need some opinion

TSKlsa
post Jul 28 2022, 03:54 PM, updated 4y ago

243 posts

hi all,

got headhunter called for job and attended the virtual interview, however I'm a bit hold back due to the company business is about online g*mbling...they are hiring for content writer & translator

attend the interview cz the headhunter said it involves the sector mentioned but they didn't know is a full business focus in that industry.

compared to current job, the pros below:
- 14AL, now only 12 days & earn by mth (no flexibility)
- have dental & vision claim
-nearer distance to commute, office in MV (current office in Puchong and I stay in cheras)
- claim for Internet,equipment due to wfh

cons:
- online g*mbling industry
- to market into msia segment
- more write up (current role, only plan and oversee because have teammate to settle write up and design)
Baconateer
post Jul 28 2022, 03:57 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

Online gambling is illegal in Malaysia.

Since this is a Malaysia-based company, technically it is an illegal job.
H3artBreakKid
post Jul 28 2022, 04:03 PM

💔💔💔
455 posts

Shady af, would avoid at all costs if I'm you
DSV4600
post Jul 28 2022, 04:03 PM

432 posts

Putting ethics aside, my question/comments to you is:
1) Think of your own rice bowl first. Are you career oriented / money oriented? I'm not sure putting an online gambling company on your resume will help in your future career path.
2) How is your educational qualifications? Is it good? Allows you to apply for better jobs? Or do you have to aim for whatever job you can get?
3) Maybe would be good to just attend the interview first to get more insights?
4) Technically, you don't have an option to leave your current company unless you get an official job offer from this new company. So better to keep an open mind first.
akhito
post Jul 28 2022, 04:05 PM

749 posts

Let me reiterate again online gambling is illegal in Malaysia. Please helps urself and find another job. It would be very troublesome if u get caught. also there is no way the company will register their business properly
cassian948
post Jul 28 2022, 04:07 PM

931 posts

If the company is not properly registered, then your career isn't secured.
digitalz
post Jul 28 2022, 04:19 PM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

This is the tricky part. I understand that its an online gambling company but there are quite a number of tech companies that deal with the tech side for these companies in MY and those are considered "legal".

Lately some of these companies are growing and they are asking the recruitment companies to headhunt for various roles. Few people that I know got headhunted for various roles with quite good $ but the downside... its still an gambling company.
TSKlsa
post Jul 28 2022, 04:21 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jul 28 2022, 03:57 PM)
Online gambling is illegal in Malaysia.

Since this is a Malaysia-based company, technically it is an illegal job.
yup I know bro and the person who interviewed me also said that they know it is not allowed however they are serving such client and their ads placement is currently not in msia but like hk Macau..thx for advice!

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Jul 28 2022, 04:03 PM)
Putting ethics aside, my question/comments to you is:
1) Think of your own rice bowl first. Are you career oriented / money oriented? I'm not sure putting an online gambling company on your resume will help in your future career path.
2) How is your educational qualifications? Is it good? Allows you to apply for better jobs? Or do you have to aim for whatever job you can get?
3) Maybe would be good to just attend the interview first to get more insights?
4) Technically, you don't have an option to leave your current company unless you get an official job offer from this new company. So better to keep an open mind first.
of cz the person said it did be impressive to work with them due to the sector...my edu is only at diploma and most of the time ppl look at my experiences first, attended the virtual interview that's why I came here haha...anything or question that you would suggest me to ask if they are offering me?

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Jul 28 2022, 04:07 PM)
If the company is not properly registered, then your career isn't secured.
they are registered...in their website they said provide service for app,software and game development
TSKlsa
post Jul 28 2022, 04:25 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Jul 28 2022, 04:19 PM)
This is the tricky part. I understand that its an online gambling company but there are quite a number of tech companies that deal with the tech side for these companies in MY and those are considered "legal".

Lately some of these companies are growing and they are asking the recruitment companies to headhunt for various roles. Few people that I know got headhunted for various roles with quite good $ but the downside... its still an gambling company.
on side the company also did virtual sports but yeah just that they serve such client...What could be the problem/consequences to face being an employee in there? how are your those fren doing in there or did they accept the offer?
lalakiki
post Jul 28 2022, 04:31 PM

452 posts

actually is depends what you think about it

This post has been edited by lalakiki: Jul 28 2022, 04:34 PM
TSKlsa
post Jul 28 2022, 04:39 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(lalakiki @ Jul 28 2022, 04:31 PM)
actually is depends what you think about it
what would you advise or you think?
dudester
post Jul 28 2022, 04:43 PM

1,229 posts

You need job security. If you are a risk taker, is it worth the risk, are they offering you 50-100% more then your current?

lalakiki
post Jul 28 2022, 04:45 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Klsa @ Jul 28 2022, 04:39 PM)
what would you advise or you think?
previously i also did come from this kind of company where their benefits quite good and their salary good too.

TSKlsa
post Jul 28 2022, 04:50 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Jul 28 2022, 04:43 PM)
You need job security. If you are a risk taker, is it worth the risk, are they offering you 50-100% more then your current?
tbh I'm not sure how much they willing to offer but I know the risk u are saying as it may end up with legal consequences...thx bro!! appreciate ur sharing

QUOTE(lalakiki @ Jul 28 2022, 04:45 PM)
previously i also did come from this kind of company where their benefits quite good and their salary good too.
ohh really? mind to share how is it working with such company and how long u serve in there or reason leaving
zuozi
post Jul 28 2022, 04:58 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(Klsa @ Jul 28 2022, 03:54 PM)
hi all,

got headhunter called for job and attended the virtual interview, however I'm a bit hold back due to the company business is about online g*mbling...they are hiring for content writer & translator

attend the interview cz the headhunter said it involves the sector mentioned but they didn't know is a full business focus in that industry.
compared to current job, the pros below:
- 14AL, now only 12 days & earn by mth (no flexibility)
- have dental & vision claim
-nearer distance to commute, office in MV (current office in Puchong and I stay in cheras)
- claim for Internet,equipment due to wfh

cons:
- online g*mbling industry
- to market into msia segment
- more write up (current role, only plan and oversee because have teammate to settle write up and design)
Last time doing a similar job for part time but won't last long the life is sucks but is good since you have no time to use money unless you addicted to gambling

Happened on 30 year ago if can try to avoid or make sure you are safe to do so

Current era not sure how it's work

My time Gambling illegal industry either part time or full time as long you young enough 5 hour sleep

I'm the lucky one I guess boss provide a apartment with maid for cooking, laundry and etc not for sleep with you type don't think too much

The rest are long wall of text click if you want to read

This post has been edited by zuozi: Jul 28 2022, 05:05 PM
lalakiki
post Jul 28 2022, 05:07 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Klsa @ Jul 28 2022, 04:50 PM)
ohh really? mind to share how is it working with such company and how long u serve in there or reason leaving
due to im on infra or support role, so 24x7x365 and i only the one in the department. so quite suffer and not more then a year i leave the company.... the company aso require work on public holiday if the holiday fall on weekdays.

This post has been edited by lalakiki: Jul 28 2022, 05:08 PM
TSKlsa
post Jul 28 2022, 05:16 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jul 28 2022, 04:58 PM)
Last time doing a similar job for part time but won't last long the life is sucks but is good  since you have no time to use money unless you addicted to gambling

Happened on 30 year ago if can try to avoid or make sure you are safe to do so

Current era not sure how it's work

My time Gambling illegal industry either part time or full time as long you young enough 5 hour sleep

I'm the lucky one I guess boss provide a apartment with maid for cooking, laundry and etc not for sleep with you type don't think too much

The rest are long wall of text click if you want to read

QUOTE(lalakiki @ Jul 28 2022, 05:07 PM)
due to im on infra or support role, so 24x7x365 and i only the one in the department. so quite suffer and not more then a year i leave the company.... the company aso require work on public holiday if the holiday fall on weekdays.
thanks bros...so far they told me is normal working hours and days so maybe I can ask further later on...they also told me to ask my fam if they are ok with the industry that I will work for...I will keep open minded first and see what they say further if I'm selected...appreciate ur sharing
digitalz
post Jul 28 2022, 06:02 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(Klsa @ Jul 28 2022, 04:25 PM)
on side the company also did virtual sports but yeah just that they serve such client...What could be the problem/consequences to face being an employee in there? how are your those fren doing in there or did they accept the offer?
Well, it depends on what services they actually provide in the company. If its only on the tech side and nothing breaches the law, then it will be less issue.

None of my friends went in. Myself included. However, I do need to say that the headhunter offered quite a good package though (+ in salary, monthly claims; wfh etc).

However, it'll be tricky after you joined... how will you put list it in your CV when you are aiming for your next jump? That was one of the biggest consideration. Also, how will your F&F feel or how should you explain it to others? That's what put all of us off from joining any of them.
TSKlsa
post Jul 29 2022, 10:01 AM

243 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Jul 28 2022, 06:02 PM)
Well, it depends on what services they actually provide in the company. If its only on the tech side and nothing breaches the law, then it will be less issue.

None of my friends went in. Myself included. However, I do need to say that the headhunter offered quite a good package though (+ in salary, monthly claims; wfh etc).

However, it'll be tricky after you joined... how will you put list it in your CV when you are aiming for your next jump? That was one of the biggest consideration. Also, how will your F&F feel or how should you explain it to others? That's what put all of us off from joining any of them.
thanks bro...eventually they have a website about it and yeah they are opening to marketing and engagement which they know is hard due to the business industry involved..understand it would be hard for cv in future jump...well thanks for ur advice and I know what to do about it
digitalz
post Jul 29 2022, 10:38 AM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(Klsa @ Jul 29 2022, 10:01 AM)
thanks bro...eventually they have a website about it and yeah they are opening to marketing and engagement which they know is hard due to the business industry involved..understand it would be hard for cv in future jump...well thanks for ur advice and I know what to do about it
The ones that approached has fancy websites ya. IT co sites so yours is a bit tricky for now. Just think what's the best for yourself and move forward from there. Good luck!

0.0173sec    2.01    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:06 PM