Should I drop add math?

imnotabot
post Aug 21 2022, 10:38 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(Blayara @ Aug 21 2022, 06:13 PM)
But being good at add maths literally has no sway in your future career, all the time I asked teachers or tutors whether add math is useful in their career and they all just said that it is just another subject that looks good and doesn't determine whether your future.
You need to widen your perspective. Sure, maybe add math is useless for Forensic Pathologist. But saying "add maths literally has no sway in your future career" because some teachers and tutors said so is outright wrong.
lopo90
post Aug 21 2022, 10:39 PM

695 posts

Bro add maths isn't as hard as people says it is

Just go to Khan academy on YouTube

Guaranteed you'll be able to understand everything easily

hellothere131495
post Aug 21 2022, 10:46 PM

473 posts

malaysia... unless academic/lecturer/professor, science subjects are failure.

Engineering is saturated.

Better get accounting or finance and work in bank.

or go into IPG become SJK/SK teacher. Surely a good life if become primary school teacher.
oM41GoD_
post Aug 21 2022, 10:50 PM

246 posts

Forensic pathologist is doctor specialised in doing autopsy. So u need to become a doctor first.

U don't really need add math to become a doctor. But add math is so easy compare to medical degree.
pipedream
post Aug 21 2022, 10:59 PM

2,353 posts

I am a form 4 student, trying to decide whether to drop add math and focus on my three main sciences, but my school doesn't allow dropping subjects so my plan is to drop it when SPM. Sorry if I am mistaken cause I am relatively new to this whole thing.

The thing is that I have already decided what to do in my future career, which is to be a Forensic Pathologist (someone who operates on dead bodies to find the root cause of death) and I can't see add math being useful in this line of field. I am good at biology, but my physics and chemistry is almost failing.

Disclaimer: I am by no means dropping normal math as I still see some benefits to it when it comes to business. I see no useful benefits that add math can help me in my future endeavors, other than looking good in the eyes of conventional employers as being good at add math somehow naturally means that you are smart. Of course to be fair, I did find some usefulness in Add maths in terms of business like for example: progression and elimination method thingy. But being good at add maths literally has no sway in your future career, all the time I asked teachers or tutors whether add math is useful in their career and they all just said that it is just another subject that looks good and doesn't determine whether your future.

My cousin also said that it is better to drop add maths than get a worst average in your report card. As far as I know, she is amazing at add math but ended up dropping it the last second. Even without add math she ended up being some sort of manager in a computing company like Intel whatnot.

So with all that being said, should I drop add math. If not I want to see your perspective but it has to be about a career in Forensic and about the whole STPM or SPM that kinda thing. I am already determine to leave this country as soon as possible so that means if I am lucky, studying abroad in a country where I can further increase my Forensic career and my knowledge of anatomy.

PS: sorry if I somehow seems arrogant or if there are grammatical errors as this is my first time and I am typing this whole thing in the toilet.
forensic pathologist is medical doctor -> specialization into forensic science

u should think about your college level education first

if dropping add maths help u with obtaining scholarship (less subjects then higher chance to be a full a student) then go ahead

if not i'll just recommend u to take it, i failed my add maths in high school yet manage to scrap a b3 or b4 in spm, its that easy

bear in mind that, i would still expect no less than 3.5 cgpa in stpm/a-level education if u wanna become a doctor. u will need that to survive in medical degree
lagenda110
post Aug 21 2022, 11:05 PM

148 posts

saya cadangkan ambil account lagi ok...jgn drop add math...

nanti ada luck masuk matrikulasi
Bonchi
post Aug 21 2022, 11:07 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

SPM subjects is not about how good you are at certain subjects but rather is to judge how good you are at handling challenges.

To put it really bluntly: SPM is just the very very tip of the iceberg. If you can't handle it, you'll have a really tough time in Uni even with the subject you excelled in SPM. Even more so with the syllabus today is alot easier and streamlined than before.
mystalyzer
post Aug 22 2022, 12:29 AM

394 posts

don't drop add math. uni maths is going to be much tougher and if you want to do science based courses in uni, it's better to do add maths in SPM

i scraped through my add maths in F4 with like 40-50 marks, but in the end got A1 for add maths in SPM
Apple_2206 P
post Aug 22 2022, 01:07 AM

Probation
18 posts

Hello, I think you should take add math. It would be much easier to get scholarship too. (If you can get A).

You need to learn and master the basics from add math in school so that you can survive mathematics in university/college. If you drop add math now, you will have to spend more time to learn the basics again and will fall behind compared to your friends.

Add math is not a difficult subject. Trust and believe in yourself. I am sure you can get A in your SPM. I used to be so scared of add math because of people around me said it is hard and impossible to pass. Thanks to my strong mental health I overcame all that. You can do it!

Do 10 add math question daily and then you will find the fun and will not question whether add math is a meaningful subject or not.

In my life, I find add math very useful. Thanks to that I did not struggle in math during matriculation and was able to focus on other subjects.

If you cannot handle add math but want to further your studies in science then it would be a very risky decision unless you have strong connections. nod.gif
SUSipohps3
post Aug 22 2022, 01:19 AM

1,974 posts

add maths is not that hard lah. just need to do exercise. in fact, the maths studied in the subject is very basic can apply to many fields. although nowadays don't need to solve by hand cuz got many software to solve for us. lol. but it's good to understand how it work at the basic level. and train your analytical skill.

This post has been edited by ipohps3: Aug 22 2022, 01:21 AM
thesoothsayer
post Aug 22 2022, 02:10 AM

954 posts

Take time to understand it. Problem solving is fun.

And I apply parts of it to my daily life and work. Not everything, but parts of it.
toiletwater
post Aug 22 2022, 09:24 AM

531 posts

Take the advice of those who commented already. They're pretty good.

For me... Msian education system is all about proving that you can be able to be fed all diff types of subjects (some friggin useless) and still regurgitate them all correctly.

Takes a lot of EQ and critical thinking to do so. And will prove useful to employers to show you are well-rounded.

Give it a try for a year or so. Then decide at the last moment if you really can't. Even better option is to take tuition. It worked for me.
Virlution
post Aug 22 2022, 09:56 AM

484 posts

I am a form 4 student, trying to decide whether to drop add math and focus on my three main sciences, but my school doesn't allow dropping subjects so my plan is to drop it when SPM. Sorry if I am mistaken cause I am relatively new to this whole thing.

The thing is that I have already decided what to do in my future career, which is to be a Forensic Pathologist (someone who operates on dead bodies to find the root cause of death) and I can't see add math being useful in this line of field. I am good at biology, but my physics and chemistry is almost failing.

So with all that being said, should I drop add math. If not I want to see your perspective but it has to be about a career in Forensic and about the whole STPM or SPM that kinda thing. I am already determine to leave this country as soon as possible so that means if I am lucky, studying abroad in a country where I can further increase my Forensic career and my knowledge of anatomy.

PS: sorry if I somehow seems arrogant or if there are grammatical errors as this is my first time and I am typing this whole thing in the toilet.
During my year in STPM, the science stream consist of 2 type of class double math+maths+chemistry+physics and maths+biology+chemistry+physics
The maths shits add maths, and the double maths 4X the add maths.

if you drop Add maths, and are failing in your physics and chemistry you sure you can get a place to study these with just a high grade in Biology?

Requirement to go in uni dont just look at one paper. You might drop everything and get shit for STPM/SPM then go take A levels or something similar but you will still need to pass the maths and all the required papers to get a placing. Maybe some 3rd rate school will accept if you pay a lot to go in, but might not pass you, just milk the students by repeating until you scrap a pass.

If you go thru these shit in school, you will probably find it easy when you go for the A levels, or if you skip it now, you might struggle with it later.

Nutbeater69
post Aug 22 2022, 10:53 AM

248 posts

It wouldn’t have matter.

U still damn young and SPM is the ticket for you to enter uni.

There’s might be a chance of you to even consider another field instead of science jobs so don’t too bother about this add math thing.

Just do what u feel like doing
tadashi987
post Aug 22 2022, 02:42 PM

2,106 posts

my advise is not to drop.

thou u mentioned u have decided what to do in future career, but u never know, u are just in form 4, there are years to come before u really stepping into work field.

and IMO, Malaysia secondary school add math isn't really that hardcore having said that.
Icehart
post Aug 22 2022, 03:12 PM

14,901 posts

Just drop add maths. Less stress and enjoy your young time.
I got A+ in Add Maths also don't know for what. Never use also. Waste money pay for tuition.
Ended up in IT line with zero fcuks on math. laugh.gif
Questions12345
post Aug 22 2022, 03:13 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(imnotabot @ Aug 21 2022, 10:38 PM)
You need to widen your perspective. Sure, maybe add math is useless for Forensic Pathologist. But saying "add maths literally has no sway in your future career" because some teachers and tutors said so is outright wrong.
Yup. Stupid teachers. If you want to become an actuary, quantitative trader, statistician, etc u need to have good add math results before you can apply for math degree or quant finance. Those jobs are paid way more doctors
Oltromen Ripot
post Aug 22 2022, 04:48 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

AddMath knowledge is essential foundation to all science courses. You will end up having to use the knowledge in any of the science-related field of work.

Do not avoid it.
abelyap
post Aug 22 2022, 05:12 PM

235 posts

Disclaimer: I am by no means dropping normal math as I still see some benefits to it when it comes to business. I see no useful benefits that add math can help me in my future endeavors, other than looking good in the eyes of conventional employers as being good at add math somehow naturally means that you are smart. Of course to be fair, I did find some usefulness in Add maths in terms of business like for example: progression and elimination method thingy. But being good at add maths literally has no sway in your future career, all the time I asked teachers or tutors whether add math is useful in their career and they all just said that it is just another subject that looks good and doesn't determine whether your future.

My cousin also said that it is better to drop add maths than get a worst average in your report card. As far as I know, she is amazing at add math but ended up dropping it the last second. Even without add math she ended up being some sort of manager in a computing company like Intel whatnot.

Going to private uni? Drop as u need.
Government uni? 10 marks from CCA. so work on it.

Btw, add math is about logic. Mastering it will help. Get a tutor may help.
sinnercharlie
post Aug 22 2022, 05:31 PM

dont drop la... Just do it. add math is foundation for applied maths.. you cant simply drop subjects once you fixed your major..

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0256sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:52 PM