Mi 18W Power Bank 3 + UGreen 20w PD Charger, Help..

TSstarry-starry
post Aug 9 2022, 11:39 PM, updated 4y ago

919 posts

I just recently bought this UGREEN 20W PD USB C Type C Charger:
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/ugreen-2...BSABEgIprvD_BwE

May I ask if I can use this 20W PD charger to charge my 10000mAh Mi 18W Fast Charge Power Bank 3?
https://www.mi.com/global/10000mAh-mi-18w-f...ge-power-bank-3

My concern is whether both of them are compatible? Charging maybe no issue, any possibility would cause damage to the charger or power bank? Earlier I used the wrong or rather old 5v/1.5A to charge this Mi 18W Power bank 3 and discovered later they are not a good "match". Especially because I used the power bank to charge my smartphone and now the phone battery seems to be not performing well..

So appreciate any sifu can advise if I can charge this Mi Power Bank 3 with 20W PD charger?

This post has been edited by starry-starry: Aug 9 2022, 11:40 PM
SUSZXSpectrumNEXTngo
post Aug 10 2022, 12:17 PM

56 posts

Xiaomi:
Input5.0V2.1A / 9V2.1A / 12V1.5A (18W MAX)

Ugreen:
Output: 5V/3A / 9V/2.2A /12V1.67A

Based on the V and A. It is able to charge the power bank in all modes until the highest speed.

ChuanHong
post Aug 10 2022, 10:09 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

since it is PD compliance, it is fine..
TSstarry-starry
post Aug 11 2022, 12:42 AM

919 posts

QUOTE(ZXSpectrumNEXTngo @ Aug 10 2022, 12:17 PM)
Xiaomi:

Ugreen:

Based on the V and A. It is able to charge the power bank in all modes until the highest speed.
QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 10 2022, 10:09 PM)
Thanks for the confirmation! Glad to know that...

Just curious did it cause any damage/harm to power bank since I used the incorrect 5V 1.5A charger to charge this Mi Powe Bank 3 before? Cos I ain't sure whether my smartphone battery is just "old" or caused by the power bank (which I used the incompatible charger to charge the power bank)...
SUSZXSpectrumNEXTngo
post Aug 11 2022, 10:01 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Aug 11 2022, 12:42 AM)

Just curious did it cause any damage/harm to power bank since I used the incorrect 5V 1.5A charger to charge this Mi Powe Bank 3 before? Cos I ain't sure whether my smartphone battery is just "old" or caused by the power bank (which I used the incompatible charger to charge the power bank)...
Charging the Power Bank using below the required Amp will be bad for the Power Bank in the long run. However, i don't see how it affects the battery in your phone. You phone battery probably dying already. Most phone battery will reduce performance after 1 year if you are lucky. Heck, any batteries including laptops etc.
TSstarry-starry
post Aug 11 2022, 05:28 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(ZXSpectrumNEXTngo @ Aug 11 2022, 10:01 AM)
Charging the Power Bank using below the required Amp will be bad for the Power Bank in the long run. However, i don't see how it affects the battery in your phone. You phone battery probably dying already. Most phone battery will reduce performance after 1 year if you are lucky. Heck, any batteries including laptops etc.
In long run may only damage ya... Mine was charged under the required AMP for about half a year, not daily charging so I hope it is fine...

So I do not have to discard my power bank ya? Worry about some kind of chain reaction like the power bank was charged under required AMP and somehow it's damaged and would cause damage to my phone etc. I don't want it to damage another phone battery... sweat.gif

ChuanHong
post Aug 11 2022, 08:44 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Aug 11 2022, 12:42 AM)

it is fine.. but do not leave it overnight charging.. phone battery nowadays could stay around 80% after 2 years.. but there are various reason to degrade your battery faster such as heat, total cycle of charging, usage and etc..
TSstarry-starry
post Aug 12 2022, 12:05 AM

919 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 11 2022, 08:44 PM)
it is fine.. but do not leave it overnight charging.. phone battery nowadays could stay around 80% after 2 years.. but there are various reason to degrade your battery faster such as heat, total cycle of charging, usage and etc..
thanks a lotssssssss, at least now I know I don't have to discard the power bank and continue using it to charge my phone..
TSstarry-starry
post Aug 14 2022, 03:22 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(ZXSpectrumNEXTngo @ Aug 10 2022, 12:17 PM)
Xiaomi:

Ugreen:

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 10 2022, 10:09 PM)
QUOTE(ZXSpectrumNEXTngo @ Aug 11 2022, 10:01 AM)
QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 11 2022, 08:44 PM)
One more question, I'm quite noob in this... The 20W PD charger arrived but I bought this UGREEN cable (type C to C) separately which yet to arrive..

May I ask if I can use just any USB C to USC C cable? I have this cable from my laptop, not sure if I could use it (connect to this 20W PD charger) and charge my smartphone and power bank?

Please advise.

This post has been edited by starry-starry: Aug 14 2022, 03:39 PM
SUSZXSpectrumNEXTngo
post Aug 14 2022, 10:02 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Aug 14 2022, 03:22 PM)
One more question, I'm quite noob in this... The 20W PD charger arrived but I bought this UGREEN cable (type C to C) separately which yet to arrive..

May I ask if I can use just any USB C to USC C cable? I have this cable from my laptop, not sure if I could use it (connect to this 20W PD charger) and charge my smartphone and power bank?

Please advise.
yes, because USB C minimum rating is 3A and 20V (60W). If you need higher than 60W, then you will need to get a PD(100W) cable with minimum 5A and 20V.

TSstarry-starry
post Aug 15 2022, 12:34 AM

919 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Aug 9 2022, 11:39 PM)
I just recently bought this UGREEN 20W PD USB C Type C Charger:
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/ugreen-2...BSABEgIprvD_BwE

May I ask if I can use this 20W PD charger to charge my 10000mAh Mi 18W Fast Charge Power Bank 3?
https://www.mi.com/global/10000mAh-mi-18w-f...ge-power-bank-3

My concern is whether both of them are compatible? Charging maybe no issue, any possibility would cause damage to the charger or power bank? Earlier I used the wrong or rather old 5v/1.5A to charge this Mi 18W Power bank 3 and discovered later they are not a good "match". Especially because I used the power bank to charge my smartphone and now the phone battery seems to be not performing well..

So appreciate any sifu can advise if I can charge this Mi Power Bank 3 with 20W PD charger?
QUOTE(ZXSpectrumNEXTngo @ Aug 14 2022, 10:02 PM)
yes, because USB C minimum rating is 3A and 20V (60W). If you need higher than 60W, then you will need to get a PD(100W) cable with minimum 5A and 20V.
Great! So I can also use this 20W PD charger + USC-C to type C cable to charge the laptop too?

If so, I am just wondering if I didn't have to specially get a 20W PD charger for my smartphone but use the laptop charger instead? Anything I'd pay attention to find out whether they are compatible?

And may I ask since I can use the UGREEN 20W PD charger to charge this Mi 18W Fast charger power bank 3 (Output using USB A - not sure if that makes any difference, just thought to highlight), does it mean I can use the power bank to charge my smartphone that supports 20W PD fast charging?

Sorry to ask so many questions, nowadays smartphones do not come with charger & cable is making me so confused.. Plus I have some new and old gadgets at home, seriously very confusing... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by starry-starry: Aug 15 2022, 12:44 AM
SUSZXSpectrumNEXTngo
post Aug 15 2022, 11:42 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Aug 15 2022, 12:34 AM)
Great! So I can also use this 20W PD charger + USC-C to type C cable to charge the laptop too?

If so, I am just wondering if I didn't have to specially get a 20W PD charger for my smartphone but use the laptop charger instead? Anything I'd pay attention to find out whether they are compatible?

And may I ask since I can use the UGREEN 20W PD charger to charge this Mi 18W Fast charger power bank 3 (Output using USB A - not sure if that makes any difference, just thought to highlight), does it mean I can use the power bank to charge my smartphone that supports 20W PD fast charging?

Sorry to ask so many questions, nowadays smartphones do not come with charger & cable is making me so confused.. Plus I have some new and old gadgets at home, seriously very confusing...  rclxub.gif
Dude. Why you ask such confusing and non logical question.
Your power bank is your power bank, nothing to do with the charger. How in the world does your powerbank suddenly becomes PD enabled if it's not in the first place and can charge in PD mode to your phone?

Your Ugreen charger if is PD enabled, will be able to charge your phone if your phone is also PD mode.

Your power bank, will only be able to charge your phone according to one of the 3 Voltage mode it's available.

PD is very simple. PD standard allows devices to communicate and establish a contract to charge according to the correct Voltage and Amp automatically base on their capabilities. Non PD devices only support certain fix voltage and will use whatever that is nearest to the device to be charge, hence may not be optimise.

Remember something about electronics. Voltage must always match. If over volt, your device will fry. If undervolt, your device might not perform correctly. Amp of your charger must always be more than what is required by your device because only the required amount of amp is drawn.

Seriously, if you Google a bit, you can find find all the answers.

Now stop asking question and plug that charger into the phone and charge!

TSstarry-starry
post Aug 15 2022, 11:56 PM

919 posts

Closed.

This post has been edited by starry-starry: Aug 16 2022, 11:13 PM

0.0195sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:59 PM