jimmylim85, what is the average market price for folding autogate abt 13 ft wide?i signed up with UNIgate at11k+,did I get ripped off?
Automatic Gate, How much do you need to install one ?
Jun 15 2013, 02:47 PM
1,744 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
jimmylim85, what is the average market price for folding autogate abt 13 ft wide?i signed up with UNIgate at11k+,did I get ripped off?
Jun 15 2013, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 15 2013, 02:53 PM) Wow. omg =( no can do..mom too enamoured by it liao..she sed the arm is quite strong so less chances of intruders prying the folding gate.n oso coz track system will have the wheels alwiz coming out of d track.then she also likes that they got sensor thing.13' wrought iron steel gate with 1.6mm thickness with powder coating is roughly around rm 2k to rm 3k Unigate is using dcmoto GFM 905. Now you can get DCMoto GFM 925 for around rm 1.5k wiring is around rm 500-800 You're paying roughly rm 5500 half the price of unigate. Unigate beauty is just without the pipe underneath for guidance. But middle of the gate has a stopper. If that stopper breaks then the middle fold will opens. Conventional folding gate has a pipe underneath for guidance. Opt for stainless steel pipe which you just have to pay extra rm 200++. Long lasting and silent operation due to smoothness of stainless steel pipe. Best part. RUST FREE! QUOTE(H2D @ Jun 15 2013, 03:05 PM) which unigate design n material r u getting?? full SS? premium?? alu? their latest design,juz out yesterday..at thei expo booth in midvalley...wrought iron with powder coat if im not wrong.the average gate with the same length the price can vary alot with design, material, coating, n workmanship bro.... This post has been edited by ~Curious~: Jun 15 2013, 03:36 PM |
Jun 15 2013, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 15 2013, 03:33 PM) 1+2 year warranty n a house address plate lol..QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 15 2013, 03:41 PM) No worries. Unigate is using DCMoto 905 system. Is the same product with rebadge for unigate. Is strong enough. i wished we encountered u earlier lol..do u have a showroom?Remember golden rule, autogate is meant for convienent not security. No matter how strong it is, it still can be pry open no matter what autogate motor you install. H2D noted |
Jun 15 2013, 04:00 PM
lol weikee yealor haiz...at least the price got 15% discount minus rm500 coz gate trade in..but then adi paying 50% more..quite difficult to beat tht..
Jun 15 2013, 09:32 PM
jimmylim85 owh..so ur a gate consultant here hehehe but its great u share info n advice here thanks
italian motor better durability meh? i dont get what is arm type system,i thought autogate is autogate..got other types of systems? reading back,i saw u mentioned unigate using dcmoto 905 rite and tht dcmoto is a penang product..but when i asked d lady at d sales booth she sed the motor is somme german technoloogy that they tweaked abit wor,true ar? standard autogate with tracks come inclusive of the sensor or have to pay additional for sensor? if u sed once the middle box for unigate broken,gate oso will open,so technically its more vulnerable to intrusion lor..yikes sorry me noob at this reno stuff,so i wanna ask more next time i got chance to reno again i know some stuff hehe n wont get so lost reading up on reno stuff This post has been edited by ~Curious~: Jun 15 2013, 10:12 PM |
Jun 15 2013, 11:23 PM
thanks for the info.thanks for using layman terms too
so if want to add on the sensor to normal gate installation is how much? erm so unigate middle mount easy to spoil ar?from the youtube video tht h2d posted.unigate's got this no welding joint to wall pillar thing n 24 donno wad gate bearings..does that really make a difference relative to the track system autogates in d market?so far i think unigate is d only company selling trackless folding gate in malaysia. |
Jun 16 2013, 01:18 AM
QUOTE(zodd @ Jun 16 2013, 01:07 AM) Salute for the great info. My installer gonna install OAE brand this coming week. Folding type gate. The autogate will operate at least 10 times per day but not more than 20 judging from the current usage. LED stainless steel,means got lights on the SS gate? i tot the brand of their autogate is unigateWas planning to get DC or Casa Asia from the information gathered here but in the end was getting good price for the OAE. Will try 1st and if any problem arise and hard to get assist, will switch to DC brand. On Unigate, I was quote 21k for 15 ft LED Stainless Steel. And till the time I walked away, they still dun want to tell me the brand of their autogate. ooh thanks jimmylim85 This post has been edited by ~Curious~: Jun 16 2013, 01:19 AM |
Jun 19 2013, 07:45 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 19 2013, 07:13 PM) Your gate in inches or feet? Arm or DC motor you still block. When I check few installer DC moto actually larger foot print than arm. Well at least for my case with oae is smaller footprint. footprint means the space taken up by the gate when it is folded to the side?so wad is OAE's footprint??usuually folding gate got two panels on each side rite?so it should be the same unless ur gate is thinner |
Jun 19 2013, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 16 2013, 09:08 AM) Thanks for sharing, good to share and exchange knowledge. wad does reversibility mean?OAE = Screw Driven = WORM Drive in engineering term, there are good and bad for WORM and planetary/Epicyclic gearing. WORM have seaf breaking (non-reversibility), Planetary required breaking gears/shaft to prevent the gate push open. Given the same build and quality both will last long. Correct me if I am wrong, during my search for autogate I find the DC motor will be harder to fit in smaller gate like 10' gate, putting the DC motor may take up more space, and actually the submerge/arm version will be better. QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 18 2013, 09:28 AM) In terms of pricing for spare parts, it also have to consider how much the dealers are selling too. ARM-type usually forced to replace the whole arm unit due to the complexity and non serviceable parts. For RM 250 most probably to get you a recondition arm type motor, RM 400 I would believe is a brand new arm type. But that's the price for one arm. Normal swing/fold system have two arms. If both arm break-down, is double the price you mention. wad is the meaning of learn?Compared with DCMoto/Casa Asia using planetary gearbox. It's like staged modular gearbox. Parts are replaceable, doesn't force the owner to have the complete motor system to be replaced! Usual parts that wears out is the main gear reducer. Probably last 3-5 years before it require replacement. For your information, I've never replace a complete DCMoto motor system to date! What If the DCMoto/Casa Asia faulty is just a few piece of gears which can be replaced probably around rm 100 or less for each side, you wouldn't have to force yourself replace the whole motor system. If you're worried about unable to find spare parts for DCMoto/Casa Asia, you can always log in to their website & contact them. They will assist you on getting the spare parts. I've haven't heard of hard to get spare parts from them. The reason DCMoto customized their circuit board is to make it perfect for customer demand for safety, reliability, featured-wise and smoothness. DCMoto has been coming up with generation of circuit board to fine-tune it. Have you seen a auto-gate system circuit board that is pure plug-play? Any ARM-type system requires you to adjust the sensitivity of the arm forcing to push/pull the gate. DCMoto/Casa Asia doesn't need that, wire up the motor cable, power up and let it "LEARN" the first time for auto calibration. Since it runs on programmed digital timing, it will never go wrong with the gate movement. lui wad do u mean by "As compare to those arm system, the huge stainless steel body will stuck in between the folding gate and causing it cant open to the max"? btw are dcmoto/casa asia gates able to open wide as that advertised by unigate?from the comments its seems MAG is much recommended,can someone deliberate on how it works?as in izzit a system or juz an 'arm' itself? |
Jun 19 2013, 10:47 PM
jimmylim85 oor anyone else, a bit of advice plz,err can casa asia/dcmoto/MAG gates have all the below?
adjustable hinges 3 point support wif strong arm wider gate openingn why is there a need for adjustable hinges? are there other trackless gate systems for sale besides unigate?i'm quite worried about the sinking tracks n d gate bearings jumping out at d same time,can u also take some time to answer my prev questions -) thanx This post has been edited by ~Curious~: Jun 19 2013, 10:55 PM |
Jun 20 2013, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 20 2013, 12:17 AM) Above hinges and bearing adjustable. It can be done by any iron gate obtaining this type of bearing and hinges mount. Nothing to do with DCMoto or Casa Asia. lol right,but wad is d purpose of adjustable hinges?You shouldn't worry about track-guide folding gate sinking, you should be more worried that UniGate will sink cause is trackless and sole-dependent on the your pillar for weight support. I will response to your question bit by bit. No worries so any gate supplier can use those 3 point bearings upon request?how much generally to do that? |
Jun 20 2013, 01:01 AM
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 20 2013, 12:48 AM) Adjustable hinges, is only applied during initial installation of the gate. There is bound to have flaw in measurement from your gate or else pillar to pillar length. Your masonry contractor might built pillar to pillar length of example, 16' feet. But it will never be 100% precise right? Your gate will always be manufacture smaller than 16'. The reason for the adjustable hinges is to compensate the gap difference. Once is hooked up, is no more in use for the adjustable hinges lol owh i tot its some kinda extra feature,actually is not useful when using lol..3 point hige shud be safer kua since the arm is attached to two different panels..maybe more effort needed to pry the gate open..wad r bearing hinges?unigate advertise they got 24 bearings on the gate itself,i dont really understand it now that i think of itUsually nobody uses 3 point hinges, it seems there is no bearing applied since is so small size. Ordinary folding gate uses bearing hinges to minimize wear and tear and gap-less for smooth swinging. juz now u mentioned of trackless might sink,but unigate got like some tiang in d pillar ![]() so i think shud be able to bear weight kua...another problem with tracks is the wheels tend to jump oout wor... |
Jun 20 2013, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(zodd @ Jun 20 2013, 01:02 AM) thanks...this DC moto keypad looks more techie. http://www.dcmoto.my/v3/technology/the-wireless-keypad/ i like the colours tho =)however, I prefer simplicity like OAE |
Jun 20 2013, 01:16 AM
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 20 2013, 01:09 AM) Even they have the whole pillar attach with metal, it only adds more weight and stress to your cement/brick pillar. Safest is concrete pillar but is costly. btw im asking in regards to folding gate,coz for 13 ft i think swing looks odd hehe24 bearing is meaning the whole gate system requirement. Ordinary swing fold gate system have 16 bearings. Btw more than that bearings only bring more cost to replace them. The reasons why the wheels tend to jump out of your track! - bad workmanship on the track, didn't get a well-balanced track mounted on the floor. - bad workmanship on cement flooring, sinking! - having small particle like small tiny rocks stuck at your track, causing the wheel to jump out. owh ok that kinda answer d track vs traackless issue for me so far =P but once the tracks sink,how to repair leh? wad about the opening?can other autogate systems open to as wide as unigate is advertising? |
Jun 20 2013, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 20 2013, 01:25 AM) Track sink, replace it or lifting it up again and weld it back. yep u have mentioned..that brings another question to mind:Opening of DCMoto 925W. Look at the gap, is as close as UniGate does. [attachmentid=3496075] BTW i've mention a few times, UniGate is using DCMoto 905 motor system. Is 100% the truth. UniGate just manufacture the iron gate system where else DCMoto supplies the motor system. The arm length metal is been custom made to adapt UniGate gate design and requirement. is dcmoto 925 'arm' as thick as unigate actually i meant to ask is dcmoto 925W or any other autogate system able to open at an angle instead of straight?like below ![]() |
Jun 20 2013, 02:00 AM
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 20 2013, 01:51 AM) the arm is as thick as unigate does. won't bent unless you bang your gate with your vehicle Opening angle, any folding gate with good workmanship can open as wide as unigate does. What limits the opening angle if your front pillar have sitting curb that obstruct the opening angle. If I have the chance, I'll snap shot the photo the meaning of having wide open angle. |
Jun 20 2013, 02:15 AM
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 20 2013, 02:07 AM) http://www.magnet.com.my/products/Autogate..._id_WING303.htm owh yeah yeah in previous posts got mention the arm got OAE markthis one right? First I look at their control panel.... IMHO Looks big control panel, lack of features, and no 4 channel remote control operation (you can individual opening leaf on any side you want). Direct copies OAE design, probably the internals too. You're way better off settle with OAE 333 with NX12 circuit board if you want to be on budget and arm-type. ok thx for ur info thus far..prolly come back wif more questions..now i need to dream abt wad autogate to go for or whether i shud default on my unigate deposit lol |
Jun 20 2013, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(weitatt @ Jun 20 2013, 11:25 AM) Unigate is able to sell their gates at a huge premium (roughly double the price of an equivalent gate) as they are able to package and market the gate with their unique selling point of being trackless. Nevertheless it's really just a gimmick and as it does not provide any security or reliability benefits. any recommendations of installer?If you're looking at DCMOTO/CASA-ASIA.. Try to get the installer to demo both unit side-by-side and you can see & hear the difference very clearly. MAG is a fairly basic gate system, however the company has been around for a while and they are easily accessible in Pudu. i.e. you should not have trouble getting support from them. However I find that even if you go to their head office they will no sell you parts directly as they will refer you back to your regional installer. If your bracket is installed securely it should not shake. |
Jun 20 2013, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 20 2013, 10:58 AM) Well is your choice, what's the damage of your deposit? impulsive..went n put 3k deposit =( but i wondering if i can convert it to use on the window n sliding door grillesOne bad of having unique custom made iron gate such as UniGate is all the parts is customized and not commercially available. Everything had to refer back to UniGate and prepare to pay premium service price. Just like BTE LEGATE system. Yearly fee rm 150. And if you missed out two years maintain-ace and on third year you wanted their service. You have to pay previous two years default fee and third year in order to obtain their service. Repair and parts is another fee being charged. |
Jun 20 2013, 08:50 PM
| Change to: | 0.0253sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:46 PM |