Vivo X80/X80 pro

TSkidmad
post Jul 28 2022, 10:28 AM, updated 3y ago

4,482 posts

Yo! pretty surprise that there's not a single thread about Vivo X series phones. Getting my hands on the latest Vivo X80 really wanted to test out their v1 chipset since the X70 pro+. Any other owners here in the forum?

Spec sheets for X80 pro

Spec sheets for X80

Owners of X80

This post has been edited by kidmad: Jul 28 2022, 10:29 AM
lambox105
post Jul 28 2022, 09:01 PM

1,443 posts

Any vivo flagship owners use more than 2 years phone still alive?
ChuanHong
post Jul 28 2022, 09:55 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 28 2022, 10:28 AM)
Yo! pretty surprise that there's not a single thread about Vivo X series phones. Getting my hands on the latest Vivo X80 really wanted to test out their v1 chipset since the X70 pro+. Any other owners here in the forum?

Spec sheets for X80 pro

Spec sheets for X80

Owners of X80
did u get the phone? share some of your personal experience here then..
TSkidmad
post Jul 28 2022, 10:58 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Jul 28 2022, 09:55 PM)
did u get the phone? share some of your personal experience here then..
otw, gotten the import set needed something with 512gb rom. so share more once gotten it.
cskean
post Jul 30 2022, 10:43 AM

2,551 posts

Lately I'm also looking into Iqoo phones, which is a sub brand of Vivo in China.

And I found out that Vivo is having different OS for their China & Global phones. China set is using OriginOs & Global set uses Funtouch Os.

China set tend to have better spec, but there are some drawbacks with the OriginOs if use outside of China. One of the issue is notification delay for whatsapp, wechat, telegram, messenger, fb and so on, usually apps that installed out of their own app store will be affected with this problem.

Other than this, some also claim that unable to use Android Auto, no location history in Google Map.

Hopefully can learn some workaround from this thread, then I can proceed to buy the Iqoo phone which won't be available officially in Malaysia...
TSkidmad
post Aug 6 2022, 10:05 PM

4,482 posts

Okay received the phone.. so far liking it.. it's hard to give my verdict on the first day using it but overall it's looking good.

The themes etc kinda suck for this funtouch is.. but that's fine... Camera so far okay but clunky implementation for some of their features.. hope they improve it.
ChuanHong
post Aug 6 2022, 11:52 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Aug 6 2022, 10:05 PM)
Okay received the phone.. so far liking it.. it's hard to give my verdict on the first day using it but overall it's looking good.

The themes etc kinda suck for this funtouch is.. but that's fine... Camera so far okay but clunky implementation for some of their features.. hope they improve it.
One thing to check. Since they target mainly for camera usage.. if you try to use the zoom lens at darker condition, it isn't really using the zoom lens or back to main lens with digital zoom?! How to test it? Basically cover the zoom lens and check whether could see anything on camera viewfinder.. o
TSkidmad
post Aug 7 2022, 05:36 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 6 2022, 11:52 PM)
One thing to check. Since they target mainly for camera usage.. if you try to use the zoom lens at darker condition, it isn't really using the zoom lens or back to main lens with digital zoom?! How to test it? Basically cover the zoom lens and check whether could see anything on camera viewfinder.. o
Okay interesting... It needs both main and zoom lens.. the moment i cover main I see my finger color tone.. surprise it wasn't pitch black... When I cover zoom it's blurry as hell.. camera gets pitch black for a moment basically you can't really get a clean image without both lens. Nice one there.

ChuanHong
post Aug 8 2022, 12:27 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Aug 7 2022, 05:36 AM)
Okay interesting... It needs both main and zoom lens.. the moment i cover main I see my finger color tone.. surprise it wasn't pitch black... When I cover zoom it's blurry as hell.. camera gets pitch black for a moment basically you can't really get a clean image without both lens. Nice one there.
Thanks.. meaning there are some computing backend to deliver a zoom photos by having main and telephoto lens instead of just telephoto lens..

I guess major Chinese manufacturer are doing with this approach and sometime zoom photos doesn't looks good but sometime they are.. hmmm.. thanks.. hope to see you share more about this phone in near future..
mazmanms
post Aug 8 2022, 12:32 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(lambox105 @ Jul 28 2022, 09:01 PM)
Any vivo flagship owners use more than 2 years phone still alive?

vivo x60 pro user still strong ...
TSkidmad
post Aug 8 2022, 09:17 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 8 2022, 12:27 AM)
Thanks.. meaning there are some computing backend to deliver a zoom photos by having main and telephoto lens instead of just telephoto lens..

I guess major Chinese manufacturer are doing with this approach and sometime zoom photos doesn't looks good but sometime they are.. hmmm.. thanks.. hope to see you share more about this phone in near future..
yeah can say so..
hurm.. indeed i can say there is significant difference when it comes to zoom. Of course i could only compare with S21 FE. Do not have an S21/S22 Ultra but it won't be fair to compare them with an ultra as well right?

Anyway for those who wants to buy new X80 at RM2800 can reach out to here. GRRRR too bad i bought my CN variant from Jojo Tech.

it seems like there's alot others who are selling them at RM2500 2nd hand as well. Pretty soon lazada is going to sell it at RM2k again. haha

This post has been edited by kidmad: Aug 8 2022, 09:19 AM
TSkidmad
post Aug 8 2022, 09:20 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(mazmanms @ Aug 8 2022, 12:32 AM)
loving it? the only phone which i could hold > 12 months is my huawei P30 pro. Hopefully this will be as good.
lambox105
post Aug 8 2022, 09:39 AM

1,443 posts

Wow

U remember my friends v### Nam Nam 2 years GG
muncheno
post Aug 8 2022, 09:42 AM

736 posts

Same here X60 user.
I do agreed that Funtouch OS is abit below par.
Not as friendly nor a lot functionally build on top of android OS.

Additionally, I have removed few bloatware when I 1st received the phone.

This post has been edited by muncheno: Aug 8 2022, 09:44 AM
muncheno
post Aug 8 2022, 09:43 AM

736 posts

Doubled posts here.
Sorry

This post has been edited by muncheno: Aug 8 2022, 09:43 AM
TSkidmad
post Aug 8 2022, 09:47 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ Aug 8 2022, 09:42 AM)
Same here X60 user.
No as friendly nor alot functionally build on top of android OS.

after few days of using it i'm starting to like it though. haha not much options to get themes and yada yada.. just pure basic.

Apparently all their themes you have to pay for it. Unlike the others where you have free options.
mazmanms
post Aug 8 2022, 12:39 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Aug 8 2022, 09:20 AM)
loving it? the only phone which i could hold > 12 months is my huawei P30 pro. Hopefully this will be as good.
not me .. my wife .. she luv it so much .. no complain ... even not asking to change phone (before using S***** phone)
mazmanms
post Aug 8 2022, 12:41 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ Aug 8 2022, 09:42 AM)
Same here X60 user.
Not as friendly nor a lot functionally build on top of android OS.

a good setup of camera .. both selfie and back camera .. gimbal ... it is a great phone ... no complain much on Funtouch OS .. as my wife is a lite user.

mazmanms
post Aug 8 2022, 12:50 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(lambox105 @ Aug 8 2022, 09:39 AM)
Wow

U remember my friends v### Nam Nam 2 years GG
might be my wife lite user .. no issue what so ever
biscoot P
post Aug 9 2022, 01:33 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Aug 6 2022, 10:05 PM)

tot u bought cn set il, it come with origin os right?
TSkidmad
post Aug 9 2022, 01:40 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(biscoot @ Aug 9 2022, 01:33 PM)
tot u bought cn set il, it come with origin os right?
Oh yeah mine is a different perhaps that's the reason..

Anyway I'm okay with it can't change themes, not even fonts. Hahaha. Can only use stock what you see is what you get.

Anyways can just load other launcher if I wanted to.
biscoot P
post Aug 9 2022, 02:09 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Aug 9 2022, 01:40 PM)
Oh yeah mine is a different perhaps that's the reason..

Anyway I'm okay with it can't change themes, not even fonts. Hahaha. Can only use stock what you see is what you get.

Anyways can just load other launcher if I wanted to.
hahah ok ..
so how's the camera dept perform?
TSkidmad
post Aug 9 2022, 02:38 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(biscoot @ Aug 9 2022, 02:09 PM)
hahah ok ..
so how's the camera dept perform?
Impressed impressed I was taking pictures of my baby girl night time both front facing and back the camera impressed me. It's still not close to my Fuji camera but it's really good enough. it's camera capability is much better than s21 night time.. but when comes to day time I can say they are more of less the same.. Zeiss is just gimmick.

I'll try to get out more and take some shots before sharing with you guys..

One thing disappointed me is the cinematic video.. fking crap.. overall video department it's still lacking compared to iphone be it 12/13.

This post has been edited by kidmad: Aug 9 2022, 02:50 PM
biscoot P
post Aug 12 2022, 10:49 AM

Probation
19 posts

manage to test x80pro camera last night.between this 2 , which one u guys think is good one ?

1-Attached Image

2-Attached Image
TSkidmad
post Aug 12 2022, 11:01 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(biscoot @ Aug 12 2022, 10:49 AM)
manage to test x80pro camera last night.between this 2 , which one u guys think is good one ?

2nd one the rocks has much detail, in fact the dark scenery did not have that much artifact. hehe your using the pro version... there is a gcam port for it right?
biscoot P
post Aug 12 2022, 11:17 AM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Aug 12 2022, 11:01 AM)
2nd one the rocks has much detail, in fact the dark scenery did not have that much artifact. hehe your using the pro version... there is a gcam port for it right?
haha ya pro version that i got for non pro price 😜
i try agc port but laggy & keep force close.
btw 2nd one is using night mode & 1st using zeiss mode

SUSnoos
post Aug 18 2022, 08:46 AM

577 posts

Anyone know what others flashcharge speed did X80 Pro support other than 80W?
Vivo previous flashcharge got 66w, 44w, 33w
Thinking of buying another charger to put at office but 80W charger is too exp.....

This post has been edited by noos: Aug 18 2022, 08:47 AM
biscoot P
post Aug 25 2022, 02:24 PM

Probation
19 posts

x80p got update 😬
Maknusia
post Aug 25 2022, 02:34 PM

997 posts

QUOTE(biscoot @ Aug 12 2022, 10:49 AM)

1-Attached Image

2-Attached Image
Yeah the second one is nice. Just checking when you switch between camera mode, is there any lag and how about when you zoom in/out?

Did you try the IR control in the camera, does it list most of the device to add on to control?

Recently I tried my friends Samsung S22, the camera department seems to be lagging when I switch mode, not sure why, but she mentioned thats normal for samsung...hmmm
biscoot P
post Aug 26 2022, 07:09 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Aug 25 2022, 02:34 PM)
Yeah the second one is nice. Just checking when you switch between camera mode, is there any lag and how about when you zoom in/out?

Did you try the IR control in the camera, does it list most of the device to add on to control?

Recently I tried my friends Samsung S22, the camera department seems to be lagging when I switch mode, not sure why, but she mentioned thats normal for samsung...hmmm
i feel the camera apps kinda responsive .wish i can upload the video for u to see 😅
puppylove888
post Aug 29 2022, 04:17 PM

75 posts

anybody have push msg delay
eg whatsapp msg delay by 10 min or only appear when i click whatsapp icon ?
is like msg do not come in instantly
mbbvic
post Aug 29 2022, 07:46 PM

63 posts

Very tempted
meiyi
post Aug 29 2022, 08:26 PM

1,403 posts

QUOTE(puppylove888 @ Aug 29 2022, 04:17 PM)
Maybe you can try set the app notification to top priority.
TSkidmad
post Aug 29 2022, 09:46 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(puppylove888 @ Aug 29 2022, 04:17 PM)
Not for my case.. battery saver mode on?

QUOTE(mbbvic @ Aug 29 2022, 07:46 PM)
Very tempted
Just get it especially if you need a reliable camera at hand.. damn the camera system is so far impressive in my books.
mbbvic
post Aug 30 2022, 08:07 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Aug 29 2022, 09:46 PM)
Just get it especially if you need a reliable camera at hand.. damn the camera system is so far impressive in my books.
phillip88
post Sep 1 2022, 07:39 AM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

Hi, if you have Samsung flagship and Vivo X80/Pro, how's the update frequency between these two?

Personally I think Samsung updates their devices quite frequently, so I'd like to hear about X80/Pro's update policy.

I've read this Article, and it says:
"The phone ships with Android 12 and FunTouch OS, which is far from my favourite Android skin around – and might just be one of the worst.

It feels like Xiaomi and Oppo’s software did three or four years ago, with a slew of pre-installed software, strange default settings, and aggressive battery optimisation.

The bloatware is the biggest flaw: no phone this expensive should feel this cheap when you set it up, but it’s hard not to have that impression when your app drawer is immediately filled with a host of Vivo apps you don’t want along with third-party offerings like Grab or Agoda
""

Would like to know if you experience this, before making my decision.

This post has been edited by phillip88: Sep 1 2022, 07:42 AM
TSkidmad
post Sep 1 2022, 08:09 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(phillip88 @ Sep 1 2022, 07:39 AM)
Hi, if you have Samsung flagship and Vivo X80/Pro, how's the update frequency between these two?

Personally I think Samsung updates their devices quite frequently, so I'd like to hear about X80/Pro's update policy.

I've read this Article, and it says:
"The phone ships with Android 12 and FunTouch OS, which is far from my favourite Android skin around – and might just be one of the worst.

It feels like Xiaomi and Oppo’s software did three or four years ago, with a slew of pre-installed software, strange default settings, and aggressive battery optimisation.

The bloatware is the biggest flaw: no phone this expensive should feel this cheap when you set it up, but it’s hard not to have that impression when your app drawer is immediately filled with a host of Vivo apps you don’t want along with third-party offerings like Grab or Agoda
""

Would like to know if you experience this, before making my decision.
Update ain't that great.. so far open box till now only a single update. But I'm only a fan for vulnerability update. If phone is working fine why fix it?

And bloatware just turn off recommended apps.. there's just a few vivo app left and I don't touch them. As mentioned this phone is pretty close to stock. Wish they could just remove their own app store, game center for the hoo has function turning off stuff and boosting for you and themes. Another app which is called vivo I think it's essential.. that's your warranty apparently.
phillip88
post Sep 1 2022, 08:55 AM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Sep 1 2022, 08:09 AM)
Update ain't that great.. so far open box till now only a single update. But I'm only a fan for vulnerability update. If phone is working fine why fix it?

And bloatware just turn off recommended apps.. there's just a few vivo app left and I don't touch them. As mentioned this phone is pretty close to stock. Wish they could just remove their own app store, game center for the hoo has function turning off stuff and boosting for you and themes. Another app which is called vivo I think it's essential.. that's your warranty apparently.
Thanks. Basically it needs some tweaking and it's good to go. Alright.
TSkidmad
post Sep 1 2022, 09:55 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(phillip88 @ Sep 1 2022, 08:55 AM)
Thanks. Basically it needs some tweaking and it's good to go. Alright.
yeah... can say so.

Anyway the same actually goes to the other chinese phones.
Treepex
post Sep 1 2022, 02:22 PM

-
1,704 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 28 2022, 10:28 AM)
tried to come here do some homework / research / comment before buying x60 pro+

i think very less X series user here, i think even less when it come to CN unit pro+ version

anyway, bought 2nd hand, and happy with the camera
TSkidmad
post Sep 1 2022, 03:13 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(Treepex @ Sep 1 2022, 02:22 PM)
tried to come here do some homework / research / comment before buying x60 pro+

i think very less X series user here, i think even less when it come to CN unit pro+ version

anyway, bought 2nd hand, and happy with the camera
indeed! owh second hand is well worth it.. saw a few unit going for below RM2.8k.. X80 not the pro+.
droidtrix
post Sep 10 2022, 04:37 PM

Addicted to ANDROID
4,853 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Sep 1 2022, 03:13 PM)
indeed! owh second hand is well worth it.. saw a few unit going for below RM2.8k.. X80 not the pro+.
i just brought second hand RM2.5k for X80 , well must its really worth it..

This post has been edited by droidtrix: Sep 10 2022, 04:38 PM
TSkidmad
post Sep 11 2022, 11:48 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(droidtrix @ Sep 10 2022, 04:37 PM)
i just brought second hand RM2.5k for X80 , well must its really worth it..
How's the experience so far? I'm loving it.

Now I'm tempted with the whole apple pay hype though.. which our phone have something like that.. at least if we are using Samsung if has Samsung pay.
VeeJay
post Sep 18 2022, 12:31 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Aug 29 2022, 09:46 PM)
Does it really gets very hot, say that you play youtube for 2hrs or video shooting or keep the screen on?

biscoot P
post Sep 18 2022, 09:06 PM

Probation
19 posts

got new update for x80p weight 5.91gb 😵‍💫
biscoot P
post Sep 18 2022, 09:19 PM

Probation
19 posts

TSkidmad
post Sep 19 2022, 10:06 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Sep 18 2022, 12:31 AM)
Does it really gets very hot, say that you play youtube for 2hrs or video shooting or keep the screen on?

watch movie or youtube for 2 hours no problem la.. but if you do video shooting especially on 4k what device will also turn hot. i think have been shooting short clips of my daughter for 1-2 minutes so far no heating problem yet. have not tried those 10 minutes or so.

QUOTE(biscoot @ Sep 18 2022, 09:06 PM)
got new update for x80p weight 5.91gb 😵‍💫
wow your update also pretty frequent ah. previously after you mentioned you had yours it took mine around 2-3 weeks before i had an update. let's see if i would have one in the near future.
biscoot P
post Sep 19 2022, 01:20 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Sep 19 2022, 10:06 AM)
wow your update also pretty frequent ah. previously after you mentioned you had yours it took mine around 2-3 weeks before i had an update. let's see if i would have one in the near future.
u try check via trial version .i just syok² check there & walla got update.maybe got update for x80 too 😉
SUSnoos
post Sep 23 2022, 09:26 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(biscoot @ Sep 18 2022, 09:19 PM)
Did this new upgrade improve the battery life?
Mine still on 12.0.12.5, I only getting merely 4 hrs SOT when my phone left 20%..... sad.gif
ChuanHong
post Sep 23 2022, 10:56 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

i tried comparison between this vs my Xperia phone, indoor photos looks a bit washed out a bit.. but details is good especially corner edge.. Can have some sample for reference here..

https://photos.app.goo.gl/48gZCLe9KiLbSHGr5
Maknusia
post Sep 23 2022, 11:20 AM

997 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Sep 23 2022, 10:56 AM)
i tried comparison between this vs my Xperia phone, indoor photos looks a bit washed out a bit.. but details is good especially corner edge.. Can have some sample for reference here..

https://photos.app.goo.gl/48gZCLe9KiLbSHGr5
Thanks for sharing, hows the camera processing speed? I hear some were complaining that its slow and at time, it doesnt save properly?

Tkasih
biscoot P
post Sep 23 2022, 08:45 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Sep 23 2022, 11:20 AM)
Thanks for sharing, hows the camera processing speed? I hear some were complaining that its slow and at time, it doesnt save properly?

Tkasih
night mode / night time do takes abit of time to process image.day time laju je 😉
Maknusia
post Sep 23 2022, 10:10 PM

997 posts

QUOTE(biscoot @ Sep 23 2022, 08:45 PM)
night mode / night time do takes abit of time to process image.day time laju je 😉
I guess thats pretty similar to most phone. Kalau ambik video lama, fon nya panak tak? bearable heat or very hot. Bcoz I do take alot of videos for my office events and family as well.

ChuanHong
post Sep 24 2022, 02:10 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Sep 23 2022, 11:20 AM)

Tkasih
I just tried on demo unit in senq. Doesn't feel slow or anything. It saved properly and I transferred them out to my phone so got above comparison..
TSkidmad
post Sep 24 2022, 06:34 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Sep 23 2022, 10:10 PM)
I guess thats pretty similar to most phone. Kalau ambik video lama, fon nya panak tak? bearable  heat or very hot. Bcoz I do take alot of videos for my office events and family as well.
Quicker than Samsung's night mode.
Maknusia
post Sep 24 2022, 08:32 PM

997 posts

QUOTE(biscoot @ Sep 23 2022, 08:45 PM)
Thats norm for most camera, which is fine

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Sep 24 2022, 02:10 PM)
I just tried on demo unit in senq. Doesn't feel slow or anything. It saved properly and I transferred them out to my phone so got above comparison..
I see, thanks on your update

QUOTE(kidmad @ Sep 24 2022, 06:34 PM)
Quicker than Samsung's night mode.
Yeah, Samsung been having good camera but it had always lacked processing power, even when I compared my m20pro with S22, its been the same over the years, 4 yrs old still can beat S22.

BTW, what are your opinion comparing X80 pro with Xiaomi 12 pro? Im kinda torn in between these 2, and I was thinking of getting x80pro from digi, since its cheaper, but then they only carry x80 and not the pro, but they do carry X12p..hmmm

TKasih!
Maknusia
post Sep 25 2022, 10:46 PM

997 posts

Another question, I see some unit are sold as 12Gb/256Gb and some as 12+4Gb/256Gb; kinda confused why is it so. both are on Funtouch OS
TSkidmad
post Sep 26 2022, 07:18 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Sep 24 2022, 08:32 PM)
Thats norm for most camera, which is fine
I see, thanks on your update
Yeah, Samsung been having good camera but it had always lacked processing power, even when I compared my m20pro with S22, its been the same over the years, 4 yrs old still can beat S22.

BTW, what are your opinion comparing X80 pro with Xiaomi 12 pro? Im kinda torn in between these 2, and I was thinking of getting x80pro from digi, since its cheaper, but then they only carry x80 and not the pro, but they do carry X12p..hmmm

TKasih!
Can't comment on the latest Xiaomi 12 but it ain't that bad as far as I know. Anyway there's others I want to try hahaha like the foldable Xiaomi phone.

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Sep 25 2022, 10:46 PM)
Another question, I see some unit are sold as 12Gb/256Gb and some as 12+4Gb/256Gb; kinda confused why is it so. both are on Funtouch OS
12+4 just gimmick.. I turn off the virtual ram. 12 gb of rams is more than enough for a phone.
davidletterboyz
post Oct 1 2022, 11:25 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(biscoot @ Aug 12 2022, 11:17 AM)
haha ya pro version that i got for non pro price 😜
i try agc port but laggy & keep force close.
btw 2nd one is using night mode & 1st using zeiss mode
Does the Msian set support VoLTE and VoWiFi? What telco do you use?
How's Funtouch OS like? The skin is very heavy like MIUI?
VeeJay
post Oct 11 2022, 05:38 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Oct 1 2022, 11:25 PM)
Does the Msian set support VoLTE and VoWiFi? What telco do you use?
How's Funtouch OS like? The skin is very heavy like MIUI?
I just got mine yesterday. And yes it supports both, under Maxis.

Heavy meaning ? Some examples maybe
davidletterboyz
post Oct 11 2022, 05:51 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Oct 11 2022, 05:38 PM)
I just got mine yesterday.  And yes it supports both, under Maxis.

Heavy meaning ? Some examples maybe
Thanks for answering. :-)
Oh, I mean heavy as in it deviates much from stock Android. E.g. MIUI and Huawei EMUI are kind of iOS inspired and looks nothing like stock Android on Pixel line.
VeeJay
post Oct 11 2022, 07:22 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Oct 11 2022, 05:51 PM)
Thanks for answering. :-)
Oh, I mean heavy as in it deviates much from stock Android. E.g. MIUI and Huawei EMUI are kind of iOS inspired and looks nothing like stock Android on Pixel line.
Hmmm, I haven't really experienced stock Android like Pixel to compare with. I come from heavy Nokia user and then moved to honor and Huawei, my last phone was mate20p. Honor & Huawei copied heavily from Nokia n Apple for sure. That's the reason I liked their OS, it was very configurable. Hence comparing to x80p, they far from it. But I see they might be moving in that direction.

For example they hv screen knock to lock n unlock the phone, initially honor copied from Nokia n later Huawei partially implemented it.

Widget and screen icon configuration are very basic., could hv been better.

I'm still newbie with one day old with the phone, so need more time playing with it.

Lemme know if you have any specific questions ?

BTW it has dual cell battery.
piglover
post Oct 20 2022, 04:15 AM

1,095 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Oct 11 2022, 07:22 PM)
Hmmm, I haven't really experienced stock Android like Pixel to compare with. I come from heavy Nokia user and then moved to honor and Huawei, my last phone was mate20p. Honor & Huawei copied heavily from Nokia n Apple for sure. That's the reason I liked their OS, it was very configurable. Hence comparing to x80p, they far from it. But I see they might be moving in that direction.

For example they hv screen knock to lock n unlock the phone, initially honor copied from Nokia n later Huawei partially implemented it.

Widget and screen icon configuration are very basic., could hv been better.

I'm still newbie with one day old with the phone, so need more time playing with it.

Lemme know if you have any specific questions ?

BTW it has dual cell battery.
Can the x80 pro battery last for a day?

TSkidmad
post Oct 20 2022, 07:30 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(piglover @ Oct 20 2022, 04:15 AM)
More than a day no problem.
VeeJay
post Oct 20 2022, 10:31 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(piglover @ Oct 20 2022, 04:15 AM)
I would say the battery management performing well for a 4700mAh size!!!

VeeJay
post Oct 23 2022, 02:38 PM

3,852 posts

There was a new security update yesterday!
davidletterboyz
post Oct 24 2022, 12:34 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Oct 23 2022, 02:38 PM)
There was a new security update yesterday!
Have you tried the Vivo's superRAW format? Multi-layer computational RAW photography image. I wonder how big is a SuperRAW file.
VeeJay
post Oct 24 2022, 04:12 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Oct 24 2022, 12:34 PM)
Have you tried the Vivo's superRAW format? Multi-layer computational RAW photography image. I wonder how big is a SuperRAW file.
I haven't had much time to play around with shootings yet. Just couldn't find a time. Btw we're you referring to "High Resolution" mode or there is a raw setting is it?!

I did a quick glimpse but couldn't see any raw setting?!
VeeJay
post Oct 24 2022, 08:36 PM

3,852 posts

Found it, it was under the ProMode for the SuperRaw. Depending on the depth and the lighting, the filesize varies all the way from 8Mb to 23Mb! hhahaha
davidletterboyz
post Oct 24 2022, 11:37 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Oct 24 2022, 08:36 PM)
Found it, it was under the ProMode for the SuperRaw. Depending on the depth and the lighting, the filesize varies all the way from 8Mb to 23Mb! hhahaha
Wow. It's supposedly similar to Apple's ProRAW or Samsung's ExpertRAW. Hence the large size.
Thanks for testing it out for me.

This post has been edited by davidletterboyz: Oct 24 2022, 11:37 PM
VeeJay
post Nov 7 2022, 05:44 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Oct 24 2022, 11:37 PM)
Wow. It's supposedly similar to Apple's ProRAW or Samsung's ExpertRAW. Hence the large size.
Thanks for testing it out for me.
One of the picture that I shot over the weekend came to 28Mb!

BTW the Picture-In-Picture shot is neat as well, where one can use both front and rear camera to take a shot, dont really need to use selfie/wefie way of taking a shot.

Pretty quiet in Vivo thread! cry.gif
OptimusStar
post Nov 9 2022, 03:07 PM

803 posts

Since there is no X series thread , tumpang sikit.

I am planning to get X70 5g for camera usage at midrange price , anyone has been to the VIVO service center , how was the experience ?
VeeJay
post Nov 9 2022, 09:37 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(OptimusStar @ Nov 9 2022, 03:07 PM)
Since there is no X series thread , tumpang sikit.

I am planning to get X70 5g for camera usage at midrange price , anyone has been to  the VIVO service center  , how was the experience ?
While waiting for X70 users...just curious why not X80? If Im not mistaken its about 1k difference right?
OptimusStar
post Nov 10 2022, 12:26 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Nov 9 2022, 09:37 PM)
While waiting for X70 users...just curious why not X80? If Im not mistaken its about 1k difference right?
Im looking for a phone with excellent camera features. X80 over budget and i check on DX0 the camera difference between X70 Pro+ and X70 Pro is not much .
X80 still not on the list but it should be slight above X70 Pro+ so dont think the difference justifies the price difference.

Currently torn between X70 and One Plus Nord 2T and Redmi Note 11 Pro 5G.
Camera wise VIVO is the best, but want to check on the service center therefore the initial question. One plus seems to have an cumbersome service center and Xiaomi i personally experience looks easy and friendly.
TSkidmad
post Nov 10 2022, 04:22 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(OptimusStar @ Nov 10 2022, 12:26 PM)
Im looking for a phone with excellent camera features. X80 over budget and i check on DX0 the camera difference between X70 Pro+ and X70 Pro is not much .
X80 still not on the list but it should be slight above X70 Pro+ so dont think the difference justifies the price difference.

Currently torn between X70 and One Plus Nord 2T and Redmi Note 11 Pro 5G.
Camera wise VIVO is the best, but want to check on the service center therefore the initial question. One plus seems to have an cumbersome service center and Xiaomi i personally experience looks easy and friendly.
i think main difference here is the imaging processor the standard x70 pro doesnt have the vivo v1 chip. and moreover its using a mid range processor. the significant difference with this dedicated chip will be it's low light.. I'm blown away in all looks light condition.. i can assure you the iphone 14 series doesn't come close in low light.

video unfortunately the iphone triumphs..
VeeJay
post Nov 26 2022, 12:01 AM

3,852 posts

Android 13-based Funtouch OS 13 is coming!
https://www.gsmarena.com/vivo_x80_pro_andro...-news-56627.php

BTW, I just received my security update yesterday
VeeJay
post Dec 11 2022, 05:59 PM

3,852 posts

Received Android 13 upgrade yesterday.

It fixed my Sport Tracker app, where previously the voice notification was not working. So far been smooth
TSkidmad
post Dec 13 2022, 10:07 AM

4,482 posts

anyone has plans to upgrade to vivo x 90 pro? i'm thinking to upgrade for the 1 inch sensor. couldn't resist.
uk15029
post Dec 13 2022, 11:06 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Dec 13 2022, 11:07 AM)
anyone has plans to upgrade to vivo x 90 pro? i'm thinking to upgrade for the 1 inch sensor. couldn't resist.
X consider Xiaomi 13 pro? Also 1 inch sensor and Leica
TSkidmad
post Dec 13 2022, 11:18 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(uk15029 @ Dec 13 2022, 11:06 AM)
X consider Xiaomi 13 pro? Also 1 inch sensor and Leica
yup or that.. next year is the world of 1 inch. hahaha
Maknusia
post Jan 28 2023, 08:11 PM

997 posts

Senyap sangat kat sini! biggrin.gif

Just wanted to update in the last 4 weeks had received 2 updates. Below is the latest, just received it today.

TSkidmad
post Feb 28 2023, 09:24 PM

4,482 posts

i already get hold of the new s23 ultra and I'm sad to say the night shots from vivo tarpao the s23 ultra.. there's too huge of a difference.. day shot both are equally good but night time... the new s23 ultra isn't close.

bought the new Samsung got my wife she will start using it and will do more comparison but the way i see it seems like I'll be moving to vivo x90 pro instead.

This post has been edited by kidmad: Feb 28 2023, 09:24 PM
White3N
post Mar 1 2023, 11:42 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Feb 28 2023, 09:24 PM)
i already get hold of the new s23 ultra and I'm sad to say the night shots from vivo tarpao the s23 ultra.. there's too huge of a difference.. day shot both are equally good but night time... the new s23 ultra isn't close.

bought the new Samsung got my wife she will start using it and will do more comparison but the way i see it seems like I'll be moving to vivo x90 pro instead.
X90 pro is enough of should be X90 Pro +?
TSkidmad
post Mar 1 2023, 11:50 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(White3N @ Mar 1 2023, 11:42 PM)
X90 pro is enough of should be X90 Pro +?
I've been using dimensity 9000 so far so good. most likely just the pro version.
operacts
post Mar 17 2023, 11:13 AM

Hi, want to ask anyone using X80 pro Snapdragon 8Gen1 CN set.
Just want to know if got delay in notification ex: whatsapp, message/call. Is there any workaround for it?
VeeJay
post Mar 17 2023, 12:53 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(operacts @ Mar 17 2023, 11:13 AM)
Hi, want to ask anyone using X80 pro Snapdragon 8Gen1 CN set.
Just want to know if got delay in notification ex: whatsapp, message/call. Is there any workaround for it?
Mine is FOS, MY set, so cant really compare with yours. When you say delay, does it when a call comes in it doesnt ring, and only couple of second later it rings? Or you are referring to miss call notification?
VeeJay
post Mar 29 2023, 12:36 PM

3,852 posts

New update

davidletterboyz
post Apr 15 2023, 10:06 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Dec 13 2022, 11:18 AM)
yup or that.. next year is the world of 1 inch. hahaha
In the end, did you buy a X90 Pro?
TSkidmad
post Apr 15 2023, 08:58 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Apr 15 2023, 10:06 AM)
In the end, did you buy a X90 Pro?
no bro using pixel now...
VeeJay
post May 22 2023, 10:51 PM

3,852 posts

Recently there had been couple of updates

0.0578sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:56 AM