Car Vibrate & Jerk, RPM fluctuate

TStanalvis
post Jul 31 2022, 12:01 AM, updated 4y ago

472 posts

I m driving Toyota Altis 1.8G, year 2010. After cold start engine, my car will be jerking and vibrating, RPM will fluctuates vigorously. (refer video - taken during reversing)
The Jerking and vibrating will continue for some time (as times goes, it gets less intense), until like maybe 10-15 minutes later, it will like almost gone. By the time i drive to mechanic shop, it feels like ok d, vibration can't be felt.

There will be a bit of jerking and vibrating during stopping at traffic light, very minimal & almost can't feel.

When i plug in my OBD reader, i got 4 sets of code : P0351, P0352, P0353, P0354 (“Ignition Coil ‘A’ Primary/Secondary Circuit Malfunction.” , last digit of the code stands for Circuit A, meaning all 4 circuit facing this issue)

Have carried out the following repairs
1. throttle body cleaning and tuning
2. Replace spark plug
3. Replace engine mounting

Is it ignition coil (YEC Flamma vs Denso?) or ECU
1) Ignition coil (dilemma to choose YEC Flamma or Denso)
2) the wiring of the circuit
3) the connector/socket to the ignition coil
3) ECU /PCM

This post has been edited by tanalvis: Jul 31 2022, 12:13 AM
ktek
post Jul 31 2022, 08:33 AM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

after stable, remove one coil wire (random one at a time).
see which one is similar to problem
therain01
post Jul 31 2022, 08:59 PM

257 posts

It can't be all ignition coil out of order at the same time. There is missfire in the system maybe try to check fuel pressure. You may also try to use fuel line/injector cleaner. Check air intake sensor as well such as maf sensor if it has one
chemistry
post Aug 1 2022, 04:31 AM

3,066 posts

check engine light didnt light up?
speedy3210
post Aug 1 2022, 08:39 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(tanalvis @ Jul 31 2022, 12:01 AM)
I m driving Toyota Altis 1.8G, year 2010. After cold start engine, my car will be jerking and vibrating, RPM will fluctuates vigorously. (refer video - taken during reversing)
The Jerking and vibrating will continue for some time (as times goes, it gets less intense), until like maybe 10-15 minutes later, it will like almost gone. By the time i drive to mechanic shop, it feels like ok d, vibration can't be felt.

There will be a bit of jerking and vibrating during stopping at traffic light, very minimal & almost can't feel.

When i plug in my OBD reader, i got 4 sets of code : P0351, P0352, P0353, P0354 (“Ignition Coil ‘A’ Primary/Secondary Circuit Malfunction.” , last digit of the code stands for Circuit A, meaning all 4 circuit facing this issue)

Have carried out the following repairs
1. throttle body cleaning and tuning
2. Replace spark plug
3. Replace engine mounting

Is it ignition coil (YEC Flamma vs Denso?) or ECU
1) Ignition coil (dilemma to choose YEC Flamma or Denso)
2) the wiring of the circuit
3) the connector/socket to the ignition coil
3) ECU /PCM

Macam sound like vvti solenoid fault. The solenoid controls oil pressure to the vvt actuator(s). So when cold or during startup the valve interfered with the oil pressure buildup needed for vvti to operate normally; hence the poor idle and maybe misfire symptoms happening.

Another question is, are you using the correct oil viscosity for your engine? Some unqualified mechs tend to use overly thick engine oil for VVT engines. Thick oil changes the oil flow and pressure parameters needed for proper vvt operation

Go get it checked.
tctham
post Aug 2 2022, 02:56 PM

653 posts

my colleague's vios also same thing. i don't think he found the solution, he just lived with it. seems to be something somewhat common with toyota?
Chrix
post Aug 2 2022, 04:07 PM

1,188 posts

Long shot, maybe clean the MAF?

So after "warm" or sometime engine running it would smooth out...? Try find halfcut o2 sensor, I guess at this point just throwing parts at the problem.

Did it happen randomly?, not after a notable event like heavy rain, wash engine bay, etc etc

QUOTE(tctham @ Aug 2 2022, 02:56 PM)
my colleague's vios also same thing. i don't think he found the solution, he just lived with it. seems to be something somewhat common with toyota?
sample size of 2 = common ?

bruh
tctham
post Aug 2 2022, 04:15 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Aug 2 2022, 04:07 PM)
Long shot, maybe clean the MAF?

So after "warm" or sometime engine running it would smooth out...? Try find halfcut o2 sensor, I guess at this point just throwing parts at the problem.

Did it happen randomly?, not after a notable event like heavy rain, wash engine bay, etc etc
sample size of 2 = common ?

bruh
alright~ sorry my bad.. i will retract my statement, until i get like 100k sample size first oke~

so far almost all the vios that i have sat before exhibit either mild or serious symptom like this le.

but i only sit before like 4-5 vios only.. so.. take my words with a pinch of salt oke?

thought wanna paste you a few links, of people encountering similar issue

but realize post you google search result better, since there more than 5 threads talking about similar issue
https://www.google.com/search?q=vios+rpm+dr...nt=gws-wiz-serp

one question to TS tanalvis, does the drop occur when the compressor kicks in? if no on a/c, is it better?

This post has been edited by tctham: Aug 2 2022, 04:24 PM
zero5177
post Aug 2 2022, 04:50 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Aug 2 2022, 04:15 PM)
alright~ sorry my bad.. i will retract my statement, until i get like 100k sample size first oke~

so far almost all the vios that i have sat before exhibit either mild or serious symptom like this le.

but i only sit before like 4-5 vios only.. so.. take my words with a pinch of salt oke?

thought wanna paste you a few links, of people encountering similar issue

but realize post you google search result better, since there more than 5 threads talking about similar issue
https://www.google.com/search?q=vios+rpm+dr...nt=gws-wiz-serp

one question to TS tanalvis, does the drop occur when the compressor kicks in? if no on a/c, is it better?
It's common here,

If it was a Toyota, old tech is ok because proven and reliable, any issue is common wear & tear

If it was a Proton any minor issue = Don't settle with low quality car, told you to buy more reliable car like Toyota

TStanalvis
post Aug 2 2022, 08:12 PM

472 posts

Thanks for everyone's help.

So far after changing ignition coil, everything seems ok.

That OBD2 sensor really comes in handy..(like the portable tyre pump, super useful during tyre puncture)
TStanalvis
post Aug 2 2022, 08:12 PM

472 posts

Ops double post. .

This post has been edited by tanalvis: Aug 2 2022, 08:13 PM
bbhing98
post Aug 2 2022, 10:34 PM

271 posts

Driving a camry 2.4 2009 here. Found that after a long drive or intensive/high speed drive, my car will start to misfire at low speed low rpm. Like after going over a road bump, as I want to accelerate, I will feel the car is powerless for a moment, then only the engine kick in with a sudden jump in rpm, causing a jerk to the whole car.

Tried to read from the ODB scanner on a normal day, it didn't show any error code at all, whether related to ignition coil or not. I found that it only happens after a long drive or a high speed and high rpm drive. What should I do ya?
TStanalvis
post Aug 2 2022, 10:52 PM

472 posts

Can only advise change from cheap spare parts / maintenance
1) spark plug, cabin filter , engine air filter
2) atf filter & atf oil
3) throttle body cleaning, air flow sensor cleaning
4) ignition coil
5) fuel filter
6)o2 sensor
7) ECU /PCM setting or replacement (vry unlikely)
8) engine mounting (very unlikely)

This post has been edited by tanalvis: Aug 2 2022, 10:57 PM

0.0170sec    1.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:48 AM