Helmet Intercom chat

megahertz
post Aug 3 2022, 09:52 AM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Aug 2 2022, 08:19 AM)
Freedconn is good on paper, but
- Does not connect to other brand.
- When connected by other brand, intercom becomes 2 person only FreedConn-Other, can't loop in other Freedconn.
- Supports voice assistant on TMax
- Volume lower than Maxto, would say around 70% of maxto. if helmet noisy, you tend to max out the volume and still struggle to hear
- TMax dial is very badly designed, easily gets turned on by accident.
No, I didn't read internet review to tell you the above.
I bought 3 x TMax and 2 x TCom to test.

TCom has better physical design, small and slim.

But I won't recommend Freedconn lah.
i also use freedconn before. freedconn tcom sc then i upgrade to R1 plus. i never use intercom function so cant comment on that.

TCOM SC price rm170++
- overall good design, got LCD screen which is good for searching for radio freq/station, but then u need to remove ur helmet to see it. LOL
- last time i use daily go to work, listen to the radio if i lazy to pair with my phone. if pair, then i will use spotify.
- sound quite ok, the problem just my helmet design, the wind noise quite bad.

http://www.freedconnsz.com/h-pd-7.html#_pp=103_521

then upgrade to R1 PLUS rm380++
- bought it because it hv camera recorded function, to act like dashcam. the quality is ok for the 1080 but not so sharp. at night, also just ok. but you cant expect gopro level. the battery can last quite long even when recording the video, i think about 3hours plus for continues recording. the problem with this is the audio, the mic dont hv any wind proctection at all, so u will hear wind noise most of the time for the camera recording. but for the mic for talking is sperate, which is ok, dont hv wind noise and because it hv noice cancellation function.
- got bluetooth 5, which is i can use my google assistant voice. turn it on, it will auto pair with my phone, and just wear the helmet, then you activate the voice, like to play spotify etc. so u no need to access ur phone.
- its quite bulky than TCOM SC, which look funny when u wear it.

http://www.freedconnsz.com/h-pd-21.html#_pp=103_521

summary
- i wont recommend R1 plus, for TCOM SC is basic bluetooth intercomm, which should serve u well if u use it to listen to radio/music from phone. but still, you should find other brand that use bluetooth v5. the voice assistant is quite useful.

This post has been edited by megahertz: Aug 3 2022, 09:52 AM
megahertz
post Aug 3 2022, 10:32 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Aug 3 2022, 10:19 AM)
Ok, if use solo and never intercom, get any bluetooth headset with stereo speakers should do, and make sure your helmet is quiet enough  biggrin.gif

Again, Freedconn not as loud as Maxto, and Maxto sound quality also better.

Disclaimer:
Bought, owned and gave away:
2 x Freedconn TCom
3 x Freedconn TMax
2 x Hysnox HY-02
2 x Maxto M2 (still keeping a 3rd unit for testing)

... not listing other brands / models owned before for testing purposes....
tongue.gif
yeah, for me the R1 plus quite ok. but if i ride long distance, i never use it because the sound more than 120kmh quite bad since i use open face helmet and wind noise very bad. need to replace my helmet. plus, i like ride with silence right now, more calming and hear the engine sound more nice. lol

R1 plus now mostly i use because of the dashcam function. got few times almost hit some crazy cars and at least i got evidence.

so based on ur past experience, maxto m2 quite ok?
thinking to find intercom that able to connect other brand since my friends mostly used other brand. i see Maxto M3 which got video function as well. might be good replacement for my R1 plus.
megahertz
post Aug 4 2022, 09:42 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 4 2022, 09:18 AM)
Any com unit that has a dedicated charge port as to not have to plug and unplug it all the time to charge?
brand new model nowadays got dedicated usb type c port for charging and dedicated port for headset.
like my freedconn R1 plus.
megahertz
post Aug 8 2022, 09:29 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Aug 7 2022, 10:46 PM)
I find that it's rather pointless to buy an intercom that has a built-in camera, because the camera has to be built to such a low price there's just no way it'll produce a satisfactory video.... esp since everyone by default expects action camera-level footages.
i use it as dashcam. many times i almost got accident due crazy driver. once there this some uncle make illegal uturn and almost hit me, that video already sent to JPJ, but not sure if they do anything about it . at least i hv proof if anything happened. car driver will always blame motor rider anyway.

and sometimes use it to capture picture in the video for whatsapp group picture with friends when convoy. laugh.gif

and yes, the quality of course cant compare with those action cam, even the cheap 1. because of that price alone, u cant expect to much.
and i lazy to use my gopro because dont hv proper mount for it.
megahertz
post Aug 9 2022, 09:04 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Aug 8 2022, 09:30 PM)
Not so sharp is ok, but are you able to capture number plates at night?
This is more important
well, for night time, to be fair, if the area quite dark, even branded car dashcam also hard to see.

megahertz
post Aug 10 2022, 11:41 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Aug 9 2022, 09:53 AM)
It's more like capturing the "final moments" of those farker hitting you, with you head / tail lamp shining on their plate if scenario allows.  tongue.gif
yeah and i just found this video. so u can see how much the video quality at night. ok but not sharp until can see the no plate. laugh.gif
my friend looking for R1 plus alternative and i think this M3 quite ok also. not using it so not sure, i only got R1 plus

0.0228sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:00 AM