[2022] iPhone 14 / 14 Plus Discussion, Wonderfull.

YoungMan
post Sep 8 2022, 09:34 AM

5,394 posts

Would be good if price of 14 is like 13 last year, but hmmm price increase inevitable.
YoungMan
post Oct 20 2022, 09:19 PM

5,394 posts

QUOTE(MillkTea93 @ Oct 20 2022, 07:14 PM)
I am expecting huge discount on iphone 14/14 plus soon.. which is bad news for existing iphone 14 buyer.. 2nd hand value also..
If ever huge discount coming I will not hesitate to get one. But because our Ringgit not strong, still quite a steep price to pay.
YoungMan
post Oct 21 2022, 03:51 PM

5,394 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Oct 21 2022, 02:52 PM)
some of the authorized reseller already give RM 200 discounted price
Hahaha mistake or not, RM200 still cannot tempt me to buy although my iPhone upgrade is long overdue. Forsee more discounts in months to come.
YoungMan
post Oct 21 2022, 09:39 PM

5,394 posts

QUOTE(azizul1975 @ Oct 21 2022, 03:58 PM)
haha, yes, same here, my iphone 11 can still survive the temptation. only need to replace the battery. hopefully will last another 3 years smile.gif
iPhone 11 and above still OK actually. Just that no 5G. Maybe after 2 3 years you change to whatever newer model with USB C. By that time 5G coverage is much better.
YoungMan
post Nov 3 2022, 05:17 PM

5,394 posts

QUOTE(Wildcat @ Nov 3 2022, 03:31 PM)
$$$ aside, would you rather get a iphone 14 plus or an iphone 12 pro max?

I am travelling soon and I wana get a bigger screen phone as a secondary phone (currently using iphone 13), and pondering about these 2.

I like the 12 pro max as it has the telephoto lens (for travel pix, good to have)
But I might some concern with the weight as it is quite heavy (228g)

So for the 14 phone plus, it is easy, it is just solely because it is lighter (203g).

Pls share your view if you have any.
Why not the 13 Pro Max?
YoungMan
post Nov 3 2022, 09:31 PM

5,394 posts

QUOTE(Wildcat @ Nov 3 2022, 07:00 PM)
For me it’s function vs weight

13PM is even more heavier at 240g.

So imagine I am already having concern for 12PM which is already at 228g.
If that's the case I would straight away go for 14 Plus. Newer compared to 12 PM which is already 2 years.
YoungMan
post Nov 16 2022, 02:51 PM

5,394 posts

QUOTE(imbashiter @ Nov 16 2022, 09:36 AM)
After 10 days
14 Plus really build for long lasting battery this time. Wonderring if anyone on 14 here, how is battery life like.
YoungMan
post Nov 24 2022, 09:36 PM

5,394 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Nov 24 2022, 12:12 AM)
i charge at night if it is 20% when at home, lol. most of the time, just wireless charge at office while listen to music.

I think I like the size for 14, but longer battery on 14 Plus is what I want so that don't have to buy another charger for office use. I do have a 12v iPad charger to keep my old phone alive at office, but it will be slow charging if I use that old charger and cable.
YoungMan
post Mar 25 2023, 09:27 PM

5,394 posts

Anyone here using the regular iPhone 14, how is the day to day battery performance?
YoungMan
post Mar 28 2023, 04:11 PM

5,394 posts

QUOTE(Lieblingsmonster @ Mar 28 2023, 02:17 PM)
Anyone know how much is the screen replacement for iphone 14? Broke mine at a fall sigh
Heard it is around 1500+.
YoungMan
post May 20 2023, 08:37 PM

5,394 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 20 2023, 06:48 AM)
Buying a new iPhone now while new one is coming in September?
It's ok if one is waiting for discounts. Just like how ppl still buying iPhone 13 when 14 is out
YoungMan
post Aug 19 2023, 03:05 PM

5,394 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Aug 19 2023, 01:37 PM)
As for losing one year usage, I think I’d go for outright discounts. If it’s for my own use, then different story. smile.gif
I think losing 1 year is not a significant thing to worry about. One good example is Apple still provide security update for iOS 15 on older phones that cannot upgrade to 16.
YoungMan
post Aug 19 2023, 08:54 PM

5,394 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Aug 19 2023, 03:17 PM)
Agree. I like the consistent updates of iOS. My other reasons to upgrade from the iPhone 11 is coz of 5g (only in iPhone 12 onwards) and the current phone battery drain out fast (time to change).
A bit out of topic, but if you replace the battery the IP11 work well as secondary device.

QUOTE(westlife @ Aug 19 2023, 03:32 PM)
i was referring to the price one paid vs the usable amount of years.

iphone can use for 5 years minimum and get update for at least 6 years as of now.

so given the price is 100%, divide by 5, one year is 20%.

so if u get iphone 14 now at 80%, nothing u earn except that u pay cheaper without all the extra new features + 1 year of usage. this is why i said, unless one can get more than 20% discount of the iphone 14 price, else it is not really worth it comparing to iphone 15.

but if one just simply wants to get iphone 14 becos of budget, so to pay cheaper (initial captical cost), yes.
however, ultimately, the total cost spent will still be the same over years becos one will need to change his iphone 14 earlier later comparing to iphone 15.
This is also a good way of looking at it. Granted everything is well and no breakdown, I think you can comfortably use the iPhone 14 for 6 years or slightly more even if you buy it now. Not to mention, if you decide to replace the battery after 3/4 year.

0.0184sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:43 PM