Automatic Gate, How much do you need to install one ?

JON97
post Sep 29 2023, 02:26 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(lankorn @ Sep 29 2023, 12:33 AM)
Hi,i saw from some video where the thief can push the autogate to open.And recently saw a video of motorbike theft where the thief went inside the house and free the gate motor.Is there any improved version available or still have those kind of things now.And do you guys lock your autogate with padlocks during out from the house for a long time likesay vacation or balik kampung or leave it like that?In terms of safety and technology,what kind we have for now?
Technically you would want to be able to push the auto gate freely just in case of a power outage or mechanical issue. Not sure if piston type automatic gate can be pushed or not because I don't see any keyhole... But anyhow both with force also can open.

Yes, you should lock your gate with a padlock if you are not home for a long time. This is one additional step for thefts to overcome.

Other than that, you can use a smart device (Door sensor - but need to make it waterproof) and get a wireless camera.
JON97
post Sep 29 2023, 02:41 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(noobfm @ Sep 3 2023, 10:57 AM)
hello guys, just wanted to know if those wifi module selling at Lazada/Shopee really work for DCMoto GFM925W?
Was that like need to download 3rd party app to trigger the open/close gate signal (like premap the remote control freq)?

or you have anything else to suggest?
Better off getting this Tuya relay switch, cheaper and can integrate with other smart devices. No need to get those proprietary devices (I find it useless and a waste of money - Sry). Get a 2-channel one will do if your remote has 2 buttons. I currently using this, but I didn't directly connect to the gate systems. How I connect it by soldering it to an old remote control. Why? I am lazy to open the gate system and easier to troubleshoot.

Note: If you get this, you'll need to set an inching timer (On the app) to turn off the switch after 1 second. You can also do partial opening by setting up an automation or auto close.

https://shopee.com.my/DIYMORE-Tuya-APP-Micr...449.19649614099

This post has been edited by JON97: Sep 29 2023, 02:43 PM
JON97
post Sep 29 2023, 02:42 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Sep 29 2023, 02:41 PM)
Better off getting this Tuya relay switch, cheaper and can integrate with other smart devices. No need to get those proprietary devices (I find it useless and a waste of money - Sry). Get a 2-channel one will do if you have 2 buttons. I currently using this, but I didn't directly connect to the gate systems. How I connect it by soldering it to an old remote control. Why? I am lazy to open the gate system and easier to troubleshoot.

Note: If you get this, you'll need to set an inching timer (On the app) to turn off the switch after 1 second. You can also do partial opening by setting up an automation or auto close.

https://shopee.com.my/DIYMORE-Tuya-APP-Micr...449.19649614099

0.0840sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:29 AM