The E90 - N52 over N43 ?

Zenith5229
post Jul 28 2022, 10:01 AM

161 posts

I have a F10 with the N52B30 258hp version .

Basically oil leaks at the usual spot - Valve cover gasket , Oil filter housing gasket and oil pan gasket . The upper two are more important to be sorted out immediately because it drips downwards on the serpentine belts and can also drip down to the exhaust side causing weird fumes .

Bad location of DME causing premature wear from heat probably , my MSV90 DME died and it was such a hassle .

Kena ignition coil as well causing misfires , but this is probably wear and tear .

Definitely go for the inline 6 . It's so smooth and creamy and the driving experience is just not the same .

This post has been edited by Zenith5229: Jul 28 2022, 11:36 AM
Zenith5229
post Jul 28 2022, 01:18 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(LORD SK @ Jul 28 2022, 12:08 PM)
Wow 258 horses ! Yes i did read that F series did use the N52 as well. Thanks for the confirmation.

The top three: valve cover gasket, oil filter housing gasket, oil pan gasket, ha ha totally checks out with the reviews that i have read.

And yes i came across the issue of the leaks flowing down to the serpentine belts and wrecking up the engine. Oh dear, things an oil leak can do the engine 😅 !!

The ignition coil, is it the same as the solenoid ?

One other info would greatly help:
Yours being a F10, the repairs must have been recent, i am just wondering how much was the damage to your wallet for the replacement of the three leaks issues ? 6k++ ?

1- Just for the three leaks i think its not even close to 6k , the gaskets itself are like 100-300 per pcs , valve cover i think its like 700 - 1k , the rest are workmanship charges which depends on model and depends on workshop . Just figures off the top of my head , it may not be exactly accurate ya .

And for the valve cover gasket theres two ways of fixing it , u can change the whole valve cover , or just the gasket only ( not recommended , i forgot the exact reason , sorry )

2- Yup , oil leakages should be fixed asap , the leak itself is not a big issue but it will indirectly cause collateral damage to other parts if left long enough .

3- No , ignition coil is the the thing connecting to the spark plug . The vanos solenoids are another thing altogether

4- Edit , i just remembered i also kena-ed the crankshaft oil seal leak as well , its literally a round shape ring/seal , part itself costs like Rm 1xx .

This post has been edited by Zenith5229: Jul 28 2022, 01:33 PM
Zenith5229
post Jul 28 2022, 01:55 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(LORD SK @ Jul 28 2022, 01:40 PM)
Ok. I get it, its a rough estimate.
Alright, not to cut cost on this. Better to change as a whole. Good advice. Its fine i check out the cons and pros.
Ok leaks can lead to massive issues if ignored. Noted.

Oh, its a diffetent part, i m still a noob.

Thanks for the explanation. Appreciate the info.  I assume that had yours done from an external mechanic, i mean it was not done at an official service centre ?

Official service centres are not all that great for certain repairs i guess.
Yeah , i do my repairs with independent workshops , the official service centers are overpriced . whistling.gif whistling.gif

To go back on your topic right , i think your budget and emergency fund for repairs is just nice to get a inline 6 LCI E90 . The e92 commands a much higher price , maybe due to its rarity .

If you go with the E92 i think you can only shoot for the E92 320i , so its becomes a debate of E90 323i/325i LCI vs E92 320i biggrin.gif

0.0176sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:36 AM