Acura RL or Honda Legend, why are we not seeing it in Malaysia?

TSmystvearn
post Oct 3 2007, 03:20 AM, updated 19y ago

6,639 posts

Why?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acura_rl
This makes a great executive car especially:
In July 2006, Forbes Autos.com rated the RL as "Number One" of the "Top 10 Safest Vehicles," followed by the Volvo S80, Honda Odyssey, and Acura TL, out of over 230 different models of passenger vehicles.

the_catacombs
post Oct 3 2007, 04:39 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

this type ar??...

Azuma-kun
post Oct 3 2007, 06:17 AM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

I only seen old Honda Legend here.
Deja Vu
post Oct 3 2007, 07:56 AM

1,863 posts

Ever wondered if its due to the smallest engine in d Legend is 3.2cc? Bad history from Kah Motors which previously brought in d CBU Legend more then a decade ago only sold a small handful.

Plus, there is only a tiny market for a executive class saloon wit engines bigger then 3.0, costing >300k 2b a Jap which is already populated by Lexus.
eddyann
post Oct 3 2007, 08:10 AM

Gold Miner
1,981 posts

the latest one looks awesome with its cool interior. but the engine size 3.5L is the culprit. it will cost alot (tax+roadtax) in malaysia. so i guess the car will not that sell very well.

Added on October 3, 2007, 8:12 am
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Oct 3 2007, 04:39 AM)
this type ar??...

that one is JDM Accord or Acura TSX cool.gif much cooler that our version uncle looks accord.

interior shot. just look at the button. so many of them smile.gif

This post has been edited by eddyann: Oct 3 2007, 08:16 AM
andychan
post Oct 3 2007, 08:16 AM

ASTERLAVISTA BABY
2,662 posts

dont have in malaysia because there ar legend happy.gif

malaysia just as know as jungle beside singapure lolz
DaIdiot
post Oct 3 2007, 08:48 AM

1,028 posts

I have seen some older versions here though, maybe brought in by Grey Importers or the first batch sold by Kah Motors
Aeon_Clock
post Oct 3 2007, 08:56 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

mebbe its too expensive? Oh wait, we have Ferrari's around whistling.gif
pillage2001
post Oct 3 2007, 09:10 AM

1,991 posts

That Acura is very comfortable and yet powerful. Used to sit in my colleague's car in the US. The inside is abit small though; it might be cause they're big size........ahaha
Vanquish
post Oct 3 2007, 12:03 PM

F.U.B.A.R.
2,115 posts

The Honda Legend in Japan is actually our Honda Accord in Malaysia, engine spec different only... The Honda Accord in Japan is the Euro Accord or the US Acura...
scorgio
post Oct 3 2007, 12:09 PM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(Vanquish @ Oct 3 2007, 12:03 PM)
The Honda Legend in Japan is actually our Honda Accord in Malaysia, engine spec different only...
Is it?

I remember last time when Oriental (Kah Motor) was the distributor. They did sell Honda Legend here.
And Honda Accord was on M'sian soil since the 1st gen, which is the late 70's.
CooShyRee
post Oct 3 2007, 12:38 PM

The mad italian scorpions!!
3,806 posts

firstly, its due 2 the engine.. if im not mistaken the smallest engine u can get is 3.0L, n as we all know the roadtax 4 big engines above 3.0L is a nightmare in our country.. 2ndly, the legend is a very very good car indeed, it is designed 2 be a mid class luxury saloon, 2 rival against stuff like the bmw 5 series, or a merc eclass or an audi a6.. so its priced pretty much the same as its rivals.. now, if u wanna spend that kinda money on a mid size luxury saloon, would u wanna spend it on a honda n turn down that rounded blue n white logo, or that 3 pointed star?? rolleyes.gif
TSmystvearn
post Oct 3 2007, 01:05 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ Oct 3 2007, 12:38 PM)
firstly, its due 2 the engine.. if im not mistaken the smallest engine u can get is 3.0L, n as we all know the roadtax 4 big engines above 3.0L is a nightmare in our country.. 2ndly, the legend is a very very good car indeed, it is designed 2 be a mid class luxury saloon, 2 rival against stuff like the bmw 5 series, or a merc eclass or an audi a6.. so its priced pretty much the same as its rivals.. now, if u wanna spend that kinda money on a mid size luxury saloon, would u wanna spend it on a honda n turn down that rounded blue n white logo, or that 3 pointed star?? rolleyes.gif
How much is the roadtax for 3.5l vtech engine car? A new RL is still a lot cheaper than a new 5 series, Lexus of the equivalent specs. hmm.gif It is designed to compete with other luxury brands, but it looks better and has an engine that will . Mercs look oversized, more like obese car except for the new C-class, but is that a luxury car in the first place. Current BMW range is more of a design failure. Only the current 6 series looks good. BMW's used to look good...before the main designer died and replaced with a person who designed the Fiat coupe. Previous, 5, 3 series are look better than current series.

This one la.

This review done on the EX version, not the version with the driver assist thingy.

http://images.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=h...ficial%26sa%3DN

Test drives:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tIy1V0QSWmo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GwT79fmwOjY

SH-AWD
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nB9RkQf9a74
hihihehe
post Oct 3 2007, 02:17 PM

13,790 posts

well...my area at ss2 thr got 1 hondal egend but is old model..n few months b4 i saw 1 new model of honda legend at 1u parking lot
StarGhazzer
post Oct 3 2007, 05:47 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Oct 3 2007, 01:05 PM)
How much is the roadtax for 3.5l vtech engine car? A new RL is still a lot cheaper than a new 5 series, Lexus of the equivalent specs. hmm.gif It is designed to compete with other luxury brands, but it looks better and has an engine that will . Mercs look oversized, more like obese car except for the new C-class, but is that a luxury car in the first place. Current BMW range is more of a design failure. Only the current 6 series looks good. BMW's used to look good...before the main designer died and replaced with a person who designed the Fiat coupe. Previous, 5, 3 series are look better than current series.

This one la.

This review done on the EX version, not the version with the driver assist thingy.

http://images.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=h...ficial%26sa%3DN

Test drives:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tIy1V0QSWmo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GwT79fmwOjY

SH-AWD
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nB9RkQf9a74
Looks are subjective. Personally I love Bangle's Beemers, right from his very first 7 series that made people vomit back in 2002. His eagle eyed E60 5 series caused an uproar too but that design has become timeless; and after 3 years since it's first release it still looks very futuristic and striking when put alongside same class competitors such as the mundane E class and the bulky A6.

Back to the Legend. It's a pity that this car failed to gain enough popularity, and even over here in Australia it is such as rare sight compared to Accord Euro which floods the streets. The brand name is not as solid as the traditional powerhouses like BMW, Benz, and Audi; but even the Lexus managed to carve out a portion of the luxury market for itself. Maybe if Honda starts a new brand like Toyota did with Lexus it might have more success, perhaps.

I remember one issue of Autocar magazine (last year's I think) which reviewed the Legend. It was a superb car, but one of the cons from the review was that the fuel consumption was appalling especially when compared to same segment rivals (mainly the Lexus). That might be one of the reasons that the Legend is not popular.

The rear end is SO SEXY...

I still think the Legend is much more sleek than the 2008 Accord which sprouts weird lines all over the body.
andyjyneo
post Oct 3 2007, 06:42 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Oct 3 2007, 04:39 AM)
this type ar??...

this one is accord euro-R

Added on October 3, 2007, 6:43 pm
QUOTE(Vanquish @ Oct 3 2007, 12:03 PM)
The Honda Legend in Japan is actually our Honda Accord in Malaysia, engine spec different only... The Honda Accord in Japan is the Euro Accord or the US Acura...
our honda accord = honda inspire in japan

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Oct 3 2007, 06:43 PM
neato4u
post Oct 3 2007, 07:01 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(eddyann @ Oct 3 2007, 08:10 AM)
interior shot. just look at the button. so many of them  smile.gif

OMG OMG OMG this is what i call big boys toy!
drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
TSmystvearn
post Oct 4 2007, 12:39 AM

6,639 posts

Only a bit sad there is no push button to start up the car as shown in that pic
tatayoung
post Oct 4 2007, 01:02 AM

I'm the boss of me...
950 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Oct 3 2007, 03:20 AM)
Why?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acura_rl
This makes a great executive car especially:
I once saw a unit in melaka.. posh lokin car wei..

mingdynasty
post Oct 4 2007, 05:02 PM

656 posts

itu stering with allot buttons ?? honda want to giv F1 feel to the car ah ?? later tekan tekan accident cam mana ?
black^demon
post Oct 4 2007, 05:42 PM

Manchester United No.1 Fan
1,417 posts

You can see a lot of Accord Euro-R in Singapore i think. It's freaking sexy!
moon*
post Oct 4 2007, 05:53 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

u guys should check out MUGEN Legend!!

http://www.mugen-power.com/topics/legendmax0501/index.html

This post has been edited by moon*: Oct 4 2007, 05:55 PM
neato4u
post Oct 4 2007, 06:50 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

590hp 4.0l engine sweat.gif
Wow... i'm speechless
don^don
post Oct 4 2007, 07:39 PM

(#‵′)凸
1,930 posts

how the hell did they squeeze out more than 100hp in 1L?
TSmystvearn
post Oct 4 2007, 09:31 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(don^don @ Oct 4 2007, 07:39 PM)
how the hell did they squeeze out more than 100hp in 1L?
thats nothing. Wankel rotary can get more from smaller capacity. The big question is how come american cars get so little power from such a big engine tongue.gif
Mugen Legend looks nice too.

0.0259sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:52 PM