Automatic Gate, How much do you need to install one ?

yfyap69
post Aug 8 2019, 11:00 AM

852 posts

[quote=LimauKering,Aug 7 2019, 05:23 PM]
hi guys, can anyone explain to me the electrical anatomy of automatic folding gate? i tried finding information online, apparently not a lot of information can be found.

i knows that the gate motor is controlled by a control board, and the receiver is receiver board, but usually where does the battery located?

is it easy to replace the receiver board (1 set incl. remote)? my autogate is about 12-14 years old, the same one given by developer for the automatic folding gate. kena break in once, the thief cut my wire and shot it with battery i guess (might be DC gate?)

1) how to check if the gate is AC/DC (mine is external actuator style)
2) how to locate the battery
3) can i just replace the receiver board and remote set to any frequency i like (eg. 333/433Mhz)
4) are controller board universal?
5) are receiver board universal (for non build in type)
6) how much are controller board?
7) how much are receiver board?

[/
You can consider wifi relay switch like Sonoff.

yfyap69
post Aug 8 2019, 08:15 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(LimauKering @ Aug 8 2019, 11:11 AM)
thanks man, you open my eye to a whole new world. i now go so many project slotted in as well.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:
No problem. Enjoy yourself. I just finished automate my whole house
yfyap69
post Aug 8 2019, 10:53 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 8 2019, 10:34 PM)
Would love to know how u automate your whole house.
I change the wall switch with sonoff wifi switch and add wifi relay to the light/fan/auto gate. Then add ir pir sensor and door sensor to trigger the light to turn on and off automatically. Also add Google home mini for voice activation and Broadlink IR blaster to control IR remote control
yfyap69
post Aug 9 2019, 09:57 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Aug 8 2019, 11:19 PM)
How u hide all the sonoff switch?
I had tried 2 type. 1st one is called Sonoff basic. This one you put at the light. Hide it inside the plaster ceiling. 2nd type is Sonoff T1 wall switch which you replace the existing one.
yfyap69
post Aug 9 2019, 09:58 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 9 2019, 01:10 AM)
Thanks for the reply. Can this home-auto system integrates with home security system. Sorry, if this is out-of-topic u can pm me.
Hv not tried. I know Broadlink hv home security system and home automation. Can check it out
yfyap69
post Aug 9 2019, 10:00 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(LimauKering @ Aug 9 2019, 09:28 AM)
mind to share how you automate your autogate? so far i found out few ways to do it. i just wanted some reference.
I tap the power from back up battery and signal to both side open/close on the autogate board
yfyap69
post Aug 11 2019, 11:41 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Aug 10 2019, 03:28 PM)
Anyone using phone to open auto gates?
Me. I install a Sonoff switch to my auto gate. Can use voice command via google home to open or close gate
yfyap69
post Aug 11 2019, 10:58 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Aug 10 2019, 07:46 PM)
My phone uses geo fencing to open autogate, once I 'm within 200 meters from my home, the smartthings app on my phone will trigger z-wave momentary switch over smartthings cloud, which connect to autogate relay, as such, turn on the gate door.
What apps are you using?
yfyap69
post Aug 12 2019, 01:41 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(WIS9000 @ Aug 12 2019, 12:37 PM)
Do you still need the SONOFF's app for this or everything is done thru Google Assistant when on your phone?
You need to setup everything in Sonoff apps first then only can link to Google Assistant
yfyap69
post Aug 12 2019, 10:02 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Aug 12 2019, 06:11 PM)
Thanks. Something like this? So if you link it to your home wifi, that means you can open the gate if you at the other side of the world as long as you have internet connection? How far the range for this Sonoff to the gate control unit?

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/sonoff-r...6.html?search=1
This one is a RF 433 Mhz bridge. This will only work if your auto gate rf does not utilize rolling code. Search for Sonoff 12V. It is actually a piece of pcb board. Yes, as long as you hv internet, you can control your auto gate anywhere in the world. The Sonoff 12v actually will be place inside your autogate control box. Just make sure there is wifi connection there.

Something like this

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/sonoff-d...VvXIos&search=1

This post has been edited by yfyap69: Aug 12 2019, 10:05 PM
yfyap69
post Aug 13 2019, 10:36 AM

852 posts

Anyone familiar with DCMoto fold gate? How do you set the manual switch to open or close both gate instead of 1 side?
yfyap69
post Aug 13 2019, 04:10 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(dblcss @ Aug 13 2019, 02:40 PM)
DC Moto 925W board only hv wire connection port for open n close both side only. Connection is at the bottom left hand side of the board last two.
Yeah, that is what I thought also. 1 port for indoor switch which will open and close 2 side and 1 port for outdoor switch which will only close 2 side (cannot open). Somehow the indoor switch only open or close 1 side.
yfyap69
post Aug 13 2019, 04:37 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Aug 13 2019, 04:22 PM)
Thank you. How do I know mine have rolling code?
You hv to check with your auto gate installer. Also you hv to ask them what frequency the remote use. Not all use 433 mhz
yfyap69
post Aug 22 2019, 08:23 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(wlting @ Aug 21 2019, 04:32 PM)
anyone here use online control your autogate? can share what hardware and apps you used?
Hardware : Sonoff, Apps : ewelink. BTW, i bought extra 2 pcs. If u want pm me

This post has been edited by yfyap69: Aug 22 2019, 01:47 PM
yfyap69
post Aug 28 2019, 06:18 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(nabilishes @ Aug 27 2019, 10:38 PM)
The T1 switch requires a neutral line right? Usually our wall switches do not have this right as all are load/live wires?  Any tips on installing this without the neutral line?
Yes, T1 need neutral line. You can pull one from nearby aircon or water heater switch. Another option is to get those switch which can use capacitor to replace the neutral line. PM me if you want to buy
yfyap69
post Nov 25 2019, 04:03 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(simtien @ Nov 25 2019, 03:15 PM)
Hi there. I'm facing the same problem now. My remote control have to be very near to the receiver box, only able to detect. Just slightly outside the gate, unable to detect. Changed to new batteries still the same. Is it because of the receiver rosak? Appreciate someone can advise. Thanks.
Install a Sonoff wifi module in your autogate control board. U can open or close gate via hp with ewelink apps. No need to use remote control. Go to Smart Home tread to see detail
yfyap69
post Dec 13 2019, 02:25 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Dec 13 2019, 10:51 AM)
did you manage to solve the indoor only open and close 1 side of the gate using sonoff ? 

im facing the same issue .

please advice
Play with the inching timing. Try from 1 sec to 10 sec
yfyap69
post Aug 23 2020, 09:42 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(wilson1989 @ Aug 23 2020, 12:34 AM)
Anyone here using DCMOTO DT-53820-B LOT HUB WIFI  for DC Moto 925W??? can give your review please.
There are cheaper options. PM me if intetested
yfyap69
post Jan 11 2021, 11:33 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(carentan @ Jan 9 2021, 01:03 PM)
hi, may i know how to control the autogate via using iphone siri?
Add a wifi module to your autogate
yfyap69
post Jul 19 2022, 04:57 PM

852 posts

My dcmoto folding gate is having problem. 1 side cannot open or close. Initially when this happen, i gave it a push and it move. I open and close a few cycle and it was ok. Now it is totally dead. Any idea how to trouble shoot?

0.0883sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:15 AM