Renew passport MY, Questions & sharing

Mel2
post Oct 19 2023, 09:03 AM

861 posts

Anyone been to UTC Shah Alam to renew passport recently?

Can just walk in? Or still need to make appointment?

I tried reading a few pages here, if online renewal got problem, I think better just go there to renew. Can take photo there.

What else to bring other than IC and passport? Need photo copy of IC or not?
Mel2
post Oct 19 2023, 10:51 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(pinkfoxlulu @ Oct 19 2023, 10:27 AM)
urgent or still got time?
Not urgent.

I've been to that place to renew my family members' passports. Make appointment, walk in. Fill up form, take photo. Wait 1 hour. Passport ready.

Not sure what's the latest procedure..
Mel2
post Oct 19 2023, 11:41 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(melt @ Oct 19 2023, 11:20 AM)
no need copy of IC

print out your receipt. The receipt actually told you what to bring.
Oh.. means have to renew online then print receipt.

What about senior citizens? Can walk in? If not, need to bring them go take photo first.

I'm looking for places that can accept walk in. Some places are open on Sundays. Very convenient.
Mel2
post Oct 19 2023, 11:58 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(melt @ Oct 19 2023, 11:51 AM)
oh i thought you have done online previously... not sure bout walk in as some say can some say cannot... i myself did online failed photo and thumbprint so straight walk in the same day after received the email. Took less than 1.5hours

for senior citizen just walk in.
Oh I wanted to avoid to do it online. Reading so much about failed photo, etc. Haha. Anyway. Thanks. 👍
Mel2
post Nov 8 2023, 01:37 PM

861 posts

Successfully renewed my passport. Just walked in. No prior online application.

Went on a weekday. Lots of empty parking at 7.10am. Saw nobody. But upon reaching Level 2, about 30 ppl in the queue.

Everyone in same q - warga emas, online application, passport collection, etc. No mention about walk-in.

They opened at 8am. We got our nombor giliran and a small form each to fill up. I just told the officer I wanted to renew passport, so she asked if got bring old passport? Yes ok then 👌.

All 7 counters were opened. Counter 8 and 9 for passport collection. Counter 11 for making payments.

First hour, everything was efficient. Out of 7 counters, 2 were opened for elderly ppl and families with young children. Then not long after that, only 1 counter left to man other general applicants. To take photo, thumbprint.

In short..
Waited less than 2 hours for my turn to take photo, thumbprint. Make payment. Then another 45 minutes to collect the new passport.

For warga emas, much faster. It took less than an hour to be attended, and made payment. To wait for new passport, another 45 minutes to wait.

For me - I avoided to do online renewal because of so many complaints about loading photo, etc. Prefer to just walk in and wait.

Going there early is not a problem. Roads clear, no traffic jam, plenty of parking spaces. Just remember to wear dark clothes (for photo), know your height (when filling up the form), bring your old passport and mykad. They will return your old passport after cutting the edge. Check all details in new passport before leaving.
Mel2
post Nov 14 2023, 01:41 PM

861 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Nov 14 2023, 12:25 PM)
The immi office I went to, no need form for passport renewal. Just follow old details as in the old passport.

Immi officer, at the processing counter taking photo and thumbprint asked, tinggi ada sama tak?

Hahahaha 🤣
Yeah. Should just follow old details. 👍

I forgot my height. Wrote 2cm more than old passport. Officer asked which height to follow. 🤣
Mel2
post Nov 14 2023, 02:04 PM

861 posts

QUOTE(Jason96 @ Nov 14 2023, 11:13 AM)
checked UTC Sentul, Pudu and Keramat all no more ticket in QMS. Kinda urgently need to renew passport. What is my option for walk ins?
Recently I walked-in UTC Selangor in Shah Alam to renew my passport.

No questions about applied online, etc. No need bring own photo.

I only brought my old passport and mykad. They took my photo, thumbprint there.

For walk-ins, I think for Mon- Fri only.
They do open on Sat and Sun.

Mel2
post Nov 14 2023, 02:24 PM

861 posts

Do not go to Passport Office at Pejabat Imigresen KLIA.

I went all the way there last Monday to find it closed. The closure was announced in their FB (i didn't check earlier), no official announcement on their website. Reason? Technical problems.

Ok they didn't mention when would open again.

The next day, they announced.... not going to open until Friday. 🤷‍♀️ Technical/system problem??

Well, they are supposed to open from Mondays to Fridays, weekends closed.

Actually the week earlier, they closed on Wednesday. Only to reopen on Thursday and Friday before closing one whole week.

Mel2
post Nov 29 2023, 02:48 PM

861 posts

QUOTE(alicelimsl @ Nov 27 2023, 04:26 PM)
Can i walk in afternoon after their lunch hour? Will have another round of number distribute?
No. They don't accept walk-ins after lunch. I've tried it. Haha..

Thinking that it would be a quiet day on Sunday, I went to try my luck in the afternoon. The officer advised me to come in the morning to get a queue number.
Mel2
post Jan 26 2024, 10:35 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(Lescotesco @ Jan 26 2024, 10:14 AM)
anyone have tried to walk in after the digital photo failed multiple times?

so frustrated with this last time help my parent to renew no issue, now always fail for me and my gf. i think it got rejected for more than 5 times already...
I never bother to try to apply online.

Straight walked in UTC Shah Alam. No questions asked. Just take queue number and wait.

Refer to #551.

I had similar experience as him.

Arrived at 7am. Counter opened at 8am. 30 ppl in the queue.

By 10am+ it was all done. I did it in Nov last year. Now more ppl know about this place, longer queue but it's alright. They're efficient and friendly.
Mel2
post Jan 26 2024, 12:22 PM

861 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jan 26 2024, 10:41 AM)
Photos taken by the officer  right? me going to renew soon .damn...so fast approaching 5 years liao. laugh.gif
Yes, officer takes photo. There's a mirror in front to check your hair.

Make sure you wear dark clothes.

Know your height. If not, they'll ask you go to a wall nearby to measure sendiri.

For guys who keep long hair, when tie up the bun, make sure the bun not visible on top of your head. If not, they'll ask you to re-tie.
Mel2
post Jan 26 2024, 12:42 PM

861 posts

QUOTE(Lescotesco @ Jan 26 2024, 10:47 AM)
thanks i apply online becoz last time i think during last 2 years can only walk in for senior.

better walk in to do it then since they also need my fingerprint.
Apparently the rumour is, walk in only for senior citizens.

But I couldn't see any such instructions at their office. I walked back and forth, checking whether I queued at the correct lane, finding more info as my son stood in the queuing line.

The queue was rather long as it's a for-all lane. But it moved fast. They even have a few fans along the queue.

When I heard the 2 young men in front of us got their queue number, I was so confident my son could get his.

Yeah, walk- in is for all ages. Just pray you don't have many young families with toddlers or babies in front of you. If all adults, very fast one.

0.0274sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:57 AM