QUOTE(whereisthecat @ Sep 22 2022, 05:43 PM)
After much house-hunting and viewings appointments, there is a choice to buy
Leasehold 750K (52 years left)
or
Freehold 1.1mil
In Bayan Baru area. For own stay (plus near to workplace). Double-storey terrace with renovation done. Both built around same time, similar size.
Is the freehold status worth the extra $$?
Agents tell me leasehold is ok, can extend or even convert in the future, and a lot of units in the taman, so it would be political suicide if gov take back.. but I'm not sure if they're just trying to make a sale.
If I stay in it for 15 years and then sell, banks won't likely to approve loan for 37 years leasehold house for next buyer right?
Need help from sifus.
Would you consider buying a house with remaining 37 years' lease? That may give you an idea the demand. Leasehold 750K (52 years left)
or
Freehold 1.1mil
In Bayan Baru area. For own stay (plus near to workplace). Double-storey terrace with renovation done. Both built around same time, similar size.
Is the freehold status worth the extra $$?
Agents tell me leasehold is ok, can extend or even convert in the future, and a lot of units in the taman, so it would be political suicide if gov take back.. but I'm not sure if they're just trying to make a sale.
If I stay in it for 15 years and then sell, banks won't likely to approve loan for 37 years leasehold house for next buyer right?
Need help from sifus.
What about the condition of the houses?
Assuming you have bought the LH house, would you keep wondering if you should have bought the FH one? This buyer's remorse is an unpleasant feeling.
Wrt to what the agent said about LH, he'd sing a different tune if he was pushing a FH unit.
Sep 25 2022, 10:29 AM

0.0149sec