wiring points, takut kena tipu

TSBboyDora
post Aug 14 2022, 09:06 PM, updated 4y ago

2,361 posts

Hi all, i called a contractor to come to my house for renovation. my problem here is wiring.

he said my house air cond point is "not a proper point". Need to "re-pull" the new points to the main swicth outside the house (sorry as I do not know the jargon or the terms for house renovation. hope you guys understand).

So, he said need to add "new points" and the charges are base on the number of points. But, my house ady got existing points for air cond. I know air cond point is stronger current with "red colour thingy light". I know if i wanna install a air cond on my dining area, i need the point as there is non!.

But this contractor say my whole house points are "improper"and need to change everything and "re-pull to the outside main switch.

Im not sure wether what he say is correct and I just noob.
or he wanna earn more by suggesting me to change this and that?

pictures as attached and kindly enlighten me if im just noob. sweat.gif sweat.gif

Edited : add the pictures where the air cond is use last time.

This post has been edited by BboyDora: Aug 16 2022, 07:53 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSBboyDora
post Aug 14 2022, 09:08 PM

2,361 posts

all the points with these "red colour light"on the wall.

Buffalo Soldier
post Aug 14 2022, 09:14 PM

444 posts

Option A:
- ask him to explain again to you, ask clearly and as slowly as needed for you to understand.
- write notes, draw diagrams, take pictures as your contractor explains
- it's within your right as customer/client
- if your contractor is genuine and honest when he initially tell you of these problems... he should not mind doing this
- with sufficient information... you can refine your online search better

Option B:
- seek consultation from another licensed wiring/chargeman
sairay
post Aug 14 2022, 09:16 PM

269 posts

Usually need to pull direct to the circuit breaker so that dedicated wire aka current goes to your Aircon.

You don't want high power current being share with other appliances.

If new hse check the plan. If old hse you need good electrician to advice and check.

If hse is 3 phase then less problem.
Buffalo Soldier
post Aug 14 2022, 09:17 PM

444 posts

Energy Commission - Online System: Senarai Kontraktor Berdaftar-- https://ecos.st.gov.my/ms/web/guest/senarai...ktrik-berdaftar
Alvan86
post Aug 14 2022, 10:08 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Aug 14 2022, 09:17 PM)
Energy Commission - Online System: Senarai Kontraktor Berdaftar-- https://ecos.st.gov.my/ms/web/guest/senarai...ktrik-berdaftar
I dont think many electrician will register there
davidlow7
post Aug 14 2022, 10:09 PM

StageMaster
8,306 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 14 2022, 09:06 PM)
Hi all, i called a contractor to come to my house for renovation. my problem here is wiring.

he said my house air cond point is "not a proper point". Need to "re-pull" the new points to the main swicth outside the house (sorry as I do not know the jargon or the terms for house renovation. hope you guys understand).

So, he said need to add "new points" and the charges are base on the number of points. But, my house ady got existing points for air cond. I know air cond point is stronger current with "red colour thingy light". I know if i wanna install a air cond on my dining area, i need the point as there is non!.

But this contractor say my whole house points are "improper"and need to change everything and "re-pull to the outside main switch.

Im not sure wether what he say is correct and I just noob.
or he wanna earn more by suggesting me to change this and that?

pictures as attached and kindly enlighten me if im just noob.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
It's hard to tell from the picture but few questions..

Is this house a newly bought used unit, or you been staying here for years? You probably have the history of some setup like the aircon, but doesn't matter.

Try to understand the requirements of aircon nowadays, then it is easier to gauge your current position on how far you are from the correct setup.

1. AC point Should be a dedicated wire directly to MCB connected to a 20A switch - wire size should be 4mm now according to ST guideline.

stormer.lyn
post Aug 15 2022, 08:11 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Aug 14 2022, 10:09 PM)
1. AC point Should be a dedicated wire directly to MCB connected to a 20A switch - wire size should be 4mm now according to ST guideline.
This is the specifications from the ST wiring guidelines you linked to in another thread. As you can see, air cond units of 2 HP (or below) are allowed 2.5 mm² wiring

Edit: link to the ST document https://www.st.gov.my/en/contents/files/dow...N_DOMESTIK1.pdf page 29

This post has been edited by stormer.lyn: Aug 15 2022, 08:15 AM
zairee2580
post Aug 15 2022, 08:23 AM

385 posts

Show a picture of your switch box n it's diagram if got any
davidlow7
post Aug 15 2022, 08:55 AM

StageMaster
8,306 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Aug 15 2022, 08:11 AM)
This is the specifications from the ST wiring guidelines you linked to in another thread. As you can see, air cond units of 2 HP (or below) are allowed 2.5 mm² wiring

Edit: link to the ST document https://www.st.gov.my/en/contents/files/dow...N_DOMESTIK1.pdf page 29
It is allowed but if you are buying a house from the developer now they should be fitting with a 4mm regardless of what - also considering if you are pulling a new wire why not just go for 4mm straight as you will not be straining the wire too much if you on your aircon for far too long hours - also for those who frequently setting the temperature low (than what the ac can actually deliver) would be straining the wire for too many hours as the compressor would not stop. This is the reason why government had changed in this 2021 rule. THis has not factored in the wire quality used by the electrician - which to me the minimum should be Caramay or Mega.

TSBboyDora
post Aug 15 2022, 11:43 AM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Aug 14 2022, 09:14 PM)
Option A:
- ask him to explain again to you, ask clearly and as slowly as needed for you to understand.
- write notes, draw diagrams, take pictures as your contractor explains
- it's within your right as customer/client
- if your contractor is genuine and honest when he initially tell you of these problems... he should not mind doing this
- with sufficient information... you can refine your online search better

Option B:
- seek consultation from another licensed wiring/chargeman
He just say "all these are improper wiring and points"which make me bizarre rclxub.gif rclxub.gif . I say got points ady oh... he say yes, but "improper".
TSBboyDora
post Aug 15 2022, 11:51 AM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(sairay @ Aug 14 2022, 09:16 PM)
Usually need to pull direct to the circuit breaker so that dedicated wire aka current goes to your Aircon.

You don't want high power current being share with other appliances.

If new hse check the plan. If old hse you need good electrician to advice and check.

If hse is 3 phase then less problem.
Yes. the house is 3 phase.

it is not a old house. 7 years only. consider not really old i think biggrin.gif
TSBboyDora
post Aug 15 2022, 11:54 AM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Aug 14 2022, 10:09 PM)
It's hard to tell from the picture but few questions..

Is this house a newly bought used unit, or you been staying here for years? You probably have the history of some setup like the aircon, but doesn't matter.
Try to understand the requirements of aircon nowadays, then it is easier to gauge your current position on how far you are from the correct setup.

Its a subsale house. Got tenant who live before. the wire you see in the pictures are actually got air cond last time. when the tenant move out, he take the air cond away.

now my question is why the contractor say all the points "are improper"and want me to "pull"the new points?
TSBboyDora
post Aug 15 2022, 11:57 AM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Aug 15 2022, 08:55 AM)
It is allowed but if you are buying a house from the developer now they should be fitting with a 4mm regardless of what - also considering if you are pulling a new wire why not just go for 4mm straight as you will not be straining the wire too much if you on your aircon for far too long hours - also for those who frequently setting the temperature low (than what the ac can actually deliver) would be straining the wire for too many hours as the compressor would not stop. This is the reason why government had changed in this 2021 rule. THis has not factored in the wire quality used by the electrician - which to me the minimum should be Caramay or Mega.

thank you for the technical reply.

Just wanted to know why the contractor want me to "pull"the new points when the house ady had existing points and wiring.
davidlow7
post Aug 15 2022, 03:08 PM

StageMaster
8,306 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 15 2022, 11:57 AM)

Just wanted to know why the contractor want me to "pull"the new points when the house ady had existing points and wiring.
Can you snap a photo of your DB and post it here?

Please use the "attachment" function so that the picture looks clearer.
megahertz
post Aug 15 2022, 03:16 PM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 15 2022, 11:57 AM)

if that switch aircond already put there before and previous owner already use that as aircond switch. should be able to reuse back the wiring, unless the wire is smaller than 2.5mm follow the ST standard.

so that contractor might looking for more job for more money . only they know laugh.gif
lakini80
post Aug 15 2022, 03:20 PM

334 posts

if got point than just install aircond and get it running
TSBboyDora
post Aug 16 2022, 06:49 PM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Aug 15 2022, 03:08 PM)
Can you snap a photo of your DB and post it here?

Please use the "attachment" function so that the picture looks clearer.
may i know what is Db stand for? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TSBboyDora
post Aug 16 2022, 06:51 PM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ Aug 15 2022, 03:16 PM)

so that contractor might looking for more job for more money . only they know  laugh.gif
This is the main reason i post this thread to know is it true for this. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
takut kena conned.

all points need to add are freaking expensive.
TSBboyDora
post Aug 16 2022, 07:55 PM

2,361 posts

i had added the new photos on the 1st post where the air cond is.

0.0177sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:03 PM