[WTA] Which Insurance is better for savings?, Need some opinion before I wanna buy =)

dreamer101
post Oct 4 2007, 08:35 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(xcutelilgal @ Oct 4 2007, 07:56 AM)
Because a saving plan gives more benefits.
If every month you put rm 100 / rm 150 into a savings plan, you get more than putting rm 100 / rm 150 into the bank

What benefits you get depends on the saving plans and how much you plan to save.
<<If every month you put rm 100 / rm 150 into a savings plan, you get more than putting rm 100 / rm 150 into the bank>>

How do you know that is true?? Do you know how to calculate and do a proper comparison?? I doubt that very much. And, you assume that insurance agent will give you a proper comparison. How smart is that??

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Oct 4 2007, 08:55 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Zarth @ Oct 4 2007, 07:34 PM)
Dear b00n,

In order to really understand the real implications of not being able to afford paying the RM100 per month, we would have to think deeper on the most likely possible "out of the blue" scenarios.

1. You got involved in an accident and is TPD, hence cannot work and no income. Bear in mind accidents can happen anywhere anytime, not just on the road accidents, you could just be happily bathing at home, stepped on a soap bar, knock your head and end up in a coma.
2. You are diagnosed with critical illness, hence cannot work and no income.
3. You lose your job temporary due to recession, hence no income temporarily, but still can find other jobs but with lower income.
4. You spend all your money lavishly and end up with loads of debts and not being able to support your insurance premiums.

Thanks, Best Regards.
Zarth,

Let's breakdown the scenerio one by one.

1: There is more than one way for people to be disabled than it is cover by TPD insurance. If you got in an accident, you are cover by personal accident insurance which can perform the same function as TPD by accident and it is a lot cheaper.

2: Which is probably not cover by TPD insurance. And, if you have critical illness insurance and it only pays to the hospital.

3: In a serious recession which typically happen in Malaysia every 10 years, you cannot find job and have NO INCOME for a few months and up to a year.

4: Which the person should not buy insurance and waste money on insurance commission to begin with.

It is safer to save that RM100 in bank versus insurance. And, roll the money into FD whenever it reaches RM1,000. A person should not talk about savings via insurance or investment until they have 3 to 6 months of expense in bank as emergency fund.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Oct 4 2007, 08:56 PM
dreamer101
post Oct 5 2007, 03:44 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(xcutelilgal @ Oct 5 2007, 12:46 AM)
hmm
I understand insurance and I understand savings.
I also have enough for 3 - 6 months downtime the reason why I'm actually asking. Rm100 a month is not much for savings. If it gives you better benefits than putting in a bank of which money value drops and interest rate is super low, why not consider an insurance / savings whatsoever? I don't believe in unit trusts as my cousin had unit trusts and had no returns. Don't see the advantages in it at all.
xcutelilgal,

Pardon me. I do not think you know the savings scheme in insurance. In a lot of cases, the return is worse than FD with a lot less flexibility. You NEVER really calculate and do a full comparison. Or else, you will not makes this statement.

<<it gives you better benefits than putting in a bank of which money value drops and interest rate is super low, >>

Which applies to saving scheme in insurance too. In fact, the return rate in insurance is fixed while FD can be renewed annually. on the situation where interest is going up, FD will return more than the saving scheme.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Oct 5 2007, 07:07 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(clsiluf @ Oct 5 2007, 05:19 PM)
a lot of my working frens still reluctant to buy insurance ... which is very wrong mindset ...

they keep thinking insurance is mlm ... con people's stuff ...

they prefer to save all money in the bank
clsiluf,

1) Do you know that in most cases, they are probably correct?? It is a waste of money for most of them.

<<they keep thinking insurance is mlm ... con people's stuff ...>>

2) That is true in a lot of cases too when people buy insurance that they do not need.

<<which is very wrong mindset ..>>

3) It is ONLY a wrong mindset if you are an insurance agent trying to sell to them.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Oct 5 2007, 08:41 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Oct 5 2007, 07:56 PM)
1. commision is paid by the company to the agent not by clients but using premium size as a scale , it is fair in business world as job tht involves SALES like car , house , medicine , machine, spareparts, material..... which doesn't pay the agent/employee commission/incentive based on sales brought in ? be fair with insurance agents, they r just making a living . nod.gif

2. tht is a bit too much if the agent keep bugging a client to close the case. doh.gif  shakehead.gif
yewkhuay,

<< commision is paid by the company to the agent not by clients>>

This is a very NAIVE statement. There is a Chinese saying : Wool always came from sheep.

<<be fair with insurance agents, they r just making a living . nod.gif >>

They could make a living by selling the RIGHT and CORRECT amount of insurance to people. It is selling the WRONG insurance and convincing people to buy TOO MUCH insurance that I am against.

If someone buy an expensive car, the person at least enjoy an expensive car. If a person buy TOO MUCH insurance, besides wasting money, the person get NOTHING.

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Oct 6 2007, 01:17 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(clsiluf @ Oct 6 2007, 12:22 AM)
so if mishap happen to some 1 that doesn't have insurance and he need pay all the medical espenses ? hmm.gif

so in this case, will he regret not to buy 1 that time ?
clsiluf,

What kind of medical insurance?? How much is the coverage?? How much is the deductable? How much is the premium??

Insurance make sense when you pay a little to cover a huge financial risk. So, how much is the financial risk of a young people getting sick?? How much is the risk of young people getting sick need a huge medical expense?? Is that the greatest financial risk for young people? Hint: it is not.

How many insurance agent actually went through all those stuff with a client?? Or, they just say buy as much insurance as you can pay?

Don't play FUD with me.

Medical insurance is about the lowest priority kind of insurance for most young people.

Dreamer

P.S. We had went through this and more on the insurance thread until no insurance agent dare to post there anymore.

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Oct 6 2007, 01:22 AM
dreamer101
post Oct 6 2007, 04:01 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Zarth @ Oct 6 2007, 02:57 AM)
Dear Dreamer,

Can you guarantee that nothing would happen to you while you're trying to create your 3-6 months emergency fund?

Zarth,

Can you guarantee what would happen to a person is precisely the same event that protected by the insurance that you buy?? No too.

If you buy life insurance, you only protect against life.

If you buy medical insurance, you are only protect medical condition.

And, so on.........

You can use the money in the bank for any kind of emergency. For insurance, it only works if that particular kind of event happen to you and you buy that kind of insurance.

So, a person should only buy insurance if

A) That event is very likely to happen.

B) That event cause a significant financial impact that cannot cover by emergency fund.

C) That cost of that insurance is low enough.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Oct 6 2007, 04:03 AM
dreamer101
post Oct 6 2007, 10:27 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Zarth @ Oct 6 2007, 05:17 PM)
Dear Dreamer,

Nope there is no 100% guarantee, but I'd say up to 90% of daily occurences can be covered. I can also tell you that for every 17 minutes, someone who buys life insurance will not live to pay the second premium.

Exactly the main reason why insurance exists in the first place. Because there's no 100% guarantee to life. But if you can cover up to 90%, would you prefer 70%? 50%? Your choice. Can you imagine if insurance does not exists at all and everyone has to fend for thier ownself against financial distresses that happen daily?

Hence its important to cover all the possible loopholes, you can never cover 100% but 90% is still better than 0%.

Again, I would like to stress on what are the possible "out of the blue" or "any kind of" emergencies  scenarios that could occur in my earlier post. Do contribute if there is any other possible important scenarios?

What are the bigger emergencies? How much money do you require for those smaller emergencies? Does it make sense to allow insurance to cover the 90%, while you can still set aside money into FD to cover the balance 10%?
A) The problem is Accidents/Deaths/TPDs/Critical Illness/Hospitalization can come at any one time in our lives, be it young/old/boy/girl/rich/poor.

There is no way to show the exact future predictability table that it is more likely to happen to someone compared to the other.

Hence, the only thing you can rely on is past history, statistics, which is exactly what actuarist used to determine the premiums.

But as we all know past history does not always indicate the future. Therefore, premiums are constantly revised based on the latest statistics & trends.

Zarh,

<<A) The problem is Accidents/Deaths/TPDs/Critical Illness/Hospitalization can come at any one time in our lives, be it young/old/boy/girl/rich/poor.

There is no way to show the exact future predictability table that it is more likely to happen to someone compared to the other.

Hence, the only thing you can rely on is past history, statistics, which is exactly what actuarist used to determine the premiums.

But as we all know past history does not always indicate the future. Therefore, premiums are constantly revised based on the latest statistics & trends.>>

Bingo. So, tell me in order of likelihood of destroying a person's financial future, which are the following are more likely to happen for a male person between 25 to 30 years old?

A) TPD
B) Life
C) Medical
D) Critical illness
E) Accident

Insurance is used for risk management. To manage risk, you need to know

A) The likelihood that it can happen
B) In the event that happen, what is the usual financial cost?? What is the worst case financial cost?

How many insurance agent selling insurance without telling the customer about (A) and (B)??

I am NOT against people buying insurance for risk management. I am AGAINST people buying insurance without knowing what is the level of the risk that they are managing. For example, young people that spend a lot of money on life insurance when TPD protection is more important for them. They are more likely to be disabled than die in young age. And, financially, to be disable is worst than dying for young people.

What is the most common event that kill young people?? Accident?? Medical?? And, etc?? Which one is the highest risk??

Insurance is about RISK management. How can we talk about RISK management when we are NOT given information about what is the level of RISK that we are facing at each stage of life??

I have great respect for you. You are one of few insurance agent that post at LYN who try to give CORRECT information and actually service the customer. You actually give service to the customer and think about what kind of protection that a customer need. The problem we have at LYN is we have too MANY insurance agents posting at LYN that does not do that.

If a person buy a car, he at least know how many wheels is in that car. If a person buy an insurance, he does not know how much risk that he is protect against and how much the risk cost. Does this make any sense to people?

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Oct 7 2007, 10:34 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(nissin @ Oct 7 2007, 01:46 AM)
i agree that insurance is very important in our life, we are face with risk everyday, everywhere. actually hor, the biggest risk we face is critical illness... accident is only if u are in hi risk jobs leh...

rich or poor also need insurance lor... cos insurance is to protect against the loss of ability to earn income leh, not just about paying medical bills or savings for retirement. THe main point and reason of buying it is for that lor... actually, it really depends on individuals, u and i may have different expectations, so u & i may buy insurance for diff reasons. in fact, the poor needs it the most la hehe

protection, savings, investment, estate planning.. all are very different actually.. savings also got many types, not only in the bank or insurance. u can overinsure urself, if u have all that spare cash then it is ok.. but if sampai u suffocate every month, then need to review lor.

best is to, first.. get a comprehensive insurance that suits ur need & budget.. if got extra cash, think of what u want and how u want to spend it. If u want to save, what is the purpose? for how long? risk taker? think of all the options out there where u can save ur $$. If u wanna save and invest, there are a lot options out there that caters to this particular reasons. personally, insurance is not investment (my opinion, no offence please)

hope my 2 sen can help with some of u there. anyway, dont put all ur eggs in one basket!!!  smile.gif
nissin,

<<insurance is to protect against the loss of ability to earn income leh>>

You know that such an insurance does not exist in Malaysia. So, don't "bait and switch". Telling people something but selling people something else.

Don't tell me that you are another unqualified insurance agent.

Dreamer

Added on October 7, 2007, 10:41 pm
QUOTE(p4n6 @ Oct 7 2007, 01:06 AM)
I still see insurance is important, if you involved in an accident, people will check whether you have insurance (insurance card for example) and you could get insured even if you are unconsious ...

Imagine if you have millions in the bank, stocks and mutual funds ... those money can't be touched unless you are awake and walk to the bank to withdraw it. No one else can do that for you!

Insurance ... the company and agent will do that for you.
p4n6,

<<Imagine if you have millions in the bank, stocks and mutual funds ... those money can't be touched unless you are awake and walk to the bank to withdraw it. No one else can do that for you! >>

This is so STUPID. If you have millions in bank, you should be smart enough to have

A) Joint account so that your wife can withdraw money for you

B) Living will so that someone else or a lawyer can withdraw money for you.

Do you really know anyone that has millions in the bank??

BTW, people at that level has at least 10K to 30K sitting at home in cash for their usual expenses.

P.S.: Anyone that is rich enough will not put millions in a bank. They know that only up to 90K is insured per account.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Oct 7 2007, 10:41 PM
dreamer101
post Oct 8 2007, 12:47 AM

15,855 posts

[quote=nissin,Oct 8 2007, 12:19 AM]
[quote=dreamer101,Oct 7 2007, 10:34 PM]
nissin,

<<insurance is to protect against the loss of ability to earn income leh>>

You know that such an insurance does not exist in Malaysia. So, don't "bait and switch". Telling people something but selling people something else.

Don't tell me that you are another unqualified insurance agent.

Dreamer

Added on October 7, 2007, 10:41 pm

hi dreamer!

why i said that insurance is to protect against the loss of ability to earn income is... because, there are few reasons why i wont be able to work.. which is accident, critical illness, retrenchment, masuk hospital and so on.. retrenchment i tak boleh control la k.. and also the rest . But, coming from not so rich family hor, i am responsible to put food on table one.. if i kena accident or masuk hospital or critical illness, i know guaranteed my family no money to eat, no money to pay bills and treat my sickness. that is when insurance comes in to compoensate me for these things, since i paid so much $$ for it liao. the $$ i get from my policy wil then help with my modest lifestyle and my medical bills lor. This is what i meant by protect against the loss of ability to earn income. Imagine if i got no insurance at all, at times like this it is even more worse. smile.gif

[/quote]

nissin,

Let me repeat one more time,

WHICH INSURANCE PROTECT against the loss of ability to earn income?

It does not exist in Malaysia.

There are insurance that protect you against death, accident, critical illness and so on. They DO NOT PROTECT against loss of income. If they do, when you get retrenched, that insurance will pay you something.

The only kind of protection against loss of income under ALL circumstances are savings aka money in the bank. And, the more insurance that you buy, the less money that you can save.

If you really worry about loss of income, you should save a lot of money in the bank. Insurance only pay if you lose your income under SOME but not ALL circumstances. Since we are likely to get into a recession soon, buying MORE insurance that does not protect against job loss may not be a good idea.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Oct 8 2007, 12:53 AM

0.0212sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:34 PM