Big wheel small wheel bike

TSWH4CockcooBird
post Jul 30 2022, 10:15 PM, updated 4y ago

194 posts

Many old sifu bikers were telling me noob this when I am pondering what bike to get.

They say go for bigger wheel, don't go for small wheel scooter, cornering not good.

I ask why, but they can't describe more.

Hence I am posting here to ask sifu sifu here if you have any insight to such advises on wheel size.
mi-g
post Jul 30 2022, 10:36 PM

Part-time Troll
1,501 posts

good read here - https://www.msi.org.za/scooter-wheels/

one of the important points
Ever used roller blades or a skateboard? Not much fun when those little wheels jam on a pebble and throw you down is it? Well, the same applies to scooter wheels. Small wheels transmit bumps and jolts to the rider much more severely than larger ones do. The larger the wheel the larger an object it can roll over without ill effect. Larger wheeled scooters also seem to have a bit more ground clearance for cornering and a slightly larger contact patch on the road (Although some small wheels have obscenely wide tyres like the Yamaha Bee Wizz and PGO T-Rex).

and to add my own experience, i've been riding both scooters (gilera/mz moskito 125/etc) and 100cc-150cc mopeds (y15/rs150/ex5), its difference is quite obvious when cornering, due to difference of tyres used

This post has been edited by mi-g: Jul 30 2022, 10:40 PM
ZZR-Pilot
post Jul 31 2022, 12:29 AM

1,057 posts

Having reduced gyroscopic effect means smaller wheels are great for maneuvering thru urban traffic. Trade-off is that they might get twitchy at very high speeds & they can't really deal with road imperfections & obstacles.

Bigger wheels will deal with surface imperfections & obstacles better, making them great for off-road capable bikes. Trade off is that they're not as easy to wing thru dense traffic & can feel a little disconnected at high speeds.

The industry has decided that 16"-17" wheels seem to be a good compromise between the two.
TSWH4CockcooBird
post Jul 31 2022, 11:10 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(mi-g @ Jul 30 2022, 10:36 PM)
one of the important points
and to add my own experience, i've been riding both scooters (gilera/mz moskito 125/etc) and 100cc-150cc mopeds (y15/rs150/ex5), its difference is quite obvious when cornering, due to difference of tyres used
QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jul 31 2022, 12:29 AM)
Having reduced gyroscopic effect means smaller wheels are great for maneuvering thru urban traffic. Trade-off is that they might get twitchy at very high speeds & they can't really deal with road imperfections & obstacles.

Bigger wheels will deal with surface imperfections & obstacles better, making them great for off-road capable bikes. Trade off is that they're not as easy to wing thru dense traffic & can feel a little disconnected at high speeds.

The industry has decided that 16"-17" wheels seem to be a good compromise between the two.
In summary:
- Cornering speed advantage large wheel
- Urban traffic advantage small wheel
- Ground clearance advantage large wheel.

Thanks guys.

I think I am ok with scooter wheels because:
- I don't speed, santai rider only. 80-100km cruising.
- I don't corner like GP bikes, I think the most 70 degree leaning.
- I go tapao food a lot

Roadwarrior1337
post Jul 31 2022, 11:13 AM

979 posts

Using my own personal experience skateboarding I toyed with using rollerblade wheels as opposed to skate board wheels

Few things on larger wheels
1) bump and pebbles just roll over no issue
2) smoother overall ride
3) very sketchy manouverability - easily buang

alexei
post Aug 1 2022, 09:10 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Jul 31 2022, 11:10 AM)
In summary:
- Cornering speed advantage large wheel
- Urban traffic advantage small wheel
- Ground clearance advantage large wheel.

Thanks guys.

I think I am ok with scooter wheels because:
- I don't speed, santai rider only. 80-100km cruising.
- I go tapao food a lot
it's wheel size, rim size is just part of it
there are scooters with small rim diameter but bigger or equal tire size like 17 rim, imagine maxi scooters with 140~150 tire on 13 inch rims
a small scooter with 90/80-14 it is a small wheel

depends on the road condition, a bigger diameter will definitely give better comfort and safety
bigger wheel handle poor road conditions better - safer and easier ride
- potholes, bumps, gravel, metal covers, drain covers, white lines

80-100km is fast - try emergency braking on uneven road you will know
also, it is easier to 'endo' a scooter example below, at around 5 second

Quazacolt
post Aug 1 2022, 09:23 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Jul 31 2022, 11:10 AM)
that one Marc Marquez MM93 pun tak sampai oh shocking.gif
if you count those crash saves with a leg in the air bike totally scraping the track ady, i think he gotten 70 or 71 la... lol.
ArmFix
post Aug 1 2022, 10:59 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Jul 30 2022, 10:15 PM)
Many old sifu bikers were telling me noob this when I am pondering what bike to get.

They say go for bigger wheel, don't go for small wheel scooter, cornering not good.

I ask why, but they can't describe more.

Hence I am posting here to ask sifu sifu here if you have any insight to such advises on wheel size.
Hi TS, Currently I'm owning 2 scooter Sym200 and SymTL500 with 130/70 and 160/60 for rear tyre and got not problem for cornering. Daily i ride around 140KM and so far I'm barely notice any different interm both of the tyre performance. However, make sure to get suitable tyre for ride whether for long distance or just simple use. And as been explained by the sifus here, bigger tyre provide more stability but it's more heavy if you planning to cilok2 in crowded traffic.

TSWH4CockcooBird
post Aug 1 2022, 11:12 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 1 2022, 09:23 AM)
that one Marc Marquez MM93 pun tak sampai oh  shocking.gif
if you count those crash saves with a leg in the air bike totally scraping the track ady, i think he gotten 70 or 71 la... lol.
Hahahaha... my mistake.. noob I am to bike.

I thought upright = 90 degree but just realized biking world use 0 degree as upright.

So I stand corrected, the most I think I lean is 30 degree laaaah.

Bohlanpa ..
Quazacolt
post Aug 1 2022, 11:19 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Aug 1 2022, 11:12 AM)
Hahahaha... my mistake.. noob I am to bike.

I thought upright = 90 degree but just realized biking world use 0 degree as upright.

So I stand corrected, the most I think I lean is 30 degree laaaah.

Bohlanpa ..
yes start from 0.

30ish degrees can drag knees already tongue.gif
(i am that bohlanpa knee dragger lol)
megahertz
post Aug 1 2022, 03:33 PM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

i got both scooter and sportbike

scooter nmax
-150cc/ with tire 13inch rim, 110/70 front and 130/70 back

sporbike r25
- 250cc with tire 17inch rim, 120/70 front and 140/60 back

- tried corning at ulu yam/genting, karak/bukit frazer with my scooter , its good feeling, but you need to find good tire and suspension. then u can layan corner like pro. but the problem with skuter is the low clearance, so when you corner at max angle, ur tongkat/eksos might drag on tar road, which is not ideal. luckily after i change to other tire shape like Pirelli angel GT, its non issue for me anymore.

for r25, because it hv 17inch rim, high clearance, can corner more angle because its design for it.

as for the suspension, scooter normally at the back hv double absorber, short fork infront.
compare to normal sportbike hv mono suspension with USD fork.. these suspension also play important part when cornering.

plus 17Inch is better when u go rough road, pothole etc, that why most of the adventure or offroad bike hv bigger wheel. like 19, even 21inch.
TSWH4CockcooBird
post Aug 2 2022, 08:42 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 1 2022, 11:19 AM)
yes start from 0.

30ish degrees can drag knees already tongue.gif
(i am that bohlanpa knee dragger lol)
hahahaha... always kiap my knees and lanpa on the bike when cornering...

QUOTE(megahertz @ Aug 1 2022, 03:33 PM)
i got both scooter  and sportbike

scooter  nmax
-150cc/ with tire 13inch rim, 110/70 front and 130/70 back

sporbike r25
- 250cc with tire 17inch rim, 120/70 front and 140/60 back

- tried corning at ulu yam/genting, karak/bukit frazer with my scooter  , its good feeling, but you need to find good tire and suspension. then u can layan corner like pro. but the problem with skuter is the low clearance, so when you corner at max angle, ur tongkat/eksos might drag on tar road, which is not ideal. luckily after i change to other tire shape like Pirelli angel GT, its non issue for me anymore.

for r25, because it hv 17inch rim, high clearance, can corner more angle because its design for it.

as for the suspension, scooter  normally at the back hv double absorber, short fork infront.
compare to normal sportbike hv mono suspension with USD fork.. these suspension also play important part when cornering. 

plus 17Inch is better when u go rough road, pothole etc, that why most of the adventure or offroad bike hv bigger wheel. like 19, even 21inch.
My scooter also corners quite well with my noob experience.
Ulu Yam is frequent ride not to pek corner but ride as necessity.
Hence I kept pondering this advise from sifu sekalian.

Seeing the scientific part of it, but don't feel that it's affecting my riding much.

Cilok part is good with my scooter.

looks like it's perfectly ok for me not to go for big bike
tongue.gif

0.0185sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:46 AM