Contractors responds, or it's my expectation (problem)

TSBboyDora
post Sep 19 2022, 03:04 PM, updated 4y ago

2,366 posts

first of all im not ranting, complaining or attacking anyone or any sort of occupation or look down on ppl .

im going to renovate my house and engage with several contractors to compare price and what they can do to renovate my house.

these contractors , 4 different contractors, they seem don't bother much about the my renovations. Means they are not responsive. few of them came to my house and measure and discuss, then after 1 month, still haven't give me the quotation. another one not replying my message. sent few messages , no reply and even voice message. when i call them, they just reply me everytime, "next week, next week" then no reply after that even few weeks ady past.

May i know is it my problems that im expecting whatsapp reply from contractors? or all of them only looking for few millions ringgit renovations and dont bother few hundred thousands reno? if few hundred thousands reno they dont wanna do at least reply me "we can't do it for you or you go fly kite" .At least a reply right? . but now just no reply?. weird

i dont expect a good customer service or immediate reply as they are not from service line, they are contractors. but no reply at all. I also know daytime they will be at the site. but i usually message them at night .

kindly share your experience renovating house and i wanna know is it normal for my case.
digitalz
post Sep 19 2022, 03:10 PM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Sep 19 2022, 03:04 PM)
first of all im not ranting, complaining or attacking anyone or any sort of occupation or look down on ppl .

im going to renovate my house and engage with several contractors to compare price and what they can do to renovate my house.

these contractors , 4 different contractors, they seem don't bother much about the my renovations. Means they are not responsive. few of them came to my house and measure and discuss, then after 1 month, still haven't give me the quotation. another one not replying my message. sent few messages , no reply and even voice message. when i call them, they just reply me everytime, "next week, next week" then no reply after that even few weeks ady past.
May i know is it my problems that im expecting  whatsapp reply from contractors? or all of them only looking for few millions ringgit renovations and dont bother few hundred thousands reno? if few hundred thousands reno they dont wanna do at least reply me "we can't do it for you or you go fly kite" .At least a reply right? . but now just no reply?. weird

i dont expect a good customer service or immediate reply as they are not from service line, they are contractors. but no reply at all. I also know daytime they will be at the site. but i usually message them at night .

kindly share your experience renovating house and i wanna know is it normal for my case.
Nowadays its more like they are too swamped with work. IDs too.

For me, since I'm not so much in a rush, I'd just contact my contractor when I've further questions etc. But the quotations and updates come quite fast for my case though.
oRoXoRo
post Sep 19 2022, 03:12 PM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

i think everyone have their fair share of problem.

My contractor always last min and not punctual at all. Last min ask me confirm on this and that, if i take longer then say i'm the one delaying the whole project.

I can tell you that most contractor that cant give you detail breakdown of the quotation, dont even bother to take them, more problem down the line.

I was the same like you few months earlier, sourcing for contractors for months. Many came to my house to discuss, after that all MIA.

If they dont reply, thats a sign that they cant take on the reno job.

But your case is normal. Out of 8-9 contractors, half of them MIA for me
lakini80
post Sep 19 2022, 03:12 PM

334 posts

Hi Bro,

Where is your location?
Do you mind if we can assist you here on the quotation?
kopiride
post Sep 19 2022, 03:13 PM

783 posts

Just their way of showing not interested. And it also means they have jobs line up for them already for many months. Didn't take your work also nevermind.

U just need to continue finding other contractors that are not that busy.

And for u if u want answer, just call them and ask direct. Want to do or not. Don't WhatsApp WhatsApp for all these kind of things. They are kinda busy people u think everyday can remember to call u see WhatsApp

TSBboyDora
post Sep 19 2022, 03:16 PM

2,366 posts

QUOTE(oRoXoRo @ Sep 19 2022, 03:12 PM)
i think everyone have their fair share of problem.

My contractor always last min and not punctual at all. Last min ask me confirm on this and that, if i take longer then say i'm the one delaying the whole project.

I can tell you that most contractor that cant give you detail breakdown of the quotation, dont even bother to take them, more problem down the line.

I was the same like you few months earlier, sourcing for contractors for months. Many came to my house to discuss, after that all MIA.

If they dont reply, thats a sign that they cant take on the reno job.

But your case is normal. Out of 8-9 contractors, half of them MIA for me
i see. i thought is my problem or i expecting "good service" doh.gif doh.gif
TSBboyDora
post Sep 19 2022, 03:18 PM

2,366 posts

QUOTE(kopiride @ Sep 19 2022, 03:13 PM)
Just their way of showing not interested. And it also means they have jobs line up for them already for many months. Didn't take your work also nevermind.

U just need to continue finding other contractors that are not that busy.

And for u if u want answer, just call them and ask direct. Want to do or not. Don't WhatsApp WhatsApp for all these kind of things. They are kinda busy people u think everyday can remember to call u see WhatsApp
but it's business ma. money also. few hundred thousands also money. i dont think those contractors dun want money.

maybe what u say is correct also. their other contract maybe few hundred millions. too less zero they dun bother sad.gif sad.gif
billy08
post Sep 19 2022, 03:33 PM

225 posts

Yes. Best skip the no respond contractors. Because even they take your job, they may drag your job because they have other bigger jobs pending. Not easy to find contractors because their business just started to pickup and they also dependent on their workers, and workers are hard to come by as well. If can find, their rates also would be higher.
oRoXoRo
post Sep 19 2022, 04:33 PM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Sep 19 2022, 03:16 PM)
i see. i thought is my problem or i expecting "good service" doh.gif  doh.gif
definitely not your problem, initially i thought the same, small reno they no layan but memang they all crazy busy

my contractor told me that he is busy until end of next year, wont be taking any new job now.
TSBboyDora
post Sep 20 2022, 10:21 AM

2,366 posts

QUOTE(oRoXoRo @ Sep 19 2022, 04:33 PM)
definitely not your problem, initially i thought the same, small reno they no layan but memang they all crazy busy

my contractor told me that he is busy until end of next year, wont be taking any new job now.
walau...really good business.

study so hard for what. becomes contractor all kaya raya thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
augusta23
post Sep 20 2022, 09:35 PM

329 posts

Usually it means that they are not interested. Either they are too busy or your project is too "small". Some just blue-ticked you. Others maybe will give some excuses as a courtesy.

Just curious if this is a newly VP-ed project, usually there will be a lot of in-house contractors?
Minolta
post Sep 20 2022, 10:28 PM

2,292 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Sep 20 2022, 10:21 AM)
walau...really good business.

study so hard for what. becomes contractor all kaya raya  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Construction job not easy lah. 2nd hand smoke, travel here/there, dealing with foreigners, polis, immigration, and some times most frustrating, collection.
derravile
post Sep 20 2022, 11:50 PM

Choking on my aspirations
1,958 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Sep 19 2022, 03:04 PM)

May i know is it my problems that im expecting  whatsapp reply from contractors? or all of them only looking for few millions ringgit renovations and dont bother few hundred thousands reno? if few hundred thousands reno they dont wanna do at least reply me "we can't do it for you or you go fly kite" .At least a reply right? . but now just no reply?. weird

few hundred thousand reno is not low imo...my experience is contractors are abit unresponsive, thus need to chase...but 1 month w/o quotation is just too long

do drop me a pm, might have an ID firm interested, timing and quotation quite fast also, price wise, maybe can self nego
nexona88
post Sep 23 2022, 11:51 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,513 posts

If no response...
Either too much project in hand... Cannot handle more especially from yours or the project renovation is too small for their expertise 😁

Personally...
Any renovation is never too small for contractors...
They basically would take anything.... Some even 3 or 4 project same time... 1 day here another 2 day different place... List goes on... Normal project can complete 1 week become 10 days or up to 3 weeks because of delay (few days missing / not on site) 😁

This post has been edited by nexona88: Sep 23 2022, 11:51 AM
sijun
post Sep 24 2022, 01:05 PM

318 posts

ownself be contractor.
hire indo workers to paint, hire own wiremen, plumbers, carpenters.

save money and supervise yourself on every part.
4102Lahces
post Sep 26 2022, 10:52 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(sijun @ Sep 24 2022, 01:05 PM)
ownself be contractor.

Not so easy - as most people dont have the bandwidth, the skill set or technical expertise. You usually don't know that until its too late and you’ve blown your money !
You could also look for ID and contractor references like here or at https://atap.co/malaysia/en and get ideas and benchmarks, but like just about everything - theres no substitute for experience and practice.
TSBboyDora
post Sep 30 2022, 10:10 AM

2,366 posts

QUOTE(4102Lahces @ Sep 26 2022, 10:52 AM)
Not so easy - as most people dont have the bandwidth, the skill set or technical expertise. You usually don't know that until its too late and you’ve blown your money !
You could also look for ID and contractor references like here or at https://atap.co/malaysia/en and get ideas and benchmarks, but like just about everything - theres no substitute for experience and practice.
thank you very much. Very informative indeed
TSBboyDora
post Sep 30 2022, 10:11 AM

2,366 posts

QUOTE(sijun @ Sep 24 2022, 01:05 PM)
ownself be contractor.

I did it before.

dealing with those plumbers / electrician etc really make you vomit blood. better deal with one contractor then he handle others
TSBboyDora
post Sep 30 2022, 10:11 AM

2,366 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 23 2022, 11:51 AM)
If no response...
Either too much project in hand... Cannot handle more especially from yours or the project renovation is too small for their expertise 😁

Personally...
Any renovation is never too small for contractors...
They basically would take anything.... Some even 3 or 4 project same time... 1 day here another 2 day different place... List goes on... Normal project can complete 1 week become 10 days or up to 3 weeks because of delay (few days missing / not on site) 😁
this what i thought too biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TSBboyDora
post Sep 30 2022, 10:12 AM

2,366 posts

QUOTE(Minolta @ Sep 20 2022, 10:28 PM)
Construction job not easy lah. 2nd hand smoke, travel here/there, dealing with foreigners, polis, immigration, and some times most frustrating, collection.
makan gaji 9 to 5 job also not easy...deal with some nonsense boss, toxic colleagues ....( i think it will be out topic later..hahaha)

0.0276sec    0.86    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:57 AM