RM9K or SGD5K salary?

SUSRolexseller123
post Jul 23 2022, 10:29 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 12 2022, 04:26 PM)
Stay in SG. TL for 8k back in KL (myself) can't make ends meet. Nett 6.5k ya

Here in SG cincai send back 2k+ SGD is already my nett what I made in KL. And that's not all, still got leftover.

Working in KL at this time where everything is crazy expensive? Are you really sure to live the life of zero savings?  rclxub.gif
Can't compare like that la. Earn rm8k is nothing in kl. Its like earning SGD2k in Singapore. You gonna struggle. People go KL to do business. Huat big big
SUSRolexseller123
post Jul 23 2022, 12:56 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 23 2022, 11:52 AM)
That's the problem. And yet there's literally no better job to enhance my earnings locally - believe me, I tried  nod.gif but the general consensus was appalling (hard to get iv for any 5-figure Telco Prod Dev/Prod Owner job in KL bruce.gif ). It got to the point that I thought whatever I was doing all along was moot and useless field, and I gotta accept it is what it is, forever poor life. Yes there are PD/PO job for banking/insurance but not my forte.

But kiasuland telco can readily offer (sealed the deal in ten days from first iv).
Ironically for a tiny country there are more job opportunities related to what I do [even considering the competitors].
And for the first time of my life I can actually afford toys like a good laptop or new iphone drool.gif
What i am trying to tell you is if money is your motivation then becoming an employee in malaysia is the wrong option. You want money in malaysia you have to do business. Its very easy to reach rm1m of revenue in malaysia compared to SGD1m in singapore. Similarly Singapore is better if you are an employee. Conversely doing business is going to be tough in singapore due to competition, tight labour market and crazy rentals. You need to see which one fits then go for it. Like putting square pegs into square holes. No point trying to force square pegs into triangle holes. Its not gonna work.

This post has been edited by Rolexseller123: Jul 23 2022, 12:57 PM
SUSRolexseller123
post Aug 7 2022, 10:03 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Aug 5 2022, 10:44 AM)
My friend story. He went to SG for 12 years and earning about SGD 6k. It is decent money after convert to MYR. However he said if given a choice again he will not go SG and will stay in Msia. Due to high earning he bought a 800k house in Msia, 2 cars for family members and high insurance premium. He did save money however parents and siblings knew he earn more and keep asking support from him. Until today he still remain as single. His life in SG for these 12 years mostly office and room. He rarely go shopping during weekend as his intention is to earn and save money. He went overseas trip once or twice a year with friends as a reward to his hard work.

But now at age over 40 he afraid he might lose his job as senior account executive due to high pay low level. Company may anytime retrench him and replaced with cheaper junior executive. He did tried to apply Msia job and seeking RM 8k salary but none of the company can offer him more than RM 6k. He said if he were stay in Msia at his age now he should at least a teamlead or manager with earning around or above RM 8k. If not due to high currency rate he will not commit to expensive property and will not commit to buy 2 cars for family members.

There are many people will say please go or stay in SG purely because of high currency rate instead of career prospect. I have around 10 friends (Malaysian) working in SG with degree or some got MBA, none of them position in manager until today. A common problem of people who work in SG is over commitment that cause them extremely hard to come back to Msia.
Ummm...the problem here is why after 12 years working in Singapore he still stuck with $6k salary? Never got any promotion, never look for a new job? Attitude problem?
SUSRolexseller123
post Aug 8 2022, 10:15 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Aug 8 2022, 09:18 AM)
Many people desire to go SG to earn big money but the truth is the earning mostly from exchange rate rather than high salary in SGD. I got other friends who worked in SG now and mostly in between SGD 5-7k and this is quite common. Only 1 friend salary more than SGD 10k because he was in US MNC while in Msia and then assigned to SG for regional role. These friends are in white collar industry and those who went SG for blue collar job their earning is about SGD 2 - 3.5k despite almost 20 years in SG.
People thought after working 10 years they may got chance to promote, yes from junior to senior but it is very hard to move up to management role even after 20 years in SG. It is because in SG there are people across Asia and some from Europe and US seeking career in SG.
In SG even if you were very hardworking but the opportunity is lesser to get promotion compare to Msia because there are many people work harder than us. In Msia if one is hardworking and serious about work it is easy to earn RM 4-5k before 30 and get promotion to earn RM 7-8k after age 35. Yes, this figure cannot compare to SGD even the blue collar job, but you are living together with your love one and enjoy your chill time with friends and family.
No. Not true. I was working in Singapore previously as well. Many of my malaysian peers are holding management position today. In fact many top management position in Singapore is helmed by Malaysian or ex-malaysian. Its an individual problem.

0.0208sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:00 PM