Honda Dual-Cutch Transmission (DCT)

TSSammy6
post Aug 17 2022, 11:22 PM, updated 4y ago

209 posts

Hi sifus, I came across Honda's bike like X-ADV 750 and 2022 CRF1100L Africa Twin which uses DCT technology.

Has anyone tried before these DCT features? Would like to know from your experience.
Can rempit with other big bikes brows.gif

In all seriousness, how does it feel compare to a normal clutch bike or feels like scooter?

Roadwarrior1337
post Aug 17 2022, 11:33 PM

979 posts

Dual clutch is best of both world if design properly. Gear change is almost perfect for high powdered car. I love dual clutch in the sense that the power loss vs torque converter is significantly lesser which means your vehicle lay down the power well.

The only concern if its designed properly to last long
TSSammy6
post Aug 18 2022, 12:45 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Aug 17 2022, 11:33 PM)
Dual clutch is best of both world if design properly. Gear change is almost perfect for high powdered car. I love dual clutch in the sense that the power loss vs torque converter is significantly lesser which means your vehicle lay down the power well.
You mean these bikes dont last long? ohmy.gif
Honda is known for its reliability wor
alexei
post Aug 18 2022, 07:42 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Aug 17 2022, 11:33 PM)
bang you forgot one thing... honda DCT is automatic transmission

Sammy6some people regret getting the AT with DCT, but most regret without

I've tried the XADV750 credit to Honda Big Wing test ride campaign earlier this year

It's nice, very nice. Bearing in mind the 750 is a very low rev engine so you can really feel the power delivered at every thump of the engine, and the gear change can be smooth, or sporty feeling depending on riding mode and the throttle control

The DCT is not new, been around since the NM4 (also the 700 engine) and NC750X DCT version.
TSSammy6
post Aug 18 2022, 11:59 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Aug 18 2022, 07:42 AM)
bang you forgot one thing... honda DCT is automatic transmission
Sammy6some people regret getting the AT with DCT, but most regret without

I've tried the XADV750 credit to Honda Big Wing test ride campaign earlier this year

It's nice, very nice. Bearing in mind the 750 is a very low rev engine so you can really feel the power delivered at every thump of the engine, and the gear change can be smooth, or sporty feeling depending on riding mode and the throttle control

The DCT is not new, been around since the NM4 (also the 700 engine) and NC750X DCT version.
You are right! I have seen reviews that mention, a slight pull on the xadv rev and the bike can move d. Unlike scooters where it only starts moving above a certain rpm.

Is the xadv taller or same height as the 150adv? Coming from adv touring bikes genre, it should be taller than most bikes hmm.gif
Thank you for you feedback!
alexei
post Aug 18 2022, 12:10 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

It's not tall, but like many scooters, the bottom foot tray makes putting foot down different.

sample photo
jaycee1
post Aug 18 2022, 04:45 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Sammy6 @ Aug 18 2022, 12:45 AM)
You mean these bikes dont last long? ohmy.gif
Honda is known for its reliability wor
I have a buddy with a NC750x DCT with 280,000km. So yes, if you don't abuse the bike, it can last a long time.

It's not for everyone. Some buy a bike for the riding involvement so they want a clutched bike.

The new DCTs are tuned very well but It's not perfect and can be caught off guard and be clunky on low speed gear changes. Ultimately, you will always have more control with a clutched bike.
ajaibman
post Aug 19 2022, 02:56 PM

233 posts

Just be nice with the throttle when going into corner and out with DCT Honda bike..

0.0161sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:11 AM