24 PM

13,460 posts

You have to buy a Samsung with Exynos chip to be able to do that.
PJng
post Sep 28 2022, 03:00 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Sep 28 2022, 02:24 PM)
You have to buy a Samsung with Exynos chip to be able to do that.
But why only exynos?
Sd also can right
QUOTE(a2zextra @ Sep 28 2022, 08:41 AM)
Lock band is officially sound illegal to telco.
Samsung phone built in can lock ban
luqman98x
post Sep 28 2022, 03:02 PM

606 posts

Band locking is only possible with (ofc non-root method), afaik:

- Samsung Galaxy phones (heard that Samsung began disabling access to band locking, but not completely)
- Almost every phones with Mediatek chipset (needs enabling "Developer options", which may break some apps that don't like that feature turned on)
- Phones with Spreadtrum/Unisoc chipset
- Xiaomi phones (need to access hidden activity stuff, doesn't work in my case)
mlamlam
post Sep 28 2022, 03:34 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Sep 28 2022, 03:02 PM)
Band locking is only possible with (ofc non-root method), afaik:

- Samsung Galaxy phones (heard that Samsung began disabling access to band locking, but not completely)
- Almost every phones with Mediatek chipset (needs enabling "Developer options", which may break some apps that don't like that feature turned on)
- Phones with Spreadtrum/Unisoc chipset
- Xiaomi phones (need to access hidden activity stuff, doesn't work in my case)
Xiaomi Phone cannot lock band already, especially it's UI does not have NR band for selection
andrekua2
post Sep 28 2022, 05:13 PM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 28 2022, 03:00 PM)
But why only exynos?
Sd also can right

Samsung phone built in can lock ban
Not sure. My cousin bought S20+ Snapdragon and cannot access #2263.
PJng
post Sep 28 2022, 05:52 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Sep 28 2022, 05:13 PM)
If telco US set, locked access those menu
I got samsung tab with snapdragon cpu, can access that menu
andrekua2
post Sep 28 2022, 06:44 PM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 28 2022, 05:52 PM)
If telco US set, locked access those menu
I got samsung tab with snapdragon cpu, can access that menu
Let me try later with my mom's new S22U.

I do have 2 Tab S6 to try as well.

Update:

Forgot to try with S22U but tried on my Tab S6 with SD855 and indeed #2263 works. Maybe he bought telco set which had this disabled.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Sep 29 2022, 12:23 AM
pcdoctor_my
post Sep 28 2022, 08:16 PM

Shift Xtreme
808 posts

QUOTE(shuyina @ Sep 27 2022, 12:38 AM)
Phone: oppo find x3 pro

Thx
Oppo cannot la. Especially with China UI .
Another solution: Get a modded MIFI. That one gurantee can lock any band. But you will lose the CA ability lah cause cheap modems dont support CA.
azhar75
post Sep 28 2022, 09:07 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Sep 28 2022, 05:13 PM)
not #2263...
CODE

*#2263#

tuffyrushy
post Oct 3 2022, 12:50 AM

15 posts

I using Realme 6 and the way I lock band is dial *#*#3646633#*#* (make sure Developer Option is activated) and it would go EngineerMode and there's BandMode for you lock band there. But only works if you're using Android 10 or lower.

This post has been edited by tuffyrushy: Oct 3 2022, 01:09 AM
TSshuyina
post Oct 3 2022, 01:00 AM

890 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Sep 28 2022, 07:25 AM)
When you on 4G+, what bands are you on?
How to check? Usualy 4g+ is band 7 right?
TSshuyina
post Oct 3 2022, 01:02 AM

890 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ Sep 28 2022, 08:16 PM)
Oppo cannot la. Especially with China UI .
Another solution: Get a modded MIFI. That one gurantee can lock any band. But you will lose the CA ability lah cause cheap modems dont support CA.
Oppo find x3 pro malaysia..get modded mifi?
andrekua2
post Oct 3 2022, 02:59 PM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(shuyina @ Oct 3 2022, 01:00 AM)
How to check? Usualy 4g+ is band 7 right?
If it is 4G+, it basically means it is connected to more than 1 band. If you want to check, try using *#*#4636#*#*. It works on my cousin Mi10.

Telcos are already using 4G on almost all the bands, namely 1,3,7, and 8 (depending on which telco, big 3 should have all these bands). Usually if you are having bad connection indoors, you would want to turn off Band7 as the 2600MHz band had bad wall penetration. For me, I personally feel Band 3 (1800MHz) offer the best compromise between speed and connectivity.

https://barzrul.com/telcos-4g-lte-band-malaysia/

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Oct 3 2022, 03:02 PM
lambox105
post Oct 3 2022, 04:02 PM

1,443 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Sep 28 2022, 06:44 PM)
Let me try later with my mom's new S22U.

I do have 2 Tab S6 to try as well.

Update:

Forgot to try with S22U but tried on my Tab S6 with SD855 and indeed #2263 works. Maybe he bought telco set which had this disabled.
Newer S##S### phones need to use shortcut manager

Find com.samsung.android.app.telephonyui.hiddennetworksetting.MainActivity and open it

0.0232sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:04 AM