Kodi Official Discussion Thread V3, Ultimate Media Center

TSsonypshomer
post Jul 27 2022, 07:49 PM, updated 2y ago

1,594 posts

The Ultimate Media Center - Movies, music, videos, IPTV, Radio, Game and More.

Kodi 20 is available in Google Play Store & kodi official website for all platforms.

Other installation and addons stauff will be continued in the next post

Reference V2 Discussion (outdated)

This post has been edited by sonypshomer: Jul 12 2023, 03:37 PM
TSsonypshomer
post Jul 27 2022, 07:50 PM

1,594 posts

INSTALLATION

Microsot Apps Store (Xbox)
https://apps.microsoft.com/store/detail/kod...?hl=en-my&gl=MY

Google play store (android TV Box, Nvidia Shield, Firestick)
https://play.google.com/store/search?q=kodi&c=apps

Direct (Multiple platforms)
https://kodi.tv/download

ADDONS Recommendation

Own Media

Movie & TV Series - Stock TheMovieDB Helper - This

Note: There are two options Tubed / Youtube in Addon> local information > TMDB TVShow. Default is Tubed. Please change to Youtube before you add TVSeries, else the autotrailer will play in Tubed instaed of Youtube and you'll have excess quota issues

Music (Stock)

Visualization get Shadatoy for Equilizer bar effect

Surveillance Camera - No update of Surveillance Room Addon for Leia since Matrix is using Phyton 3.0 here the alternative without motion detection function

Download plugin.video.ipcams-Matrix.zip

If you use foscam camera, the streaming url should be inserted like this:-

rtsp://userid:password@ipadress:88/videoMain

Other camera follow this Camera Config

This post has been edited by sonypshomer: Jul 12 2023, 03:41 PM
TSsonypshomer
post Jul 27 2022, 07:51 PM

1,594 posts

Third Party Media

For these 3rd parties addons, i hate their update and looks, especially when they just link other people's plugin into their repo. So we shall take directly from the source of their original coder / programmer in github.

Movie & Series
Elementum (Torrent client for best quality stream) - You only need to use its context menu with themovieDBhelper addon. You dont need to find file in here
Dramacool - Asian (Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Thai. Indian)

Live
Chatubate -Other then monitor your own CCTV, you can also see what others in the world doing being naughty with their camera. (fast and reliable)

Video
Cumination - All AV in here.

Another thing, to prevent your other user say you set this up for your family member / household / homestay / airbnb and you do not want them to go into the source or further deeper into the addon, just widgetize the shortcut (i.e latest drama / movie) and not the whole addon. So addons will be hidden all the time and your setup will look like the content is all from your kodi and not form 3rd party. i.e:-

You could also remove the settings shortcut and access it with press and hold some key on the remote.

Screensaver
My suggestion of screensaver is Feedreader since your screen will still be active displaying news with picture and background while idle. people dont watch news nowaday sometime while pausing your movie to make coffee or toilet break you'll be surprise what news appear on the TV straight from your Kodi screensaver

Here the matrix version you couldnt find in kodi 19

And here are some xml feeders which are news worthy. You can insert 30

If you're lazy to type especially with nvidia shield remote control which drain the battery so fast, you can edit the settings file inside
\Android\data\org.xbmc.kodi\files\.kodi\userdata\addon_data\script.screensaver.feedreader\settings.xml

See our member kampong2000 already not posting about train in kopitiam so lucky we have lowyat site to post them in kodi screensaver

ISSUES

Other suggestion please post and here some of the issues

1. Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Thai Characters support

a. Download this font, https://sourceforge.net/projects/allfonts/f...NI.TTF/download

b. Rename it to arial.tff

c. Copy into put into this folder

\.kodi\addons\skin.arctic.zephyr.mod\fonts

d. Go to kodi settings> interface > Skins > font > arial or arial 2 or any arial.

Result:-

2. Music delay - If you connecting Nvidia Shield to Synology NAS via network cable, you probably see all the drives without having to add source i.e NFS / SMB, just point that visible folder in the NAS where you keep the music and start adding to library. For movie it will work just fine but for music, after you spent hours for the huge library to catalogue artists, albums etc and when you start to play them it will be a delay for few seconds for each song which is insane.

To avoid this please disable Opportunistic Locking in synology >control panel> file service > samba > advance settings
which is enabled by default and even you dont use smb.

No nfs or samba or even adding advancesettings.xml file into userdata folder is needed.

This post has been edited by sonypshomer: Feb 13 2023, 05:44 PM
TSsonypshomer
post Jul 27 2022, 07:52 PM

1,594 posts

IPTV IPTV Simple Client (Stock)

Get IPTV Merge from Slyguy and follow the step

Disclaimer this is the method to show how to get your Kodi IPTV setup with few simple steps and not sharing illegal streaming sites. The url will be permanent but the streaming TV is temporary, they will not be working in the next few days. So you need to find other source.

This post has been edited by sonypshomer: Jul 12 2023, 03:57 PM
TSsonypshomer
post Jul 29 2022, 11:45 AM

1,594 posts

Set up TheMovieDB Helper with Elementum - so you can play your trakt-ed episode in highest quality

Now you dont have to use context menu, just click and play! Enjoy watching Ms Marvel in 4K

Developer Github Source : https://github.com/mrgsi/tmdbh.players
TSsonypshomer
post Jul 29 2022, 01:28 PM

1,594 posts

Let's Visualize These Radio Stations with Kodi

i found 17 malaysia radio channels live 24/7 on youtube that we could integrate them with EPG in Kodi IPTV Simple Client. Each station is presented with graphics, animated fanart, artist, song title being played and other info.

Now we can enjoy lite.fm on kodi for the first time without being notoriously redirected to that evil "oh it's illegal to stream our channel other than via Syok app" loop clip.

This post has been edited by sonypshomer: Nov 29 2022, 12:32 PM
TSsonypshomer
post Aug 2 2022, 01:56 PM

1,594 posts

UpNext : Program Addon

A pop-op windows with screenshot for the next episode like netflix automatically appear when kodi knows that there is another episodes next available. Works for online or storage file. It will play them after 60 seconds countdown if you dont response. This addon is stock in Kodi 19 AZR. You need to activate it to work. Here's how it looks

From episode 9 to the finale episode 10 - enjoy the haunted opening theme song

TSsonypshomer
post Aug 8 2022, 10:55 AM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Aug 8 2022, 10:32 AM)
For the best Kodi experience, I run CoreElec custom firmware on my android tv box.  CoreElec is a ‘Just enough OS’ Linux distribution based on Kodi technology for amlogic based android tv box. 

Previously I use android based Kodi and they are no match for CoreElec in term of speed and stability.  All the newer amlogic tv box such as S905x or 922x cannot support HD audio passthrough such as Dolby True HD and DTS-HD or DTS-X in Kodi but if you use CoreElec on these android box, it will happily passtrhrough all the HD audio format. 

The other benefit of CoreElec is auto frame rate switching.  Most android tv just could not do auto frame rate switching but CoreElec handles it flawlessly and the movies will playback smoothly in 24p.

CoreElec is Kodi minus the android software burden so it runs super fast and stable.

If you haven’t try CoreElec, you should. You won’t go back to Kodi running on Android
I never heard of Corelelec, but i used LibreElec before on a NUC. I think all depends on the hardware, this new setup on my Nvidia Shield with everything loads up (fanart/cache) the storage already consumed 4.5GB of space. I dont think those cheap android box that usually come with 2GB space could handle AZR, especially you have elementum addon in it. Autotrailer also take up a lot of memory, definitely need a lot of RAM to run smoothly.

Not just that the TV EPG file also take up space because it carries not just days of tv schedule but also image too.
TSsonypshomer
post Oct 4 2022, 09:53 AM

1,594 posts

AZR recent update to 1.1.72 including the Nowplayer fix that i initiated on the overlapping buttons when playing radiio to Beatmasters( Dev team)
this update also break the arial font that displaying indian / thai characters. You need to redo the font (guide on 1st page)

TSsonypshomer
post Dec 31 2022, 10:46 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Dec 31 2022, 10:33 PM)
How to make Fen work with TMDB Helper? No issue with Seren.
i dont use fen but i think the method should be similar like seren or homelander or elementum, just choose the default player from this menu and do it for both movie and tvshow

TSsonypshomer
post Jan 1 2023, 10:21 AM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Jan 1 2023, 09:42 AM)
What add-on you use?

By the way, i  managed to get FEN to work with TMDBHelper.

CODE

TMDBh > Settings > Players > Update players from URL > https://bit.ly/tmdbplayers

Configure players > Fen Source Select > priority: 10 > is_resolveable: false > Save

OK

Elementum

Anyway Kodi 19.5 already out a tad faster i feel. tested out on Windows and Android version. Nothing breaks so far except the OSD for movie in light theme now become dark by default, still haventfigured out how to change that.

Edit Can already. Just change to standard

This post has been edited by sonypshomer: Jan 1 2023, 11:40 AM
TSsonypshomer
post Jan 17 2023, 02:51 AM

1,594 posts

Kodi 20.0 just released, it's damn fast even with AZR skin heavy animated graphic, below version is running in my window machine:-

https://kodi.tv/download/

You can just install it on top the existing Kodi 19. All your settings including your skin will be intact and unchanged. Let the migration do its thing.

Bug so far
IPTV client - need to run merge again
List a bit overlapping , already highlighted this issue to dev.
TSsonypshomer
post Jan 18 2023, 07:47 PM

1,594 posts

Bug fixed by dev

Put this file
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/beatmaste...ncludes_PVR.xml

rewrite it into

.kodi\addons\skin.arctic.zephyr.mod\1080i

result

TSsonypshomer
post Jan 19 2023, 03:03 PM

1,594 posts

Ok i just upgraded my Nvidia Shield to Kodi20. Just download kodi-20.0-Nexus-arm64-8a.apk and install it ontop of your kodi 19. No hiccup and smooth migration.

Here Nexus AZR in the default dark mode

It was fast to load and exit on my 2017 shield even the screen recording is done by the shield.

Addons that are not working:-

1. Surveillance camera
2. Dramacool
TSsonypshomer
post Jan 20 2023, 09:07 AM

1,594 posts

PRO TIP: For shield or any android devices. Kodi 20 has implemented some security measure until Kodi is no longer could access some folders or files from the network. You can see in Shield setting for app particularly for Kodi , it has extra option that you must choose which is "Allow All The Time". Please choose this else it wont work. By default it checks "Allow only while using app"

TSsonypshomer
post Jan 22 2023, 11:33 AM

1,594 posts

Dramacool is fixed. and i prefer this than icdrama (link always broken)

1. Get the repo from https://cywteow.github.io/repo/
2. Install by overwriting with the current not working addons
3. Pick option NOT to remove the current settings

Just choose which server is faster or without advertisement that works with your connection speed. And provide with workable subtitle too. Some links do not have them.

This post has been edited by sonypshomer: Jan 22 2023, 11:56 AM
TSsonypshomer
post Jan 27 2023, 11:47 AM

1,594 posts

Nexus Light AZR
if your room has white wall, you definitely wanna use light skin for your big TV.

TSsonypshomer
post Jan 27 2023, 08:29 PM

1,594 posts

Nexus Arctic Horizon 2
netflix-like modern skin

This is the real work (non fork ) from the father of all modern kodi skin Jurial Munkey including Arctic Zephyr, Arctic Horizon.

The skin is available in kodi skin ..more but that version wont work due to lack of dependencies, If you really want this skin, jurialmunkey repo need to be installed first:-

Step 1 : https://jurialmunkey.github.io/repository.j...lmunkey-3.3.zip
Step 2 : From the repo install Program> Skin Variables
Step 3 : From the repo install Look & Feel > Skin > Artic Horizon 2

Dont skip 2 or else fail.

Crashes on Nexus due to SegFaults in ElementTree python library (all platforms EXCEPT Windows)

Kodi Nexus uses Python 3.11 which currently has a bug in the CPython ElementTree library used to parse XML metadata. This bug causes unexplained SegFaults which crash Kodi when multiple scripts attempt to use ElementTree simultaneously.

This post has been edited by sonypshomer: Jan 30 2023, 09:05 AM
TSsonypshomer
post Jan 28 2023, 12:35 PM

1,594 posts

Surveillance Cam is fixed but you need to replace two files in .kodi\addons\plugin.video.ipcams\

https://github.com/b-jesch/plugin.video.ipcams

addon.xml
deafault.py

TSsonypshomer
post Jan 30 2023, 01:23 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Jan 30 2023, 01:19 PM)
Mind me asking what skin is this? Thanks
AZR (Arctic Zephyr : Reloaded) you can find it inside kodi