Cost to repair gearbox with engine oil leaking, Anyone know roughly how much?

TSYdontukickme
post Sep 19 2022, 08:06 AM, updated 4y ago

157 posts

Hi guys, Anyone know how much roughly is the repair cost for repairing gearbox with engine oil leaking problem for e.g. Toyota car?
teslaman
post Sep 19 2022, 08:43 AM

1,154 posts

QUOTE(Ydontukickme @ Sep 19 2022, 08:06 AM)
Hi guys, Anyone know how much roughly is the repair cost for repairing gearbox with engine oil leaking problem for e.g. Toyota car?
shocks also u need to change

Thrust
post Sep 19 2022, 08:43 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

If want to do all leaking gaskets and oil seals, prepare around 1k+.

Parts are cheap but labour is expensive for these kinda job.
tgeoklin
post Sep 19 2022, 08:46 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Sep 19 2022, 08:43 AM)
If want to do all leaking gaskets and oil seals, prepare around 1k+.

Parts are cheap but labour is expensive for these kinda job.
Expensive not withstanding, getting competent mechanics is another major headache 🤦
TSYdontukickme
post Sep 19 2022, 08:48 AM

157 posts

I’m been told it will be more than 2K, so just want to check the market price now.. then it is really expensive to fix the engine gas oil leaking related to gearbox sad.gif
zemega
post Sep 19 2022, 08:57 AM

723 posts

QUOTE(Ydontukickme @ Sep 19 2022, 08:48 AM)
I’m been told it will be more than 2K, so just want to check the market price now.. then it is really expensive to fix the engine gas oil leaking related to gearbox sad.gif
Are you asking the right question? You just want to fix the gearbox only, or you want to fix the leaks from the engine and the gearbox?
Leaking engine tends to lead to deteriorating rubbers all around the engine bay. This means you may need to replace those rubbers, or the parts protected by those rubbers.

And don't ignore the leaking engine. You either fix the engine leaking at once, or you keep on fixing every other parts once in a while.

It is pricey, but it is cheaper in the long run.
kelvinfixx
post Sep 19 2022, 08:59 AM

1,590 posts

2k-3k
TSYdontukickme
post Sep 19 2022, 09:55 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(zemega @ Sep 19 2022, 08:57 AM)
Are you asking the right question? You just want to fix the gearbox only, or you want to fix the leaks from the engine and the gearbox?
Leaking engine tends to lead to deteriorating rubbers all around the engine bay. This means you may need to replace those rubbers, or the parts protected by those rubbers.

And don't ignore the leaking engine. You either fix the engine leaking at once, or you keep on fixing every other parts once in a while.

It is pricey, but it is cheaper in the long run.
Hi fix the leaks from the engine and the gearbox. Went to the workshop I normally go but the mechanic said need to go to other workshop to do the fixing and need to extract the gearbox to fix it, around 2-3k
N9484640
post Sep 19 2022, 10:11 AM

Chasing Electric
1,296 posts

both engine oil and transmission oil also leaking?
before spending thousands of ringgit, try this - pour half a bottle in (can use in both engine and gearbox). I've fixed 2 of my engine leaks with this. You can also search in YouTube to see other reviews
https://shopee.com.my/AT-205-RE-SEAL-Stop-L...9890.1561614731
zemega
post Sep 19 2022, 10:39 AM

723 posts

QUOTE(Ydontukickme @ Sep 19 2022, 09:55 AM)
Hi fix the leaks from the engine and the gearbox. Went to the workshop I normally go but the mechanic said need to go to other workshop to do the fixing and need to extract the gearbox to fix it, around 2-3k
Ask your mechanic to recommend which workshop then. Probably needs heavy tools to take out the engine and gearbox from the engine bay. That's the hard part. I believe 2k is around normal quoted price. It's not a single man job after all. That's already several workhours charged in just one hour. Be prepared if the mechanic asks if you want to fix/change some parts while you're at it, since it's a rare opportunity to do so. Unless it's critical, they will only advise you.
zenix
post Sep 21 2022, 12:28 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Ydontukickme @ Sep 19 2022, 08:06 AM)
gearbox leaking
engine leaking
or both leaking ?

0.2745sec    0.85    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:25 PM