PSA: Unauthorized Credit Card transaction, bootcampmind.com
ZeneticX
Aug 1 2022, 07:15 PM
this is why i no longer save cc info during checkout nowadays
rather have that few secs of inconvinience entering cc everytime rather than the bigger inconvinience of having to call up your bank, cancel your card, wait for new card etc
andrekua2
Aug 1 2022, 08:16 PM
Credit card also not so scary. The most scary is maxis mobile number payment. My dad kena RM800 in his maxis mobile billing from an unknown merchant. Usually it will appear Google name with transaction id if buying from play store. However it shown another name and only by calling maxis then only provided Google transaction id. However both maxis and google were both not helpful at all. Google denied any wrongdoings and refused to refund. Maxis reiterate must deal with Google and despite me filling an mcmc report along with screenshot of email conversation with Google, screenshot of my dad Google account with no purchase history, screenshot of my dad Google pay with zero payment information, maxis still refused to budge. So all of you with maxis postpaid better call them to disabled this Google Pay thing that's enabled by default.
I think this is the improved version of the sms registration which rake up hundreds in billing.
This post has been edited by andrekua2: Aug 1 2022, 08:19 PM
Johannlo
Aug 1 2022, 08:53 PM
I also just kena. Citibank card 5 times USD 0.00 transactions one shot.
Called and report, they blocked my card and reissue me new card. Aihh.
My card was binded in a lot of website. Shopee, AIA, Lazada, airasia, etc. so can’t pinpoint which system is compromised.
delphine.88
Aug 1 2022, 08:58 PM

Same issue with Citibank card. Multiple attempt to charge my card but they key in wrong cvv. Success attempt usd100 on onlyfans lol. Terminate the card directly.
Card saved in tng eWallet and shopee only
Cyberman2
Aug 1 2022, 09:10 PM
Ya. I also kena recently with iqbraingame.com for RM98
Just reported via dispute transaction form.
Maybe i need to cancel the current card and get new one also
TSlytros
Aug 1 2022, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(Cyberman2 @ Aug 1 2022, 09:10 PM) Ya. I also kena recently with iqbraingame.com for RM98 Just reported via dispute transaction form. Maybe i need to cancel the current card and get new one also Might as well cancel, already compromised. Similar style ah, charge to this dubious websites.
eddievh
Aug 1 2022, 11:48 PM
Me too kena yesterday, rm5 use it at agilitytraining.com , only store for grab usage. Shopper and Lazada got used this card but didn't store it.
xHj09
Aug 2 2022, 12:04 AM
wife kena from blademeal.com
in USD, early last month. after conversion RM400+
cc not used for any online transactions, online transaction usually use another lower limit card.
i think it's random?
sl!mer
Aug 2 2022, 11:17 AM
kena last month from fb.me/ads few transaction for rm87 maybank visa, card saved lazada/shopee cancel card, get new card. all amount refunded by bank
TrialGone
Aug 2 2022, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(4eyeco @ Aug 1 2022, 04:55 PM) mine was citibank for USD1. hmm seems like a lot of people kena my card was saved in shopee. though i saved the same card in tng long time ago but have removed for quite some time Those likely charges to verify ur cc only. After that they will refund back.
4eyeco
Aug 2 2022, 11:51 AM

QUOTE(TrialGone @ Aug 2 2022, 11:41 AM) Those likely charges to verify ur cc only. After that they will refund back. i dont think so. if to verify cc no only, it will happen the first time i saved the cc info. this charge is by some random training website. so most likely is unauthorised transaction
TrialGone
Aug 2 2022, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(4eyeco @ Aug 2 2022, 11:51 AM) i dont think so. if to verify cc no only, it will happen the first time i saved the cc info. this charge is by some random training website. so most likely is unauthorised transaction I'm just saying. Some sites do charg USD1 just to confirm. I think apple also do same thing.
Cyberman2
Aug 2 2022, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(lytros @ Aug 1 2022, 10:13 PM) Might as well cancel, already compromised. Similar style ah, charge to this dubious websites. Just called my bank to cancelled and bank immediately cancelled my card. Thanks for bring up this issue..
Avangelice
Aug 2 2022, 01:09 PM
From the looks of it most issues stem from shopee
TSlytros
Aug 2 2022, 02:30 PM
There are also cases no CC info saved to any platform, so it may also be our CC info has been leaked. One reason why i decided to stick to one credit card only. Easier to monitor and manage.
Twins10
Aug 2 2022, 03:11 PM
My shopee cash n coins disappeared for 3 days, kept showing network error. Just got it back yesterday. I thought stolen already. Gonna avoid loading unless I buy something.
Hobbez
Aug 2 2022, 03:44 PM
So looks like the culprit is Shopee? And possibly TNG.
May be more than one.
For those of you kena and using Shopee, are you using their wallet? They request sensitive info from you to activate.
I know this advice won't be accepted by most people, but it's best to avoid all e-wallets.
This post has been edited by Hobbez: Aug 2 2022, 03:45 PM
toiletwater
Aug 2 2022, 03:47 PM
Mine kena UniversalStudiosJapan. Been there once back in 2019. Dunno why they charge me again in 2021.
beverlykho
Aug 3 2022, 11:22 AM
My fraud was with Google Bigo Taiwan at the end of May. 2 transactions totalling RM10.34.
Now still fighting HSBC to get the transactions refunded. Over the last two months, have had to make multiple fraud reports with HSBC because when I follow-up on my report, the Telephone Banking agent keeps telling me they can't find it.
If HSBC can't settle this by the end of August, I'm cancelling my HSBC cards and reporting to BNM.
This post has been edited by beverlykho: Aug 3 2022, 11:23 AM
Alternate Gabriel
Aug 3 2022, 11:34 AM

QUOTE(sl!mer @ Aug 2 2022, 11:17 AM) kena last month from fb.me/ads few transaction for rm87 maybank visa, card saved lazada/shopee cancel card, get new card. all amount refunded by bank Previously a lot of users in Kopitiam provided awareness on fraud related to saving the card in shopping platform. U didn’t read about it?