Tilamook our favorite brand of ice-cream, we have 5 tubs of different flavors in the freezer. Don't eat fast2 but it's so delicious & creamy that when craving ice cream need to have it. It's better than any other ice-cream available including Haagen Dazs or Ben & Jerry. In order of faves
1. Vanilla Bean - best vanilla 2. White Chocolate Raspberry - hard find sometimes 3. Coffee Almond Fudge - smooth af 4. Mudslide - best choc ice cream ever tasted 5. Choc Chip - best choc chip, hard to find 6. Marionberry Pie - tasty, unique oregon berry 7. Udderly Choc - half and half mix of vanilla n choc, very milky 8. Oregon Strawberry - smoothest strawberry, got seeds tho
Do not recommend 1. Chocolate Peanut Butter - gross, competing flavors 2. Monster cookie - sickly sweet 3. Mint Choc Chip - tasted better 4. Oregon Hazelnut & Salted Caramel - too sweet 5. Waffle Cone Swirl - sludgy soggy waffle in ice cream, bad textures
Thanks for the summarized review. Probably I wouldn’t buy and try monster cookie & oregon hazelnut & salted caramel since you said they are sweet while you still can tahan the sweetness of mudslide’s choc fudge.
I noticed you haven’t tried the other two vanillas, and also cookies & cream.
Granted I haven’t tried all the flavours, inside scoop is really sweet that the sweetness overpowering the flavour i tried.
We had few pint tub of inside scoop went into dustbin last few months after sitting there inside our freezer for almost a year.
Vanilla bean is the best. But if no stock we grab old fashioned or french np or rotate what we buy. They bring in vanilla bean n old fashioned often. Just ranking 1 to 3 but all vanilla is #1 flavour IMO.
Cookies n cream like mint choc chip. Nothing special.
The waffle n oregon hazelnut so sweet or icky we chuck in bin also after freezer burn cause no one want to eat.
Edit - mudslide the trick is to use half scoop vs regular scoop. The tub lasts forever cause it’s so rich. Chocolate lover heaven!
This post has been edited by mochicake: Jul 13 2022, 10:38 PM
I don’t really immediately throw them away. I would try to finish them most of the time, probably one scoop every few months, until my wife nags about “that” ice cream tub that has been in the freezer for years. Most of the time it would be around 1/4-1/2 tub left when the time comes
I remember there were few Ben & Jerry that were in our freezer for almost 3 years
Lol i’m same need clear freezer for space. Then try make milkshake bomb use lotsa ice cream, always end up gross anyways. Chuck it. There’s a reason why best milkshakes are the standard flavors. It is tough to waste $29.90, regret buying those flavors forever. Unfortunately can’t donate or serve to family since covid started. No family gathering for us.
Ben & jerry more expensive, kinda overrated imo but i try the safe popular flavors like cherry garcia, phish food or chubby hubby. Plus tub small can force self finish it. What flavors you tried?
Forgot to mention Tilamook berries flavor are sourced from the fresh fruits from Oregon. Like the dairy. Thats their whole schtick. So it doesn't taste artificial to me (earlier someone mention being worried about artificial berry taste).
I forgot already what flavour did we try. That was more than 10 years ago when we first got married. I only remember one with monkey something in its name. All because of influenced by /ktards who highly recommended Ben & Jerry.
Then our favourite was New Zealand Natural, until they close shop in Malaysia. Buying tubs in supermarket was simply too expensive, we switched to BR @ 31st. Then we found sunnyside farm and tillamook and Bulla. Since then, only that 3 brands are in our freezer (and occasionally BR).
Sunnyside is pretty good, used be our favorite. But the tubs have shrunk crazily. Same with Blue Bunny. Tilamook start shrinking in 2020 or 2021 but not a lot (for now).
Probably gotta pick up the death by chocolate sunnyside you recommended.
havent see Tillamook White Chocolate Raspberry here in KL
Saw at empire subang, jaya grocer on Wed. Village grocer citta mall few days ago. Plaza Shah alam mercado shockingly had two freezer full of Tilamook, most i ever seen. White choc raspberry is a popular flavor, if see gotta grab. Try any jaya grocer, village grocer or bens … as bens is same owner/management as village, use same app n vouchers.
This post has been edited by mochicake: Jul 13 2022, 11:48 PM
Thanks for the tips. I have never been inside and see what are they selling despite having pass by the entrance so many times
I was shocked at amount of tilamook. Had go there for govt office so waste time walk inside supermarket scope it out. Had lotsa imported stuff like village/jaya groc.
This weekend went store got Tilamook mudslide and old-fashioned vanilla. Passed on sunnyside Death by Chocolate ... couldn't resist Tilamook Anyone got recommendation for a good strawberry ice-cream? Tilamook strawberry has seeds in it, not much but enough that makes it bad for me since i can't stand them at all.
QUOTE(vhs1 @ Jul 16 2022, 12:48 AM)
I also like popsicle type, with lime outside & vanilla ice-cream inside. Very refreshing after workout. I can eat 2 sticks at a time
Solero? That's really good on a hot day. It's better than the Nestle one which has less lime flavor.
Speaking of local ice-cream. A magnum ice-cream stick is pretty good. They do use a decent chocolate for the shell. The vanilla is decent, has a creamy enough taste. Too bad the mini magnum shrunk so much that it's ridiculous, two decent bites and it's gone. Unsatisfying.
Speaking about Magnum.... not sure is it just me but seems like the chocolate coating is not as thick as it used to be, or is it the quality of the chocolate? I used to had magnum when I'm young and I remember it being more 'chocolate tasting'
Everything shrink in size or quality lessen. Magnum definitely different from our younger days. For a local ice-cream it's still creamy at least instead of an iced confection. Once in awhile when craving it's ok especially the classic or white chocolate almond one. During MCO we order from shopee their official store and few days later the friendly uncle show up in his little Walls truck with Magnum bars ice cold in little freezer bags.
And i purposely take cookies and cream basic flavour to test it..
But i find its really underwhelming.. both in flavour and creaminess..
For me even BR also taste nicer than HD... and HD flavours all damn basic nothing that really excites the tastebuds...
[attachmentid=11206748]
Haagen dazs it's dependant on the flavor. Cookies & Cream tbh all brands nothing special since it's a muddled flavor.
For HD best IMO is Pralines & Cream + Belgian Chocolate combo or Macadamia Nut, they're hard to find equivalent elsewhere, even Tilamook (which is my #1 fave)
There's nowhere else you could get such proper coffee ice cream with that price.
Coffee Almond Jamoca Fudge? My favorite. Top 5 ice-cream for sure.
Found Chocolate chip finally at Village Grocers, haven't seen it so long. So filled with choc chips and the perfect consistency. Recommend this flavor to everyone.
Sidenote Haagen Dasz got some recall because of pesticide issue. Belgian Choc is included in flavors for recall now. News from Singapore but unsure if includes ours. The ones on recall come from France so check the news and your fridge.
Halo top taste like hard ice sprinkled with flavors. I find it awful. But if you wanna watch sugars or on keto guess that's what to eat. Rather have a small teaspoon of real ice-cream rather than a pint of that.