[2022] Apple Watch Ultra Discussion Thread
marfccy
Sep 25 2022, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(statikinetic @ Sep 25 2022, 06:11 PM) That'll be RM 5k. AWU and the Silver Link Bracelet. But yeah, leaning towards the silver right now for that overall steel rugged look. walaooo 5k
netken
Sep 26 2022, 08:43 AM
any news for Malaysia launch for AWU? seems quiet .. spotted online someone start selling it already ... MLY AWU set ..
idiotkiller P
Sep 26 2022, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(netken @ Sep 25 2022, 12:55 PM) u need telco 5g right? can u register with local telco? Just need to go telco ask to active watch esim. Did mine s6 before.
miyakochan89
Sep 26 2022, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Sep 21 2022, 12:33 PM) wait i almost thought you extended the AW battery to 7 days i rmb some people were teaching stuff like using theater mode, disable heart monitoring etc but that would defeat the purpose of a smartwatch i feel hows the support like on Instinct series? im still on fence on it i feel the ocean fluoroelastomer loop are more fit for all situations i used the nylon based sports loop and while comfy, its gets dirty easily which you wouldnt want in outdoor? So far I never use for more than 2 years la. Cause I only started exercise like a crazy person since Covid started. But from what I could read and research, a lot of people use their Garmin for 5-7 years cause their watches can easily last that long. Since you are active in this forum, I think you have already decided on Ultra.
marfccy
Sep 26 2022, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 26 2022, 04:03 PM) So far I never use for more than 2 years la. Cause I only started exercise like a crazy person since Covid started. But from what I could read and research, a lot of people use their Garmin for 5-7 years cause their watches can easily last that long. Since you are active in this forum, I think you have already decided on Ultra. im always lurking in the forums for anything im interested really, very leaning into Ultra due to how much ive been using my Series 4 (less learning curve) + more ngam my usage of primarily urban dweller with abit outdoor stuff but sadly just the battery life despite improved its still not up to my par. prolly cause i was hiking recently in Mt K and i find the battery in my series 4 couldnt handle the duration taken for me to go up (took 4-5hrs to reach base camp) and then summit it took 3 hrs to peak but my AW gassed out during descent + ferrata haha garmin's battery life is the major win thats skewing my leaning lo. it would be damn good to have weeks long battery life..
miyakochan89
Sep 26 2022, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Sep 26 2022, 04:39 PM) im always lurking in the forums for anything im interested really, very leaning into Ultra due to how much ive been using my Series 4 (less learning curve) + more ngam my usage of primarily urban dweller with abit outdoor stuff but sadly just the battery life despite improved its still not up to my par. prolly cause i was hiking recently in Mt K and i find the battery in my series 4 couldnt handle the duration taken for me to go up (took 4-5hrs to reach base camp) and then summit it took 3 hrs to peak but my AW gassed out during descent + ferrata haha garmin's battery life is the major win thats skewing my leaning lo. it would be damn good to have weeks long battery life.. But you don’t climb mount K everyday also lo. So that depends on your needs. But sports enthusiasts will definitely go for Garmin, solely because the watches won’t give up on them halfway. Especially some logs their route via the garmin maps. I’m not hiker myself but I have faced a few situations that when it’s finally time for me to exercise in the evening, only to find that my AW didn’t have enough juice anymore for my 1 hour run or exercises. So I had to just sit around for like 20 minutes for it to charge. Lol! That was the reason why I jump ship.
marfccy
Sep 26 2022, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 26 2022, 04:59 PM) But you don’t climb mount K everyday also lo. So that depends on your needs. But sports enthusiasts will definitely go for Garmin, solely because the watches won’t give up on them halfway. Especially some logs their route via the garmin maps. I’m not hiker myself but I have faced a few situations that when it’s finally time for me to exercise in the evening, only to find that my AW didn’t have enough juice anymore for my 1 hour run or exercises. So I had to just sit around for like 20 minutes for it to charge. Lol! That was the reason why I jump ship. right? this is what i fear the most hiking mt K i was that odd dude that while resting plug in watch to powerbank to charge every time rest at checkpoint my garmin friends are like HEH i suppose i can always switch like using AW for urban, then keep a garmin for heavier outdoor stuff. cause alot more planned like tackling Gunung Tahan which est 7D6N? that one confirmed AW gg. just the question of whether willing to split cost for multiple devices for diff situations. i kinda like a one solution fits most
Susuwatari
Sep 26 2022, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(netken @ Sep 26 2022, 08:43 AM) any news for Malaysia launch for AWU? seems quiet ..
spotted online someone start selling it already ...
MLY AWU set ..
It's not even approved by SIRIM yet, so will take a while.
miyakochan89
Sep 26 2022, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Sep 26 2022, 05:06 PM) right? this is what i fear the most hiking mt K i was that odd dude that while resting plug in watch to powerbank to charge every time rest at checkpoint my garmin friends are like HEH i suppose i can always switch like using AW for urban, then keep a garmin for heavier outdoor stuff. cause alot more planned like tackling Gunung Tahan which est 7D6N? that one confirmed AW gg. just the question of whether willing to split cost for multiple devices for diff situations. i kinda like a one solution fits most Yeah that could work too. Cause I wear mechanical watch during the day these days, only wear Garmin for sports. LMAO. Cause I still like the old school watches.
statikinetic
Sep 26 2022, 07:59 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Sep 26 2022, 05:06 PM) right? this is what i fear the most hiking mt K i was that odd dude that while resting plug in watch to powerbank to charge every time rest at checkpoint my garmin friends are like HEH i suppose i can always switch like using AW for urban, then keep a garmin for heavier outdoor stuff. cause alot more planned like tackling Gunung Tahan which est 7D6N? that one confirmed AW gg. just the question of whether willing to split cost for multiple devices for diff situations. i kinda like a one solution fits most Sounds like the AWU ticks most of the boxes except extreme edge cases. Even that, may be bridged by the new low power mode rolling out soon. The AWU is the closest one size fits all solution that I could find for me.
marfccy
Sep 26 2022, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(statikinetic @ Sep 26 2022, 07:59 PM) Sounds like the AWU ticks most of the boxes except extreme edge cases. Even that, may be bridged by the new low power mode rolling out soon. The AWU is the closest one size fits all solution that I could find for me. youre seeing my dilemma haha i really hope the new low power mode will do the magic. otherwise dropping 3.8k onto AWU doesnt seem feasible, the Rm1.8k garmin instinct 2 feels more worth price/perf wise
statikinetic
Sep 27 2022, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Sep 26 2022, 11:44 PM) youre seeing my dilemma haha i really hope the new low power mode will do the magic. otherwise dropping 3.8k onto AWU doesnt seem feasible, the Rm1.8k garmin instinct 2 feels more worth price/perf wise The way I see it, it is not purely performance or you would have gone with other alternatives like Garmin. It is also the fact that this is an Apple Watch first. With iOS integration beyond what others offer, and it has that 'cool' factor being Apple. A product like the AWU is does NOT sell on price vs performance metrics. The best price/perf winner in the Apple space is the SE. Everything else sells on a premium because people want the highest end device available. Which is why I think the AWU will cannibalize some AW8 sales, but that is ok because it is part of Apple's upsell strategy.
marfccy
Sep 27 2022, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(statikinetic @ Sep 27 2022, 12:23 AM) The way I see it, it is not purely performance or you would have gone with other alternatives like Garmin. It is also the fact that this is an Apple Watch first. With iOS integration beyond what others offer, and it has that 'cool' factor being Apple. A product like the AWU is does NOT sell on price vs performance metrics. The best price/perf winner in the Apple space is the SE. Everything else sells on a premium because people want the highest end device available. Which is why I think the AWU will cannibalize some AW8 sales, but that is ok because it is part of Apple's upsell strategy. yeps, the default fitness tracking + workout profiles are pretty good already. most of the things i frequently track on is available on both AW and Garmins, so its not a differentiating factor yes on the final paragraph. call this the usual apple "ecosystem" gimmick, but i really value this aspect from Apple. cool factor isnt much, otherwise i wouldve just thrown money every iteration lol AWU def is apple's foray into hybrid fitness/smart/outdoor and despite it cannibalising AW8, theyre still getting the potential targeted people into the list which is good enough. after all, 2nd most top revenue in Apple are services
derravile
Sep 29 2022, 07:13 PM
hi guys, just curious, if i buy AWU online at apple sg and deliver it to a friend's place, was wondering am i entitled for the GST refund?
zad78
Sep 29 2022, 08:09 PM
Couple this with steel link. It's on a class of its own! Attached thumbnail(s)
TSwestlife
Sep 29 2022, 08:42 PM
QUOTE(zad78 @ Sep 29 2022, 08:09 PM) Couple this with steel link. It's on a class of its own! nice. the design of the apple watch ultra is really awesome.
statikinetic
Sep 30 2022, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(zad78 @ Sep 29 2022, 08:09 PM) Couple this with steel link. It's on a class of its own! This is what I had in mind too. Can share a couple more angles?
hddexpreso
Sep 30 2022, 05:41 PM
Apple watch ultra already out in SIRIM database. Get ready coming soon This post has been edited by hddexpreso: Sep 30 2022, 05:42 PM
manusia80
Sep 30 2022, 05:51 PM

Ayam kenot wait anymore! Everyday ayam checking here for news or apple store app! Sory for the kopitiam locution. Ayam asume every lowyat forumer understands
netken
Sep 30 2022, 06:14 PM
guys - AW Ultra Sirim approval out dy .... start your engines!