USD/MYR and SGD/MYR

SUSfuzzy
post Nov 7 2023, 09:49 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Nov 7 2023, 02:32 PM)
SGD got defensive mechanism 🤦‍♀️
SGD is trade weighted currency hence you want to know roughly what is their holdings is to check to trade balance to give you some sort of picture what the currency is holding and defending upon and it will follow their top 10 trading countries with rm is one of them
Must be Rakuten 🤦‍♀️ prediction since early this year they are predicting that but unlikely it will go down below 4.5 year end because their earlier forecast was 4.2 during Feb
I think it's MIDF jokers that said 4.3 by end of year.

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/688948
SUSfuzzy
post Aug 19 2024, 06:43 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Aug 17 2024, 12:32 PM)
SGD still Strong?
SGD rate should correlate with USD.

Given USD will be lower once Feds cut rate, SGD will follow as it maintains the basket of currencies.
SUSfuzzy
post Aug 22 2024, 06:36 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 22 2024, 04:03 PM)
Nikkei Asia | Currencies

Malaysia, Singapore currencies rise on tight policies before Jackson Hole
South Korea and Tawian's currencies slump, reflecting U.S. recession risk

https://archive.ph/1tfyT
Didn't know KWAP has stopped investing outside of Malaysia. All money is trapped in Malaysia now.
I'm not sure if that news is accurate.

https://www.bernama.com/en/news.php?id=2323822

KUALA LUMPUR: The Retirement Fund Inc (KWAP) plans to increase its international investment exposure to 30 per cent by 2025 although the local market has recently showed an improved performance.

Chief investment officer Hazman Hilmi Sallahuddin said that as of 2023, 24.4 per cent of KWAP’s investment assets were allocated internationally.

"We are currently on track. The local market is much better than before, but in the long term, we aim to balance our investment exposure to 70 per cent local and 30 per cent international, which we believe is more sustainable," he said during KWAP's financial year 2023 performance results announcement today.

He noted that based on the average 20-year record, international investments had consistently provided better returns.

"I believe it's essential for us to have a more sustainable strategic asset allocation, which is why we have chosen the 70:30 ratio. While both our domestic and international investments are increasing in value, the share of international investments is growing,” he said.

He stressed that this decision does not imply a reduction in domestic investments, but on the contrary, KWAP is increasing its investments in the local market this year.

"However, the percentage increase may not be substantial," he added.

In fact they are looking to increase overseas exposure.

SUSfuzzy
post Sep 14 2024, 12:55 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 13 2024, 08:09 PM)
Won't be so fast...

All waiting for Fed rates cuts...

Which expected around 50pts 🤔
25bp only one. Won't have the balls to go 50.
SUSfuzzy
post Sep 19 2024, 12:45 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 19 2024, 08:57 AM)
Ahhh just I expected & some so called analyst

It's 50pts straight...

Where & who the guy said US fed no dare to cut so much. Just 25pts...
That was me hahaha

Jpo and geng went all out. Only 1 dissent so at least i got one supporter la in Fed lol.

SUSfuzzy
post Sep 19 2024, 01:03 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 19 2024, 01:00 PM)
So we can expect another cut later or maintain for next few meetings??
Yep, they ownself confirm it. Earliest is November, depending on their data.

The Federal Reserve projected lowering interest rates by another half point before the end of 2024, and the central bank has two more policy meetings to do so.
SUSfuzzy
post Sep 19 2024, 07:14 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

USD1.00 = MYR 4.20
SUSfuzzy
post Sep 23 2024, 12:32 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 23 2024, 11:31 AM)
U n Ramjade r of higher level, i langsung tak faham.
Basically, you sell a call option worth approximately what you have in your portfolio.

So lets say you own 100 Stock A @ RM5.

You sell a call option for a strike price of RM8 expiring in one month. In return, you receive receive a premium of RM1. So, you earn RM100 upfront (100 shares x RM1 premium).

So, two outcomes here:

1) If the stock stays below RM8, the options expires and becomes worthless (because who wants to buy a share at RM8 if market is lower?). So you keep the shares and the premium.

2) If the stock goes above RM8. You sell the shares at RM8. But you but you to keep the RM100 premium and the profit from selling your shares at RM8, which you can now go and buy the same shares from open market.

So just keep repeating it lo.
SUSfuzzy
post Sep 26 2024, 08:37 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

My overseas gain are down a lot given MYR's strengths sad.gif
SUSfuzzy
post Sep 27 2024, 12:26 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Sep 27 2024, 11:42 AM)
Hahaha, when the number don't meet, just give new number only.

Basis: Pluck from sky
Exactly, remember MIDF also does the same thing.
SUSfuzzy
post Sep 30 2024, 11:42 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(paramdav @ Sep 30 2024, 11:10 AM)
Hi Sifus
is this a good time to convert RM to USD and put in USD FD?
Any thoughts on this pls
No.
SUSfuzzy
post Sep 30 2024, 03:25 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 30 2024, 02:00 PM)
at first i thought 2.9 was refering to usdmyr... if its sgdmyr, who knows... most of the time investors or market looks at usdmyr and usdsgd.... hardly anyone look at sgdmyr cross except us malaysians and singaporeans.

number wise, if sgdmyr is going to be 2.9, there is a range where usdmyr and usdsgd can be at. if one set usdsgd = 1.1, then usdmyr is at 3.2 almost. possible? if it happens, but pretty sure half the businesses in malaysia will cry father and mom and ask for gov change as not competative in export...

then again, can usdsgd reach par? if can, then that would be an interesting new world as usdmyr is then at 2.9. Did Malaysia do anything so different that we managed to climb out of decades of mismanagement in just a few years?
Generally SGD follows USD given their monetary policy.

The 'expert' just looked at the 4.1, and the possibility of 3.8, worked out its around 8% decrease and applied it to SGD1/MYR3.2 rate to get RM2.9.

Like you say, SG doesn't really look at MYR rate, rather vs a basket of currencies, 1:3 or 1:2.9 makes no difference much to them in the bigger picture.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 6 2024, 11:26 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Now I am curious how markets will react to the Fed rate cuts.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 8 2024, 10:12 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Nov 8 2024, 06:58 AM)
are we gonna see 4.5 soon?
Fed rate cut so it will fall, just not as drastic as a month ago when markets thought Feds would be much more aggressive.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 8 2024, 12:44 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

SUSfuzzy
post Dec 6 2024, 11:36 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Fed rate cuts is back on the menu boisss

What's the new estimate rate?
SUSfuzzy