New Job Dilemma

TSStirmling
post Aug 27 2022, 07:44 PM, updated 4y ago

291 posts

Hello so I got a new job and have been here for about.. 3 weeks.
Been working in 3 different co. now, this is the 4th co.
wall of text but more of a rant

/endrant unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Stirmling: Aug 27 2022, 07:55 PM
Roadwarrior1337
post Aug 27 2022, 07:53 PM

979 posts

There is a new genz term called quiet quitting

Try that. Collect salary, learn on your own and find better oppurtunity
TSStirmling
post Aug 27 2022, 07:59 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Aug 27 2022, 07:53 PM)
There is a new genz term called quiet quitting

Try that. Collect salary, learn on your own and find better oppurtunity
Ah, doing the minimum required. It's.. fine, I guess.
Hmm... well I'll see whether the working hours they provided are really enough for the amount of workload they got themselves into. Otherwise few months down the road I guess I'll just chalk it up to the job not being the right fit for me and look elsewhere unsure.gif
TSStirmling
post Aug 28 2022, 12:12 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(Randomquestion123 @ Aug 27 2022, 10:20 PM)
Hi OP, I'm in HR field and to be honest the points you shared about your current company screams giant red flags starting from no company laptop. That is a big no no already. If you have no financial constraints why not start looking for another job?

If it is only 3 weeks you can choose to just quit and leave this off your resume. As you talk to next employers, say you took a career break or took time off for personal reasons.

I'd also advise to be very picky next time when you interview since you have no financial issues, especially ask the interviewers on basic things like company laptop, culture and working hours. Why put yourself through shitty companies when there are better options out there?

I was like you once upon a time. I jumped from MNC to start ups and small businesses of various sizes. Over time you become desensitized about the shitty work environments and think that it is normal. It is definitely not and you don't have to tolerate bad companies at the expense of your sanity. Also set boundaries, people tend to step all over you if you keep quiet when they push you to work on weekends or overtime. It did wonders for me when I learned to say no tactfully.

It took me few months to come out of all those experience after severely burning out from excess workload and shitty management/environment with low pay. Yeah coworkers can be nice but work is supposed to be more than just nice colleagues.

To answer your question: Do what you think is best. I have quit jobs any time from 3 weeks to few months because I felt that it didn't fit and till now it didn't affect my employability. If anything it just taught me alot on how to screen good companies out of bad ones, I ask alot of questions during interview.

No one will have the answer but you. Sometimes you just got to take a risk to decide whether staying or leaving is better.
Thanks for the response icon_rolleyes.gif
I'll give this company more time get used to first.
I took a gamble on this company instead of accepting the counter-offer at the previous company. Wasn't quite picky during the interviewing phase because probably during the interview I was already overloaded with work at previous job (reason I decided to run off is because some old guys quit the job, and I had to take over his job on top of doing my job with no pay raise, so I chao lah. I probably wont even get the counter-offer if I didnt another offer) icon_rolleyes.gif
sweet_pez
post Sep 1 2022, 09:53 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Stirmling @ Aug 28 2022, 12:12 AM)
Thanks for the response  icon_rolleyes.gif
I'll give this company more time get used to first.
I took a gamble on this company instead of accepting the counter-offer at the previous company. Wasn't quite picky during the interviewing phase because probably during the interview I was already overloaded with work at previous job (reason I decided to run off is because some old guys quit the job, and I had to take over his job on top of doing my job with no pay raise, so I chao lah. I probably wont even get the counter-offer if I didnt another offer)  icon_rolleyes.gif
Haha 3 weeks is more than enough to find out about the culture there is. The shock came from the different expectation you had over the job vs past companies.

If you see there's nothing for you to gain here (and the salary isn't all there is to it anymore), time to look out. At least if you leave during probation period, there's no need to serve the 3 months notice. From your description, there's obviously a lot of red flags about the place but if you can bear with the stress & work culture, then I guess you're probably a good fit for it (presuming they pay well).
Venomfate
post Sep 1 2022, 06:23 PM

19 posts

I'm in dilemma too. Get new job. Increment 32%. Nice JD, can grow for the next job hopping.

Current job: Have transport allowance, competency allowance, food subsidy, can OT, 5 days working day

New job: no allowances, 6 days working day(Saturday alternate), OT only if superior ask to. Need to spend extra cost on food & travelling for work.

Need advise from expertise/experience people.

0.0151sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:07 PM