Mr Vampire Star Chin Siu-Ho’s Drastic Weight Loss

TSNamelessone1973
post Jul 31 2022, 10:47 PM, updated 4y ago

320 posts

Hongkong veteran actor Chin Siu-Ho (钱小豪), 59, entered showbiz after he was talent spotted in a martial arts competition by the bigwigs at Shaw Brothers Studio when he was only 14.
Siu-Ho has since moved back to Hongkong for about half a year now, and has no plans to work in China in the near future.

He worries about having to go through another lockdown, which would result in him not being able to return to Hongkong. Also, his parents are now in their 80s, and he can't bear to be apart from them for too long.

“The weather has been very hot recently and [I’m] worried that I will get a heart attack when filming outdoor scenes. I have high blood pressure, so I need to cut down on sweet, salty, and fried food. I've been eating clean and drinking soup, so my skin has also gotten better,” said Siu-Ho, who also joked that he's more handsome now.

His popularity peaked in the '80s and early '90s thanks to his roles in numerous vampire movies, which were all the rage back then.

A few of his classic films include Mr Vampire (1985), New Mr. Vampire (1987), Vampire vs Vampire (1989) and The Ultimate Vampire (1991).

He is also known for starring in martial arts films such as Tai Chi Master (1993) and Fist of Legend (1994), alongside Jet Li. Of late, he has kept up with his target market, starring in 2017 horror comedy film Vampire Cleanup Department.

Earlier this week, the veteran star appeared at a press event in Hongkong for his upcoming film, Chan Wu Zhong Guo Meng, looking very different.

So different that many of his fans almost could not recognise him. And it's because of his drastic weight-loss.

Siu-Ho revealed that two years ago, after moving to Shanghai, he had to balance irregular work and rest hours.

On top of that, he did not have access to healthy meals, and as such, would only have one meal a day. At one point, he said he weighed 65kg, though he has gained 5kg since then.

When asked by the media if he was worried that eating so little would result in him not having the energy to shoot action sequences, he said: “Nowadays, when filming action movies, there are a lot less stunts to do as compared to the past. [I] just have to perform a few actions and strike a few poses.”

Siu-Ho has since moved back to Hongkong for about half a year now, and has no plans to work in China in the near future.

He worries about having to go through another lockdown, which would result in him not being able to return to Hongkong. Also, his parents are now in their 80s, and he can't bear to be apart from them for too long.

“The weather has been very hot recently and [I’m] worried that I will get a heart attack when filming outdoor scenes. I have high blood pressure, so I need to cut down on sweet, salty, and fried food. I've been eating clean and drinking soup, so my skin has also gotten better,” said Siu-Ho, who also joked that he's more handsome now.

https://www.8days.sg/entertainment/asian/ch...ght-loss-666796

SUSjbcoder
post Jul 31 2022, 10:49 PM

783 posts

Dah cucuk pfizer ?
yungkit14
post Jul 31 2022, 10:52 PM

850 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Jul 31 2022, 10:47 PM)
Hongkong veteran actor Chin Siu-Ho (钱小豪), 59, entered showbiz after he was talent spotted in a martial arts competition by the bigwigs at Shaw Brothers Studio when he was only 14.

His popularity peaked in the '80s and early '90s thanks to his roles in numerous vampire movies, which were all the rage back then.

A few of his classic films include Mr Vampire (1985), New Mr. Vampire (1987), Vampire vs Vampire (1989) and The Ultimate Vampire (1991).

He is also known for starring in martial arts films such as Tai Chi Master (1993) and Fist of Legend (1994), alongside Jet Li. Of late, he has kept up with his target market, starring in 2017 horror comedy film Vampire Cleanup Department.

Earlier this week, the veteran star appeared at a press event in Hongkong for his upcoming film, Chan Wu Zhong Guo Meng, looking very different.

So different that many of his fans almost could not recognise him. And it's because of his drastic weight-loss.

Siu-Ho revealed that two years ago, after moving to Shanghai, he had to balance irregular work and rest hours.

On top of that, he did not have access to healthy meals, and as such, would only have one meal a day. At one point, he said he weighed 65kg, though he has gained 5kg since then.

When asked by the media if he was worried that eating so little would result in him not having the energy to shoot action sequences, he said: “Nowadays, when filming action movies, there are a lot less stunts to do as compared to the past. [I] just have to perform a few actions and strike a few poses.”

https://www.8days.sg/entertainment/asian/ch...ght-loss-666796

Sad nya sit in cheena kena byk problem
9m2w
post Jul 31 2022, 10:53 PM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

I liked him in Rigor Mortis

He actually plays himself in this show, a down on his luck actor struggling to cope with his life

Not a bad tribute to his earlier flicks
TSNamelessone1973
post Jul 31 2022, 10:54 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(jbcoder @ Jul 31 2022, 10:49 PM)
Dah cucuk pfizer ?
China mana ada Pfizer?

Antivax and their stupudity laugh.gif
SUSjbcoder
post Jul 31 2022, 10:56 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Jul 31 2022, 10:54 PM)
China mana ada Pfizer?

Antivax and their stupudity  laugh.gif
Janganlah bodoh sombong sangat.

https://covid19.trackvaccines.org/country/hong-kong/
Saitama
post Jul 31 2022, 10:56 PM

308 posts

oh dem. r we gon lose another HK OG to cancer?

he been thriving in IQIYI.
Darkspreader
post Jul 31 2022, 10:58 PM

148 posts

Dah cucuk pfizer ?
Eeeee sei sohai local k mentally challenged is back.

Why cant u stay sus'ed
TSNamelessone1973
post Jul 31 2022, 11:00 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(jbcoder @ Jul 31 2022, 10:56 PM)
He was staying in Shanghai and only moved back to HK half a year ago.

You think he can take Pfizer in Shanghai?

Stupid antivax attribute everything to vaccines.

As if people dont get sick before covid vaccines.

This post has been edited by Namelessone1973: Jul 31 2022, 11:01 PM
Lucas0323
post Jul 31 2022, 11:04 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Jul 31 2022, 10:53 PM)

He actually plays himself in this show, a down on his luck actor struggling to cope with his life

I rarely watch ghost horror movie bt cuz this movie directed by juno bt man im impressed cinematography wise. His 1st directed movie too.
SUSElden Ring
post Jul 31 2022, 11:04 PM

24 posts

wanna post that song and bisikul scene but sked coz hurdur time
cms
post Jul 31 2022, 11:12 PM

763 posts

This is quite a good one actually. The plot twist and all.

He's looking much better in this movie also.
party
post Jul 31 2022, 11:14 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(Saitama @ Jul 31 2022, 10:56 PM)
oh dem. r we gon lose another HK OG to cancer?

he been thriving in IQIYI.
Okok..but seems china macam restrictions such movies hence his movies bcome very boring coz those "vampire", supernatural things explained with science ehich defeat the entire reason we r watching them.
Starbucki
post Jul 31 2022, 11:16 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

Looks like good shit.

Parking
ameliorate
post Jul 31 2022, 11:17 PM

370 posts

Dah cucuk pfizer ?
Apa kau merepek ni? Dah makan ubat?

quintesson
post Jul 31 2022, 11:25 PM

566 posts

there are only a few veteran actors left that suit to portray Taoist priest very well.
you won't be able to watch this anymore when they are gone.

This post has been edited by quintesson: Jul 31 2022, 11:26 PM
9m2w
post Aug 1 2022, 08:56 AM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

QUOTE(Lucas0323 @ Jul 31 2022, 11:04 PM)
I rarely watch ghost horror movie bt cuz this movie directed by juno bt man im impressed cinematography wise. His 1st directed movie too.
QUOTE(cms @ Jul 31 2022, 11:12 PM)
This is quite a good one actually. The plot twist and all.

He's looking much better in this movie also.
Yeah quite a good debut for the director. Nice story that doesn't get draggy or bogged down.

Ps what ending you guys got? I got the non twist one, vampire defeated. Some of my friends also watching in local cinema got the it was all a dream ending

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Jul 31 2022, 11:16 PM)
Looks like good shit.

Parking
It's good. No comedy. Scares so so but the characters are compelling. Everyone in that apartment block got a story to tell

Matchy
post Aug 1 2022, 09:04 AM

1,327 posts

he looks like typical uncle now... his brother chin ka lok still look ok.
cms
post Aug 1 2022, 09:18 AM

763 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Aug 1 2022, 08:56 AM)
Yeah quite a good debut for the director. Nice story that doesn't get draggy or bogged down.

Ps what ending you guys got? I got the non twist one, vampire defeated. Some of my friends also watching in local cinema got the it was all a dream ending
It's good. No comedy. Scares so so but the characters are compelling. Everyone in that apartment block got a story to tell
The version I watched the ending was actually the main character's hallucination when he was hanging himself.

After that the MC died and reveal all the other characters' real life character instead of the MC's illusion which incorporated his zombie movie acting past.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Aug 1 2022, 09:20 AM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Jul 31 2022, 11:16 PM)
Looks like good shit.

Parking
This movie is fark up and scary as shit yo.

0.0192sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:18 PM