[2022] Apple Watch Ultra Discussion Thread

Mavik
post Sep 8 2022, 08:32 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Finally, a watch I can bring for mountain biking and a flat screen that I can easily apply a screen protector for!
Mavik
post Sep 8 2022, 11:46 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 8 2022, 09:04 AM)
yup. finally a bigger watch that is suitable for guys. haha.  tongue.gif
I don't think so, many folks don't really want a large watch. Large watches also tend to get trapped in places especially when you do more sports like trail running, off road and more.
Mavik
post Sep 8 2022, 04:26 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Sep 8 2022, 11:48 AM)
i'm thinking to upgrade from my S4, but after seeing the price i think i'll go for S8 tongue.gif
Yeah the Ultra is definitely for a specific group of users. I was initially saying I thought it was pricey but my wife who is a diver says it is cheap because the cheapest dive computer from Garmin is RM5k. Its all about context, use case and perspective.
Mavik
post Sep 9 2022, 04:29 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Sep 8 2022, 05:52 PM)
But for me, if you want me to spend 3k on a smart watch which have no reselling value…I can’t do it 😆
Nobody buys a digital watch with a resale value in mind man....if you can't afford it then there are cheaper alternatives out there.
Mavik
post Sep 21 2022, 07:21 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Can't wait for the AWU to replace my AW5. The AW5 keeps getting banged up during my mountain biking trips and definitely can't last the full day.
Mavik
post Sep 24 2022, 04:12 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

So far Ultra's are being sold out everywhere that has launched the watch. Those who ordered them late, see their delivery dates moved to November sad.gif

I hope I am able to get it in time for my trip to Chiang Mai end of the year.
Mavik
post Oct 4 2022, 11:26 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(darkwaka @ Oct 4 2022, 11:05 AM)
I have check apple store singapore and AWU depends on the band minimum delivery time is 15 days

If they let us start ordering next week we mostly will get it by the end of this month
I just purchased it and opted for self pickup. Since I am heading there next week, going to pick it up at the store itself.

Mavik
post Oct 4 2022, 01:25 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(darkwaka @ Oct 4 2022, 12:21 PM)
I think you can claim singapore GST refund when coming back to malaysia

Post some picture of your watch to poison more people  tongue.gif
Yeah that is my plan to claim the GST refund on the way back here as well.
Mavik
post Oct 4 2022, 01:25 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Oct 4 2022, 11:54 AM)
Once u did pickup then please do a review here. 👍
Sure will do so!
Mavik
post Oct 5 2022, 10:13 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(manusia80 @ Oct 4 2022, 04:55 PM)
To orange or not to orange?! Ayam will have to meditate on this!
It was an easy choice for me as I already have a UAG orange strap and an Apple original yellow strap to choose from haha

QUOTE(ron4 @ Oct 4 2022, 09:32 PM)
Hope next week available in all store, damn lah so late available in malaysia
In Singapore, for certain watches with certain bands, they have to wait for delivery in November and not available in store.

QUOTE(shockk @ Oct 4 2022, 11:12 PM)
Hi guys. For those of you getting ready to order the Apple Watch Ultra from Apple Online Store, what band sizes are you all going for?

Medium size seems to be the safest ?

Depends on the size of your wrist. I chose L because I tested the M at the Apple Store in Singapore and I prefer it with the L
Mavik
post Oct 5 2022, 11:01 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(jackbanner @ Oct 5 2022, 06:53 PM)
What is your wrist size? Mine is 170mm, I prefer Large but I wonder if it will fit my wrist.
Mine is 185mm which was why I chose L
Mavik
post Oct 7 2022, 09:47 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 6 2022, 08:55 AM)
should be coming to us real soon, yet I haven't decided which band to go for laugh.gif
Better decide quick before it gets sold out, if the market here is similar to Singapore.

QUOTE(shockk @ Oct 7 2022, 09:32 AM)
I love the Starlight Alpine Loop too. Maybe can consider as a secondary band. The off white look it would weather into would be awesome, just that it will be hell if it looks way worse than that. ☺️
I ordered the Starlight Alpine loop. Collecting it on Monday! Can't wait to see it
Mavik
post Oct 7 2022, 09:57 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(eyez98 @ Oct 7 2022, 09:50 AM)
so fast can collect? so nice!! switch or machines?
Apple at Jewel Changi tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
Mavik
post Oct 10 2022, 06:17 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Collected mine from the Apple store today.

Showed one of the staff the QR code I received online and he went to pick up the item.

Used my UAG straps instead of the straps that came with the Apple Watch Ultra

Spent about 20+ minutes at the Apple Store setting up the watch (because there is wifi and data there)

This post has been edited by Mavik: Oct 10 2022, 06:18 PM
Mavik
post Oct 10 2022, 08:23 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 10 2022, 06:21 PM)
nice UAG strap...now you can swap between your alpine and this..both nice straps..  smile.gif
I think I will keep the Alpine straps in the box, I like the UAG strap (I have 3 of them in Orange, Black and Grey haha).

QUOTE(d@odao @ Oct 10 2022, 06:24 PM)
Nice.
Any accessories available for the AWU there?
The only one available are just straps. Nothing else really

QUOTE(cheesey @ Oct 10 2022, 06:30 PM)
Congrats bro, i think mine also will come earlier, but dont have iphone yet, my ipm 14 maybe arrive next month.. can we use it without iphone?
You definitely need an iPhone to set it up, receive notifications and sync with though.

QUOTE(mdzamri @ Oct 10 2022, 07:23 PM)
which store?
Apple Store at Jewel Changi
Mavik
post Oct 11 2022, 01:42 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Collected it yesterday with around 86% battery and after not charging it overnight, it is still at 82% now. Didn't wear it whilst sleeping as this watch is quite large.
Mavik
post Oct 11 2022, 10:03 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Oct 11 2022, 03:20 PM)
Good early signs. Let’s see how long it goes before you have to charge it.
Keep us updated!
Last update, at 1.42pm the percentage was showing 82%.
It is now 10pm and the battery percentage is at 67%.

Note, I haven't used the watch on any exercise activities as well. I plan to wake up early tomorrow morning for a run and also not charge my AWU tonight. Will see how the battery is after the run.

Mavik
post Oct 12 2022, 03:27 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Oct 12 2022, 03:08 PM)
Any add-on sim recommended for hotlink postpaid plans to be used with this AWU? First time using a watch with cellular data
I believe Maxis charges RM18/month for cellular for AW
Mavik
post Oct 15 2022, 04:53 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Anyone seen any screen protectors sold yet for the Apple Watch Ultra?
Mavik
post Oct 15 2022, 05:26 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Oct 15 2022, 04:56 PM)
hv msg both machines and switch - they dont hv it yet …

got one temp one from shopee but hell looks ugly bubbles from bad self install …
Thanks! Yeah I need to get it installed at the shop because I am just a klutz when it comes to self installation.

0.0493sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:27 PM