Will you think the property market will fall soon?, will the landed property fall in 2024?

mushigen
post Jul 15 2022, 10:48 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(wow1wow2 @ Jul 15 2022, 08:11 AM)
Property is the worst investment now, not sure why agent still want to promote about capital appreciation nowadays. Own stay yes but for investment fk no
Takkan you expect property agents selling properties for a living to tell prospective buyers not to buy?
mushigen
post Aug 17 2022, 10:43 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(bonedragon @ Aug 17 2022, 10:35 AM)
The cost may be going up, if no transactions, property developers/sellers who need cash will still offload it. First by reducing margin, if not, then by taking a small loss. The cost is almost irrelevant. It's like saying cost of mining bitcoin is very high end of last year so the price will definitely not drop. Well, we all know what happened there.
I see 2 scenarios.

1. Strong developers will hold on.
2. Weaker developers may go bust.

You may be right about how some of them are desperate enough to drop prices. Question is, what happens after this batch of "cheap" properties are sold out?
mushigen
post Aug 17 2022, 12:55 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(scorptim @ Aug 17 2022, 11:56 AM)
In all seriousness, unless you are blind you should notice since 2016 until now property prices have already been falling. Most areas already drop by around 20-30% from the peak price in 2015. So I really dunno what further fall or how much fall you guys are expecting before you guys willing to buy.

Mark my words, this downtrend will not be forever. Max until end 2023 only then prices will start going up again. If you miss this cycle downtrend be prepared to wait another 5-10 years for the next downtrend and even then prices will be more than the current downtrend price.
Who doesn't know this?
mushigen
post Aug 17 2022, 01:41 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(scorptim @ Aug 17 2022, 01:06 PM)

You see the comments in this thread la bro. So many don’t even acknowledge there has been a price drop. Dunno what they expect Rm1 mil house to drop until below 300k before they consider it a price drop?
I see what you mean. I was referring to the "not forever". Nothing is forever mah.
mushigen
post Aug 21 2022, 10:19 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(ericthai @ Aug 21 2022, 10:05 AM)
I am talking about your silly comparison of using a bitcoin which is just gambling to compare with the price of a house.

A house is essential for people to live in, bitcoin  doh.gif  is not essential (it's for rich people to gamble).

A house will not drop much because it's essential , inflation rate is high now so it's silly to drop so much.

Unless you have many houses and can afford to lose money, people usually do not want to sell their house at a loss (taking into account the inflation rate).
In life, sometimes it's not up to us whether we want or not. People can sell their only house at a loss due to many reasons. I'm sure you can think of a few reasons.

As the Chinese saying goes, "if got hair, who wants to be botak?".

mushigen
post Aug 21 2022, 10:36 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(ericthai @ Aug 21 2022, 10:32 AM)
People who sell houses at a loss is a minority and not the majority.

As long as the majority don't want to sell at a loss, the price of houses will stay stable due to increasing inflation and higher cost of building a new house.

Just because 1% sell at a loss, it will not affect the overall market.
Now you say minority when you implied nobody does that unless they have many houses.

It's silly to say 1% vs 99% as if the whole property market is uniform. When you have someone (or two) selling his house below market price in that area, it will drag down the asking price of the rest.

mushigen
post Aug 21 2022, 10:50 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(ericthai @ Aug 21 2022, 10:41 AM)
I did not imply nobody, so stop putting words in my mouth!

I said usually most people do not want to sell at a loss especially when houses are essential unlike Bitcoin or stock.

If one person sell at below market rate, if the other sellers maintain the price and there is demand, how will it drag the asking price? lol

If the price of all houses drop, it's the fault of the government and the banks who cannot control the economy.

Look at Singapore, did the price of house drop there? Did the Singapore currency drop as drastically as in Malaysian ringgit?

So we know who to vote for this coming election.

Stop talking nonsense, I will not answer you anymore and put you in my ignore list.
As I said, not everyone can avoid selling house at a loss. As long as someone sells a house below market price, the market value will fall.

If one is desperate to let go (refer to my point about being botak), he will have to lower his asking price. And the vicious cycle continues.

Of course in Fantasyland, nobody is desperate to sell his house so the price won't fall. Are you living in Fantasyland?

mushigen
post Oct 26 2022, 11:04 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(mezanny @ Oct 25 2022, 06:23 PM)
ur one is fully furnished ?

but condo after 15 years, I think price will go down because here, the maintenance of condos are very bad.
Agree about the maintenance. After 5/6 years, the condition can deteriorate a lot.

As to whether the price will fall, maybe it also depends on the general pricing of property in future?

Example: you bought the condo for 500k. Maybe in 10 years, similar new condos go for 800-900k?
Maybe your condo can fetch 600k?
mushigen
post Oct 26 2022, 11:36 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(mezanny @ Oct 26 2022, 11:21 AM)
maybe in future condos got a value.

but currently, condo > 15 years very less value.

why ? because new condos are mushrooming everywhere, next to my condo already got few new development projects.

if you want to sell at same price or more, who want to buy, when they can get new one nearby ?

unlike landed property selling like hot cakes, because developer build less and less and those in PJ or bangsar or tmn tun are prime locations. They are basically weatherbell against inflation.
Same as my current area in Png.
mushigen
post Oct 26 2022, 05:01 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(mezanny @ Oct 26 2022, 03:20 PM)
but i think one day all the building will stop.

when Msia become like HK no more space to build.

but not now.
They will probably buy over old flats to build new condos.
mushigen
post May 19 2023, 01:18 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(jrshow @ May 19 2023, 12:59 PM)
will it fall ....??
Those who want it to fall will say it will fall.
Those who don't want it to fall will say it won't fall.
Those who know whether it will fall or not will keep quiet.

0.0530sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:54 AM