My kids have not gone to "school" for 2 years, Is it bad?

Kekuatan
post Aug 18 2022, 10:10 AM

19 posts

yes, you're worrying too much.
she is good enough.
plenty of time to learn to read when she's 6yo.

my kids cant read well when they enter primary.
but by the time it's half year, they can already.
Kekuatan
post Aug 18 2022, 10:25 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(Jedi3815 @ Aug 18 2022, 10:20 AM)
Shit, i forgot to mention that, her Malay is i'd say below average.

She understand Malay but replied in english

Me : "Adik, basuh tangan sebelum makan, ok?"
Her : "ok, i'll wash my hands"

Me : "Adik, nak tengok citer apa?"
Her : "i wanna watch Paw Patrol the Movie with Chase"

Me: "Adik, cakap apa kat nenek bila bagi hadiah?"
Her : "thank you"
Me : "nenek tak paham english"
Her : "tereeema kassssiiihhhh"

we're trying......i swear we are trying..
this is no problem as well. my kids speak english.
they are not well versed in bahasa.
i told the teacher about this.

after they got along with friends, their bahasa is now improved.
need to remember, not only your kids having this.
the other kids nowadays also alot speak english.

unless your kids are going to school in rural or kampung areas.
Kekuatan
post Aug 18 2022, 10:27 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Aug 18 2022, 10:22 AM)
Dont think too much or worry. They will catch up. Important is having friends which is what play school is about
yep, truly.

my son was having speech delay. sent him to playschool just to have interaction with others. now he's ok

Kekuatan
post Aug 23 2022, 08:24 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(Jedi3815 @ Aug 18 2022, 10:30 AM)
See, you sent to playschool, now (in 2022) i presume. We didnt do it during the 2 years of covid (2020-2022), now nearing end of the year already. And since my wife is a stay-at-home mum, and risau covid lagi.....

We registered preschool for her next year (she'll be 6 years old), then by 2024 darjah 1. i hope that preschool will help.
nope. u got the timeline wrong.

2018 - playschool - more play, less schooling
2019 - preschool - very weak comprehension, basic only.
2020 - preschool - 2 months or so (covid)
2021 - standard 1 - about 6 months (covid), can only understand simple bahasa instructions.
2022 - standard 2 - can converse well

0.0156sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:49 PM