[WTA] Who pays for the water bill?, Landlord or tenant

TSloser007
post Aug 8 2022, 06:38 PM, updated 4y ago

Hi guys, I'm a new home owner. I have a high rise unit that I want to rent out. Currently the tariff for the water bill is by JMB with a minimum of RM36 per month. When I rent out the whole unit, who is supposed to pay for the RM36?

As the owner, I understand that I'll need to pay for the maintenance fees/sinking fund/etc

But electricity and water is borne by the tenant right? Or am I mistaken?

Also is the water bill included in the rental? like for example you are renting for RM1200; so with the water bill its RM1236?

Much help is appreciated. Thank you
dark_axl21
post Aug 8 2022, 06:40 PM

TUKANG
660 posts

QUOTE(loser007 @ Aug 8 2022, 06:38 PM)
Hi guys, I'm a new home owner. I have a high rise unit that I want to rent out. Currently the tariff for the water bill is by JMB with a minimum of RM36 per month. When I rent out the whole unit, who is supposed to pay for the RM36?

As the owner, I understand that I'll need to pay for the maintenance fees/sinking fund/etc

Also is the water bill included in the rental? like for example you are renting for RM1200; so with the water bill its RM1236?

Usually the tenant.
MrBaba
post Aug 8 2022, 06:47 PM

2,506 posts

Confirm commercial unit , don't have to ask maintenance fee sure high one cost commercial rate
TSloser007
post Aug 8 2022, 06:47 PM

Ah thank you for the answer.

So during the tenancy signing I advice them there will be additional charges for water bill with a minimum of 36 per month and collect from them?
acbc
post Aug 8 2022, 06:49 PM

9,035 posts

Tenant pay for utilities like electricity, water and sewage. Broadband and telephone also under tenant.

Landlord only pay the maintenance, taxes and other repairs (must be written in the agreement).
Satori 14118a
post Aug 8 2022, 06:57 PM

1,004 posts

Anything that is consumed by the tenant, they'll have to pay.
hanhanhan
post Aug 8 2022, 10:57 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

tenant pay.

either u collect from them or ask them direct pay management

mini orchard
post Aug 9 2022, 06:26 AM

14,511 posts

Include the 36 in the monthly rental.

Inform the tenant the landlord will 'bear' the water billing up to 36. Any excess billing will be borned by tenant and to collect with the following month rental.

LazyCat666
post Aug 9 2022, 10:17 AM

99 posts

Standard tenancy agreement will state that the tenant need to pay for electricity, water, indah water etc.

So IMHO, there is no need to include water bill in the rental. If the water bill is more than rm36, e.g. rm50, u will need to pay rm36 and the tenant pay rm14 to JMB? Isn't that troublesome?

Just check the monthly statement account from JMB to make sure tenant pay the water bill is enough lah.
mushigen
post Aug 10 2022, 11:56 PM

4,949 posts

Thing is, the minimum of RM36 is much higher than the expected consumption (residential tariffs) if tenant is a 2/3-member household. Would be good to discuss with them in advance to avoid disputes later.

0.0175sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:15 AM