ecotint on New City Hatchback, is it good?

TSzelltan8
post Sep 19 2022, 08:24 PM, updated 4y ago

57 posts

Hi everyone, would like to get some advice.

Will be getting my Honda City Hatchback in the next 2 weeks. Is the Ecotint Ray Barrier 4+ good? Cause that is offered by my SA with a cost of RM1600++.

Would like to go for 3M outside but my SA mentioned that it might void the warranty.

What do you all think? Go for Ecotint?

Thanks notworthy.gif
lotiman2003
post Sep 19 2022, 08:33 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(zelltan8 @ Sep 19 2022, 08:24 PM)

Will be getting my Honda City Hatchback in the next 2 weeks. Is the Ecotint Ray Barrier 4+ good? Cause that is offered by my SA with a cost of RM1600++.

Would like to go for 3M outside but my SA mentioned that it might void the warranty.

Thanks  notworthy.gif
I installed RayTech film on my Civic. I don't think it will void the warranty, even it does at worst the warranty only void for the windows part.

This post has been edited by lotiman2003: Sep 19 2022, 08:34 PM
matrix88
post Sep 19 2022, 08:49 PM

2,236 posts

Thanks  notworthy.gif
Nonsense if your SA say might void warranty.
Eco tint does not cost so much, and the SA is only after his commission.
Go do your tinted outside, 3M is a much better tinted film and better performance., try crystalline

Don’t believe any voucher from SA, it is actually used for them to get commission from the shop, I once checked you can get cheaper price outside without the vouchers, and trust me, no such thing as you do tinted outside, will void warranty, they use this tactic to scare you only.
isr25
post Sep 19 2022, 10:58 PM

1,263 posts

Thanks  notworthy.gif
My FD2 was factory preinstalled with Ecotint back in 2011. If it’s the same, it’s not good… Just get 3M or Llumar from outside. Dun believe your SA when they say might void warranty - never heard of this yet.
ktek
post Sep 19 2022, 11:45 PM

小喇叭
13,209 posts

he got write black n white mou.
buy tint with him bao claim everything?
adam.wong
post Sep 20 2022, 12:36 PM

47 posts

Thanks  notworthy.gif
Walao. If like that all tinted shop outside will bungkus. What an unethical SA. Should tell you only the tinted warranty will be voided.

Anyway, off topic. Mind to share your booking journey? What spec? And how long need to wait for stock?
bereev
post Mar 23 2024, 02:55 PM

257 posts

Tint it self definitely will not void your warranty, but the process when apply thint may void your warranty, exp. Normally they use blade to cut the tint paper on your window or windshield, it may scratch your paint work or the glass, also when they applied to the rear windshield the heater may broken, usually when they apply tint they will open the door panel it is also may cause rattling sound later on door panel, then you will go claim to SC.
Redundant
post Mar 25 2024, 05:38 PM

Gundam Freak
1,713 posts

I have factory fitted ECOTINT on my VIOS and they are no where as good as 3M crystalline i installed on my Hondas. Get a cash discount of RM1k+ from your SA and do the tint outside if you can...
mushigen
post Mar 26 2024, 03:01 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Mar 23 2024, 02:55 PM)
Tint it self definitely will not void your warranty, but the process when apply thint may void your warranty, exp. Normally they use blade to cut the tint paper on your window or windshield, it may scratch your paint work or the glass, also when they applied to the rear windshield the heater may broken, usually when they apply tint they will open the door panel it is also may cause rattling sound later on door panel, then you will go claim to SC.
I think it depends on the SC kot.

My City has 3M Scotshield Crystalline (anti-thef) film on windows, which is supposed to be thicker. I've complained about sticky window glass when opening/closing. SC just greased. But not sure whether they will decline if need to claim PW motor lo.

Whatever it is, I have no regret choosing this 3M. It's really worth the money.
bereev
post Mar 26 2024, 03:59 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 26 2024, 03:01 PM)
I think it depends on the SC kot.

My City has 3M Scotshield Crystalline (anti-thef) film on windows, which is supposed to be thicker. I've complained about sticky window glass when opening/closing. SC just greased. But not sure whether they will decline if need to claim PW motor lo.

Whatever it is, I have no regret choosing this 3M. It's really worth the money.
How many mil ?
mushigen
post Mar 26 2024, 04:34 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Mar 26 2024, 03:59 PM)
How many mil ?
Supposed to be 4mil.
Scissorshand
post Mar 26 2024, 09:37 PM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Sep 19 2022, 10:58 PM)
My FD2 was factory preinstalled with Ecotint back in 2011. If it’s the same, it’s not good… Just get 3M or Llumar from outside. Dun believe your SA when they say might void warranty - never heard of this yet.
My e90 installed with Llumar 4mil more than 10 yrs ago now probably blocking 30% heat. Other than that it’s still crystal clear without bubbles

0.0190sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:50 AM