which will u choose ?, iPod Classic or Ipod Touch
Oct 8 2007, 04:03 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Maybe i came in a bit strong on conferring my opinions on these two products, but i assure it was meant as part of pros and cons of choosing between these two. I was hoping that someone else comes in here with their own strong views on why they chose iPod Classics (other than "im lazy, or i want storage") over the iPod Touch, but in that process, it sounded and looked like i was downplaying the Classic over the Touch. If it came off like that, then i guess i better back off and look at this objectively.
Oct 8 2007, 04:12 PM
838 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
but back-to-topic-and-honestly speaking tho.. i do prefer the touch becuz of it's wide screen and amazingly orgasmic GUI.. but what to do.. i purchased my 5.5gen 80gig 2 months before the damn touch came out.. zzzzzzzzzz.. what to do.. unlucky la.. and i wasn't familiar with the apple trend then..
tho i would love to get the touch right away, i wouldn't get it now.. cuz reviews of bugs and how vid quality defers from iphone and it doesn't support email(am i wrong here?)? so kinda waiting for a v.2 touch if it does come out.. so for now enjoy my 80gig la.. |
Oct 8 2007, 04:19 PM
Well, to nitpick, the differences are virtually negligible. The only way to see how it differs is via the TV-Out, but that defeats the purpose as a portable media player. Other bugs such as the inclusion of podcasts and movie trailers in Coverflow mode is also on the iPhone, but should be ironed out in later firmware updates. The very first time i got my iPod Touch out, iTunes already prompted an update, so im pleased with Apple's proactiveness on improving the iPod Touch.
Yup, no emails and no editing of Calendar/Contact as well, but the boys rumormongering on Apple have reported that Calendar/Contact editing will come soon through another update. Shame on the email thing though.... |
Oct 8 2007, 04:22 PM
135 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Classic - i prefer the 160GB....
Touch - choose iphone lar |
Oct 8 2007, 04:34 PM
so meaning i can't log into my gmail account and do my emails? or i can check them but can't send out? not really sure as i've never use Mac OS and safari in my life b4..
This post has been edited by carlsuen: Oct 8 2007, 04:36 PM |
Oct 8 2007, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(carlsuen @ Oct 8 2007, 04:34 PM) so meaning i can't log into my gmail account and do my emails? or i can check them but can't send out? not really sure as i've never use Mac OS in my life b4.. No, the one's missing from iPod Touch is Push Mail, ala Outlook on your PC. You can still access your Gmail account via web interface on Safari. |
Oct 8 2007, 04:38 PM
then shouldn't that be sufficient? lol! i don't think majority of ppl uses outlook right? only companies use them.. but for personal use.. surfing on the net and doing your emails in gmail is good enough ma!? or is there something i'm missing?
Oct 8 2007, 04:44 PM
With Push Mail, you needed have to keep logging into your email account every single time you want to check your mailbox. Incoming emails will be sent to your Push Mail mailbox inside your device automatically without prompting, or you logging in with your username/password. Generally, it's automated versus the need to log in automatically via the Safari or any web interface.
The setup is dead simple as well, Google Mail and Yahoo Mail is already preset in the Mail client inside my iPhone , all you need to do is supply the username and password. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Oct 8 2007, 04:44 PM |
Oct 8 2007, 05:22 PM
icic! i understand now! hmmm.. if that's the only thing then the chances of me getting the touch is getting higher!! haha! lol.. thx stringfellow..
Oct 8 2007, 06:53 PM
545 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: kuala lumpur |
I want to buy the combination of Ipod classic and Iphone =)
Oct 8 2007, 07:01 PM
Oct 8 2007, 08:00 PM
21 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 8 2007, 04:03 PM) Maybe i came in a bit strong on conferring my opinions on these two products, but i assure it was meant as part of pros and cons of choosing between these two. I was hoping that someone else comes in here with their own strong views on why they chose iPod Classics (other than "im lazy, or i want storage") over the iPod Touch, but in that process, it sounded and looked like i was downplaying the Classic over the Touch. If it came off like that, then i guess i better back off and look at this objectively. Just to clarify my reasons of getting a classic because im LAZYHaving an ipod touch requires you to update your contents every now and then. Say for instance i have only 5gb of storage left, i am only able to fill it up with a series or two. Which means after watching those vids, i gotta convert my other movies and delete the old ones then transfer the new ones into the ipod. With the Ipod classic however, i can just convert EVERYTHING i have from series to movies all in one day and transfer it into the classic and get it over with. Unlike maybe you, i don't have the motivation to keep updating my ipod. Just to remind you, Apple is a billion dollar company. They have tones of economists and technologists. I doubt they would release an ipod classic and ipod touch at the same time and almost at the same price if the Classic does not have it's own advantages over the touch. PS: I came in peace. Please dun get all worked up by my post like you were with all the other 3097430897 posts. Cheers |
Oct 8 2007, 08:06 PM
QUOTE(asdf666 @ Oct 8 2007, 08:00 PM) PS: I came in peace. Please dun get all worked up by my post like you were with all the other 3097430897 posts. Nice. Offers the olive branch of peace, then stabs the guy back in face. Peace back to you too, buddy. *finger* Cheers Funny how you can be LAZY in syncing your contents into your iPod but you're pretty much productive enough to convert EVERYTHING TO BE SYNCED into the iPod. Sounds like productivity applied to the wrong place to me. And oh, i come in peace. Dont get worked up with this 3097430898th posts you read here. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Oct 8 2007, 08:31 PM |
Oct 8 2007, 08:35 PM
21 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 8 2007, 08:06 PM) Nice. Offers the olive branch of peace, then stabs the guy back in face. Peace back to you too, buddy. *finger* "Productivity applied to the wrong place" you say? Who are you to tell me that it is wrong? It is just a matter of preference. You enjoy distributing your chores, fair enough. The other guys and I who have decided to go for classic prefer another way compared to yours. Is that wrong? Is your way the almighty way that is the best and most efficient? Doubt so. So stop telling people what is right and what is wrong. I am sure we have enough knowledge and brains to think for ourselves. Funny how you can be LAZY in syncing your contents into your iPod but you're pretty much productive enough to convert EVERYTHING TO BE SYNCED into the iPod. Sounds like productivity applied to the wrong place to me. And oh, i come in peace. Dont get worked up with the other 3097430898 posts you read here. |
Oct 8 2007, 08:47 PM
Read the post again. Where was it that it is stated that it is wrong to do so? Read my other post too. Carlsuen understands that my post was to illuminate the different ways you can go about this, thus opening up your options rather than tunnel-visioning on just one product. That was the intention. While he understands it, you however got post-menstrual-syndrome on this over fiddly matters. Funny how you were the one cynically asking for not getting worked up over fiddly matter........and look who's worked up now?
I suggest some calming tunes of Symphony no. 9 and some Mozart to calm your raw nerves. After all, you have all your music , all you can carry in your iPod Classic right, being lazy or productive be damned and all? And as always, i come in peace This post has been edited by stringfellow: Oct 8 2007, 09:21 PM |
Oct 8 2007, 09:21 PM
From what i gather here, here is the summary of the types of people who would go for each of these iPod variations:-
Person A would go for the iPod Classic if his lifestyle reflects these qualities:- 1 - He wants all his music and video on the go with him all the time. No exceptions. 2 - He's the on-the-go type of person who had not the time to create playlists of his music collection, but instead wants the entire collection with him, which also means he gets to choose rather than restricted to songs on playlists. (read: lazy) 3 - He wants the freedom of handling the iPod one-handed, without the need to look at the control interface, since he has grown comfortable using the Click-wheel interface without looking. But to do this, he either have to grow comfortable with listening to one particular album, and navigating within that album, or listening to a particular playlist and navigating within that playlist. But...but...but.....the task of creating playlists involves a tidy sum of work, somewhat negating the fact that he is lazy! Does not compute!!! *head explode* 4 - He is simply more comfortable with the Click-Wheel than a virtual interface. 5 - He places more priority on the songs he wants to hear, and the choice of songs made available to him , rather than supplementary features like on the iPod Touch. Simply put, he is a music aficionado first, everything else second. 6 - He is assured with himself with the fact that he can listen to whatever he wants to , whenever he wants to since he carries ALL his music and videos with him. Person B would go for the iPod Touch if his lifestyle reflects these qualities:- 1 - He manages his music according to what he wants to hear on that particular moment, carrying only what he needs to listen to that day, not having the need to carry all of his music with him. 2 - He wants other supplementary features like mobile surfing on Safari, Youtube and iTunes Wifi Store 3 - He is comfortable with the fact that he can stream his music off his always-on music server back home, and he can access this content via streaming on wifi at wifi hotspots. Or by navigating to www.seeqpod.com for millions of songs on Seeqpod library, arranged by their metadatas. But...but...but....this is only available if he can access wifi hotspots, which are not readily available at all places! *head explodes* 4 - He is simply more eager to explore new features introduced in the new iPod interface. 5 - He places equal balance on the connectivity-related activities he can do (web surfing and connectivity related activities), to supplement his casual listening on his iPod. Simply put, he wants to stay connected, while he does his work and chilling out on his carefully selected tunes. OR he could simply pop into iTunes Wifi Store and buy more tunes if the need arises. 6 - He is assured of the fact he only needs to listen when he feels like, because he feels that he dont need to listen to every song in his collection 24/7, and does not mind if the mood strikes to listen to a particular song, that he does not have the song with him at that moment. This reflects back on his characteristcs on point #5. DISCLAIMER: This post merely attempts to summarise what qualities an individual have to ease his choice on deciding which iPod is the right iPod for him, Classic or Touch. It is not meant to "get others worked up", "anger other individuals" or illiciting angry responses out of readers who may not agree with these points. Feel free to post your own version of this post, if you do feel that you have differing opinions on what characteristics of an individual is better suited for these two iPods. Thank you. I come in peace. |
Oct 9 2007, 11:33 AM
we should just let this thread die away now...
no fun being antagonised... |
Oct 9 2007, 11:40 AM
OR, unless you have anything useful to add, without adding fuel to the fire, you dont have to post. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Oct 9 2007, 11:45 AM |
Oct 10 2007, 12:50 AM
545 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: kuala lumpur |
QUOTE(asdf666 @ Oct 8 2007, 08:00 PM) Just to clarify my reasons of getting a classic because im LAZY darn apple should hire me to become their consultant so everyone can benefit Having an ipod touch requires you to update your contents every now and then. Say for instance i have only 5gb of storage left, i am only able to fill it up with a series or two. Which means after watching those vids, i gotta convert my other movies and delete the old ones then transfer the new ones into the ipod. With the Ipod classic however, i can just convert EVERYTHING i have from series to movies all in one day and transfer it into the classic and get it over with. Unlike maybe you, i don't have the motivation to keep updating my ipod. Just to remind you, Apple is a billion dollar company. They have tones of economists and technologists. I doubt they would release an ipod classic and ipod touch at the same time and almost at the same price if the Classic does not have it's own advantages over the touch. PS: I came in peace. Please dun get all worked up by my post like you were with all the other 3097430897 posts. Cheers |
Oct 10 2007, 09:54 PM
1,666 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
I think the New IPod Classic with the new UI make it slower.
I just bought the IPod Touch (8GB) last week.the touch is good,but only 8GB... |
| Change to: | 0.0172sec
5 queries
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:24 PM |