Cost of confinement centre in Malaysia

TSLe Don
post Jul 22 2022, 11:14 AM, updated 4y ago

354 posts

Since my wife is expected to give birth next year, a major cost and concern is regarding confinement centre or confinement lady.

Those who have gone through this before, please share your experience and cost.

From what I heard mostly is around 10-15k.
aVexRikuu
post Jul 22 2022, 11:22 AM

234 posts

On my experience, better go confinement center

Pros
1) more people take care of your wife & baby
2) fixed cost
3) insta worthy food pictures

If you taking confinement lady

Pros
1) stay home

Cons
1) 1 person settle all, she will be very tired and may not give your wife & baby 100% focus
2) variable cost, week week will ask buy this buy that ..
3) if the lady is a creature of habit, then your wife will everyday eat same kind of food until she jelak
4) your house will be dirty unless you got maid or yourself clean the house cos confinement lady wont clean

it is also a gamble sometimes with confinement lady, sometime you get good ones , something nightmare ..

pricing wise, confinement center 10-15k like you said but its all inclusive
confinement lady last year i hire was 6.8k and havent add all the food / herbs / what ever other shit she ask ... it was a nightmare for me, i asked her to leave after 4 days.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 22 2022, 11:25 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Le Don @ Jul 22 2022, 11:14 AM)
Since my wife is expected to give birth next year, a major cost and concern is regarding confinement centre or confinement lady.

Between 6K to 20K depends which centre and package.
Michaelbyz23
post Jul 22 2022, 11:27 AM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,552 posts

If it's your first born and staying with your parents, better go confinement.

Save the hassle, let your wife fully rest and recover. Let the nannies/nurses take care of the baby and pamper your wife.

Mine cost 10k, 2021.

This post has been edited by Michaelbyz23: Jul 22 2022, 11:27 AM
karazure
post Jul 22 2022, 11:28 AM

70 posts

find a good centre, your marriage will survive longer.
a_dot_el
post Jul 22 2022, 11:28 AM

194 posts

Just prepare 15K and you will be fine.
marfccy
post Jul 22 2022, 11:29 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

random note, my parents was pushing me again for stuff like having kids so i told them that the cost of having kids mahal, and confinement center was one of the topic

mum was like no need confinement centre la, they tiok money wan. last time we made do without anyway

so... is it true can make do without confinement center? seems like all my other peers who recently have kids paid a huge amount to one (RM10-15k even)
SUStolongking
post Jul 22 2022, 11:30 AM

20 posts

last time people don't need this. ang moh also no need. ask your wife to tough up.
GrandElf
post Jul 22 2022, 11:30 AM

HyunA
1,154 posts

Next month my wife will go confinement centre....around 18k....

The price vary from 15k to 18k depends on the room/package that you choose.....for me yes more worth it to go confinement center rather than hire lady which I saw most ppl had bad experience with it before.....

Confinement center price also vary depends on your location...my friend at negeri sembilan there only cost around 9k to 10k.....my confinement center is at puchong.....
DarkAeon
post Jul 22 2022, 11:31 AM

774 posts

if u can afford it, go center je la

pick a good center with good reviews in your area. and kiss your 8 hours sleep goodbye when they come back from confinement

This post has been edited by DarkAeon: Jul 22 2022, 11:32 AM
kaiserreich
post Jul 22 2022, 11:31 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

7k single room w attached bathroom - 2020

Penang mainland

darkterror15
post Jul 22 2022, 11:32 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 22 2022, 11:29 AM)
random note, my parents was pushing me again for stuff like having kids so i told them that the cost of having kids mahal, and confinement center was one of the topic

mum was like no need confinement centre la, they tiok money wan. last time we made do without anyway

so... is it true can make do without confinement center? seems like all my other peers who recently have kids paid a huge amount to one (RM10-15k even)
can do without one, just that nowadays ppl got spoiled.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 22 2022, 11:32 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(a_dot_el @ Jul 22 2022, 11:28 AM)
Just prepare 15K and you will be fine.
Nope still got extra to pay such as additional massaging hours, baby souvenirs (maybe centre will do those wax/clay baby hand or leg thingy).
Diapers + milk powder if free ones finished, unless u ownself bring.

Touch wood, if jaundice may need to rent UV light unless u bring go hospital.
other complications for mother and baby may need to go see doctor
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 22 2022, 11:34 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

u ask ur mom last taim she walk or bicycle nia why now use car?

last taim her mom (ur granny) jaga her now she willing to jaga ur waifu or not?
darkterror15
post Jul 22 2022, 11:35 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 22 2022, 11:32 AM)
Nope still got extra to pay such as additional massaging hours, baby souvenirs (maybe centre will do those wax/clay baby hand or leg thingy).
Diapers + milk powder if free ones finished, unless u ownself bring.

Touch wood, if jaundice may need to rent UV light unless u bring go hospital.
other complications for mother and baby may need to go see doctor
my baby girl jaundice, stayed 1 more night at gh, next day discharge already dont need keep go and back. rm 5 only for the admission.

besides, gh equipment much better than in confinement center.
cempedaklife
post Jul 22 2022, 11:36 AM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

ready at least 10k lor.but i prefer if your mum or her mum can cook for, and bath the baby, then better stay home jaga by sendiri punya mum...

but you and wife have to do your part la..takkan everything dump to mum, just need them cook for waifu and bath the baby, other sendiri sacrifice do more lor.
keyibukeyi
post Jul 22 2022, 11:37 AM

150 posts

10K Basic.
17K Everything included, hubby can overnight piap piap
Year 2022

xiaosin
post Jul 22 2022, 11:37 AM

86 posts

Confinement better at least you and Ur wife can rest.

It's worth the cost
DarkAeon
post Jul 22 2022, 11:38 AM

774 posts

can u make do without confinement center?
yes, but u have to do all the work of caring for mom and baby, cooking, cleaning and deal with the sleeplessness and stress associated with it. if u have a large household and have support, this is ok.

and i tell u, if u have not done this before, u will likely be completely overwhelmed if u do this on your own

i was like u last time, save money ma. so the first one we took care of the baby with a confinement lady. my second one, no questions asked, straight to confinement center. we didn't even ask the price, just pay it. but that's just me
marfccy
post Jul 22 2022, 11:39 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Jul 22 2022, 11:32 AM)
true, cause friends of my age (30s) said that theyre kinda being too much of doting parents that theyre spoiling their kids

stuff like kids want new toys? BUY
need stuff for kids that use few times? BUY
and so on...

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 22 2022, 11:34 AM)

not until that reasoning la, its more like for her case she said nowadays all tiok so much in terms of cost

so dont need to go to that hassle to go confinement centre, but opt for others like hire maid/stay with parents etc etc
DValentine

773 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 22 2022, 11:34 AM)

reply back:

old folks cakap leksi (history), we youngster cakap lansi
il0ve51

1,054 posts

sorry hijack a bit, did anyone of you have maternity insurance? worth? any recommendation? im getting married next year and plan for children next year.
marfccy
post Jul 22 2022, 11:41 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Jul 22 2022, 11:38 AM)
can u make do without confinement center?
yes, but u have to do all the work of caring for mom and baby, cooking, cleaning and deal with the sleeplessness and stress associated with it. if u have a large household and have support, this is ok.

and i tell u, if u have not done this before, u will likely be completely overwhelmed if u do this on your own

i was like u last time, save money ma. so the first one we took care of the baby with a confinement lady. my second one, no questions asked, straight to confinement center. we didn't even ask the price, just pay it. but that's just me
yah thats how i replied, cause obviously want best for wife after child birth stress. not like we males get long ass paternity leave to take care of other half also

theres only one you, how to juggle time with jaga waifu and work?

QUOTE(DValentine @ Jul 22 2022, 11:39 AM)
reply back:

old folks cakap leksi (history), we youngster cakap lansi
darkterror15
post Jul 22 2022, 11:42 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 22 2022, 11:39 AM)
true, cause friends of my age (30s) said that theyre kinda being too much of doting parents that theyre spoiling their kids

stuff like kids want new toys? BUY
need stuff for kids that use few times? BUY
and so on...
not until that reasoning la, its more like for her case she said nowadays all tiok so much in terms of cost

so dont need to go to that hassle to go confinement centre, but opt for others like hire maid/stay with parents etc etc
some extreme case for 1 child expenses when born.

my koliq, went private for natural born, cannot come out, then c section, this part cost more than 10k already.

then baby ate own faeces, infection masuk nicu, another 10k, and private will send the baby to gh also after that.

then confinement center another 10k.

cost is not in selangor lagi.

so 30k for 1 child at least. she is having another 1 now.
munak991
post Jul 22 2022, 11:42 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

my experience

Before Promotion
10-15k very basic, some single bed, some queen bed not much facilities, very basic room, food can be good
15k-20k, surely queen bed d, room can be nicer and spacious. Food can be same as 10-15k range
20k+, anything beyond this is location, facilities, nurse is real nurse experience, Hotel room standard.

macyhouse
post Jul 22 2022, 11:44 AM

273 posts

confinement center je

dad and mon can learn how to take care baby using current method
mon can rest well
tips on breastfeeding stuff also

mine 15k on one studio room , so dad can stay 24x7 on couch lol
mezanny
post Jul 22 2022, 11:44 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(aVexRikuu @ Jul 22 2022, 11:22 AM)
On my experience, better go confinement center

Pros
1) more people take care of your wife & baby
2) fixed cost
3) insta worthy food pictures

If you taking confinement lady

Pros
1) stay home

Cons
1) 1 person settle all, she will be very tired and may not give your wife & baby 100% focus
2) variable cost, week week will ask buy this buy that ..
3) if the lady is a creature of habit, then your wife will everyday eat same kind of food until she jelak
4) your house will be dirty unless you got maid or yourself clean the house cos confinement lady wont clean

it is also a gamble sometimes with confinement lady, sometime you get good ones , something nightmare ..

pricing wise, confinement center 10-15k like you said but its all inclusive
confinement lady last year i hire was 6.8k and havent add all the food / herbs / what ever other shit she ask ... it was a nightmare for me, i asked her to leave after 4 days.
I got one confinement lady around that cost u mentioned.

Wow she was great. She taught me n wife a lot about taking care of baby.

At that time, when I collected my baby from hospital, i panicked, no manual what to do with baby ? My first struggle was to put the small baby in the car baby seat...hahaha, it was an experience I can never forget. I struggled with the baby seat.

But the confinement lady was quite good, her cooking was really nice, I enjoyed her cooking past 2 months.

Before that she took care of my niece.

sorry if anyone ask, cannot recommend, due to privacy.
cHaRsIeWpAu^^
post Jul 22 2022, 11:46 AM

937 posts

my wife last year in little xxxxxxxx.

28k for 28days.

worth or not?

personally feeling worth if you’re first time parent and your parent explicitly told you they won’t help you to take care of the baby lol.

of course next child we will go for cheaper options like 15k to 18k.
mezanny
post Jul 22 2022, 11:47 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Jul 22 2022, 11:42 AM)

my koliq, went private for natural born, cannot come out, then c section, this part cost more than 10k already.

then baby ate own faeces, infection masuk nicu, another 10k, and private will send the baby to gh also after that.

wow I had almost same situation.

My baby ate own meconium masuk nicu. Nasib baik, I sempat beli insuran, reduce some of my outlay.
My one had to C section because doctor fear infection due to termakan meconium.
marfccy
post Jul 22 2022, 11:48 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Jul 22 2022, 11:42 AM)

lol this is almost exactly as my friends wife did. apparently gynae said her uterus not stronk enough during pushing so they ended up C-sec her and cost extra few k

dahlah they went to private hospital + hire one of the bigger name doctors lel

but they can afford though so.. biarlah

at this rate im more turned off by having kids ughh, so mahal
DValentine
post Jul 22 2022, 11:49 AM

773 posts

dafuq confinement also need 20k at least

wahai saudara sekalian,

do the maths before pancut dalam

else

beli dom dom kan murah
lakini80

334 posts

when people getting more lazier, there is always many opportunities arise...
CommonPeople

168 posts

Congrats in advance?

Confinement centre on average is about Rm 10k - 15k

There is another alternative, Confinement lady.

The lady will stay in with you for a month, shower baby and mom, prepare 5-6 meals a day, massage, and other typical confinement activities.

It depends on your budget though. Confinement lady is about Rm 5 - 7k. Of course, you gotta fork out your own money for groceries.
darkterror15
post Jul 22 2022, 11:53 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 22 2022, 11:48 AM)
lol this is almost exactly as my friends wife did. apparently gynae said her uterus not stronk enough during pushing so they ended up C-sec her and cost extra few k

dahlah they went to private hospital + hire one of the bigger name doctors lel
but they can afford though so.. biarlah

at this rate im more turned off by having kids ughh, so mahal
my wife did surgery before to remove fibroid around 7cm in womb which worry it will affect the fetus if pregnant, so the gh doctor straight say week 37 go do c section. inside there she said she saw alot women with difficulty of giving birth. some there hanging 2 days already.

some told her she is lucky to have c section (by right c section is a worse way). my wife on pain killer almost a week after c section.
DarkAeon
post Jul 22 2022, 11:55 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 22 2022, 11:41 AM)
yah thats how i replied, cause obviously want best for wife after child birth stress. not like we males get long ass paternity leave to take care of other half also

theres only one you, how to juggle time with jaga waifu and work?
when both u and your wife aren't getting enough sleep, baby crying every 2 hours, house chores etc etc, u find find both of u highly stressed and arguments isn't uncommon.

if u can afford it, just pay it
marfccy
post Jul 22 2022, 12:00 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Jul 22 2022, 11:53 AM)
my wife did surgery before to remove fibroid around 7cm in womb which worry it will affect the fetus if pregnant, so the gh doctor straight say week 37 go do c section. inside there she said she saw alot women with difficulty of giving birth. some there hanging 2 days already.

some told her she is lucky to have c section (by right c section is a worse way). my wife on pain killer almost a week after c section.
right? csec while sounds horrible, its actually one of the faster methods

you want wife stuck in dilation and pain mode for days or csec and suffer surgical pain afterwards? no win situation sad.gif

just.. dont make waifu laugh after csec, you sure cari mati

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Jul 22 2022, 11:55 AM)
when both u and your wife aren't getting enough sleep, baby crying every 2 hours, house chores etc etc, u find find both of u highly stressed and arguments isn't uncommon.

if u can afford it, just pay it
kan? laugh.gif

friend said during first 3 months of having child he was zombie mode entire time. waking up every few hrs to tend to baby, sleeping irregular hours, work, do chores etc

then now when baby more stable (theyre training her to sleep same hrs as them, no naps at afternoons), so now theyre more controlled now. and he really appreciate proper sleeping hours liao
TSLe Don
post Jul 22 2022, 12:02 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(cHaRsIeWpAu^^ @ Jul 22 2022, 11:46 AM)
my wife last year in little xxxxxxxx.

28k for 28days.

worth or not?

personally feeling worth if you’re first time parent and your parent explicitly told you they won’t help you to take care of the baby lol.

of course next child we will go for cheaper options like 15k to 18k.
Wow 28k. 5 star Hotel standard?
greatbattles
post Jul 22 2022, 12:03 PM

37 posts

PJ area able to get below 10K, rooms no aircond.
Juan86
post Jul 22 2022, 12:04 PM

651 posts

just pay and go

to avoid wife noisy later, say here pain there pain cause no do good confiment
gogocan

486 posts

3 kids no confinement lady no confinement centre..i take care my own family.
DarkAeon

774 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 22 2022, 12:00 PM)
kan? laugh.gif

friend said during first 3 months of having child he was zombie mode entire time. waking up every few hrs to tend to baby, sleeping irregular hours, work, do chores etc

then now when baby more stable (theyre training her to sleep same hrs as them, no naps at afternoons), so now theyre more controlled now. and he really appreciate proper sleeping hours liao
yes, u won't get more than 2 hours continuous sleep for a few months. if you lucky and your baby is cooperative, u may get longer hours sleep after 3 months but if u unlucky, it may last 6 months or even longer

it's life changing and no amount of advice u receive can prepare u for fatherhood. is it worth it? yes totally. u may not be able to see it at first but over time u will
cHaRsIeWpAu^^
post Jul 22 2022, 12:14 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(Le Don @ Jul 22 2022, 12:02 PM)
Wow 28k. 5 star Hotel standard?
they actually promoted as 6stars confinement center.
alex_leo
post Jul 22 2022, 12:22 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(mezanny @ Jul 22 2022, 11:47 AM)

My baby ate own meconium masuk nicu. Nasib baik, I sempat beli insuran, reduce some of my outlay.
Can share more experience on this issue?

1) When it can happen? Before delivery or after delivery
2) Any prevention method or by pure luck?
How much is the cost if this shit happens?

We are hunting for confinement centre now too. Apparently the cost around 13k-18k depends on how luxury you want it.

SUSLetmetellu
post Jul 22 2022, 12:25 PM

Damn so expensive.

Luckily my dotter born during lockdown time. I ownself did everything
latipbogiba
post Jul 22 2022, 12:33 PM

102 posts

i just take care my wife at home.
i do the cooking and house chores.
but i understand other people got other commitments
luckily she giving birth normally no need operation
mezanny
post Jul 22 2022, 12:37 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(alex_leo @ Jul 22 2022, 12:22 PM)

We are hunting for confinement centre now too. Apparently the cost around 13k-18k depends on how luxury you want it.
Be vigil...when your wife reach 8 months, monitor progress, ask doctor to teach her to reach finger feel vagina, to measure how big opening (please check with doctor, don't take my word for it)
read books
can reduce risk but can still happen

go recce the hospitals and check their costs
private ones may be more well prepared
govt hospital, free but be ready to take risks, and probably may have to suffer in long wait...
its around 10k
but those in prince court would like be much higher
again u pay according to the service levels
buy insurance cover for baby (but if nicu, only cover hospital bedding = no of days)

confinement center vs confinement lady

ask around, check internet
I got mine from my sis in law
sometimes close recommendations help, because you know the confinement lady did a good job
about confinement center - i have no experience, i never went through them b4

dickybird
post Jul 22 2022, 12:44 PM

2,093 posts

These days
No have 30k for antenatal care, birth medical fees ( cheap if natural labour or more expensive if C section and depending on the hospital whether branded private or non branded) then the confinement.
Better not pancut dalam.
My two kids, both taken of care by traditional confinement ladies, they cooked and looked after the baby while she rested. We were fortunate to have a maid then so she just cleaned. It was a while back when it only cost 3k for 4 weeks of work.
inspiron
post Jul 22 2022, 12:57 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 22 2022, 11:39 AM)
you yourself have not gone thru it yet

but sounds like you think you already qualified to advised other on what they should do

hire maid for confinement?

do you even know what is maid's responsibility? vs baby sitter vs confinement lady?

you think its all the same thing?

AyamBannedTwice
post Jul 22 2022, 12:59 PM

130 posts

ayam already book CL
day time service only for 30 days
cost: 10k++

use the same CL my sister use before as she having good track record
POYOZER
post Jul 22 2022, 01:01 PM

Traveler
3,653 posts

Early this year. Paid about 8k for 40 days. The confinement lady stay at our home. Jaga baby, prepare pantang foods, kemas rumah, massage, sauna, etc.

This post has been edited by POYOZER: Jul 22 2022, 01:17 PM
kidmad
post Jul 22 2022, 01:06 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Jul 22 2022, 12:04 PM)
yes, u won't get more than 2 hours continuous sleep for a few months. if you lucky and your baby is cooperative, u may get longer hours sleep after 3 months but if u unlucky, it may last 6 months or even longer

it's life changing and no amount of advice u receive can prepare u for fatherhood. is it worth it? yes totally. u may not be able to see it at first but over time u will
then my daughter must be an angle. she gets cranky now only the 2 hours before her sleep then after that will sleep through out the night till morning.. 5th month now.

first 3 month.. totally no crying hysteria crying or what so ever.
vhs1
post Jul 22 2022, 01:07 PM

2,830 posts

QUOTE(keyibukeyi @ Jul 22 2022, 11:37 AM)
10K Basic.
Year 2022
Got catalog?
DarkAeon
post Jul 22 2022, 01:07 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 22 2022, 01:06 PM)
then my daughter must be an angle. she gets cranky now only the 2 hours before her sleep then after that will sleep through out the night till morning.. 5th month now.

u r lucky then. count your blessings.

mine only stable after 1 year
marfccy
post Jul 22 2022, 01:10 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(inspiron @ Jul 22 2022, 12:57 PM)
you yourself have not gone thru it yet

but sounds like you think you already qualified to advised other on what they should do
hire maid for confinement?

do you even know what is maid's responsibility? vs baby sitter vs confinement lady?

you think its all the same thing?
????

its not even me saying it what?
kidmad
post Jul 22 2022, 01:12 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Jul 22 2022, 01:07 PM)
u r lucky then. count your blessings.

mine only stable after 1 year
yah man cause from the description of my colleagues they have sleepless nights and it was hell before their baby got up to a certain age.

at least my wife has a great time taking care of her now.
a13solut3
post Jul 22 2022, 01:19 PM

Whiner FTW!
1,759 posts

RM5488 - Johor

Single bed - i bring my own foldable bed there to sleep on floor sometimes.
Shared toilet
5 meals / day

waifu in confinement now.
hteekay
post Jul 22 2022, 01:22 PM

66 posts

You ask your parents if they will take care of the confinement or not? If not then STFU

This post has been edited by hteekay: Jul 22 2022, 01:26 PM
ziniowong
post Jul 22 2022, 01:23 PM

471 posts

if cant afford to pay at least 15k , better not have kids
dont cheap out by asking pa/ma to help
to those who said last time pa/ma dont need, last time ur pa/ma need iphone/bmw/vacation?
ConstantLove
post Jul 22 2022, 01:24 PM

234 posts

yes about 15k for private room. i also surveyed previously.
SUSNew Klang
post Jul 22 2022, 01:25 PM

4,998 posts

Having kids is really humblebrag worthy
galkelly
post Jul 22 2022, 01:29 PM

752 posts

5sec of orgasm comes with a mountain of debt for next 18yrs... good luck
keyibukeyi
post Jul 22 2022, 01:32 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Jul 22 2022, 01:07 PM)
Got catalog?
they dun provide catalog for us
vhs1
post Jul 22 2022, 01:40 PM

2,830 posts

QUOTE(keyibukeyi @ Jul 22 2022, 01:32 PM)
they dun provide catalog for us
Tenkiut, ill PM 2feyday
cfyong2020
post Jul 22 2022, 01:42 PM

390 posts

2019 - 10k near kuchai lama. Single bed no toilet. Food is nice I would say, weekly hv nurse n doc come over check
AyamBannedTwice
post Jul 22 2022, 02:15 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(mezanny @ Jul 22 2022, 11:47 AM)

u took prubsn or aia one?
I did survey for both insurance
but both only fully cover after 14 days of delivery
the agent told me even took pregnancy's package still not fully covered
example: Jaundice only cover if the reading is more than 300 which kalau ikutkan 200++ pun dah kena hospitalise

Red_rustyjelly
post Jul 22 2022, 02:19 PM

867 posts

I went to PPUM for my baby. That's because let my wife choose between 2.
Either private hospital no confinement center RM 12k(exclude sudden c-Sec cost)
Or Government PPUM with confinement center RM 13k(PPUM RM1k+)

She pick second one. And never regretted it.

Although she told her friends only need to stay 1 or 2 days in hospital why not spend money for the next 28.days in premium care center.

This post has been edited by Red_rustyjelly: Jul 22 2022, 02:21 PM
cmk96
post Jul 22 2022, 02:21 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Jul 22 2022, 12:04 PM)
Respect... I plan do the same.

Only order confinement Food.
kingz113
post Jul 22 2022, 02:27 PM

323 posts

I think this should be highlighted more. The toughest time isn't the first month, but the second or third month when the baby starts opening their eyes. Infant GERD, falling sick, phlegm are serious issues that wil completely deplete your mental energy coupled with lack of sleep.

If I were to do it again as a first time parent, I'll go to a cheaper centre but stay for 2-3 months.
mezanny
post Jul 22 2022, 02:34 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(AyamBannedTwice @ Jul 22 2022, 02:15 PM)
u took prubsn or aia one?
I did survey for both insurance
but both only fully cover after 14 days of delivery
the agent told me even took pregnancy's package still not fully covered
example: Jaundice only cover if the reading is more than 300 which kalau ikutkan 200++ pun dah kena hospitalise
yeap covers about just that.

but u buy life/medical insurance for ur kid, start early age also not just for giving birth.

nope mine neither them.
gu~wak_zhai
post Jul 22 2022, 02:45 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(GrandElf @ Jul 22 2022, 11:30 AM)
Next month my wife will go confinement centre....around 18k....

The price vary from 15k to 18k depends on the room/package that you choose.....for me yes more worth it to go confinement center rather than hire lady which I saw most ppl had bad experience with it before.....

Confinement center price also vary depends on your location...my friend at negeri sembilan there only cost around 9k to 10k.....my confinement center is at puchong.....
LYC? that one seems popular. Visited there and the facilities seem good.
roseisrose
post Jul 22 2022, 02:54 PM

53 posts

i was at CC in Feb 2022 - paid RM14k in Kelana Jaya

pros and cons here - https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5251231&hl=

roseisrose
post Jul 22 2022, 03:04 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Jul 22 2022, 11:32 AM)
depends la....some ppl very lucky, got many supportive and young and abled parents, in laws, sisters, brothers , aunties even neighnours to help out...

some ppl very unlucky, either no family member at all (only child, parents super old ) or just hv non helpful family members.......

so if you need help, and have moeny to get help, pls do. post partum depression is no joke. u never know how bad it will be.
roseisrose
post Jul 22 2022, 03:11 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Jul 22 2022, 12:04 PM)
u boy or girl ? housewife or / househusband or u work from home?
you hv other family members who can help u ?
u got maid?
i am only asking cos we did try that method with no 1 baby.
after 7 mths, we hv to get maid cos too tired and too many arguments

This post has been edited by roseisrose: Jul 22 2022, 03:13 PM
silverhawk
post Jul 22 2022, 03:16 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

Don't need it, our generation very strawberry that's all.

My wife first 2 kids no confinement centre/lady. 2nd kid was during MCO too, so couldn't get help even if we wanted to. I've always been WFH, so I can be around to help out. Confinement food can also order (good ones are not cheap). 3rd one otw, this time she is considered confinement centre, just to have the experience laugh.gif

At the end of the day, its all in your mind. If you already keep thinking things will be hard/difficult, it will be.However if you have the mindset of "difficult also can handle" things will proceed much smoother.
roseisrose
post Jul 22 2022, 03:18 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(alex_leo @ Jul 22 2022, 12:22 PM)

list of centres here - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5237677

Boom Mortar
post Jul 22 2022, 03:20 PM

227 posts

1st kid hire confinement lady to home,insta ragret bcos u will need to do much more homework all the time... exhausted no time to rest.

please send waifu n baby go confinement centre...but prepare the next mth gotta midnight wake up take care of baby.train 1 week before they come back home.
roseisrose
post Jul 22 2022, 03:25 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 22 2022, 01:06 PM)

yes , u r so lucky yours is an angel.
mois
post Jul 22 2022, 03:26 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Jul 22 2022, 01:29 PM)
5sec of orgasm comes with a mountain of debt for next 18yrs... good luck
You have no idea what it feel to have a family. Maybe you were abandoned long time ago? Friends come and go. But family stay.
undentifiedKC
post Jul 22 2022, 03:30 PM

413 posts

paying 12k for confinement imo is damn fucking cheap

it's like staying in hotel for 28 days with all meal + baby care included, each day cost u 400 onli

if ur wife request this and u not willing to pay for it, please try to take care of the baby by urself instead of asking ur wife to do it, cause she's not feeling well and body is weak to do that

for my case, i just give my wife 20k so she do all the decision herself, whether mother take care, confinement lady or confinement centre, so she can't blame me for not respecting her decision
GrandElf
post Jul 22 2022, 03:31 PM

HyunA
1,154 posts

QUOTE(gu~wak_zhai @ Jul 22 2022, 02:45 PM)
LYC? that one seems popular. Visited there and the facilities seem good.
Nope....its Bliss....I do survey both LYC & Bliss....LYC problem is tarak use traditional chinese herbs 1 & also no traditional chinese doctor.....

So thats why I choose Bliss....
undentifiedKC
post Jul 22 2022, 03:33 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Jul 22 2022, 03:16 PM)

My wife first 2 kids no confinement centre/lady. 2nd kid was during MCO too, so couldn't get help even if we wanted to. I've always been WFH, so I can be around to help out. Confinement food can also order (good ones are not cheap). 3rd one otw, this time she is considered confinement centre, just to have the experience laugh.gif

At the end of the day, its all in your mind. If you already keep thinking things will be hard/difficult, it will be.However if you have the mindset of "difficult also can handle" things will proceed much smoother.
actually the most important point is, husband willing to take up the responsibility for house work, and baby care, and u did it which is good

basically i'd say the cost that pay for confinement center is to save up ur time, and some of the confinement center got class for new parents to teach them how to take care of baby (take bath, change cloth, wipe ass, change diaper) so i'd say go ahead if able to afford
gogocan
post Jul 22 2022, 03:33 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(roseisrose @ Jul 22 2022, 03:11 PM)
u boy or girl ? housewife or / househusband or u work from home?
you hv other family members who can help u ?
u got maid?
i am only asking cos we did try that method with no 1 baby.
after 7 mths, we hv to get maid cos too tired and too many arguments
Both working..we are used to doing thing ourselves. It fun actually..
square2
post Jul 22 2022, 03:37 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(keyibukeyi @ Jul 22 2022, 11:37 AM)
10K Basic.
Year 2022
WTF, not even one month after give birth you so fast wanna go in? womb also not yet heal
marfccy
post Jul 22 2022, 03:41 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Jul 22 2022, 03:16 PM)

thats how i feel too? it really depends on the situation. if youre office going worker then no choice lo, better go CC since no time. but if youre willing to go through the pain and trouble then no CC it is

its not like back in the days they had any issues with taking care of us without CC. we didnt ended up being on wrong side of kids life or worst case, dead laugh.gif
kons
post Jul 22 2022, 03:42 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

i am the confinement guy..

i can cook and i can put baby to sleep.

keyibukeyi
post Jul 22 2022, 03:59 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(square2 @ Jul 22 2022, 03:37 PM)
WTF, not even one month after give birth you so fast wanna go in? womb also not yet heal
just kidding laugh.gif
drug5
post Jul 22 2022, 04:02 PM

107 posts

Prepare 20k get the best package. Let ur wife syok syok there 24 hrs got ppl jaga. Meanwhile u still can party outside on/off yo
TSLe Don
post Jul 22 2022, 09:07 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(roseisrose @ Jul 22 2022, 03:18 PM)
Nice list
Justin.Loong
post Jul 22 2022, 10:19 PM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Jul 22 2022, 03:42 PM)
i am the confinement guy..

i can cook and i can put baby to sleep.
silverhawk
post Jul 22 2022, 11:41 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(undentifiedKC @ Jul 22 2022, 03:33 PM)
actually the most important point is, husband willing to take up the responsibility for house work, and baby care, and u did it which is good

basically i'd say the cost that pay for confinement center is to save up ur time, and some of the confinement center got class for new parents to teach them how to take care of baby (take bath, change cloth, wipe ass, change diaper) so i'd say go ahead if able to afford
It helps that I only require 6 hours of sleep, can get by with 4+1 hours but would be less productive.

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 22 2022, 03:41 PM)
thats how i feel too? it really depends on the situation. if youre office going worker then no choice lo, better go CC since no time. but if youre willing to go through the pain and trouble then no CC it is

its not like back in the days they had any issues with taking care of us without CC. we didnt ended up being on wrong side of kids life or worst case, dead  laugh.gif
Yeap, so its mostly frills. Most confinement practices are pretty stupid anyway, so up to you how you want to go through things. '

That said, if you're worried that raising a kid is expensive (which it is). Its not going to get any cheaper, the cost is also likely to outpace your earnings, so better to start earlier and just plan your finances accordingly. Sometimes the pressure of having a kid will push you (hubby mostly) to earn more.
TSLe Don
post Jul 29 2022, 11:35 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Jul 22 2022, 11:41 PM)
It helps that I only require 6 hours of sleep, can get by with 4+1 hours but would be less productive.
Yeap, so its mostly frills. Most confinement practices are pretty stupid anyway, so up to you how you want to go through things. '

That said, if you're worried that raising a kid is expensive (which it is). Its not going to get any cheaper, the cost is also likely to outpace your earnings, so better to start earlier and just plan your finances accordingly. Sometimes the pressure of having a kid will push you (hubby mostly) to earn more.
Year by year, cost of raising kids will get higher. Soon not many people want kids.
Spawny
post Jul 29 2022, 11:47 AM

Lets do this
687 posts

If you have your own place to stay without parents, then better to get a confinement lady to stay.
Why u ask? Because no parents/in laws will disturb the lady doing her work, and its more comfortable to be at your own place.

Since your already at home, you already know how to manage the babies things and where to put them accordingly and where to get them, when u come back from confinement home it will not so easy to get adjust back to your home as u will need to organize from the start.

To those saying staying in confinement the wife can rest more, I see no difference cause your wife need to get up every 2 hours to feed and she will be sleep deprive either way.
Chisinlouz
post Jul 29 2022, 11:50 AM

848 posts

Park
a13solut3
post Jul 29 2022, 11:57 AM

Whiner FTW!
1,759 posts

QUOTE(Spawny @ Jul 29 2022, 11:47 AM)
If you have your own place to stay without parents, then better to get a confinement lady to stay.
Why u ask? Because no parents/in laws will disturb the lady doing her work, and its more comfortable to be at your own place.

Since your already at home, you already know how to manage the babies things and where to put them accordingly and where to get them,  when u come back from confinement home it will not so easy to get adjust back to your home as u will need to organize from the start.

To those saying staying in confinement the wife can rest more, I see no difference cause your wife need to get up every 2 hours to feed and she will be sleep deprive either way.
my waifu today last day at confinement, yeah it's true that her sleep deprived even without housework. no baby need to pump. got baby need to jaga. no time at all.

pysh
post Jul 29 2022, 12:00 PM

382 posts

depending state kot.. Penang here starting from 8k d
abepaih
post Jul 29 2022, 12:11 PM

38 posts

woah so expensive go to centre. last year i called CL stay at house around 6k only 40day. she help take care baby n wife even cook extra for me
WinkyJr
post Jul 29 2022, 12:24 PM

433 posts

dun remember for how many days la
sijun
post Jul 29 2022, 12:49 PM

318 posts

just signed one 10.8k ish. at puchong.
TSLe Don
post Jul 29 2022, 12:54 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(sijun @ Jul 29 2022, 12:49 PM)
just signed one 10.8k ish. at puchong.
what is in the package?

sijun
post Jul 29 2022, 02:21 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(Le Don @ Jul 29 2022, 12:54 PM)
what is in the package?
Sorry is 10388.

ssawkl
post Jul 29 2022, 04:10 PM

40 posts

TS,

you just start menabung RM2K-3K per mth now and it should be enough. But tbh, if you want to save money, just take care of your own baby cos 1st baby is piece of cake. when 2nd baby you can consider confinement centre cos you may not be handle 1 toddler and a baby at the same time.

i tell myself this, if you cannot handle 1 mth confinement, what makes you think you can handle 20 yrs of your kids's life?
vinoth
post Jul 29 2022, 04:23 PM

514 posts

noob question, how long does confinement usually last at the confinement centres?

also, the rates are usually monthly rate?
eric8618
post Jul 29 2022, 05:48 PM

QUOTE(vinoth @ Jul 29 2022, 04:23 PM)
noob question, how long does confinement usually last at the confinement centres?

Normally is 28 days. If u have money u can go for 2 months.
The rates is for 28 days at confinement centre. Charges may vary due to festival seasons or u needs extra items/services.
vinoth
post Jul 29 2022, 06:25 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(eric8618 @ Jul 29 2022, 05:48 PM)
Normally is 28 days. If u have money u can go for 2 months.
The rates is for 28 days at confinement centre. Charges may vary due to festival seasons or u needs extra items/services.
i see. thanks for the clarification.
R231_SL65_AMG
post Jul 29 2022, 10:29 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(vinoth @ Jul 29 2022, 04:23 PM)

It depends on how deep your pockets are.

Some places are quite strict you check in evening of the day you’re released from hospital and on the 28th morning you’re out.

Some you could spend your entire maternity leave there.

There are a very select few that you can start staying there anytime from the beginning of your 3rd trimester up until your baby is 100 days.

Generally most good ones want you to go by the 28th day as they usually have a booking for the next patient.

vinoth
post Jul 30 2022, 10:38 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(R231_SL65_AMG @ Jul 29 2022, 10:29 PM)
It depends on how deep your pockets are.

Some places are quite strict you check in evening of the day you’re released from hospital and on the 28th morning you’re out.

Some you could spend your entire maternity leave there.

There are a very select few that you can start staying there anytime from the beginning of your 3rd trimester up until your baby is 100 days.

Generally most good ones want you to go by the 28th day as they usually have a booking for the next patient.
i see.. thanks for this.. im on my pre-parenthood journey, so gathering as much info as possible.. smile.gif
R231_SL65_AMG
post Jul 30 2022, 04:07 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(vinoth @ Jul 30 2022, 10:38 AM)
i see.. thanks for this.. im on my pre-parenthood journey, so gathering as much info as possible.. smile.gif
Ok, my advice as someone that’s a partner to operating a specialised confinement centre and dad of 4 aged between 14 and 1.

If the mother is healthy and under 33, not a high risk pregnancy and had a natural birth, then you don’t need a confinement centre or even a confinement lady. You could get away with a once per week cleaner and yes for the mental well being of the mother please keep all in-laws away from inter meddling in the household affairs. Things will be much better if first 2 weeks dad takes time off from work or try to work from home if that’s an option.

99% of confinement stuff are mostly folklore or old wives tales and there’s near zero scientific basis for it. Just some common sense will be fine.

Food and meals? You don’t need a confinement lady to cook for you, there are many confinement meal caterers these days.

If the mother is likely to have a caesarean birth, this one even if she’s under 30 can be a bit complicated as the scar and stitching must be well taken care off and she will need a bit more assistance as it’s not recommended for her to lift anything more than 3-5kg and not recommended for her to bath the baby on her own. If got budget then get a confinement lady or a temporary live in maid.

If over 33 and natural birth, a confinement lady or a confinement centre can be helpful but not required if the pregnancy and birth has no complications. However things can be a bit more tiring as energy levels and recovery isn’t as efficient so if you don’t have a confinement lady do consider getting a temporary helper or a friend or relative to help her out at home.

If over 33 and likely to have complications? Get a maid, confinement lady and also the mum’s mum to be around.

If it will be a bed ridden pregnancy? By 3rd trimester she should be checked in to a specialised confinement centre that knows how to take care of such expectant mums… not many of these about, most of them won’t take you in unless the gynae personally recommended and yes they’re very expensive too.

My patients? My centre is still new as it was only launched 6 weeks ago. Currently looking after 4 bed ridden pregnant women and have 5 new births.

Why they’re at the centre??
Bedridden :-

1.) She is 43, first time mother and weak womb.
2.) she is 24, some rich bloke wants to keep her “safe” from his family.
3) She is 38, developed a bad case of prenatal diabetes and hypertension and has mobility issues.
4) She is 39, first time mother and carrying triplets.

The one with baby?
1.) She is 29, said she wanted peace and to be left alone especially from in-laws.

2.) & 3) Similar to 1.)

4.) She is 34, home has other kids that are school hooky, decided to stay due to Covid risk.

5.) 2nd child, prefers a confinement centre over a confinement lady that gets in her face.

vinoth
post Jul 31 2022, 03:50 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(R231_SL65_AMG @ Jul 30 2022, 04:07 PM)
Ok, my advice as someone that’s a partner to operating a specialised confinement centre and dad of 4 aged between 14 and 1.

If the mother is healthy and under 33, not a high risk pregnancy and had a natural birth, then you don’t need a confinement centre or even a confinement lady. You could get away with a once per week cleaner and yes for the mental well being of the mother please keep all in-laws away from inter meddling in the household affairs. Things will be much better if first 2 weeks dad takes time off from work or try to work from home if that’s an option.

99% of confinement stuff are mostly folklore or old wives tales and there’s near zero scientific basis for it. Just some common sense will be fine.

Food and meals? You don’t need a confinement lady to cook for you, there are many confinement meal caterers these days.

If the mother is likely to have a caesarean birth, this one even if she’s under 30 can be a bit complicated as the scar and stitching must be well taken care off and she will need a bit more assistance as it’s not recommended for her to lift anything more than 3-5kg and not recommended for her to bath the baby on her own. If got budget then get a confinement lady or a temporary live in maid.

If over 33 and natural birth, a confinement lady or a confinement centre can be helpful but not required if the pregnancy and birth has no complications. However things can be a bit more tiring as energy levels and recovery isn’t as efficient so if you don’t have a confinement lady do consider getting a temporary helper or a friend or relative to help her out at home.

If over 33 and likely to have complications? Get a maid, confinement lady and also the mum’s mum to be around.

If it will be a bed ridden pregnancy? By 3rd trimester she should be checked in to a specialised confinement centre that knows how to take care of such expectant mums… not many of these about, most of them won’t take you in unless the gynae personally recommended and yes they’re very expensive too.

My patients? My centre is still new as it was only launched 6 weeks ago. Currently looking after 4 bed ridden pregnant women and have 5 new births.

Why they’re at the centre??
Bedridden :-

1.) She is 43, first time mother and weak womb.
2.) she is 24, some rich bloke wants to keep her “safe” from his family.
3) She is 38, developed a bad case of prenatal diabetes and hypertension and has mobility issues.
4) She is 39, first time mother and carrying triplets.

The one with baby?
1.) She is 29, said she wanted peace and to be left alone especially from in-laws.

2.) & 3) Similar to 1.)

4.) She is 34, home has other kids that are school hooky, decided to stay due to Covid risk.

5.) 2nd child, prefers a confinement centre over a confinement lady that gets in her face.
Hi bro,

thanks alot and appreciate u taking the time to explain all the possible scenarios and the significance of a confinement centre.. notworthy.gif

also, congrats on your new centre and i wish u all the best. thumbup.gif

i guess there's still a long journey ahead of me in discovering the parenthood life smile.gif

if you have any e-brochure/e-flyer of your centre , would you be able to PM me? it might be useful in the future .

loui
post Jul 31 2022, 08:45 PM

795 posts

My wife went to one at sri petaling last year

Cost me 15000 for 28 days

But I get to stay there also with free food and laundry services

The reason I choose there is because
1. Own by pedetrician doctor
2. Has a standby OBGYN who comes in 3 times per week
3. The manager is a very knowledgeable lady which my wife love very much

teutonic
post Jul 31 2022, 08:58 PM

147 posts

i have 7 siblings and i am the 2nd child. myself and my elder sister do confinement for our mother.

0.0362sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:36 AM