Public D40 Kitlens Newbie, Kota Kinabalu

TSbuffalowings
post Oct 2 2007, 12:30 AM, updated 19y ago

225 posts

Some KK shots using Auto. I dunno how to use A or S setting yet. Cant see any difference except hard to control brightness of pictures. Tips will be glady appreciated.

I think my compo is slightly more interesting then 6 mths ago because i use potrait and 18mm (wide angle) . Dunno why it works but wat the heck... tongue.gif

Masakan Melayu for lunch

Sapi Island

Flower Crab for dinner

Tanjung Aru @ Night

Sutera Harbour

Comments and critism are welcome to improve my skill. icon_question.gif

Thank you in advance

This post has been edited by buffalowings: Oct 2 2007, 01:03 AM
soulfly
post Oct 2 2007, 12:39 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

tanjung aru at night: i dunno.... nothing interesting in this pic. beach shots are better if u do it in the early evening than night. better if during a bright day.

others are just fine
Mavik
post Oct 2 2007, 12:47 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Wow you are at KK, I am sure you can get wonderful shots at Sutera Harbour. Check out http://www.louispang.com and see how he transforms Sutera Harbour into a magnificent location spot for weddings.
orenzai
post Oct 2 2007, 08:58 PM

3,114 posts

hihi...d40 user here also smile.gif
some opinions...
the first and second seems to be ok to me...i like the boat pic...
however, the pondok and the beach pic is not interesting...
trying capturing the pondok with wider coverage of the surroundings...
last pic ar...i would like if you stood further back...so that can cover more things...

about the shutter and aperture priority,
use shutter priority when there is low lighting... or when you wanna capture fast moving objects...
aperture priority is basically for what kind of object you wanna shoot...set to smaller f number to shoot flowers or close-ups so that you get a nice bokeh...set the to big f number is you wanna take landscapes and the lighting is not a problem...

i dunno my explanation is correct or not... hope it helps though:)

EDIT: typo

This post has been edited by orenzai: Oct 2 2007, 08:58 PM
TSbuffalowings
post Oct 2 2007, 08:58 PM

225 posts

thanks for all the tips :)any more?
orenzai
post Oct 2 2007, 09:04 PM

3,114 posts

anymore ar...can pm me lor...i will be more than happy to teach you...but tell you first oh.... my info is not 100% correct de.. smile.gif
TSbuffalowings
post Oct 3 2007, 01:00 AM

225 posts

thank you thank you....smile.gif

i wonder if any of those pics will improve if i use shutter or aperture priority?

QUOTE(orenzai @ Oct 2 2007, 09:04 PM)
anymore ar...can pm me lor...i will be more than happy to teach you...but tell you first oh.... my info is not 100% correct de.. smile.gif
This post has been edited by buffalowings: Oct 3 2007, 01:04 AM
orenzai
post Oct 3 2007, 06:24 AM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(buffalowings @ Oct 3 2007, 01:00 AM)
thank you thank you....smile.gif

i wonder if any of those pics will improve if i use shutter or aperture priority?
it all depends on how you master it...using A is really the last option anyone would want...lets say...if you are in a very low lit room, if you use A mode, it will adjust to say, 1 sec and f7...this will surely produce blury shots..so in this kind of scenario, you must use a lil bit higher shutter speed, say 1/40 and jack up the ISO...then you will get what you wan without blury pics.. smile.gif
snowmei
post Oct 3 2007, 06:42 AM

Skilless
632 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Oct 3 2007, 06:24 AM)
it all depends on how you master it...using A is really the last option anyone would want...lets say...if you are in a very low lit room, if you use A mode, it will adjust to say, 1 sec and f7...this will surely produce blury shots..so in this kind of scenario, you must use a lil bit higher shutter speed, say 1/40 and jack up the ISO...then you will get what you wan without blury pics.. smile.gif
well...
SLR have another good shooting mode call Manual Mode which quite useful also....
coolboy_kl
post Oct 3 2007, 09:04 AM

64 posts

New D40 user here, I like Picture 1, and 2.
Picture 3, not interesting..where is the focal point, the pondok, or the person?, what story u wants to tell us?
Picture 5, and 6 looks like normal shoot to me.

Again, my comments is purely my personal point of view.
TSbuffalowings
post Oct 3 2007, 01:47 PM

225 posts

thank you....

i will try to understand what story to tell....at the moment...i just shoot shoot shoot and keep the good shots....still learning abt compo and exposure...

QUOTE(coolboy_kl @ Oct 3 2007, 09:04 AM)
New D40 user here, I like Picture 1, and 2.
Picture 3, not interesting..where is the focal point, the pondok, or the person?, what story u wants to tell us?
Picture 5, and 6 looks like normal shoot to me.

Again, my comments is purely my personal point of view.
orenzai
post Oct 3 2007, 04:04 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(snowmei @ Oct 3 2007, 06:42 AM)
well...
SLR have another good shooting mode call Manual Mode which quite useful also....
M mode so hard to control la wei..need to always monitor the brightness...make me go rclxub.gif everytime... laugh.gif

0.0160sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:52 AM